paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  Last
        Next Page
dbf1066 Sunday, May 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All American, Boomstick
Marker Setup: Timmy, mac-dev, freak, EVO II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about any
Strengths: Inserts, adjustable fronts, even adjustable backs
Weaknesses: durability, and quality issues
Review: First let me say I really like my freak, I love the idea that I can totally match my paint/bore with just a quick change. Its modular design is/was really breakthrough (Smart Parts was years in front of everyone else here).

I believe it has pretty good (not great) accuracy/consistency because the paint can match the barrel back pretty well.

One of my biggest beefs here is that on the inserts, the chamfer is out of round or not present at all and trying to tell which direction to install the insert is aggravating. I try to do it by determining which side has the largest, most round chamfer and install with that facing backwards (towards the gun). Clearly a quality problem while making the inserts and I do believe the accuracy of the barrel takes a hit because the entry point into the barrel isn't symmetric allowing the paintball to enter the barrel unevenly.

On the durability of the inserts, if you put even the smallest amount of care into the inserts they will last for long time, just keep them in the case and it shouldn't be a problem for you.

Here are my pros and cons for this barrel system.

Pros:
- modular inserts offer great versatility to shoot whatever paint you want.
- you can also change out the front with other smart parts 2-piece barrel products AA etc
- replacability of parts (fronts, backs, inserts)
- barrel case is also nice way to protect those not so durable inserts
- the inserts are fairly low cost

Cons:
- The chamfer on the inserts is not round (none of mine are) which again I believe this is one of the reasons the accuracy can sometimes suffer.
- The finish on the inserts is what ever it is for extruded tube (the next generation 2 modular barrels have begun to address this no .7 micron finish here etc)
- The placement of the Oring on the front is bad, because it makes getting the thread started difficult and I have noticed higher wear on the threads between the front and back because of this.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel, since I do think it is a good system. However I don't give a 10 because the next generation systems have taken what SP has done and made some needed improvements.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 25th, 2003 at 9:03 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

robert91090 Sunday, May 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing matches this.
Marker Setup: Cocker with stuff.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anythign works in this from Brass Eagle to Evil.
Strengths: This is the ultimate barrel(s)
Weaknesses: none.
Review: This is like 8 barrels. You can get it in nearly any length too. Differant insert fit ANY paint you can find. It's extremely accurate. This barrel kit it awesome. Some companies are catching up to this, but nothing matches it yet. This barrel kit blows away Pipe, Scepter, Edge and kit in my opinion.
Conclusion: This is awesome. It's a lot of money, but worth every penny. You won't break paint in the barrel or anything like that in a tournament. This thing is awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DfntPntbll Friday, May 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick
Marker Setup: Bob Long Defiant running compressed air, Dye panels, Freak barrel, Blue Revie with x-board, eclipse worm trigger, cocker trigger spring, operation pressure set you 100psi.
Recommended
Paintballs:
DraXXus or Diablo Direct. Diablo Hellfire and ZAP Select Series.
Strengths: interchangable barrel sizes. great for matching up ANY paint size.
Weaknesses: the sleaves are kinda thin and CAN dent easily if not taken care of properly.
Review: I read a few reviews on this before I got it and beleive me,...you wont be sorry you got it. worth every penny I put into it. I have completely stopped using my Dye boomstick. I would stick with the 12" if you play speedball. 14 if you play in the woods,...wouldnt go any longer than 14" for any reason.
Conclusion: Excelent barrel for the money not to mention that you get a really sturdy case to keep it in and protect your investment. I would give it a 15 but the scale only goes to 10,...so 10 it is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

