paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  Last
        Next Page
Marballfire Tuesday, August 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All-American, dye ulttralite, dye stainless steel. None of these compare. Hammerhead the only system i like better.
Marker Setup: Silver Dust Angel Speed, Black wdp lowrise, black cobra trigger, smoke halo B, black shocktech drop, Freak, nitroduck 68/45
2k cocker, shocktech bolt, 3-way, ram, lpr, valve, hammer, cocking rod, beavertail, ANS inline reg, dye pivot frame, black ricochet 2k. Freak
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever you want...thats the point of having a barrel system
Strengths: Accuracy, different bore sizes, lightweight.
Weaknesses: none really
Review: The Freak is an all around great barrel system.
-Different inserts for whatever type of paint you use.
-different backs and fronts for your liking.
-excellent accuracy.
-not all that expensive when compared with other barrel systems.
-with aluminum back and front it is very light.
-though inserts are fragile, there should be no problems if you are careful.
-insert doesn't move due to the lip inside the gun and the lip created by the front piece of the barrel.
Conclusion: this is a good barrel systemand i would give it a 10 out of 10, but having seen the way the hammerhead performs, im gonna give it a 9, because the hammerhead is more accurate than the freak, though i strongly reccommend the FREAK!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blue Baller Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
too many barrels to name.
Marker Setup: 2002 VF cocker with many ups. Right now, I have an OTP high performance barrel kit on it, but I plan to go freak soon.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, that's the beautiful part.
Strengths: Pin-point accuracy, good looks, paint/bore matching is simple.
Weaknesses: Fragile feeling inserts, gas hog.
Review: I used the freak on my cocker for a day and can say i was extremely pleased with its performance. It is super quiet, and is easy to stop barrel roll-out for cocker and other closed bolt guns. I always heard this thing wasn't as accurate as honed barrels. To tell the truth, I've experienced far better accuracy with the freak than with any other barrel I've ever used. The inserts are simple to understand and to use. Mismatched paint is a thing of the past. Did I mention the superb accuracy?

Sure, the inserts feel weak, but I take care of my paintball gear, don't you?
Conclusion: Get this if you have the means. This is by far the best barrel i have ever used. It is also one of the best looking barrels i have ever used. Highly reccomended by my picky standards.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghost264 Thursday, August 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing with inserts, flatline, boomstick, Custon products...
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 W/ rt
20 oz Co2
Collapsable Stock
Swat Light
BSA Red Dot Scope
14in Freak Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything... isnt that what the inserts are for?
if ya really want one... draxuss
Strengths: Extremely Quiet
Great Accuracy
Weaknesses: Inserts can be damaged -they do have staineless option
cant shoot ducks in the air?
Review: The Freak Barrel is very good i tested my friends 18in Barrel on my A-5 and i figured it was great on accuracy. he paid 109 for his and only got 1 insert. this barrel was way too long and made my gun look pretty funny. im gonna laugh when we play woods ball when he hits this on a tree. i was impressed with the acurracy and how quiet it was. i got one for myself with the 14in AA front... this is even quieter. for the barrel it is great for all players and you can different backs if you have multiple guns or diffrent length fronts if you want. it may just become better than the boomstick.
Conclusion: great barrel and has many pluses over other barrels. if ya have a little extra cash i would recomend it to anyone who is looking for a better barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 4th, 2004 at 4:22 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintmania101 Sunday, August 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels, dye boomstick, and other dye barrels
Marker Setup: gz timmy, the new evolution 2, pure energy compressed air, gen x reg. 14" freak
Recommended
Paintballs:
We were using severe and they worked extremely well
Strengths: cool looking
very accuarte
pretty quite
Weaknesses: kind of expensive
Review: This is better then any other barrel i have used. It looks very cool, is pretty quite and is very accurate. There is nothing else to smart parts have thought about how to build the top barrel and they have succeed. For any gun get this barrel and your gun can shoot with pin point accuarcy.
Conclusion: Get this barrel if you want to excel your game to the fullest!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kockerdude01 Sunday, August 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none like this
Marker Setup: 2k3 v/f autococker, 14in Freak kit, Bulldog II 68ci/3000, Phat Flame drop, 200 round hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
any cause it has the interchangeable bores, but i use pmi premium
Strengths: check review
Weaknesses: check review
Review: this is a good barrel for begginers or pros alike, good for woodsball or speedball. very accurate and it have the interchangeable bores so you can shot mostly any paint you want out Iterchangeable bores

