paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  Last
        Next Page
killmody Wednesday, October 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
evil pipe barrel, empire barrel kits
Marker Setup: 32degrees impulse with freak barrel, vision, maxflow 88ci 4500psi tank, strange delrin bolt, jack hammer lpr regulator, costom products blade trigger, and my bord is programed so it can shoot 28 bps, it is one of four in the state of mn.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any thing High quality it fits any paint just no cheep stuff it brakes in the barrel easy
Strengths: bore changing
Weaknesses: inserts are fragile
Review: this is a great barrel the bore changing is the best you can fit any High quality paint in it.
It is very accruate with nice paint, just bad paint breaks in the barrel i use crappy dusks in my barrel and I didn't have the right inserts and I broke paint even with my vision on.
the barrel isn't that expencive if you just buy the barrel and one insert. it just gets ixpensive if you buy the whole kit. I reccomend it for any High end marker. If you just play woods ball I would recomend somthing like the stone cold or armson steath barrel(just a sugjestion), any one commited to paint buy this barrel
Conclusion: this is a very great barrel it is good for back and front man and even woods ball
buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper32 Monday, October 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Progressive, Stock barrels, Lapco BigShot...
Marker Setup: Silver Bullet with a smart parts on/off adapter, 63ci nitro tank, Freak Barrel with AA 12'' front
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any because it has interchangable sleeves
Strengths: any type of paint works, accurate, looks good, quiet
Weaknesses: sleeves are a little weak, Expensive, a little hard to clean
Review: This barrel is extremely accurate in that i can shoot ball on ball at almost any distance my gun can reach. I have also found that this barrel is very very quiet. I have played top gun before and found that i could run around someone and even if i missed a shot i could take another because they could not hear it. Also this barrel is very good looking. The one down fall to this barrel is that it is some what hard to clean on the field.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to any one that can afford it because of its accuracy, quietness, and good looks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Genshu Thursday, October 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive, JJ two piece, Teardrop, CP one piece
Marker Setup: Stock Rat Jr. #000123 wit the freak 68/4500 Worr Gas
Recommended
Paintballs:
you can use ANYTHING in here, diablo, nelson, zap, etc.
Strengths: Diff. bores, customizable tips, different back types.
Weaknesses: none, at all.
Review: All i can say is wow, i love this barrel. I will call it my own little one ball paradise. Anyone looking for THE BEST barrel for their money should stop here and get one of these. The price tag is about the same or less than other kits and includes a back and front, a case and 8 inserts. Trust me you want all 8 inserts because paint can warp like crazy, fast! all you have to do for the best accuracy of any barrel is at the start of the day put your paint in the insert and blow thru to see how good the flow is, if its good use it, if it comes out too easy go something smaller, if it sticks in there or wont even go in then go to a bigger size. 8 bore sizes is the best of all kits in thoroughness. Also you cant beat having the ability to buy and use different size tips and backs. Great barrel and a great price for what you get, extreme accuracy. If you arent serious about paintball then get a low price barrel but if you want the best get this.
Conclusion: Just wow, the quality is awesome. The inserts are quality and are not bendable like people say. This is the most common barrel kit and i think barrel overall today, gee i wonder why? maybe becuz it just rox!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mark_426 Saturday, October 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CMI barrels, CP barrels, SP AA barrels, Armson pro series, BOA express, Dye SS
Marker Setup: LX Retromag with NoRise, Y grip, Kapp DZIII
Intellifed Warp/Revvy
Air America REX
TAG Freak
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but BE...fresh tends to shoot better.
I personally like evil
Strengths: Its all interchangeable-tips,backs,bore..
Weaknesses: the inserts are weak(thin aluminum). if teflon coated(etc), could be smoother.
Review: This system is a lot easier to use than some of the newer ones and is one of the first multiple bore systems. It was pricey when it came out, but I picked mine up for $100 with a 12" tip and mag back. I now have a cocker and m98 back, a TAG tip, and a 14" AA tip.
The inserts are simple to use... just start with .689 and drop a pb in.. if it falls through, go down, if it wont go in go up. You just get it snug, try a couple balls to make sure you dont have a deformed one, then you go to town. About what the one guy said, which end do you use... it depends on your pb the way he tells, but it doesnt really matter because its traveling through the same cylinder... i always put the freak logo towards the back because it shows the bore size in all my backs, I have one set and I leave an insert in each back..
The inserts could be a little bit smoother but I have noticed no effiency issues. Go to automags.org and read the tech article on barrels if you want to argue it. 8" unported is all you need for effiency.
I have never had a problem getting my threads started, and my TAG tip is even better than the SP ones.
www.automags.org/resource/tech/tomstech/index.shtml is all you need to know about efficiency.
Pictures of my gun can be found here: www.automags.org/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=86405
and www.geocities.com/mark_426_2007
Conclusion: Be careful with the backs and inserts and it will treat you very well. My cocker shoots darts with it (hit a 6" circle with every shot in a hopper at 15 yards) and my mag shoots well also, (about 1' diameter at 15 yards).
I like it alot, the only thing better would be completely different backs like a pipe kit.
I would reccommend it to anyone using varying paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie1220 Thursday, October 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Smart Parts Barrels
J&J ceramics
Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: 14" full freak barrel kit
Blue tapeworm
EvoII loader
45k Crossfire HPA tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
32* but really any paint is good because you have the inserts to adjust to any paint size.
Strengths: very accurate
versatile with the inserts
quiet...very quiet
Weaknesses: very expensive
Review: i've had my Freak for awhile now and i love it. its very accurate. With the freak i noticed a difference in my accuracy as soon as i shot it for the first time. The freak is also very quiet. with some barrels you can't really tell a difference but beleive me with the freak you defintly notice its alot quieter. Another thing great about the freak is the inserts. it allows you to be very versatile because you can adjust any paint size to fit your barrel. The only real downside to this barrel is its price. its very expensive. Over $200 for a full kit.... thats way over priced it should be more like $150 but even thats prety enpensive.

