paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  Last
        Next Page
malign Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP tear drop. BOMB (still a good barrel), CP, Dye, you name it.
Marker Setup: My current is an orracle cocker with freak, PE tank, and an EVO II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever you want, fits anything.
Strengths: Great fitting systems, options, accuracy.
Weaknesses: Inserts can be damaged.
Review: Bought mine when they came out initialy for an 2k1 rf cocker. It worked great with any paint. Since then it has been on 3 other guns including my favorite, the orracle. You just can't beat the barrel. It is quiest, accuracy fits well, ubelievable well made for what you pay now (170 online for a full kit, all aluminum) and I've never had an issue with it. All problems I thought I had with the barrel, later turned out to be the paint or the gun, or my inability to size paint correcltly.

If you want the maximum ability to size and aren't so clumsy as to drop the insert and then step on it (some people I know) then get this barrel. YOU SIMPLY CAN'T GO WRONG.
Conclusion: Wonderfull piece of equipment, a must for me when I play. I JUST CAN'T PLAY AS WELL WITHOUT MY FREAK.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

torbo Friday, July 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
anything/everything
Marker Setup: pfhl Automag, RT pro barrel, PE 68/3000 Fiber wrapped, 9v revvy, Lapco d/f
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: changeable bores
quiet
looks good
Weaknesses: PRICE
durability
inserts
really short inserts
Review: Obviously a multiple bore barrel is nice. It allows you to use any size paint. So that makes it more accurate, provided a good paint to barrel match. The barrel is also very quiet. And it looks pretty cool. There is bad though. First I personally am not a fan of insert systems. I feel that there are too many pieces, and the inserts are not as durable as simply changing backs. In the freak system, the inserts are very thin. They dont always line up perfactly with the fronts and backs, leaving a gap. And the inserts are only 4 inches long, giving Terrible gas effiency. I would say that the biggest problem is the price. A freak with 2 inserts costs $120 or so. My favorite barrel system is the J&J edge. You can get the edge with 4 backs for $115. Teh threads on the back also seem to wear quickly on the aluminum backs.
Conclusion: Overall this is a good barrel system. It is just overpriced, and is sometimes lacking in quality control. Its got quite bad effiency too. It does shoot well though. Seven only for the durability, and the cost.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 29th, 2003 at 4:51 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Winchester Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jacko Infinaty Barrel, Winchester stock barrel
Marker Setup: 2k2 Chrome Angel with full freak 68 ci 3000 psi tank, Ans Generation X regulator, revy 12 volt hopper trigger job
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything since interchangable sleeves
Strengths: any ball size works, pretty quite, finds right sleeve shots like bullets
Weaknesses: gotta take out the sleeves and kinda make signs of use on the sleeve
Review: first time i used it did know how to bore size paint so it was alittle off. but then i figured it out and i was shooting bullets i love this system can do any kind of paint and sends them straight. Its is also pretty quite with paint in it can send paint right to the spot i want it plus with an angel i can put alot of paint in the exact same spots
Conclusion: Great Barrel system recommend it to any one. has everything that you would want in a barrel system. shoots very straight with the right insert
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

be1498 Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Full Bore set, Powerlyte Scepter
Marker Setup: Classic Intimidator w/clamshell, WAS Equalizer, Bob's blade trigger, Bob Long delrin bolt, Sidewinder reg, Check-it ram & cap, LP mod, CP new rail w/Kapp on/off, Ricochet AK, Crossfire 68/4500 HPA, barrels, yada yada yada
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about any.
Strengths: Allows you to size your barrel to your paint if you think you need it.
Weaknesses: Freak front is hard to clean, inserts are fragile
Review: I'm not sure that the quality control is up to par on this product. Some inserts seem to lack a nice finish, and they're sorta fragile.

It shoots well, although I prefer my Scepter with only 5 inserts. I don't seem to use the smaller ones much anyway.

The case is nice, but the clear part is easy to crack, and it's too big to fit in most gear bags. The Scepter and the CP set come in nice, small Cordura bags that protect well.

The Freak front is a pain to clean and traps water. I'd recommend the AA front.
Conclusion: It's not the best, but is much nicer than some other products out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 26th, 2003 at 6:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

