paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
deathtoimpulse Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob long barrels,Angels,Proto,DYE Ultralight, and many others
Marker Setup: Impulse w/ vision,WAS ,4500 psi 68cu Crossfire Nitro Tank,ND Hammer kit ,ND LPR, ND Delrin Bolt,CCM Clamp Feedneck ,Magnetic Blade Trigger, 12" Freak Barrel, Evolution 2 Hopper w/z board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: I have used this ever since I got my Impulse, and this thing is perfect compared to the ones I used. Almost any paintball can go through(never buy crappy paintballs for any barrel).
Good things Bad Things
- Accurate - Prices for some people
- No chops - When screwing the two peices together, sometimes
- Easy to clean they will not go all the way

Other than that it is pretty much one of the top selling barrels on todays market. Nothing is really bad that I have found.
Conclusion: Works fine and is good with any paintballs. I have never chopped a ball besides twice. Might be a little expensive for people. Accuracy depends on your marker, the barrel just helps. Good barrels like this one help a lot. Buy it if you have th money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoulJahofPress Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock black magic barrel
stock spyder barrel
boomstick
kaners
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP Black Magic (black to silver)
freak barrel system
70/4500 crossfire stubby
halo B

2001 right feed wgp cocker
03 wgp pneus
03 wgp bolt
black magic cocking rod
Recommended
Paintballs:
well, i use wgp domination and perfection... small bore, might want to try something larger
Strengths: Hmm...
- Gives different bore sizes.
- Pretty accurate if you get it sized correctly.
- Average quietness.
Weaknesses: Apparently nobody knows how to size paint :-/
See review...
Review: Well, my freak came with my cocker that I had bought off ebay 3 years ago for 10$. Yes, I was extremely suprised becuase the freak wasn't advertised. Sadly, its like an 18-20 inch freak and I am way too cheap to buy a new front, so everyone thinks that I want to be a sniper or something. Anyways, the biggest weakness that I saw, is that my inserts are either sized wrong or, well that must be it. The paint I use fits perfectly in .687 but is too small for .679... So apparently the freak defies the laws of physics... or is just trying to piss me off.
Good barrel but there is better out there, I would look at stiffis and one piece cps, just find the size of the paint you use and buy that size barrel, ignore kits unless you really use alot of different paints.
Conclusion: good barrel but there's better. not worth the cash that most people pay.
well it only cost me 10$ so for the price i paid... its great =D
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JUnit Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
68/4500 Centre flag with intergrated on/off and rail
NDZ Detents
14" All American Front w/ Aluminum Freak Back
CCM No-Pro Feedneck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any High Quality Paint
Strengths: Interchangable bores
Quiet
Interchangable fronts and backs
Can use one barrel for different markers
Weaknesses: Price
Uses more air
Review: This barrel shoots darts. I like the fact that you can own different markers and still use the same barrel, you just need a different back. That and you can change your bores depending on the paint you're using. I only use the.693. I find that works for almost all paint out there.

If you don't like your front, you can change that too! The only thing is, the price on this barrel is a little high. However, if you have more than one marker, it is well worth it.

Don't buy the kit, you really only need one or two bores. A .693, .691 and maybe a .689.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel, it is versatile and shoots straight, no matter how far your target is.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 20th, 2005 at 3:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hunter31789 Thursday, November 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2005 Black/Black Prostock Autococker, Ricochet AK Sniper hopper, freak barrel kit, and 20oz CO2 tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
pretty much anything that is considered a paintball.
Strengths: Accuracy
Sexy
Weaknesses: Cleaning out Paint
Review: Well I actually have 2 different freak kits, both of which I bought used. Both are 14 inches long but the newer one has an all american front and stainless steel back which makes it look very sexy when matched with my 05 autococker.
When I first got my autococker i went out, and fighting the urge to screw on the freak immediately i shot the cocker's stock barrel which shot surprisingly well, at 30 yards it was shooting about 12 to 16 in diameter grouping. Then after about 10 shots i put on my freak, (I had sized the paint up earlier). I took it out and shot it at the same distance and was hitting about a 6 inch circle. The accuracy was unbelievable and i couldn't wait to take it to a field.

All in all this is what I found.

ACCURACY
I have never seen a more accurate barrel. It shoots ball on ball accurate time after time.

LOOKS
It is the best looking barrel i have ever seen and paired with the looks of my 05 autococker it really looks good.

CLEANING
I have never had a ball break in this barrel and don't plan on seeing any, but with my last gun i have had a few and it was tough to get all the paint out without a good squeegie but i managed and once you get the paint out it shoots just as good again. Even with some paint residue in the barrel it shoots even better than any stock barrel.

BALL SIZING
The ball sizing is simple for this barrel. you just take your inserts and your paintballs and starting with the largest bore insert you just put the paintball in one side and it should not roll out. If it rolls out then go on down to a smaller size and then when you get to a fit where it doesn't roll out then you should be able to just blow the ball out of the insert and when in doubt of which insert is better use the smaller one. Most of the time tighter fit is better.
Conclusion: This is the best use of your money you can get. It will make any amateur hang in there with the pros.
If you have the money then buy this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bunkerking1337 Wednesday, November 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz Peppersticks barrel kit
Empire barrel kit
Match Stiks barre kit
Marker Setup: BL 2k4 Black Alias with blue sleeve.
clear Halo B loader
CP Unimount
CP adjustable ram cap
45/45k Crossfire HPA tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything you want it a kit so you can use any paint
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: The Freak isn't as good as it use to be. I mean its physically still a good barrel but the whole insert thing is outdated and obsolete. If you look around how many of the popular barrel kits use inserts besides the Freak...none. The Evil Empire, Match Stiks, and Pepper Stiks all use backs that are made to a certain bore size. Inserts aren't always consistant in bore size, they're not durable, and they're just a pain in the butt..