Pros
------
Accurate
Quiet
Versatile
Comes with a nice case to keep you barrel and inserts safe
really nice looking

Cons
---------
Way over priced
Conclusion: If your looking for an accurate barrel thats versatile and quiet and if your willing to pay the high price then this is the barrel you should get. to me thiers no other barrel like it. i give this a barrel a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 16th, 2003 at 3:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FalloutMan Friday, October 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom products
boom stick
stock barrels
tested alot of other various barrels as well
Marker Setup: E-Mag:
CNC Battery pack
Rouge Factor Milled Rail
Deadly Wind V1 Chord Body
WDP "Sculpted" Feed tube
Freak Set(soon to change)
Shochtech micro drop and on off
68/4500 PMI tank

GZ:
basically the same stuff used on it with some various upgrades
Recommended
Paintballs:
none really it could use any probably
Strengths: easy to swap lengths and such
Weaknesses: inconsistant bore sizes.
Review: I have had this barrel and used in on many guns for the past 2 years almost. I do not recall once where i ever even needed to bother switching the inserts and when i took the time too it wouldnt work anyway (i did properly fit it an all of that) and i end up breaking in the barrel (this has nothing to do with the paint) anyway so i just slap in the 691 insert and never change it.

the numbers on the inserts are completely inaccurate many times. i have had times where i could roll 10 balls thru the smallest insert and use the same balls (or 10 of from the same bag) and need a squeegee to get it through the largest insert and in most cases break the ball in the process.
Conclusion: Personally i wouldnt bother getting any bore kit and just get a barrel thats good quality and maybe a couple different length from peices for it if its a 2 peice barrel.

