paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
team_xile Saturday, February 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Progressive, Evil Pipe Kit
Marker Setup: Angel 1
45/4500 Crossfire
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any...hence why it is a kit.
Strengths: Price, weight, looks, ease of use
Weaknesses: none that I can think of
Review: Well, this barrel kit is simply amazing. It is nice being able to purchase whatever kind of paintball you want and know that it will fit in a barrel no matter what.
When I used this barrel, I never ran into a single problem. I never had a problem with finding the correct size or anything. I always tested between 5 and 10 paintballs to ensure that the barrel insert I chose was the right size. Once I was sure, I was playing all day, no barrel breaks nothing.

As a matter of fact, in the 2 years I used this barrel kit, I never had a barrel break. That is no lie.

The inserts easily slide in and out of the barrel back. Once the barrel back is screwed onto the marker, the insert isn't going anywhere. You can be insured that the insert won't move around or spin during hard play.

There are 2 types of freak barrel systems, stainless steel, and aluminum.
The aluminum ones are lighter, but less durable as far as denting and what not. The stainless steel ones are a little bit heavier, but are almost indestructible. Not to mention that some of the sizes are the same.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great barrel kit, the freak is the one for you. It has a great price tag, and is very easy to use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dannypaint1 Saturday, January 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye UL
CP
and barrel with a back and a front
Marker Setup: -Pmr UL'ed with full freak system "14, proto alloy back cap
-68 ci 4500 psi DXS hpa tank
-smoke halo b loader with NDZ rip drive
-Vforce profiler with mirror Lens
-Dye C5 jersey
-Empire contact pants
eclipse elbow/forearm pads
Recommended
Paintballs:
any gun
Strengths: Accurate
Lot of variety
Weaknesses: Is a little heavy, no biggy
Review: This barrel is great, but like all barrels nothing is going to be pin point accurate. I have used a freak on a spyder, pmr, and a sl66 ego and i loved it and all three guns. Also the barrel inst that expensive. It is also easer to change the bore size, instead of having to take the barrel off then unscrew the top and back part u just unscrew pull out the insert and slide another one in. And you are back to playing.
Conclusion: It is a great barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slonner Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hammer head pro series
WGP barrel
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
14" Freak kit with All American front
68/4500 dye throttle HPA tank
Viewloader evolution 3 loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any if you have the right inserts
Strengths: Accurate
light
shoots any paint
Weaknesses: It is a wee bit on the expensive side
Review: This barrel is so accurate. It quite fast and light. It rips paint. Makes a nice barrel for a back player or a bushballer who needs the accuracy. This barrel is far better than a Ultra Light. Get the Freak and it will lay down lines and rails like you have a top line gun(unless you have a top line gun in which case it will still be awesome).
Conclusion: Don't get the UL get the Freak it is cheaper I think..... and better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

redz22 Wednesday, December 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Vs3, pmi 72/3000, t-board, wdp loc soc, cp reg, freak barrel, Trinity VS reg adapter, Bloodline push button asa, egg2, Dye I3
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Light, strong, quiet, accurate, looks good
Weaknesses: Price, made by Smart Parts
Review: I have the Full Freak Kit and I will review it.

Quality:
The quality of the Freak is pretty good. I've heard stories that the inserts were easy to bend and break but they aren't. It came in a nice little Freak Case and has inserts in the foam for the inserts and barrel. The foam isn't really cut all too well but I can get over that. The barrel is really sleek looking too.

Accuracy:
The accuracy is really good. I was using a Walmart brand paint and I was able to keep it withing a 1 ft target using a VS3 and shooting 13 bps, so thats pretty good if you aske me. The inserts help the accuracy a lot because they keep the ball straight which, in turn, creates a extremely accurate gun.

Sound:
This thing made my VS3 a lot quieter with all the porting, I got the 14 in one and the whole barrel front is porting. Which is like 6,7, or 8 in of porting. It has 4 rows of porting with slits inbetween those rows.

