paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
Smart Parts Fan Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boom. Evil Pipe,Tippman Flatline(Sucks)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, Stainless Freak Back ALLA Front, Max Flo and Smart Parts tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Definitly Dynasty Dragon
Strengths: Range, Lightness, reliability, Changeability, Looks woohoo
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I used to have a spyder Imagine. The stock barrel sucked hardcore and it is a inaccurate gun. I got a 14" stainles with Alla front and i was picking of people twice the distance. With the ion it is unstoppable. Looks amazing and cannot be hurt. I have shot the same barrle but aluminum and its a bit lighter, it doesn't look as cool and the Stainless is noticeable more accurate. Spend the extra 20 bucks. If you are a woods ball player i suggest a 18-16". It has a bit more range. For the speedball player go for a 14". If your a hardcore back player maybe a16". I would not recommend going under 14".
Conclusion: Great barrel. Great company. If its good enough for Dynasty, it's definitely good enough for anyone else. Save up and go for the Freak.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bdwsr88888 Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nutting, went straight to it heard to many good things about it.
Marker Setup: 03' cocker,dye hinge trigger,12volt revy,20oz. CO2(i got to get a nitro tank)bob long bolt,bomb 3 way, volumizer,macroline,14"green all american freak barrel with a .689 insert
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paintball(if u get the kit) but if not and just 1 insert diablo or draxxus
Strengths: Quite,this barrel can handle any paintball,looks great,
Weaknesses: A little on the expensive side
Review: I like this barrel alot its a major upgrade from a stock i've noticed my balls are going where i want them to and they are dead on accurate.The main thing i love about this barrel is the look it had on my gun green tip with a black base and a green body omg its awsome!!!!!
Conclusion: I recommend getting the kit cause if u have the kit u can shoot almost every ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 9th, 2005 at 7:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Highpower Saturday, March 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire 7 piece kit, Stiffi switch, Dye :Ultralite and boomstick
Marker Setup: Shocker, crossfire 68/45k, egg,
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
Strengths: Easy insert switching
Weaknesses: None
Review: One of the best barrel systems out there. The insert system makes the barrel one of the most accurate out there. It is very light. It is one of the most accurate barrel systems I have ever used. and I have used alot. The 12" freak is about the equzilent of a 16" empire barrel kit.
Conclusion: Definently a must buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

d34d1 Thursday, February 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
no similar barrel kits
custom products barrels
progressive
Marker Setup: Drallion autococker, JAM anti-chop bolt, freak kit, 12v revvy, nitro tank,
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything better then zaps
Strengths: Versatility
Accuracy
Weight
Quiet
Weaknesses: May be easily bent not sure yet
Wear on inserts over time
Review: On my drallion with low velocity and 10'' front i get about a 6 inch radius that they strike in from atleast 30 feet away, some shots werent in it but thats probably due to me not keeping the gun steady not the barrel. This barrel kit is extremely accurate when used correctly and it quiet also.
Conclusion: I recommend buying this barrel kit because it is extremely accurate and the paint will go where you want it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jergy77 Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing other than my stock barrel
Marker Setup: A-5
Response Trigger
Double Trigger
Freak Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Not Heavy Metal, or Afterburner, Pmi Premiums are good, i'll continue to test
Strengths: Accuracy, My gun was a little bit quieter, Bore sizes
Weaknesses: Price, Cleaning on the field, Durability-Be careful with your inserts
Review: I took three weekends to test this out on my A-5. I went out and bought cheap paint, i won't again, and i was very happy with it. My friend has an A-5 and a 2003 boomstick, mine was better until i had a ball break. It is so much better than the stock barrel. I used Heavy metal the second weekend, still cheaper paint, but it was a little bit better. When you get a break it's easy to clean, if you have plenty of time to do it. If you don't the balls are all over the place. I was very happy with the premiums, I will go for the marbs next weekend and seee how i do. It's a great barrel, get good paint and you're fine. you can use pretty much any paint with it. Be careful with the inserts i dented one of mine already it was easier than i thought it would be. It's a great improvement for my A-5. Try it, it works for me but it might not be the best for you, i like it a lot and am very happy with it.

I tried the marbs, and this barrel is awesome, i don't think i'll ever get cheap paint again. I hit everybody i aimed at, had no breaks. With an A-5, Response Trigger and the Freak system, I own everybody else i play against. It is a really great barrel, get it for sure. Save up for it, and the staneless inserts a re worth it. I bought the kit with aluminum inserts, and then i bought some staneless ones, it makes a difference.
Conclusion: Get it if it's right for you, try it. With the right paint it's great. If you have the money get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 20th, 2005 at 5:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darktrigger666 Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp stock barrel
teardrop
progressive
vieloader
3a barrel kit
Marker Setup: wgp 2k3 vf green
sp black 14" all american freak barrel
ans delrin bolt
ans rod
kapp delrin ball detent
halo b
ans back block
dye stickies 3
pure energy 3000 psi tank
planet eclipse dart lpr
nexus ram with qevs
E2 grip frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use this patriot stuff and it actually works pretty well.... i just played today and didnt get one ball break.
Strengths: Looks nice
2 piece
Inserts
Accurate
makes gun quieter
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This barrel kit is freaking awesome. I have a all american front to it and it rocks. It is a huge improvement off of the WGP 12 inch stock crap. The porting is great and there is a lot of porting. It made my gun very quiet and very accurate. I shot at a tree from 45 yards and got it in somehweres between a 2-4 inch radius. The inserts are really nice and it is very useful when it comes to matching paint and bore size. I like the 2 piece barrels better because you can take them off and clean them easier and use other compatible freak front. This barrel also added a little bit of class to my gun so it looks a lot better then it did with the stock barrel. The price is not that bad but still i wish it was a little cheaper.
Conclusion: This is a great kit and i would buy it all over again. the choice of bore sizes is a genius idea and i think this is one of the best kits out there for a gun. I will give it a 9 since nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98c-pwns Tuesday, February 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
bigshot, flatline, teardrop etc.
Marker Setup: 98C w/ Flatline (also a bigshot)
GTA double trigger
Rocket Cock II
Custom Trigger Mods

