paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Nerve / Smart Parts Nerve / Smart Parts Nerve / Smart Parts Nerve

Smart Parts Nerve Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Nerve

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Nerve
[ View Photos (61) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $850

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Nerve is the apex of grace and power. Meet the next generation open-bolt electro pneumatic marker from Smart Parts. Half the size of the Impulse and with twice the standard equipment, you'll be feeling a tingle down your spine very soon. Standard equipment includes a fully adjustable, super fat reverse magnetic trigger, matching vertical Max-Flo regulator, ultra comfy Pro-Touch Smart grips, integral LPR, 225psi operating pressure, .25 Bolt that allows in no paint, dirt or debris, a brass hammer and a locking feedport that holds like a death grip yet releases with the flip of one finger.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Nerve is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
                            
iluvthisgame Thursday, August 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything out there.
Marker Setup: Fetherlite Viking with xtream Adjustable tank
FreeFlow Red,Silver,Blue FE Shocker with xstream tank
DM4 with xtream tank
Cyborg
Dark FreeFlow Cocker with 68/4500 Maxy
Freak, Stiffi, Pipe Barrel Kits
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing I can think of at this time. it pretty much comes complete.
Strengths: Very Sexy, light and fast out of the box. Best Clamping system out there
Weaknesses: Right out of the box, it is complete. Just need more inserts
Review: My way of testing a gun is not very scientific. I am a gun whore and try every new gun that comes out. I have shot practically everything out there. My gun of choice at this time is my Featherlite Viking because of its Speed, Efficiency, and Accuracy.

I just got in the red Nerve Ultimate Package with Maxflo reg and tank. The gun was already set up with a on/off drop so I just hooked up an adjustable tank. The clamping feedneck was fantastic. I was able to drop my Empire reloader B and a quick flick of the lever and bam, it was secure. This took about 5 seconds. The best thing since sliced bread. I just wish I were the one that thought of this design. Great Job! I can't wait to order them for all my guns!
The first time I held the Nerve, it felt like a combination of my DM4, Impulse, Shocker and Cyborg. It felt great in my hand and felt well balanced. I was impressed with the way it looked, milling, ano, and the stainless insert they included.

I aired it up and shot about 200 rounds through it to test it out and see what all the hype was all about. I had no intention of keeping this gun from the start because I am true to my Vike. I was pretty amazed with the way it shot out of the boX! It was very fast and accurate. I was able to easily rip on this gun with no problems. My initial reaction was this thing is as fast as my vike. I was very impressed. It shot somewhat like my DM4, shocker, and Impulse put together. It had very little kick if any. I honestly can't remember since I only shot about 200 rds and was more amazed at the speed.

I feel Smart Parts has created one of the best guns out there. I really believe it will take the industry by storm just like the DM4 or the Impulse did several years back. Maybe it will shut up all those Smart Parts bashers out there. By the way, all those who negatively commented on this thing before it came out should just shut up until you try it or any other product you decide to negatively comment without shooting it. Just my opinion. Sorry if I offended any of you.

UMCD Terp23- a few threads down gave a real nice review of this gun which I agree totally on.

I will be selling this if anyone is interested because I definitely will be ordering a black one, red is just too bright for me.

Great job Smart Parts, you came up with a nice gat!
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this to any gun whore like myself. I think you will be happy with it. It is expensive but no more expensive than a DM4 and I think it feels better to hold.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 26th, 2004 at 4:25 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

WGP NiGhTkAst Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel a4 fly
dm4
ff shocker
Custom Ebladed Cocker
Marker Setup: 04 nerve w/ inline maxflow #0017
Recommended
Upgrades:
more inserts for your freak.
Strengths: Fast
Light
Sexy
Bolt
Rebound
Clamping feedneck
Well balanced
Integrated LPR
Weaknesses: None...Availability
Review: Ok my first time out with the gun was amazing....
I went to an indoor field ...everyone wanted to touch it lol....
We put it to rebound 5 to test it out and were dry firing it and was like damn its slow lol....Once you load it up with paint its INSANE....
I let all my friends try it and they couldnt believe it...
I turned the rebound off and the gun was still very fast....
NIce feature is that as soon as you power it on its in vision mode.....
I personally like this gun better then my FF shocker and A4FLY....I know its all preference but if you could try one of these things out definitly do. And mess with the rebound its fun lol.....