Strenghts
Allows you to adjust to any bore size
With a good paint to barrel bore match you get good accuracy

Weaknesses
Inserts a cheap. They break easily, they're not always consistant in bore size and they're just a real pain in the butt.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good barrel kit take a look at the Evil Empire, Redz Pepper Stiks, Stiffi kit or Match Stick barrel kit.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike4015 Sunday, October 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Stock Ion
-and
ANS GX-4
-with
delrin bolt
dye one-piece 12" barrel
revolution 12v
crossfire steel 68ci 3000psi
-going to have
Eclipse E2
maybe freak barrel
crossfire 68ci 4500psi
halo b
Recommended
Paintballs:
u can match any paintball with it
Strengths: Bore inserts let u shoot any paintball more consistently and accurately
Weaknesses: Expensive/overpriced
Too much porting- less air efficient
Review: I tested this barrel with steel inserts on my ion. It was accurate and quiet but the porting makes the balls go slower so i had to put the pressure in my regulator higher, which made my hoses break. I was shooting around 270-290 fps with my stock barrel but with freak i got about 250-260 fps with the same regulator setting.
Conclusion: The Freak barrel seems accurate and consistent but its expensive and theres too much porting which leads to less air efficiency.
I'm thinking about puting one on my cocker and/or my ion but i might look for another 2-piece barrel because of the price and bad air effiiciency.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 31st, 2005 at 6:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dandamanyo22 Sunday, October 16th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boom stick, but boom stick is better
Marker Setup: ion stock cause i got no money
freak barrel kit
DYE STICKY 3'S WOO
empire reloader b (diamond coated)
45/4500
dye invision
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any exept brass eagle.
Strengths: 7 Colours, 9 bore sizes,accuracy.
Weaknesses: Cant get green, price and durabilty.
Review: Ok i got this because my friend has a boom stick(witch is way better) the only reason i got this is because i wanted a new barrel and the shop i went to they had these so i got it now when i brought this home it went into the gun good and i went into my back yard and shot a couple of rounds and they were right on the target mabye like 1 or half a inch spred from about 2 to 25 feet away, now my friends boom stick can do all this from about 40 feet, now i have had it for about 3 months and some of the paint has scracthed off but thats ok, but my other friend ian has 1 and the first month he took a huge dive and it dented so if ur nto doing dives try not to hit this onto the ground, meow the price of this barrel is horible like really bad like u can get a boom stick for $50 cheeper so i recomend getting it but if this is all u can get then get it.
Conclusion: Its ok but not good get a boom stick cause dye is the obly way to go
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 26th, 2005 at 8:00 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

SynjenX Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Whisper barrel, Evil Driver barrel, Taso Winforce
Marker Setup: Trilogy pro cocker, Evil driver barrel, pmi pure energy 68 4500psi tank, empire reloader 2 hopper, shock tech drop forward.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Really any kind as long you can match an insert to it.
Strengths: Multiple inserts, accuracy
Weaknesses: Price
Review: After a couple of different types of single piece barrels I deided I would break down and get a barrel kit. And I am glad I did, I decided to go with the freak kit so if for some reason i decided to switch marker types I could spend $40. and get a new barrel back and still use my inserts instead of $100. for barrel backs that are compatible with my marker.
I like the freak kit, it's easy to match paint to insert size. The inserts slide in with a some force but thats good so you don't accidently have your insert fall out when removing your barrel. Once together the barrel performs like it should, accuracy was great and it even quieted my marker down a bit.
Conclusion: A great barrel kit, some people do not like Smart Parts but I think it's a great product. At $150. it can be a bit high for a barrel but having the ability to change the inserts and the fronts or back if needed makes it more than worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kendall_peter Thursday, September 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop
Stock
Marker Setup: Kingman Sonix (Black With Red Highlights)
14' Freak
9oz co2 Tank
12oz co2 Tank
Empire Reloader II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any...Its Amazing
Strengths: Freak
Weaknesses: None
Review: I love this barrel. I put it on my Sonix and it worked amazing. It was way more accurate and i didnt have to pay much for it. It is very high quality and it look orgasmic. I love this barrel and i think everyone should have one. Overall this is worth the pretty high price tag... it will set u bck but its worth it in the long run. It saves money on paint cuz u wont have to shoot as much.
Conclusion: Buy one of these.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

midguy Wednesday, September 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Classic 14 inch barrel
All-American Barrel
Marker Setup: SP Shocker, Halo B, PMI Pure Energy 46/4500 nitro tank, Freak Barrel Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
size wise any, for consistency and better accuracy, Thrust Paintballs
Strengths: Accuracy
Quiet
Looks badass on any gun
Weaknesses: Cost
Review: I bought the kit mainly for practices and tourneys, but i also use it for open play. Anyway, the first time I used it, I was impressed. My accuracy improved so much, I was in aww. No matter what marker u use, this barrel will make it so much better.

Its not a cheap barrel, but trust me, its worth it in the long run.
Conclusion: Get it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 6th, 2006 at 6:52 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media