paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  Last
        Next Page
ulyanov Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Kaner Kit
Evil Pipe
JT Barrel System
Marker Setup: WGP E-Class Orracle #3463 Black-Blue-Clear Dusted
Eclipse E-Blade
CP Flames Drop Chrome
Dye Airport Black Dusted
SP Freak Stainless w/ 10" Freak Front Black
VL EvLution II w/ Y-Board
Dye Chrome Beaver Tail
Crossfire 68/4500 HP
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers
Strengths: Accurate, sweet looks, quiet.
Weaknesses: Inserts are fragile, and the price.
Review: I am the owner of a 14" Kaner barrel, and a 10" Freak Barrel. I have found no significant difference in accuracy from either barrel on my E-Class Orracle. The Freak has the advantage on my setup of being 4" shorter and no suffer any real loss of accuracy over the 14" Kaner, so I can maneuver alot better. The Stainless back is very good looking, as is the front. The barrel inserts however can be easily damaged if improperly taken care of (so make sure you have that case with you for your inserts).
Conclusion: Excellent Barrel, very good system of bore sizing, quiet, and accurate. I love the SP Freak, and recommend it to players who need a good barrel and have the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alivinglegend06 Thursday, October 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kaner, teardrop, boomstick, allkinds of stock barrels
Marker Setup: Black magic cocker, E-blade, total freak kit, Eclipse Dart bolt, nexus ram, coustom parts LPR, clamp feed neck, Evolution II hopper, pure energy 68/4500 tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything thats round
Strengths: Accuracy, versitility, Accuracy, your balls dont fall out of the end of your barrel.
Weaknesses: Cost maby?
Review: I love my freak, it dosent break balls, it is easy to clean, accurate, very accurate, but i have mine on a cocker and have not shot a freak on anyother kind of gun. it is just a good made barrel it shoots much better than stock for shure and better than kaner.
Conclusion: Go and buy a freak kit, its real nice and your gonna like it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jack of All Thursday, October 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye ultralite barrel
Marker Setup: blue timmy z, empire B loader, dye ultra lite, shocktech ram and cap, dye gauge, macroline, dropfoward dye, nitroduct 4500psi on a smart part 72 ci (dye C5 cover),CCM no rise, CP bleeding ASA, high flow barbs, hybrid LPR, short CP in-line reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
what ever
Strengths: Accurate (but ultra lite is more)
Light
Transferable from marker to marker with new backs
Weaknesses: Price
Fragile will dent if dropped
needs to change inserts regularly
Review: I know why did you buy a freak kit for a tippman? I was planning to upgrade which i did. Back to the freak I originally bought the freak kit before i dropped the lowpressure and reg. With out the low pressure upgrade the freak kit broke paint so regularly that I was so pissed that I would not even bring the barrel to the feild with me for months. . Then after the low pressure I thought i would give it a try. Much better but still broke some paint exceptable amount.

