paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Nerve / Smart Parts Nerve / Smart Parts Nerve / Smart Parts Nerve

Smart Parts Nerve Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Nerve

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Nerve
[ View Photos (61) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $850

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Nerve is the apex of grace and power. Meet the next generation open-bolt electro pneumatic marker from Smart Parts. Half the size of the Impulse and with twice the standard equipment, you'll be feeling a tingle down your spine very soon. Standard equipment includes a fully adjustable, super fat reverse magnetic trigger, matching vertical Max-Flo regulator, ultra comfy Pro-Touch Smart grips, integral LPR, 225psi operating pressure, .25 Bolt that allows in no paint, dirt or debris, a brass hammer and a locking feedport that holds like a death grip yet releases with the flip of one finger.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Nerve is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Nerve Owner Thursday, December 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion Lighter/Smaller also slower
but my ion is a special case, it is about the same weight lighter than an ego 1005 grams, barrel, regulator, battery, ASA etc.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve
Stainless Steel Freak with 14" All American Front
Custom Products Direct Mount On/Off
New Designz Roller Blade Trigger

Smart Parts Ion
Virtue Board
FBM Frame
Redz Pepperstick Barrel
Prostar Paintball/Violent Products Scythe Trigger
Shocker Grips
Lucky Paintball Stage 5.1with stage 1v4 bolt
Smart Parts Q-lock Feedneck
Clippard QEV
New Designz Ez-Turn On/Off
Kila 06 Magnetic Detents

Guerrilla Air Ambush 45/45 Tank
Vlocity Junior and Lucky Paintball Blitz Chip
Empire Contact Pants
Vents Avatar Mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Board if you don't have a team board
Strengths: Fast 35BPS
No upgrades really needed
Bolt out Back
2200 shots from a 68/4500
Weaknesses: Heavier than my ion
Review: Fastest gun I have ever shot
Buy One today. Great efficiency if set up right, 2200 shots from a 68/4500 tank.
50 word minimum a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a
Conclusion: Buy One Today
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rougen Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Xtra
Spider Electra
A-5
Impulse
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve
Halo B
45ci/4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B or better
Strengths: Looks tight
Shoots fast
Accurate
Efficent
Consistent
Weaknesses: Gas hawg, until you figure out how to adjust things
Review: Let's just start by saying, when I got this gun I was blown away! I thought the body of the gun was INSANE! Then once I gas'd this baby up I was like.............woah this thing can sling paint. Despite the fact Smart Parts is going to discountinue buying them, now is the best time to buy most sites only sell for like 500$ or less, and you'll be the only one of the field with one. Back on subject, I was blastin everything in my backyard I was nailing a tree about 9in wide from 100+ feet away and never missed. And then when I took this baby out to the field, everyone was asking me what gun I had and wanted to try shooting it. First round I played that day, I blasted 4 people of the break and then finished off another 4 before I got gogged. If you want angel/dm4/timmy performance for LITERALY half the price this is the gun to gets folks, the gun looks sick and its scary man. I'd hate to be on the recieving end.
Conclusion: Half the price of any high end gun, with the same performance
Great gun all around, not much more to say
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DyeDM4567 Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye dm4
Smart parts ion
dynasty shocker
empire imtimadatior
Marker Setup: i don't have the nerve no more but it was all stock with a asa on/off and a ramping board :D

Recommended
Upgrades:
None it is a great Stock marker except I'm not such a fan of its trigger
Strengths: Light
Fast
Pretty quiet
Bolt
Rebound
Clamping feed neck
Well balanced
Integrated L PR
Weaknesses: I didn't find any bit of a gas hog though
Review: The little time i had with this gun until i got my Dm4 was great like i said its light very quick and just over all a very good gun and it looks awesome also. It had quite a cost but its worth it trust me you wont be sorry after you shoot this gun and i would surely have to say out of all the guns i have ever owned or shoot for sure this is most likely one of the best ones don't see why smart parts would discontinue them though
Conclusion: If you don't want to waste money upgrading a marker but a nerve awesome stock marker
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

supriordrumr Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i had a tippman....it sucked.... and a spyder victor.... it sucked too
Marker Setup: -smart parts nerve
-flame drop forward
-shocktech feed neck
-virtue board
-wave trigger
-freak barrel insert kit
-Halo B hopper with speed feed
-evil 5000psi 88ci tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
-virtue board
-new trigger
-freak barrel insert kit