Inserts:
The inserts are sturdy, and really accurate. The insert sizes are: .695, .693, .691, .689, .687, . 684, .682, .679. All of the inserts are a different color which makes the barrel look a whole lot better. I am freezing paint now and will post how it does with that later.

Conclusion: 9 because its made by Smart Parts
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hondaracer28 Thursday, December 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Jr. Freak
Proto Barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
VLocity hopper
Clamping feedneck
4500 psi and 3000 psi air tanks
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. Make sure they don't have dents.
Strengths: Accuracy
Looks
Adjustable
Light
Weaknesses: Expensive, but I bought my kit brand new for 50 dollars.Good Deal
Review: This is a great barrel, buy it if you have the money. The abilaty to change bore size helps accuracy. This is a great barrel. Like someone else said look around for the better deal if you have your mind set. I would get this if you play lots of tournaments. Haven't taken it into the woods,so I can not help you there. Sorry
Conclusion: Great barrel definantly buy if you have the money. If you have the money then also look into the Ultralight barrels. Those are also very accurate. I like that it is interchangable.I give it a 9 bc nothing is perfect. All in All it is a great barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WillyW0nka Friday, October 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
UL (a bit more accurate, but no adjustable bore sizes, you'd have to buy multiple backs)
Oddssey kit(freaks are way more accurate and look much better)
Assassins (freak more accurate/adjustable)
Tear Drop (freak way more accurate/adjustable)
Marker Setup: Blue/Silver Nerve
Halo B
68/45 PE

Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind you want, as long as you have multiple bore sizes.
Strengths: Weight
Adjustable bores
multiple front/back styles
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Backs look kind of ugly
Review: I've owned a couple different freak systems now. I've had an older style one and the stainless steel version. Both were very accurate and quiet. I personally prefer the all-american barrel tip with the aluminum back and aluminum inserts.

Weight: 8
-They're a tad heavy for the price, but much lighter than many other barrels that you'd normally get on your marker stock.

Adjustability: 10
-You have options from multiple fronts, backs, bore sizes and even different types of metal.

Noise level: 9
-I didn't notice any problems in the amount of noise from the barrel

Accuracy: 9
-Not the most accurate, but definately up there. The adjustable bore sizes enable you to match your paint with the specific size, creating a good solid straight shot.
Conclusion: I bought a full kit for $55, it was a heck of a deal. I wouldn't reccomend paying anything over $65 for this kit though, there are nicer barrels to be had.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmoney07 Friday, August 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock Ion Barrel 12"
-J & J Ceramic 14"
-SP Progressive 14"
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion
-Virtue Board
-Virtue Eyes
-Smart Parts QEV
-CP Regulator
-TechT L7 Bolt
-New Designz Firing Can
-New Designz Donut
-Q-Lock feed
-Halo B w/ Victory Board
-Freak Barrel System
-CP on/off air system w/ 32 Degrees Drop
-68ci/4500psi carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint works because of the bore inserts.
Strengths: -Fits All Paint Sizes
-Light Weight
-Quiet
-Accurate
Weaknesses: -Price of barrel
-Price of inserts
Review: Okay people, hands down this is the best barrel on the market today. That fact is as certain as death and taxes. And what puts it above the rest is not only the fact that it can shoot any size paint with perfect accuracy, but it also is extremely light weight. Now when I say light weight, I'm not talking Dye Ultralight blow away in the wind light. I'm talking about maybe weighing a few ounces, which is still great. Once you get this barrel and learn how to bore to paint match, which is very simple, this barrel is going to be the most accurate thing you have ever shot. Now the only, and I do mean only drawback to the gun is its price. Some people have the means to go out and spend $100 or more on a barrel, but unfortunately, not everyone does. So for those that can afford to spend that much on a barrel, this is your best bet. But since price doesn't effect performance of the barrel, this baby has absoluetely no flaws.
Conclusion: If you don't feel like spending $100 on a barrel, then the Freak isn't for you. But if you have the money, and you want the best barrel out there, you got to get yourself the Freak.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 25th, 2007 at 8:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedballer77 Monday, August 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-the old SP teardrops
-SP progressive,
-SP All american,
-taso winforce,
-empire twister
and stock barrels (eeww)
Marker Setup: SPYDER VS1
-Dxs 48/3000
-Dead on paintball drop with on off
-FREAK 12" barrel with AA front
-Halo TSA lcd backman
-Vs2/3 clamping feedneck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any thats the point.
If you're smart enough to figure out which little tube fits the balls best than your qualified to use this barrel with any paint. If not have someone do it for you then stick with that paint and wear a helmet 24/7
Strengths: accurate as ****
fairly light
looks awesome with AA front
Weaknesses: $$$Expensive$$$(barrel $109, my gun $149)
does not shoot though breaks well
Review: FREAK