I did not give this product perfect score due to the coustmer service had now idea of this problem.
REGULAR logic dictates that a moving object, under high pressure, travels an inch down the begining of the barrel before it hits the ridge of the insert (which is not flush to the barrel like in the autococker) this could easliy break the object. At low pressure this is not an issue.
Conclusion: Dont try to use it with a tippman at high pressure. And DO NOT drop any part of the barrel kit it will dent.
it's not a bad barrel 16 inch tip helps drasticaly. But for $200 you can get a ultra lite tip and three backs much more accurate. look on ebay you should be able to get some good deals.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 8th, 2005 at 10:01 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xxxpaintballer Tuesday, October 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The all-american
Marker Setup: A-5
14" freak with .689 insert
double trigger
32 derees universal drop
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blaze or evil
Strengths: Accuracy, accuracy,accuracy... ohh ya and its light
Weaknesses: The paint chips off a little on the outside of the barrel.
Review: i love my freak. this is prbably and actually is my favorite barrel out there. I have a freak front and back. I am thinking about getting the all-american front and put it on the freak back but i dunno.Overall its the best barrel just get it in 14" or 12" and your good to go. if your lookin for that good barrel get this. but when you buy it you should buy the kit or all of the inserts because it really makes a difference, thats the mistake that i made when i bought this barrel, i know now to save up for all of the inserts and freak out my barrel!!1
Conclusion: I oove this barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballfury Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix
16 inch All American Freak Kit
20 oz co2
Evo 2 w/y board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs
Dusk
Just about any thing
Strengths: Accuracy
weight its weighs like 5.5 ounces
strong
Weaknesses: None
price
Review: Ok this is the barrel from the paintball gods if there are any !
this thing is crazy accurate with marbs in it and dusk and even those heavy metal paintballs from veiwloder and another paintball that works great in it is those scorches from gameface.
with my fenix and my evo 2 this thing makes it so my fast fingers get the paint to where i want it and get it there accuratly and in a staight line.
Conclusion: The weight is a big plus
durability
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 3rd, 2004 at 7:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TIPPY NIKY 98C Sunday, September 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
j j edge kit, teardrop, progressive - only the j j kit can compete.
Marker Setup: 04 impulse w/ Vision
ndz Rip Valve
ndz Slick Shot Ram
ndz Titanium Pull pin
ndz Halo low-rise
ndz Equalizer bolt ( Flush )
ndz Mag- Blade Trigger
SP LPR kit
WAS
HALO B
Freak kit
68/3000 nitro duck tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY!!! u get the kit for a reason.
Strengths: Very accurate
Use any size paint
Looks cool
Get to choose the type of front.
Weaknesses: Aluminum is a bit weak must be careful.
Price is a little much

Review: well this barrel is a huge upgrade from my progressive. The inserts are my best friend : ) i cant believe how accurate it was when i matched it up right. Also this barrel is verry accurate about 2" to 4" seperation from 65 feet. Also you get to choose the front you want! i picked the AA front. The looks is also very cool and distinctive. Everyone knows the barrel right when they see it. The only bad thing is that the aluminum is very fragile. You should take real care of it. The price is a little too much but you get wat u pay for.
Conclusion: this is obviously one of the top barrel systems out there. This is a must for any tourney player. get it. Its so accurate its " FREAKY " hahah how corny.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 22nd, 2004 at 10:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rhyno_alsnow Tuesday, September 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pipe's
Empire Kit
Other kits, or two piece barrels
Marker Setup: Impulse
68/4500 PE Tank
Evo II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any good ones, well any, since it's a changeable bore
Strengths: Bore changing
Accuracy
The Fronts
Weaknesses: Weight
Price(but if bought used, it's great)
Review: The main strength about a freak barrel, or kit, is it's bore changing, which causes the paintball to barrel match to be better, which increases accuracy, concluding the dynamo status.

The accuracy is just liek anyother good high-end barrel, this being a dynamo.

Fronts are changeable, which makes it great, if you play back or front, back having a 14" or fron 10" or 12" is good.

The two weaknesses that i found are the weight and price. The weight is not much of a factor if you have a shocker or an alias, but if you have an impulse like me, then you know. and the price, my reccomandation is, DO NOT BUY NEW, why pay 300(canadian, like 230 american) for a new one, while a used one costing 150-200(like 110-140 american) is much cheaper, and is basically the exact same thing, jsut that it's used, and liek 2 or 3 scratches is nuthin, like who cares, who's gunna see anyway.
Conclusion: This it the kit to go with because it's so 'upgradable' i guess, and is great in accuracy, but always BUY USED...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