Strengths: Easy to clean, very smooth-shooting, pretty good air efficiency, good looks, light, practically indestructable!!!!
Weaknesses: Its not really a weakness, but it doesnt have too many upgrades.
Review: i really like this gun, for roughly 500$ its a great find. not to mention in a bttle between a stock nerve and a stock shocker, the nerve wins (this is a fact backed by test results and PROOF!!!). i have the 06 model so it doesnt have the big, bulky beast of an ASA. after it goes through its "break in period" (uses lots of air first 4000 shots or so) it gets great air efficiency. thanks to the max flo system, the gun it extremely smooth when firing rapidly. Plus, it comes with one of the best regulators in the world. i love how u can take out the bolt and clean the eyes without taking apart the whole gun to do so. i jus t take off the back and pass a squigie through it a few times and its perfectly clean. as you probably know already, the nerve comes with a freak barrel as a stock barrel. i really recomend jus paying an extra 70$ to get an insert kit for it. once you've done this, its accurate, consistant, fast, durable, easy to clean, and last but not least- pretty. if you are debating on geting something else.....STOP.... BUY THE NERVE.....AND BE HAPPY!!!!
Conclusion: This gun kicks but!!! I stated why in my review..... go get it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 26th, 2006 at 7:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

philTHEman Friday, November 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil omen 2.0
WGP '04 superstock
some Angels
Impys

none compare
Marker Setup: Halo B with rip
68/3000 pure energy comp air
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing recommended
Strengths: Very fast, light (2.2 lbs) reliability and of course, looks
Weaknesses: Gas hog, not a huge problem though
Review: I got a blue one because red is always out of stock, but when i took it out of the box, gassed it up and so on, the thing shot ropes, the "chirps" are very helpful, and the eyes work very well, COGRATULATIONS SMART PARTS! beautiful gun, I was very impressed by what i got for the price.
Conclusion: Buy it, you won't be dissapointed, beats out impys, angels, and may I say, it beats shockers?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Dippy Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego
spyder tl with upgrades
Marker Setup: Nerve
Halo with v35
.693 insert
new design silk trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New design silk trigger
Strengths: Almost perfect out of the box
Sexy
Locking feedneck
No exposed parts
Weaknesses: None that i have had so far
Review: WOW.

This marker is amazing, out of the box. The only real upgrade is the new design silk trigger makes it wicked easy to shoot. The eyes are within the frame so they cant get shot or get paint all over them. With no moving parts its hard to break anything during a game. The locking feedneck is great, My Halo never falls off. The on/off is wicked easy to use.

The black heart board would be a nasty addition, but is definatly not need to rip with this gun.

Also the bolt is so easy to remove and clean its insane what they have done with it. In the odd chance you have a ball get chopped, one turn and a squeege and ur good to go.
Conclusion: This is an amazing gun, almost perfect out of the box. I would recomend this to anyone who is thinking of spending 500$ on a marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 20th, 2006 at 7:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb4life21 Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year24 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Protos, Shockers, Egos, Etc.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve
Odyssey Halo Hopper w/ Rip Drive and Warrior Shell
Pure Energy 68 4500 Carbon Fiber Tank
Shocker/Nerve Roller Trigger