Pros:
Accurate
i dont chop paintball with mine
Interchangeable bores

Cons:
Price is kind of high
Conclusion: overall im going to give this a 10 cause i think this is one of the best barrels in the world and if you have the money to spend i would get this barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toxicmatrix2001 Sunday, August 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire kit
Marker Setup: LED Matrix, Shocktech LPR, Victorian Volumizers, Gen. E bolt, PBC blade trigger, EVO 2, Crossfire 68ci. 4500psi LP tank, NW cradle, THOR adj. regulator, Freak kit. Redz tank cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI EVIL
Strengths: durable
accurate
interchangable bore
dont chop paint
Weaknesses: price if your poor, no problem for me though
Review: this barrel is the best on the market. its made by smart parts which is one of the most known companies in paintball. this barrels meant for tournament play due to its interchangeable bore. just cause its meant for tournies doesnt mean a non tourny player shouldnt but one. this barrel can be used by anyone. any woods player should buy it if there really into paintball, if you dont go that often theres no point to really upgrade to a freak, the freak is neccesary to any serious player, not newbies or rookies
Conclusion: this barrel is flawless and with its affordability its jsut unbeatable, with it being made by smart parts you know your buying a great accessory
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AmphibiousV Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick i guess is compareable.....
Marker Setup: e-99
regular 200rnd VL hopper (came with gun)
14" Freak system barrel (very nice)
68 cu 4500psi pure energy nitro
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use diablo hellfire and dusk paint normally.
Strengths: Bore Sizes, 2 piece, accuracy
Weaknesses: cost.
Review: I am quite pleased with this barrel, i have great accuracy with this compared to a stock barrel. And the fact that the barrel comes with a case to put it in helps to keep it from gettin scratched up and junk. I like that its 2 pieces, 2 piece is much easier to clean i think. I've only had mine for 3 months but i think its a great barrel, only thing i dont like bout it is that occasionally i have to take out the insert and give the barrel a cleaning with one of those keyboard air cleaner things to get the sand and junk out of it.
Conclusion: i would suggest you buy this barrel if you have the money, if your a little short and want to get a new barrel right now, buy a boomstick, its good too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zoracc Monday, August 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
~32 degrees whisper
~smart parts progressive
~teardrop
Marker Setup: ~spyder electra
~smart parts FREAK 14" barrel wit teardrop front
~12v revolution hopper
20oz co2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paintballs because you can change the bore sizes of the bore sizes of this barrel.just dont use REALLY cheap paint.i use 32 degrees competition paintballs and they work really well. they hardly ever break in the barrel and shoot straight with using a freak
Strengths: ~bore changing
~front changing(so u can change the size without buying a new barrel)
Weaknesses: ~expensive (i got mine fo 125$) OUCH!


Review: this is the best barrel i can ever ask for! it shoots straight and hardly ever causes ball breakage.some people say that this barrel is unaccurate,ha! i dont know wut their smoking cuz this is the most accurate barrel i have ever used! some people also say the inserts are to be treated with care,well (DUH!!)no one would buy a freak barrel and just not take good care of it. dont play with ta inserts and dont fiddle with the barrel every minute and theirs u will have no problem with this barrel. i also like this barrel cuz yuo can customize it alot. if u want it to be longer,just get a new front which is about 43bucks instead of buying a whole new barrel.if u get a new gun,its the same way,just get a new back wich is about 60bucks and use ur same insert and front u already have.i would recommend this to anyone that has a little bit of $$CASH$$ because this barrel is pretty expensive. i would recommend getting a 14"-16" with a teardrop front.(that setup is accurate as hell!)i dont like 18" barrels because their a little bit too long.
Conclusion: if u have around 130$ and u want to improve ur game ALOT, i would defently get a freak barrel as soon as you can!
THIS BARREL IS THE BEST!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JiMMboSS Wednesday, July 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP vertical autococker, PMI 68/3000psi nitro tank, freak barrel, KAPP reflex trigger frame, shocktech front pneumatics, shocktech superfly bolt, dye stickys,, shocktech rat 3:16 valve, eVolution 2 loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
any kind it is a freak
Strengths: different bore sizes
Weaknesses: none it is the best barrel
Review: This barrel is great you can shoot any paintball on the market now and it makes the ball fly farther it is a very good barrel. you can also buy different size fronts so u can have many different size barrels but they are all the same barrel. I f u have 170 bucks to spend on something like a barrel buy this barrel it is very very good
Conclusion: buy this barrel if you have money and want a great barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tipmann98Master Tuesday, July 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
umm... stock barrel lol.
Marker Setup: 98c, Ebolt, freak kit, 14 inch front, Flame Drop forward,double trigger. 32 degrees Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any xcept BE
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Can use any Paint
highly admired but newbs.
Long Range
Customizable
Weaknesses: Price.
o wait not self cleaning
Review: I took this barrel for a test drive in Splat Mountain PA last month. (it was raining horribe)
But anyways i had a blast there i got in a gun fight with an angle and i won the guy called me a "98 Pr ick" I thnk the long range and i the high accuracy for that.
Conclusion: Well. For that One moment with my 98 i was happy. And i would recommend this barrel to any one because instead of buying 4 barrels and dragging them around and getting worried about the paint size. U can just use this to match the paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media