paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  Last
        Next Page
mrbubbles Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J two piece
Marker Setup: 2002 blue to purple fade STO autococker
Dye Hinge Trigger and Sticky 3 grips
Smart Parts 14 inch freak chrome and blue
eVlution II cear
Recommended
Paintballs:
big ball
Strengths: changing bore sizes
looks good
comes in all sizes
Weaknesses: seems a bit fragile.
Review: the first time i was shooting PMI premiums i thougt this barrel was more hype than help, but when i started shooting big ball i noticed a GREAT accuracy increase.i have a .689 insert and if thats what you have you need to shoot big ball. um need more words.... a good looking barrel that will make people notice your gun.
Conclusion: great barrel once you match the right size paint to your barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Badjojo Monday, April 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Not really any changeable bore barrels
Marker Setup: 02 vertical reg Impy
System X grips
CP lightining drop
ND Equalizer bolt
ND Slick shot ram
Jackhammer 2 LPR
15 degree vertical reg mount
12in teadrop
12in AA front Freak barrel w/ 2inserts
ND blade trigger- lighter than mouseclick wohoo kicks @ss
68/3k and 88/45 Crossfire tank(Great tanks!)
-Ricochet 2k-Best customer service in the world period! Nice hopper too
Recommended
Paintballs:
Its changeable bore! Wohooo any size paint you got the insert for
Strengths: Read below! These requirements are dumb as doors!
Weaknesses: The inserts are flimsy and thin
Inserts arent very long
Review: *the strengths box was givin me crap
Strengths
You can change it
You can buy more inserts for 20 bucks
It looks nice, even the aluminum one
The name is worth the money! LOL!



I like it, it suits my paintballs good
I shoot either powerball or PMI premium and got 2 inserts that fit both of em
I would seriously look into getting a powerlyte sccepter 3 insert set. That was the same price for which i got mine
100 AA front freak back
10 blue front
22 insert
22 insert
_________
154
Also the scepters have longer inserts and look sturdier. So check out both, but the freak is a very nice barrel set and i certainly wont be getting any new barrels anytime soon!
Conclusion: Go buy it! Or buy a scepter! Changeable bore barrels are the sh!t
I gave it a 9, very little is perfect and certainly the freak isnt perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AK47 Saturday, April 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels
Marker Setup: GZ timmy.68/45 PE tank and Halo b
Recommended
Paintballs:
any you want
Strengths: you can use any paint you want and have good accraucy
Weaknesses: if you break paint you are screwed untill you clean it piece by piece
Review: I bought the freak for its accraucy claims, its ok with accraucy but the cost is way to much. $150cdn for a steel back is insane! The inserts are so fragile you step on them and they turn into paper weights. The thing that pisses me off the most is the cost. $375+plus tax cdn, pipes are cheaper, look better, just as accurate and shoot clean.One break will basically screw the day over untill you do a thoro cleaning. Inserts are expensive, tips are expensive and the whole system was great but compared to a pipe is a waste of money in my opinion.




Conclusion: Get a pipe, it will shoot clean, I was rather disappointed with the freak as its not sooo accurate but is vertatile
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Janus2000 Saturday, April 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Products 2 piece, Boomstick
Marker Setup: Shocktech Bushmaster w/ ACI Bulldog 68" 4500psi tank, and Freak barrel system
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. This system matches the ball.
Strengths: Multiple bore sizes, simple change from one marker to the next.
Weaknesses: Accuracy.
Review: There are quite a few different ways you can set up your freak barrel system. This is one of the greatest things about the Freak. You can change the length of it on the fly. Paint doesn't match the barrel is no problem as you have 8 different sleeves that are sure to create the perfect barrel to ball match. The biggest complaint I have with this barrel is that it is two piece. Don't get me wrong, two piece is a great design. It offers you more options with you barrel. The problem is, I haven't found a back and tip line up yet. I've used this system on 3 different markers and the same result. The pieces do not match up. This affects the accuracy of my shots. The great thing about the boomstick was that, though it was two piece It was glued together solid making sure that it stayed lined up. Making it very accurate. Even if the two pieces did line up, over time the o-ring that held the two in place will wear out as will the threads, thus ending in with the same result. Poor accuracy. Though this can be made up for a little with a good paint to barrel match. Still, the problem remains. There is also a problem of the insert sliding around inside the barrel. The o-rings inside do little to keep it from moving around when you are shooting. Powerlyte has eliminated this problem with their scepter series barrel.