selmac Sunday, September 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrell
Marker Setup: iconz with full freak kit 12" and 14" tips, spyder ESP, clear grips, revy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, I use zap rec series
Strengths: Accurate, changing bores, looks deadly, scares noobs
Weaknesses: Expensive, needs bigger bore (corrected by a stainless big bore insert)
Review: what can I say this barrell is awesome, I got it, screwed a tip on, did a blow test, went out and was amazed. with this barrell the paintballs actually go where u aim them!!! with my stock barrell I got decent grouping with this barrel, 14", I got 6" groupings running unregulated CO2, I was totally shocked. only thing is my rec series paint uses the biggest alluminum bore, but if I wanted I could buy a stailess Insert thats bigger if I ever needed it. also the full freak kit is expensive, while it is a big improvement I don't think everyones willing to go out and burn $300 on a barrell
Conclusion: If u can afford it buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xtreme13 Friday, August 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Cocker barrel
Progresive
All-American

No other barrel compare
Marker Setup: Green 2k3 VF Autococker
14' Freak
Evil Venturi Bolt
Hollowpoint 3-Way
Sto Ram
Flame Trigger
68/3000 Carbon Fibre
Evo 2
Shocktech Drop
Dye Sticky Grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Match the right bore size any paint
Strengths: Accuracy
Makes ur gun alot quieter
ability to match bore size
looks
Weaknesses: Inserts can break easily
Review: When i bought this barrel right of the bat i was suprised how much quiter it made my cocker u could hardly hear it now. The accuracy on it is also amazing when matching the right bore size i dont see any barrel out there being better than this one.
When buying this u have the choice of customizing the way u want by choosing either an Aluminum Back(Black) or a SS Back (crome) u can also choose what colour tip u want and if u want a Freak or AA front, length is also optional to.
the inserts that come with it r the only weekness on this barrel where there small and very thin wich is easy to break if u step on themm on even put someting on top of them.
So take good care of them
Conclusion: I recomend the Freak to anybody who wants Great Accuarcy Looks and sound.
Only buy this if ur good at not loosing things or can keep good care of the inserts or ur screwed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sprayinpaint999 Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
boom stick
freak jr.
Marker Setup: '03 smart parts vision impy
ND blade trigger
ND bolt
ND clamping low rise
eggy II w/ z board
68 4500 crossfire tank
freak kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
usually anything that isn't a combination, so the size can stay as consistent as possible, i like pmi premium
Strengths: Many bore sizes
Durable
Well made
Very accurate
Weaknesses: Inserts are very thin
Have to size paint
Review: Many people say that there is a lot of hype about this barrel system. I do agree with this, but when they say that the barrel does not live up to its name i do not agree with that. I started out with a freak jr. which i borrowed from a friend and it made a heck of a difference on my pirahna and from then on i loved the barrel. Later when i decided to get a new gun (impy) i decided to get a whole new freak kit with the gun. when i got my gun the accuracy was ok, paintballs would only curve off course occassionally. but when i got my freak the trajectory was absolutely perfect every time. they werent too lofty and they had quite a flat trajectory line to them. they barrel did wonders. the only bad thing about the barrell is the performance of it after you chop a ball. when you chop a ball most of the time the balls go pretty crazy but this is the case with any barrel. the freak does a good job of clearing the paint out after you break. it only takes about 5 balls through it to get pretty clean and accurate again. the only thing that you need to remember is to get good paint that is all the same size. because when one ball is bigger than another the accuracy goes to crap. but if u don't buy crap paint and u size the bore to the paint then this barrel is awesome. i think it is quite good for the price. because if u want a barrel system then you're gonna be spending around 200 dollars anyways. you get what you pay for anyways. even if u did fine a barrel system cheaper than this it probably wouldn't be as accurate or well made. plus it comes with a case that keeps everything all organized which is handy.
Conclusion: Overall i think this is a great system to buy. it is cheaper than the e pipe and boom stick with diff backs also. the fact taht the system comes with so many bore sizes is good too. it has every single size bore that you would ever need. and when the barrel is clean and the paint is sized to the bore perfectly the barrel preformes flawlessly. i give it a 10 because of its price, performance, looks, and many bore sizes.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media