celtics89 Monday, May 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye titanium but the freak is much better
Marker Setup: Autococker 2002 Vert
Racgun Frame
A.N.S Gen X regulator
Wgp Drop Foward
HALO Loader
Freak Barrel
Evolution Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paintball of the players choise considering it has all the different bore sizes so the player has to chose except for brass eagle which we all no sucks
Strengths: it is the most accurate barrel on the market
Weaknesses: absoultly none
Review: The freak is by far the best barrel on the market weather using a freak front or an all american front i find all americans a little betterit is more accurate than dye just a little heaver than titanium series but it is totally cahnageable just slip in the insert that best fits your ball this barrel has the best in everything if u r looking for a new barrel this is must it will out shoot your apponint and will never curve if using the right insert it is a two piece which makes it eaiser to clean all in all it is the best u have to get it
Conclusion: This is the best barrel on the market and can be bought for anygun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Purple Skinny Saturday, May 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Accurate as boomy, ive never used a evil pipe, but they are about the same. I diffenatly prefer the look and freedom of The Freak.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-grip
Cyclone Feed Upgrade
GTA Double Trigger, carved to a blade trigger.
Palmer's Stabalizer.
Dead On Pro something drop foward.
32* Macroline.
Lapco Bottomline Mount.
Freek Jr. w/ .689, .691, and .693 inserts. 10 in and 14 in.
Evil Spyder - A-5 Barrel adaptor.
Java 12 oz.
Some kind of tank cover from Xpaintball.com.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any thing, but i pretty much only use the .689, it fits all star, evil, etc very good. The .691 works great for PMI premiums. My friend shot a case of that new BE afterburner stuff, with the .689, and didn't break one ball and they shot straight.
Strengths: Quiet, good looking, most accuarate barrel I have every seen. Never breaks balls.
Weaknesses: If you get a freak JR. the front looks like a penus.
Review: This is the best barrel I have ever seen and used. From the drop off point in my velocity (like from one end of a field to another), I hit about a 5 inch spread. Take about 4 or 5 shots, you got em out. I used to never hit one shot kills, but now I get one or two of them about every other game. Very satisfiying.
This is the quietest barrel ever. It shut my A-5 up to the point the cyclone feed is loawder than the barrel. You can hear the bolt. Amazing.
Sence only about 6 or 7 inches of the barrel (the back) even touches the ball, you can use any length front you want and it doesnt make ever the slightest difference in accuracy. My 10 inch is a bit lowder than my 14inch, but they both get the same accuracy.
Its so easy to custumize. You can buy any bore size from like .679 to .695. You can buy fronts in 10, 12, 14, 16, and 18 inch lengths, and backs come in black aluminum and silver stainless steel. I've seen a olive/green looking back before, I think its made of aluminum too. I never saw it online, but they sell it at a shop near my house.
Conclusion: Buy this, and you will never break a ball again, or get that retarded spin that will ruin a perfect game. Buy this, and your game will become 10 times better and fun. 5 stars. Perfect. 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