07 WGP Outkast Sniper 2
ViewLoader Revolution Hopper
Pure Energy 68 4500 Carbon Fiber Tank

Spyder Compact 2000
ViewLoader 200 Hopper
20 oz. Co2 Tank
16 inch Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast hopper
More inserts for the Freak Barrel
A better trigger (My Opinion)
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I got this marker at Paintball Wholesalers in Westminster as my first high end marker. All I can say is WOW. This thing was tearing up the competition. At first I didn't want to buy the marker because of many people saying that this gun needs to be fixed a lot. After I did some research and finally got to test it, its one of the best markers I have used. This marker already comes stacked up with goodies. When I first went to test it at the chronograph station I was amazed. 299, 298, 300, 299. I had made not a single adjustment and its was shooting almost perfect.The marker is so fast and I was at least shooting fifteen without ramping. The eyes rarely chop on me at all and I was very accurate with my shots. The marker has a good profile and the On/Off valve works and turns off the air fast. When you turn the marker on you are already in eyes mode. The marker is very quiet compared to some other high ends. The trigger frame is the same as a Shocker and I was able to put in a new Shocker/Nerve Roller Blade trigger on my Nerve. The bolt is so easy to take out for a quick clean in the game and your back in action. A quick turn, pull and your done. The bad things I have found: the marker is a little heavy and sometimes the bolt comes out a little to far. A fix with a squeegee. I had a new trigger put in and was amazed with the performance. So much easier to go into ramping and was able to shoot much faster than I was with the stock trigger. You can ajust the trigger to 5 different settings to what you like. $30 and they installed the Roller Blade for free. Get a Nerve because they don't have many left and you will be amazed. Overall this marker is a beast and I would definitely get another one as a back up.
Conclusion: Get the Nerve before they run out!!!!!!!!!! I got my marker for $475 and its a steal for how nice it is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 16th, 2007 at 3:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintfreak73 Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder amg
shocker stf
impulse
Marker Setup: nerve with a new design asa (thats really all you need because the stock asa sucks)
Halo B, 68ci 4500psi pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new asa!!!
Strengths: Fast and cool looking
Weaknesses: Nothing really it leaked when i first got it thats all.
Review: I love it, fast and very cool gun design i think. it can shoot as fast as your fingers can go and i got mine for a great price of 475 and you cant beat that. Its easy to operate and shoots very clean. dosnt hog air like most guns do .when i first got it it leaked out of the reg, barrel, and feed neck so i shipped it out to smartparts and they fixed it for free and all i paid was shipping so thats not bad. Thats really all that i can think of and that the stock asa well on any smartparts gun the tank dosnt fit all the way on untill you force it on and that can mess up your treads on your tank.
Conclusion: Buy it for that price on a highend gun its fantastic!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twisted origin Tuesday, October 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 timmy - Nerve FTW
... spyders and bushys don't count, they are not high-end guns (bushy is nice though)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve
Tadao M6 Dynasty board
NDZ bolt
NDZ blade trigger
NDZ SST manifold
NDZ vented backplate
Unimount
lpr upgrade
CP 2 piece barrel kit
nitroduck 68/45 CF tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
It is not necessary because the gun works great stock but
bolt - better efficiency
manifold - for sure no first shot drop off
ASA - only real upgrade that it kinda needs since it doesn't come with maxflo anymore
trigger - eliminate side to side slop
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy - stock freak barrel rules
Weight
Easy maintenance / field stripping
Weaknesses: ASA
vision strip is delicate
Review: First of all, I would say that the nerve is probably the most underestimated gun ever (also the promaster). A lot of people fall into the hype of bad mouthing guns without ever pulling the trigger or trying to understand if there is a problem with it, to try and fix it. this gun has a bad rap, supposively being a gas hog, or breaks down easily, or is nothing more than a milled impulse. These stories are just not true, except for the gas hog, kinda. The nerve comes stock set at 30 dwell, which is kinda inefficient. The dwell can be set much lower, depending on the type of solenoid it comes with. Once you get the NDZ bolt you will notice the efficiency increase (some say by 300 shots, easily making this marker shoot over 1400 shots per 68/45 fill). The nerve comes stock with high caliber equipment: inline maxflo (it works great), q-lock feedneck, 4-way adjustable trigger, SS freak barrel with .693 insert, pro grips, vision, and a ramping board. The trigger is so-so, but can be adjusted to feel great, and the side slop can be fixed with a washer. Plus, you can dremel down the trigger to make it a blade trigger (lol kinda ghetto-rigged but it works). The ASA is kinda crappy, but it works. Taking the nerve apart is pretty simple, just make sure you take the vision strip out before you take out the hammer assembly, or you will be buying a new eye.
Conclusion: Overall, the Nerve is a great buy, and now that they go for $475 new, it is a steal. So don't believe the hype of others until you try it out yourself.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 10th, 2006 at 6:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1C3MAN Wednesday, October 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion w/ Blackheart Board-NO COMPARISON, NERVE IS BETTER
Marker Setup: Blue Smart Parts Nerve w/ VLocity, 72/3000 N2 Tank, LPR Upgrade, Nerve Team Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much that could make it better, it is so good stock
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I bought my Nerve after saving up several paychecks just before they were discontinued. My first impression on opening the box was how small the nerve is. It is not very big, a LOT smaller than the piranha I started playing with when I first got into paintball. I was fortunate enough to get a Nerve that came with the Team Board and all of those cool settings. On NXL, I play semi just wanted to see what it was capable of, it out runs my VLocity on the highest setting. The stock barrel is a freak, so it is accurate, possibly the most accurate stock barrel I have seen. The LPR makes fine tuning the velocity and pressure a snap, just twist to where you want it and tighten the screws to lock it. The Vertical Max Flo reg is very consistent, +/-2, and has not had to be adjusted from factory settings, 200psi. I also love how you just twist and you can get your bolt out to clean off any broken paint, which I have not had a problem with because the Vision eyes are pretty good. The only thing I have noticed as not being high quality is the stock on/off, which I plan to replace soon. The on/off is not as high quality as the gun is, but it is a very small issue and the quality of the gun outweighs that by a large margin.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone who wants a gun that is easy to maintain, wants to have a unique marker, and anyone who wants to have the best. The only thing I would recommend changing is the stock on/off, but that is not a huge deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media