I give this a 6 because the concept while would seem good isnt really useful and the bore is inconsistant anyway (also note i extremely dislike smart parts because of some other products they make that i have owned along with there patent issue, but it did not change the score of this barrel)
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AgentOrange Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop, progressive, bigshot, other barrels
Marker Setup: Silver 98custom
32* 2003 Expansion Chamber
32* Flame Drop
Madmann Spring Kit
Custom Trigger Job
Ricochet Ak
Clear Dye Stickies
16oz Stubby w\anti siphon
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any will work well in this
Strengths: Interchangable
Pretty accurate
Weaknesses: Somewhat lower quality of the systems
Expensive
Review: Well with the freak system is probably the best system out there if you have alot of guns cause its very interchangable. Its pretty accurate not the best out there, cause if you have a similary paint to barrel match a one peice actually should be mre accurate, but with the freak its much easier to get a perfect match. So it will tend to be more accurate.
Conclusion: If you have alot of pb guns this is probably the best for you. But otherwise one peice barrels or any other barrel system may be best for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mevanking Thursday, October 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
original barrel
Marker Setup: 2002 wgp autococker with blade triggerframe, black magic reggy, orracle 3 way, superfly bolt, freak system
Recommended
Paintballs:
whats weird now since u bout the nice barrel u need really nice paint
Strengths: shoots any paint ok
Weaknesses: extremly hard to clean fast
Review: well really bang for the buck. still hard to clean get the 14 inch barrel and ull love it and people will look up to u. well its telling me to put more words in so i am sooo umm hope u have fun with this barrel go bunker someone
Conclusion: one and final saying buy the best barrel then buy some of the nicest paint
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evan2645 Thursday, October 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have not used any barrels with the ability to change bore sizes before.
Marker Setup: 32 Degrees Impulse w/ Vision & Cricket Board
-68/4500 carbon fiber tank
-maxflo 4500 regulator
-tape werm
-freak barrel sys w/ teardrop front
-Evolution II
-delrun bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
ALL STARS AND MARBELIZERS
Strengths: -ability to change bore size
-front/back customizability
-accuracy
-doesnt break paint
Weaknesses: -sticker placement, other than that, i have not found ANY
Review: This barrel has been amazing for me so far. I find the accuracy unbelievable (although, i have never tried any bore changing barrels before) and i have shot almost 8 cases through it already and i have yet to break a ball. It greatly decreases the volume of my shots (compared to other barrels, you must also keep in mind that impulses are low-pressure, so they would naturally be quieter than any other high-pressure based marker). I love the ability to change the length by switching out the fronts. I have a 14 inch for normal play and i have a 12 inch for front play during tournaments. The only thing that REALLY annoys me about the Freak is that it has stickers on it, and i dont know if their supposed to be this way or not, but the stickers are slightly rotated to the right and it REALLY REALLY bugs me that they are not perfectly aligned. They do not make any difference whatsoever for performance (obviously) but some of us like our equipment to perform good, and look good too. I have not read a great deal into the Jr. Freak simply because i needed the full set, but if you are just a rec player and you REALLY REALLY want a freak, i suggest the Jr. Freak. The price difference is pretty big and from what i know now, the Jr. Freak is pretty much the same thing as the full kit just missing a few things. For tournament players - this is the barrel kit for you. I strongly reccomend it. Just be sure to keep the inserts in the case, because i have heard of them being on the floor and having someone step on them, causing them to bend or dent.
Conclusion: REC PLAYERS - LOOK INTO THE JR. FREAK
TOURNY PLAYERS - THIS IS YOUR BARREL
If you dont know why i am saying this, you obviously havent read my review yet...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 2nd, 2003 at 12:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

flash7613 Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American- same maybe better with a top notch paint match
lots of other barrels from smart parts and 32 degrees that can't compare
Marker Setup: Black Vision Impulse, Full freak kit 10 in with 14 in all american front, stock progressive, 88 ci 4500 psi crossfire tank, 12 volt revvy with xboard, (soon to come tapeworm)

Recommended
Paintballs:
any b/c any paint will match, but i use zap and they work great
Strengths: Shoot any paint you want, looks cool, accurate
Weaknesses: backs cost a lot for ur other markers
Review: WIth 8 different bore options this trully is the most diverse paintball kit. You can use all the different paints and they will all shoot as accurate as an all american with the best paint match. I have never broken a ball and the carrying case is awesome. You can also change ur lengths by swapping all american fronts and other fronts.
Conclusion: I strongly reccomend one, they are worth the $ and are the best paintball barrel kit available. It gets a 10 b/c it really is the BEST.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media