marfish Friday, May 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None. Stock barrel was adequate (I thought) with the RIGHT paint.
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact 2000 D/Lux with home-made DELRIN bolt (I'm a home machinist),
Shutter reg. and mini-x grip on a drop forward,
total Freak! system w/ aluminum back.
All this is driven by the ideal gas, constant pressure CO2. (regulated down to apprx. 700-750 LBS. for liquid prevention).
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any at all work well. DUH! I prefer Anarchy due to the bright, thick fill 'cause they don't wipe easily. They also work well in my other gun's stock barrel 'cause they're big.
Strengths: Versatility. Consistency, and accompanying accuracy. Also is quieter than stock.
Sleeves to match all paint.
Weaknesses: Thin walls at mounting threads.
Must squeegee after ball breaks
Titanium inserts would be tougher.
Review: I've had this for more than a month but the options window didn't include 1 and 1/2 - 2 months.
My kills to shots ratio went vertical after this one change in my gun. Now even the more experienced players give me wide berth when we play. I don't waste paint like I used to trying to hit a target and that's a big plus. Ask anyone at my field if any have been hit in the head or through a tiny gap by Marlan's paint at 100 or more feet and they'll probably just point to the spot and hang their heads. They had believed they were safe and were smartly rewarded.
I carry a squeegee or battle swab 'cause I have found that ball breaks are frustrating, on this barrel without one. This barrel doesn't self clear well due to the front half of the barrel bore being considerably larger in diameter than even the largest insert bore. This is common with most all stepped barrels. The barrel is stepped for good reasons though: gas pressure stabilization around the ball is primary. Unfortunately balls shot through after a break only skip and drag along in the soup (without clearing it out) and fling themselves out the end at odd angles. If I could just get the paint to stay in the top of the barrel I would have a flat-line Freak!
For Spyder markers, the mounting threads are already thin on all other barrels and are thinner yet on the FREAK! due to the thickness of the insert and O ring spacers being subtracted from the overall thickness of the barrel wall at the threads. I've had no problems but I'm very careful where I poke my barrel.
I'd only played for a few weeks but I knew there must be something better than my stock barrel on my brand new marker. I found myself shopping for paint to match the generously large stock bore @ around .689. When a friend showed me his Freak system on his Autococker I freaked out and got one. My Spyder is now almost as deadly as his Autococker. I learned in a very practical way that a good barrel is the best first upgrade for increased accuracy. I can now shoot any paint I want. If I find a great deal I get it and size the insert to it.
So what if it is more expensive than most high end single barrels. How much would you pay for 5-8 different expensive barrels? Was that a hint? ($400-800 bux). Do the math: $200 retail for complete barrel set or 2-4 times that. Sounds like good money management to me. And it works on any of the most popular guns-just change the back to fit the new gun. Change the tip to make it longer or shorter. How ingenious is that!?
Conclusion: I read once; "Invest in quality equipment whenever possible and you will not be disappointed." Wwwhat? Read that again. You'll also usually save money in the long run.
1. If you shoot a Spyder (wipe up the mess, murderer) try to get the stainless back for extra strength at the mounting threads. It also looks way cooler.
2. Carry a squeegee. It takes way too many shots to clear a break and then it's only about 70% good.
3. Match the paint to the sleeve well so that the balls won't just roll out nor get stuck when blowing them through by mouth. Sleeve too small and they break. Sleeve too big and they yield slower muzzle speeds and poor consistency.
4. You may need to turn your velocity adjustment up a little to compensate for the shorter length of acceleration tube. You may also need to turn it DOWN due to better paint to barrel match. (you do always chrono safely before playing, Right?!)
5. Got lots of money? Buy several of the other barrels. On a budget? Buy this expensive ONE.
Three cheers for Smart Parts and their FREAKS!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 9th, 2003 at 11:22 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Meola Thursday, May 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe Bomb barrel Kit
Marker Setup: Angel Speed
68/4500 Blue Kiss A.I.R
Evil Pipe Bomb barrel kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any because it will shoot any
Strengths: Takes any bore of paint
Weaknesses: Confusing
Review: This barrel system is good but you have to deal with the confusion of Inserts and this and that which isnt good if you need to change your barrel between games. The case that the Freak kit comes in is great but I found it too bulky almost like I was carrying a briefe case around. I also found that the barrel itself wasnt that eye catching or pleasing it is like its just a tube coming off your marker. Sure looks can be sacrificed for performence, but I found that the freak didnt perform as well as it was said to perform. I would personally get the Evil barrel system instead, it is better, more compact and is a lot more visually appealing.
Conclusion: If you cant afford the Evil system then get the freak if you can afford it, these barrel kits are a god send. They allow you to shoot any type of paint without having to purchase a million different barrels which in the long run would cost more. I am going to rate this a 9 although if I could I would give it about a 9.4 - 9.5
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Devs Tuesday, May 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe, Empire barrel set, CP Pro set
Marker Setup: WGP Green 2k2 Vert Cocker
WGP Hinge
WGP CT 3Way
Shocktech FGP LPR
WGP STO Ram
Palmer Stab inline reg
kapp beavertail, cocking rod, on/off
cp flame drop
shocktech rat and supafly
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Green with black splash BM2k
Vapored
Soon to be chaos chip
soon to be PDS'd by ICD
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, duh! Thats why you get a freak!
Strengths: 8 barrels in a single kit, minimize bore sizing problems.
Weaknesses: Price... ick
Review: Function:
The Freak works wonders. Honestly it does. It eliminates the necessity of owning multiple barrels for different size paint. Being able to use one barrel to accomodate all forms of paint is the best idea out there as far as i'm concerned. I mainly shoot a cocker, which everyone knows is closed bolt. So if the barrel is too big, i skip shots cause the previous rolled right out the barrel! Ack! Bad stuff... So i need a perfect fit. And the freak gives me that. I wouldn't trade it for anything! Well... Except maybe an Angel Speed! :-D

Style:
The stainless back looks the best, hands down. The aluminum is kinda bland... I like the fact that you can use AA fronts or Freak fronts, so you can get the totally customized look! The freak barrel porting looks cool... kind of a pain to clean, but still cool looking. And I like all the colors of the inserts! WOOHOO!!!