Remote Coil
Redz FT 400 + 4 VL Pods
48/3000 Pure Energy Comp. Air
Polished Internals
Remote Coil
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, the inserts cover them. Ovf course, dont be too cheap and get some blue streak :'D
Strengths: Lots of inserts
Weaknesses: See review
Review: This is a pretty nice barrel. I liked it. It was on my friends Dragun TES. Not a very nice gun :S... it seems ot break a lot of balls and chop like crazy, plus the fact it eats gas like Rita MacNeil eats food at a free buffet... HAHAHAHA sorry... got a little carried away (that just came to me) anyways... when my friend first tried the barrel on his gun, its made it so he couldn't put his velocity above 190. He put his stock barrel back on and the velocity was fine. He tried some dif inserts thinking that maybe he had too big of an insert in and the gas was going out the barrel relieving the gun of alot of pressure. With this ther was sligth improvement but still couldn't play with the rest of us at 275. The barrel is great on other guns though so i wont deduct any points
Conclusion: Great barrel... something was wrong on my friends gun though, but all other i guns i have seen using this barel worked fantastically. Great accuracy and so on. Very consistent.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 19th, 2005 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

herbert Saturday, February 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
All american
Stock
Marker Setup: Freak barrel
Spyder TL-X
Stock bolt
VL 200 loader
12oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any you want except those bad quality ones.
Strengths: Accurate
Can fit all bore sizes
Looks hot with the inserts in them
Weaknesses: Messes up your swab pretty bad
Hard to clean
Review: When i first used this barrel I thought it sucked then I learned you needed an insert. After that the barrel shot actually ok. Then I learned that the 18 inche front was just a waste so I traded it in and got a sixteen. Shot a little better but still not that great. Then I finally got myself a fourteen. That was when it rocked. It seemed like it shoots farther then the 18 and 16. And it was also seemed quite faster also. Took my 3 months to figure out that anything bigger then a 14 inche freak front is a waste and just causes the ball to go slower. It was really good. People tell me it would work best on smart parts guns doesn't make sense to me though. Looks very good with the inserts in but the thing I want is for the freak to actually align with the gun so I can read the freak from the side. While I played the ball never chopped on me when you have the right insert to match the paint. When it did chop off of crappy paint I got my swab to clean it out. It started to mess up my swab after like the 20th time I chopped on heavy metal paintballs.
Conclusion: Very good also very pricey but there are some pretty good barrels out there for cheaper price like the evil pipe or dye barrels or custom products. I hear if you change the inserts to often there would be a gap between the front and the back but I always thought it was there.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 5th, 2005 at 8:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StrangeDemon Tuesday, February 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No similar barrel systems. I've used one piece barrels.
Marker Setup: 2k4 All Red Strange Vision Impulse, Stock w/ a shocktech drop and on off. 68/4500 crossfire tank. Evo 2 loader.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind you want.
Strengths: Bore changes. Accuracy. Looks. Light weight.
Weaknesses: Price. Paint change.
Review: I used the freak barrel on a stock 2k4 impulse. It has been the most accurate barrel I've used. I had a tear drop tip on it. The paint flew straight everytime. The one and only problem I have faced on a game was when I had 2 different kinds of paint with me in a different pod. The bore match was different so you could tell a difference in the pattern it was shooting. The price was pretty expensive for a barrel set. My friend baught one for an A-5. It definitly helped his game though. I bought the barrel by itself. It was 100 bucks. I'm glad I didn't buy the inserts because the price dropped by 50 bucks. Its 150 now for the aluminum set. I got the freak barrel stock on my strange impulse. i then baught the inserts for 75 after. I think it was worth it. I think any barrel that you can change the bore to I think is a great barrel. If you get the stainless steal inserts, they will last longer and be more scratch resistant. The aluminum ones after continual use will start to ware. It has its good things, since you only change out inserts you don't have to worry about stripping the threads on the back and front pieces. The only drawback is if you break a ball in the barrel, you have to take it all apart to get it fully clean.
Conclusion: I would recommend this for anyone wanting an extremely accurate barrel that is serious or wanting to get serious.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 24th, 2005 at 8:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rockwood Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used a J&J ceramic and it was nice but know where close to this Freak kit!
Marker Setup: Pirahna e-force core df with a freak jr. kit,dead on 8 stage expansion chamber,32 degrees drop foward,12 volt view loader revi.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used a really cheap Dunahms ball called Core and I had a little trouble not breaking them,but when they didn't break they hit everything I was aiming at. Try a little better of a brand and it will dominate!
Strengths: Very accurate
nice look
easily upgradable
very popular
Weaknesses: The incerts start to scrach very soon
Review: I used a really bad and old paint through this barrel and it just inhaled it! The whole point of the incerts is that the bor on differant paint brands change and you get the most accuracy out of it if they both match. One way you can see if they match is if you put a ball into the incert and blowing on one side of the barrel. If it hesitates a little bit, that is the one you want to use. The bor of the same ball will change in differant weather conditions. When it is warm, theyget a little bigger, vice-versa.
Conclusion: This barrel is really great but I expected moe for the price!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media