Conclusion: Smart Parts has created a great piece of kit with the Freak. It has many setup options. For what you get it isn't too bad. It's got a ways to go to compare with the accuracy of a boomstick (Sad though that now the Boomstick is able to be separated). But, perhaps it could change for the better if It were a solid one piece barrel and the insert slid in from the back. This would eliminate the nice feature of choosing your length of barrel, but that has little to no influence on the accuracy of a ball anyways.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lil_Wick Saturday, April 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Big Shot Barrel
Marker Setup: Automag w/ intelliframe, lvl 10, X-Valve, complete freak barrel system, dye sticky, 12v Viewloader w/ x-board, 3000 psi nitro tank, cp drop forward.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil and Marbelizers for tourneys, team colors, pmi premium for good paint at good price(rec ball)
Strengths: nice looking, accurate, fits any ball
Weaknesses: inserts are fragile, price
Review: The difference between my Big Shot barrel and the Freak doesn't amaze me or anything but ther still is a pretty notable difference. The Freak is a lot cooler looking than a lot of barrels and it is very accurate. Lots of times when i'm shooting around if i take 1 shot and then take another without moving the gun the second ball will hit directly on the first paint spot, in other words it's very consistent and accurate. The one thing I don't like about it is the inserts are very thin and when i put them in i feel like they might break, and when you have big bore sized inserts it can get hard to take them out of the barrel. If you only use a couple of different types of paint then don't get the complete Freak barrel system. Instead just get the ones that will fit the paint you use. It's a little bit quieter than my old barrel but not too much of a difference. My backing is the black aluminum one and it isn't heavy or anything, it's normal.
Conclusion: If you use a variety of paint and are willing to spend around $200 for a barrel that is cool looking and that has good consistent accuracy then this barrel is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 18th, 2003 at 10:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballjnke44 Thursday, April 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No others [ i mean bore chngeing type barrels]
Marker Setup: Genx-3 autococker [orange to black fade chaos series], Sytem -x delrin bolt,tko drop,nitro duck 68ci 3,000 psi tank,freak of course,12 volt revy,redz tank cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
any well except be but if u wanted to any
Strengths: u can shoot any paint and it iz really nice and great for tourneys
Weaknesses: None
Review: ok i found nothing wrong with this barrel and people that damage the inserts are probaly clumsy or are doing somthing wrong,but if u drop then on a hard rock or a really hard surface it will dent but i have not had this problem cause i take good care of my stuff but it is hard to dent them at that this barrel iz the best ok u will b very happy with it i promise u i think it is probably the best barrel out there but that iz my opinion.OK well it iz really nice because u can use any paint and it will shoot nice and no balls rolling out of the barrel,it iz really nice for the tournments that i go to and just tournements because u usally dont get to pick your paint therefore where ever u go u will always b fine it is almost like having 8 barrels but not it is really nice
Conclusion: i think this iz a great barrel and iz a good investment it will pay for itself saving your but wen you ned it best trust me u won't regret it i didn't
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DetroitIgnition Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
NONE compare
Marker Setup: IR3 C&C Champain, freak barrel, Halo b, Angel A.I.R, 2 KAPP volumizers
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY paint will shoot out this barrel great.
Strengths: Less ball dropage
Weaknesses: Inserts are delicate.
Review: Thsi barrel is great for a tourny player, well anyone that can get the money for it. It results in less ball breaks better accuarcy, better air effince, more concitent voloicty, All aruond great barrel. If you are having a problem w/ ball breaks and bad volocity and bad accuarcy get this barrel.