Durability:
Dont' kid yourself, the sleeves are made of aluminum. You have to take good care of them, or you'll be fronting more money to get new ones. This can be a problem for you people who don't baby your equipment. My gear is so insanely important to me, it gets cleaned after every day of play, and is stored in the proper places... So its not a big deal for me. I got the back stuck in my cocker, and because of the front pneus, i couldn't get a grip on it. someone suggested taking an allen key or screwdriver and putting it through the big holes to get some leverage... BAD IDEA!!! It bent the side wall of the back.. The stainless steel bent!! What the hell! Thats about it... Just take care of the stuff and it'll treat you very well.

Bad!?!?:
To tell you the truth, the only real drawback to the freak is the fact that its a single barrel with some small aluminum sleeves... But its still 200 bucks! Just the barrel and a single insert is 109... What in the heck is that all about??? I absolutely love the product, but I'm glad i bought mine used. I only paid 130 for the entire kit from a guy getting out of paintball. But I feel sorry for all the guys paying retail for this puppy. But it is worth it if you play as much as I do. So... Its bad and its not... Just depends on how much use you plan on getting out of it.
Conclusion: Overall this is an amazing product.
Smartparts does it again. I'm not a big fan of the company itself, but they make good products. Tech support is lacking. They never got back to me.... After like 3 months... Anyway, the barrel is a step above the rest. It gives you the edge needed to win the game. Accuracy is greatly helped because you can get a proper ball/barrel fit! So there you have it. I say buy this if you have the money! Other wise try to find it used! Price is the only thing bringing this puppy down a notch.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jlink Tuesday, May 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick
J&J Ceramic
Ultralight
Excel
Marker Setup: 03 vert Cocker
Freak Set
E-Blade
Dye Rocket Reg
STO Ram
Halo B
Toxic Drop Forward
Messiah In-Line Reg
Pure Energy 4500/48
Shocktech Supa-Fly Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
Strengths: Accuracy
Weight
Bore Sizes
Weaknesses: Price
Inserts
Review: All in all nice barrel set. Took it to the field the other day and never chopped once. Very accurate especially on a cocker. Get it if you have the money. If not I recommend the ultralight. Only thing you have to worry about is bending the inserts. Also, if you play indoor and out door, buy both tips. SS for Indoor and TD for Outdoor. 14 " works fine in both for me.
Conclusion: Buy It If You Have Money. You will not be dissapointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Woozer Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing close to the sweetness of this barrel.
Marker Setup: Red Gloss Nasty Impulse
-Full Freak
-Vision
-68/4500 Maxy
-NDZ No-rize feed tube
-12 VOlt Revvie
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind, they all shoot decent because in this case, size doesn't matter, lol, because of the inserts.
Strengths: Looks good w/ SS back, inserts, many lengths availiable.
Weaknesses: Umm...nothing really
Review: This barrel is the ruler of all barrels. It looks killer with the Stainless Steel Back, you can get any lengths from like 10'' to like 18'' or something like that, it has inserts so no matter what paint you use, the paint will always fit the bore, and lastly, it's made by SMart Parts, so that's comforting.

I think the inserts should be a little longer though, they're only 5 inches, I think they should be 8 because that's the length that it takes for the paitballs to reach maximum velocity. And you have to always check to make sure your tip is screwed in all the way...I had a bad experiance with that one, lol. Other then that, great barrel.
Conclusion: Sweet barrel, looks good, performs great, has 8 inserts, you can shoot any paint w/o worrying about what size the paint is. Excellent overall, definitly recomend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media