penguins_r_kewl Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP barrels, JJ Ceramic
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor, Freak barrel with SS back, Shocktech lpc, revy(midnight blue and black dust), 20oz co2.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS and Diablos
Strengths: VERY accurate, customizable, differant bores.
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This is the best barrel Ive ever used. But IMO its a lil overpriced. Just do what I did, I bought a back, front and one insert. This barrel is SO accurate. Plus, it looks awesome, if you get the Stainless Steel back like me. It is also customizable, you can change fronts, backs, and bores.
Conclusion: Great barrel! I would recomend it to anyone, if they feel like paying for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PAINtball Ruler Wednesday, June 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick-- Totally Overrated, DO NOT BELIEVE THE ADS THIS BARREL SUCKS
Tippmann A-5 Stock-- Not great, but one of the best stock out there
Lapco Big Shot-- Great barrel for the money, deadly accurate, CHEAP!!!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Factory Installed Response Trigger
40 inch Java Remote Coil
Dye Boomstick 16'
Freak With 2 Inserts, .684, .686
Pure Energy 16oz ,co2
GT site rail, from Psycho Ballistics
Recommended
Paintballs:
This barrel loves Draxxus, MArbelizers, and Nelson Hot Spots.
Strengths: Sturdy Build
Awesome Porting
It's Silence
Crazy Accurate
Inserts
Speed-ball and Rec-Ball
Weaknesses: A lot of people say the price, but its not that bad.
Review: When i first tryed the barrel, it was on some pro's Angel, I instantly new i had to have it!
I was able to peg even can sized objects in one or two shots from 100+ feet. I wanted one so bad, but all the guns that could fit the Freak were $700+ dollars. I purchased the A-5 in February as soon as it came out, and foolishly bought the boomstick. I liked its acuracy, but when i got my ghilie suit, the loudness of the BOOM ruined my chances of being a sniper. The day smart parts decided to make an A-5 Freak thread, i was already harrasing them. When i got it, i put it to the test, It was early spring, and the squirrels were out getting nuts. Well one was running along the top of my neighbors fence, and i pegged it in one shot. This barrel is the most accurate barrel i have ever fired, EVER. It is also quit as hell. You can shoot a dog, and it won't even know where its being shot at from. I learned that drill from www.pbsniper.com, best place for sniper to go.

Conclusion: Best barrel on the Market. Going to test the All-American barrels my cousins got. No wonder even Angels use freak barrels!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

ouch Sunday, June 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI zero gravity / boomstick / ultralite
Marker Setup: M3 patriot
full freak barrel
NW drop forward shot off
12 volt revy
48cc 3000 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: I travel to big games and have to use different paint
Weaknesses: The price for people starting out that like big wars this is very pricey.
Review: I like the way it quieted my gun down .Also the accuracy improved .The sleeves should be made from stainless. The case this comes in is very nice to keep sleeves from getting wrecked.I had alot of beginners that asked what it was and I had to explain to them how paintballs come in different sizes .
Conclusion: Would buy it again but still a little expensive. Though it helped me hide so people couldn't hear where i was like with thi ACI.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TM pro TC Thursday, June 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AA barrel, tear drop barrel, big daddy barrel, dye titanium boom sticks, dye ulterlight, j&j pro 1 barrel j&j ceramic barrel and also the j&j edge....
Marker Setup: i run a m3 patriot sniper w/ boblong torpeso regulator, check it sweer spot trigger, evolution 2 and my freak....
Recommended
Paintballs:
i use marbs-all starss but basicly as long as u mach up the bore to paint u could put brass eagles in there...
Strengths: accurate
quiet not that i care about that
easy to clean
Weaknesses: non really if i had to say one it would be durabliltiy for the inserts.
Review: well very good barrel for any gun..boob stick are a little worse in my opionon..
for the price though it might not be as good as a boom stick barrel.. might wanna go fore one but i would stil get this not matter the price well....

also though the inserts can dent easy...

very nice looking wuiet accuarate...and like i said good for any gun
oh and good with all aint
Conclusion: very nice barrel but price may be kind of pricey but get it anyway
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 12th, 2003 at 12:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazedhunter Tuesday, June 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J PRO 1, stock, teardrop
Marker Setup: BLUE 2002 wgp autococker, free flow internals(tungsten hammer kit and valve, flat lug) blue 2nd gen hinge trigger, free flow delrin bolt, chrome shocktech front pneumatics, 14" full freak kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
any quality paint, nothing cheap
Strengths: fits any paint, very accurate!!!!, very few chops if sized correctly
Weaknesses: price, but when your after quality you often get high price
Review: its great!!! i'm pickin off ppl thru holes that are an inch wide, laying out STRAIGHT lines of paint that keep most ppl behind the bunker---------- the balls go where they are supposed to-------- EXCELLENT BARREL!!! if your looking for a barrel to replace all other barrels, look know farther!!!!!! you will never need another barrel!!
Conclusion: get one, you'll be glad you did and your gun will thank you!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quiksilver2490 Saturday, May 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
AA teardrop boomy and the evil pipe
Marker Setup: ~Dark blue Toxic Impulse~
~FREAK system~
~Vertical reg.~
~Tapeworm~
~Vision eye~
~Toxic performance drop~
~voodoo bolt and titanium pin~
~20oz. pure energy tank~
~12v revy w/ x-board~
Recommended
Paintballs:
theres 8 barrels so it doesnt matter
Strengths: you can shoot any type of paint unless its square or oval shaped
Weaknesses: none that ive had
Review: What i dont understand is y people are saying that it isnt durable and the inserts break easily. You ppl must like throw em on the ground or sumthin they arent made of diamond. Keep them in the case. This is the most accurate barrel i have ever shot it is pretty quiet the teardrop is quieter but this is really quiet too. I have only broke 5 balls in the year and a half time ive had it and all of them have been because of a wrong paint-barrel match.
Conclusion: This can get quite pricy i recomment that u should get the barrel with one insert and then buy only the inserts of the paint u use. this is a great barrel and works great on any gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media