Conclusion: You schould get one it will improve the liking on ur marker and playing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SquirrelRef Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have not ever used another multi-bore barrel, i never needed to cuase i have this one
Marker Setup: ok, dont luagh, i spent alot on my tippy! i got a 98 with a low pressure kit, a reg, dropforward, 12v revy, double trigg, rubberband instead of a trigg spring, and yes i bought a barrel that is worth more than the marker itself, my freak.
Recommended
Paintballs:
you need to shoot nery fresh and topgrade balls with a 98 freak, i'll explain more below.
Strengths: shoots anysize ball, duh. you can order individual parts of it incase you break something.
Weaknesses: if you have a tippy98, get a cocker back and a thread adapter.
Review: the tippmann 98 freak backs are not the same as other backs. the inserts only can be inserted in through the front and the insert does not seat properly inside the back. there is a gap between insert and the inch long section of barrel with the 98 threads on it. i know it might not make sense but its hard to explain, just trust me. if you have a 98 and want a freak barrel(yoiu are an idiot like me to spend more on a barrel than the marker) buy a cocker back and get a15$ thread adapter. it will make a world of a difference. when you get your adapter or you have a marker other than a 98 with a freak, you will never regret spending the dough for this barrel.
Conclusion: this barrel is totally awesome. most fields require field paint. if you like a few different fields, they may use different paint. the freak is your solution. i like to sleep with my freak. this barrel is the #upgrade on any marker. most poeple dont understand that the paint is what makes the barrel accurate. this barrel will allow you to be accurate with any type of paint. this barrel takes any marker up a notch on the accuracy ladder. buy it. now. if you dont have the dough, rob a bank or something. i wish i could rate it higher than a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Captain Anarchy Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
P&P Boomstick
J&J
SP Progressive
Marker Setup: Nasty Impulse
Pure Energy 68/4500
Freak Barrel (Red Back, Red All American Front)
Evo II
ANS Jackhammer II
Slik Shot Hammer Shaft
New Designz Valve
Tactical Cradle
Recommended
Paintballs:
Even Wal-Mart paint shoots ok in the Freak (but I wouldn't reccomend trying it)
Strengths: Accurate
Any size paint
Good looks
Weaknesses: If for some reason you do break paint, you have to run water thru it.
Review: This is one amazing barrel, I've shoot quite a few barrels in my time, and nothing compares to the Freak system. I've shot it on an Impulse, Matrix, 2k2 E-Cocker, Pirahna, and Rebel. It works great on ANY gun. One of the great things about it is, for multiple gun owners like me, is that if you get a new back, you've got a totally new barrel for a differnt gun, Ive got an Impulse, Cocker, and Tippmann back. Compare that to buying boomsticks for each. In the rare occasion that you DO break a ball, it can be a pain to clean sometimes, with mine, im out of the game. Thank god I only break about once every 2 or 3 cases of paint.

I give it 9 out of 10 because of the paint cleaning annoyance.
Conclusion: This is a GREAT barrel for the money. I would reccomend this to anyone, especially multiple gun owners
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

marsman2015 Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick
Marker Setup: Impulse vision, tapeworm, blade trigger, evil bolt, freak barrel system, halo b, 68 ci 4500 psi crossfire nitro w/ on/off valve, shocktech drop.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any except ones you find on the ground..
Strengths: Nice looking, very accurate, it has inserts so you can use it with any paintballs.
Weaknesses: Expensive, and the inserts can bend even thought I have never had one bend.
Review: This is the best barrel I have ever used. I like it better than the dye boomstick or anything else. I like that you can change the front so you can have it be a different color or length depending on what field you are playing at and that you can change inserts so you can use any painballs with it. Most people say that to find the right size insert you should find one that is tight but not too tight but my friend and I have found out that putting a bigger sized insert in it (one that the ball will just be able to roll out of) makes it a lot more accurate.
Conclusion: The best. A little expensive but worth the money. Get it and you will love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media