This is the first gun that out of the box i was able to really rip with....You can adjust the trigger to your liking and believe me you will like it.
Conclusion: If you have the money get one....I couldnt be more happy with anything else...Its fast, light, accurate....If i could give it an 11 i would.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 24th, 2004 at 6:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Twmagoo Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
non
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LED, egg, HPA, CP Reg, CP Reg Gauge, Sweet spot trigger and 14" Freak.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper (of course) and other frewak inserts.
Strengths: Very fast, smaller than the shocker 03 and light.
Weaknesses: Non that I saw.
Review: This marker ripped out of the box, the only issue that occured was the MAXFLO that came with it leaked.

Milling is nice and the bolt removal is about as quick as removing one from a cocker.

It kind of felt like I was holding a Impy, in fact If it were possible if you took a DM4 and breed it with a Impulse this the result of one.

The adjustable clamp feed neck is a great feature, removing hoppers are not only easier now but also saves alot of unneeded stress of twisting those hopper necks around just to put them on or to take them off.
Conclusion: Great all around marker, just grab some freak inserts and a fast hopper and go.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 24th, 2004 at 5:16 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

UMCD Terp23 Monday, August 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month56 of 63 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Amg
Several Angels
Several Timmies
Matrix
Evil Pimp
Several Autocockers
Nasty Impy
Impy w Vision
Marker Setup: Stock Nerve (If u can even call it that LOL)
Egg
45 68 fiber wrap
Recommended
Upgrades:
A few freak inserts or a more complete barrel system
Nothing else required
Strengths: Very fast, light, small, nice trigger, No dropoff, comes loaded
Weaknesses: Trigger has some side to side play
Default settings make it a Gas hog
Review: I got this gun as soon as they started selling from pball wholesellers near my house in Maryland. I play for UMCP in the college leauge and I took this to practice last Sunday. All I can say is wow!!! First of all I gassed it up for the first time and shot it without any adjustments, the chrono read 290, 289, 295, 300... sickness.

It almost has no kick to it and its profile is very small. It is not only extreamly easy to rip on, it is also very easy to maintain the rates of fire. With the freak the kit you can put the paint where you want it and lots of it. Also since it comes with a freak barrel and a insert, u can save lots of money by just having to buy 3 or 4 inserts. The gun is light enough for a front player but more than fast enough for any back player to rip on. With the solid eyes you will not have to worry about chopping. I put about 5000 rounds through it and no breaks or chops at all. Also I shot without my egg on and the eyes did their job. This is without a doubt up there with the top3 guns ever made when it comes to pure speed and accuracy. The feedneck is one of the best that Iv seen. It can be adjusted to hold on tight to any loader u can imagine but u can release the grip by flicking a lever with one finger. Very convinient.

The max flow's on the marker also do their job very well but they do have a break in period so except some fluctuations until it breaks in. The maxflow integral lpr is extreamly east to adjust and even though it does not affect the pressure all that much, it is very convinient in helping to maintain a 290 fps velocity if u want to set your vert max flow to a lower pressure. I would also suggest turning down your dwell because the defualt setting is a gas hog. But to do this u will have to mess with the lpr to maintain a decent velocity

The trigger is very nice as well. It as 4 points of adjustment. It took me about a hour of fiddling but I found the best setting for me and it was ripping like crazy. 3 of the 4 points can be adjusted from the otside with a .50 allen key wrench, but the magnet tension is a little harder to adjust. You have to open the grip frame, take out the circuit board and battery and then its easy to adjust with a 1 8th allen key. Its ok though because u will only have to adjust the magnet once or twice before you get the oull how u want it. WARNING - do not turn in the activation screw too much with rebound on or your gun will go into full auto LOL. This happened to me and it took me a while to get it corrected. The trigger does have some side to side play but u can fix this with some very thin washers or wait till people start making aftermarket parts for it, as they are sure to do. However for the tiem being, its hardly even noticable so its not that big of a deal.

The circuit board is extremly small and compact and the grip frame was definatly done right. The grips are very comfortable, the trigger frame has ample room to adjust the trigger and to fit ur hand comfortably. Back to the circuit board, Once you open the grip via 4 screws on both sides of the grip frame, You will notice how Smartparts designers took very good use of the small space that they have inside the grip frame. The circuit board itself is extreamly small. To adjust the Rof, Dwell times, and rebound, you use two small grey buttons on the left side of the board. The dwell is easy enough to adjust and so is the rof, but the directions for the rebound are kinda bad imo.. Could have been designed a lil better, but once again not a big deal.