Shoots amazing. Hits pop cans consistently from about 30 ft away single shots and bursts no problem on my spyder and that things got some kick. Balls go so straight one on top of another like fat kids eating a chocolate cake.
If you should so happen to be shooting a spyder or heaven forbid something worse and u chop or like me your detents get ripped off and u double feed your screwed because this barrel does not shoot though breaks well its get out the squeegee time and if u play aggressive like me u arn't usually in the best spot to do that.
The price is a bit steep especially compared to my gun but u get what u pay for. And I know the new backs are linger but the inserts are the same wonder if longer inserts would be better. longer zone of acceleration means less air used?



So I order a freak jr mini kit and there out of stock oh wait the guy says he can give me the pieces separate for the same price. Sure whatever I didn't care. By the way wasn't too thrilled with the fact is was a 14" but not willing to pay anymore for the full freak. Two days later what shows up? A brand new Freak, back ALL-CANADIAN(american) front and 3 inserts cheah its a 12" too. Well not really its the old style short back and new style front so its the perfect length 12"



Conclusion: GET IT! Or at least get the junior. If you have the money. I really hated parting with that cash considering my minimum wage job but meh its worth it. GET the AA front if you can quieter and looks better but works pretty much the same just more porting not 100% necessary but definitely cool.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 6th, 2007 at 6:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joejoe41 Thursday, August 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Set
Dye (Boomstick)
A Ton of 1 piece
Marker Setup: ICD B2K4
ICD Freestyle
68-4500 Smartparts Maxflo Inline
Freak system
Fasta 18V
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any - that is the great part
Strengths: Interchangable
Sweet looking
Weaknesses: None come to mind ....
Review: This is one sick setup. Take your paintballs, drop test in the inserts, put barrel together and you are ready to rip. The only thing is you have to make sure your paintballs are consistant in diameter. Other than than - this setup is one of the best in the market. I know SP gets a lot of crap, but the quality is good. Try it!!
Conclusion: Nice set up - I use is all the time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

killens18 Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: I use a ION w/ a FREAK Barrel, QEV, and a clamping feedneck.
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY. I personally use DUSK by Draxxus. They Can't Get Soft like others, and they are dead accurate.
Strengths: Changable Bore Sizes
Dead on Accuracy
Changable Fronts
Great Efficiency
EXTREMELY QUIET!!
Weaknesses: Cleaning is a pain, but not to bad.
Price
Review: I've Played with this barrel a couple of times and could tell a HUGE difference from the other barrels. I went to a scenario last week with this and was clocking em from way away. This barrel works GREAT with any gun. Most of the INaccuracy of other barrels is caused by the paintballs swelling or shrinking. Well with this, just change the inserts! But what i love about this barrel is how QUIET it is! I could be shooting at a enemy 10 yards away and them not know who's shooting!
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel over all the others if you have the money. You will be Glad You bought it. I also Recommend getting the All-American Front along with it. For the reason that the front is quieter, and is spiral ported for more accuracy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 10th, 2007 at 6:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media