I have not owned this marker for long but maintaining the marker seems to be pretty easy. It comes with a delrin twist lock bolt and the hammervalve assembly comes out almost as easily. You don't need to grease the bolt down and since I have yet to chop a ball, all you need to do is whipe down the detent area just to keep the geletin from building up in your breech. Occasionally you will want to clean your regs as well and grease your o rings on the hammer assembly.

Last but not least I would just like to say one thing that I foudn really tight about this marker. Even though I said it does have a few air efficiency problems, for soem reason whenever I got to the last 10 shots of air left in my tank there was NO drop off and I am not exagerating. I was not the only person to notice this either. Its hard to even tell when you are running out of air unless u look at the tank ebcause all the shots seem the same until there is not enough air to even activate the valve and hammer assembly. That was a really nice surprise to me to say the least
Conclusion: This gun is the shiznit to sum it up. I have shot many guns and this is my favorite out them all. Only a very few even compare to its speed and those would be maybe the dm4, timmies, and angels.. or some very modified mid-range high-end guns. Its probably the smallest gun out there and very close to the lightest. Looks are sexxy and the paintjob was flawless. It comes with tons of nice features but a price tag that reflects this however. Gun is not for everyone but if u are serious about p ball and play in tourneys then you should look into getting this gun no question about that. So to wrap it all up the goods are very fast, light, easy to maintain, good eyes, nice design, cool modes, did I say fast!!, sexxy millingpolish (personal opinion), LP, Little to no kick, very accurate even at high ROF. However no marker is perfect to I will list the very few negatives I have found (minor ones at that) - takes tinkering to make it gas effiicient, some side to side trigger play, Reg break in period (not nessesarly a negative but its not positive either so i just put it here :D ) even though this is with al new guns. Still gets a easy 1010 from me!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 29th, 2004 at 4:05 pm PST
I found this review  
27 Comments - Add Comment

stiflerir3 Sunday, August 15th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month74 of 110 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
every decent gun out there, none compare and only a few come close
Marker Setup: red Nerve with a 68 maxflo and black reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
this gun needs NOTHING
Strengths: Fastest gun ive ever shot and it has absolutely no bounce
Lighter than a shocker
Weaknesses: Bolt is difficult to remove
Can't shoot faster than like 10bps when dry firing
Review: This gun is sick. I got it about 8 AM on Saturday morning and rushed to Pball Command (home of the Rock-it Kids) I put the maxflo togehter in the car on the way there and mounted it to the gun when I got there. The first thing i do is get an air fill and buy a bag of 500. Then I jacked someone's mask (I didn't actually go there to play I had work at 11 AM) and rushed out to the chrono range. There was this kid out there with an alias he just got like a week ago. Anyways we got into a arguement about who's gun is faster. He goes first and pulls a decent 18 or 19 bps- 21 is his record. so after he goes I turn on my gun for the first time, turn on the maxflo, take two test shots, then I rip as fast as I could. I nearly sh*t my pants i have no idea how fast I was shooting I've never heard a gun shoot that fast ever before. And remember this is straight of the box the only thing I adjusted was the rate of recharge or whatever its called. I had to decide on what gun i was going to get and I was thinking either alias, a4 fly or Nerve. Now having shot all 3 I wouldn't think twice about getting the Nerve. I actually played with it today and I wasn't really watching air efficiency but i know I got at least a hopper and 8 pods from a fill but i went to go gtet it refilled and forgot to look how much psi was left. So many people wanted to shoot it though, they would ask me if they could load one of their pods and try it out. Everybody's response was pretty much the same, "Holy [bleep] that is the fastest gun I've ever shot" One thing to note, the turns on oppostie to an impulse cause I'm pretty sure with a impulse standard mode comes on first and if you press the button again it switches to vision mode. The Nerve starts in vision mode and I didn't know that so I actually did chop a ball once.
Conclusion: i'm not gonna be a little b*tch and complain about price cause 1500 is not bad for a gun and a tank. I mean, an alias is 13 and a fly is 14 and the Nerve beats the crap out of both of them so it's a pretty sweet deal. Pick one up if can get your hands on one. Mine is S/N#0009 and there are like 50 made so there not exactly easy to get. But it's probably better if you don't get it cause if you do you will never be satisfied with another gun again.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 31st, 2004 at 12:47 pm PST
I found this review  
92 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media