paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  Last
        Next Page
cannondale Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Products Pro Barrel,
Marker Setup: Shocker Turbo, Vertical Regulator, 68 4500 nitro, WG on/off Drop, Powerfeed air assist Richochet AK, Full freak Kit 10".
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs you can find.
Strengths: Beautiful, extremely accurate, match paint to barrel easy
Weaknesses: The inserts can be stepped on and bent
Review: This is the Holy Grail of Paintball Barrel hands Down!!!! if you have two guns fine just buy backs for each and you have 7 barrels for each paintball gun. Sell your marker Fine just buy a new back for the new gun (if it has diffrent threads). If you travel alot to diff fields or your weather changes quite frequently just change inserts to fit your ball. You really can't go wrong with this barrel system, the price is not bad either I've spend about 500.00 on barrels when I changed guns or needed a barrel to fit certain paint at diff fields. Having one or two barrels really did not work well for me when it rained balls would swell a bit or when it was cold balls would shrink you know the story. After I purchased the freak system no problem!!!! If your paint matches your barrel you have better accuracy, chrono is much more accurate and this barrel is quite so it's a win win situation all around. Paintballs are to expensive to waste and this barrel waste none to little when your shooting at your foes Picture yourself with a all Weather Barrel system shooting once or twice to hit your target instead of 5 or 10 shots.
Conclusion: Very nice Barrel Sytem, well worth the money, it will save you money in the long run. (wasting Paintballs) and winning the game too. This is not Hype it's a Fact!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

WhiteSpyder11 Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 12volt revolution
14 inch smart parts freak barrel
20 ounce tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but brass eagle. Allstar paintballs are sweet, thats what i use.
Strengths: barrel looks good
inserts
last long
cheap for what you get
Weaknesses: there isn't any for me
Review: This barrel has a great look to it, barely breaks any balls, the accurary is awesome. The inserts don't break if they do you can always replace them instead of a whole new barrel. This barrel save you money. There are many fronts of the barrel. Each has a different style. This barrel has three parts, so instead of breaking the whole barrel you might only break one, and only one to replace.
Conclusion: Get this barrel. $140 dollars well spent!! The length doesn't matter. I think 14 inch is just fine.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the_midget_man Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
CP barrel
Marker Setup: Syder Victor, shocktech lpc, freak barrel, revolution, 20oz co2, expansion chamber.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, never chops, even if you use Brass Eagle.
Strengths: Everthing
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: This is the best barrel you can buy, it is accurate, pretty kewl lookin' and wont chop any paint. I put is on my spyder and wow, it shot exactly what I aimed for and it is vertical feed spyder. Its expensive though!!!! I got a stainless steal back on mine, so its heavy, but if you have aluminum, its pretty lite.
Conclusion: Greatest barrel of all time. BUY IT! I recommend it to any player, begginer or expirensed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

EricF4i Wednesday, April 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts progressive
Dye ultralite
Marker Setup: Impulse w/vision and verticle regulator
-Custom Products low rise
-Freak barrel system
-blade trigger
-New Designz delrin bolt
-System X drop with on/off
-Nitro Duck 68/4500 tank
-12v revolution
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.....that is what the Freak is for.
Strengths: 8 barrels in one. Any length you want. Shoot any paint.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This is the ultimate barrels system. Don't be limited to the paint you shoot because a particular one is too big or small for your barrel. I have shot expensive paint and cheap paint and they all shoot well in this barrel. The only paint I had trouble with was a bad case I got that they balls were 'egg' shaped. I could get better accuracy with the Freak than with my stock progressive but I would still get one every now and then that would fly crazy. And you can get the lenght barrel that you prefer. Don't like the short barrel.....screw in a longer one. Buy a new gun that has different threads....buy a new back instead of selling your barrel and buying another. They have several different colors available to your liking. A lot of people say go with the Boomstick. I'm not putting them down...they are great barrels if your paint to barrel match is good. I know I had one. But my Freak shoots a lot better than my Dye did. I know some say it is expensive but go out and buy 8 different barrels with different bore sizes. And as far as some people saying that the inserts are fragile, I don't see it. Who leaves things laying on the ground to be stepped on. It is called taking care of your equipment. Leave the inserts your not using in the protective case.
Conclusion: If your budget allows buy it now. It will definately improve your game. If your marker is more accurate shot after shot so will you be. Don't be limited the the paint you shoot because this kind shoots better in this barrel. I know a lot of people that use the Freak system and they will all swear by it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

whomever1978 Sunday, April 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JJ ceramic, armson stealth, CP, Quiet Riot.
Marker Setup: Eforce EXT Pro 2k3
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything of decent quality
Strengths: Looks Cool
Very Accurate
Light
Quiet
Weaknesses: Expensive.
Inserts are Flimsy.
Review: I have a 14" AA front.
The barrel was very accurate, and did a damn good Job....maybe not worth $180 and Im sure there are several inserts you'll probably never need....679...kinda small.
The inserts are also pretty flimsy, but as long as you arent playing around with them, you shouldnt have A problem.
Conclusion: If you have the money, go for it. Definitely a good choice if you use more than one type of gun. I high recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Daardvark Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick, All American, CP one piece, Armson Stealth
Marker Setup: 2001 WGP STO autococker with: hinge trigger, freak system, 12v revy, 68 3000 crossfire tank

Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs work good with this barrel. That is the whole point of the interchangeble backs. I use mostly Worr-paint and it shoots awsome.
Strengths: looks, ease of bore changing, IT IS SMART PARTS
Weaknesses: flimsy inserts, hard to take back of on an autococker
Review: The Freak is the best barrel out there. The only thing that comes close to it is another barrel kit like the CP, or JT. It is very easy to change out the inserts, and very easy to match the paint with the inserts. The only real weakness that I have noticed is that it is hard to get the back off of my cocker. You can't get a good grip on it with the pnuematics under the barrel. The best way I have figured out to get the back out is to take the front off, pull the insert out, then put a screw driver through the holes in the back. Other than that the barrel rocks. There are nine people on my team that use Freaks, and i have never heard a complaint.
Conclusion: Don't waste $100 dollars on a Boomstick, or any other barrel. Just spend $200 and get eight barrels. It is the most versitile barrel on the market, and I highly recomend getting one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dyeprecision121 Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
all dye barrels, and all smart parts barrels
Marker Setup: smart parts impulse, rats guts including ND valve, freak system, HSW I-frame, ND low rise, Jackhammer 2, ND valve cap, evo 2, and 45/45 pmi tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any you can use them all but my favorite is Premium
Strengths: bore sizing, accuracy, interchangeable tips
Weaknesses: nothing except if you count the price but I think it is well worth $
Review: This is the best barrel if have ever used. I was able to buy one full system and then get backs for all my markers and that was very cheap considering getting all the backs for the titanium boomstick would have cost me about a thousand $ so I think the price is very reasonable
Conclusion: You should definitely get this barrel if you have more then 1 marker it is a huge $ saver
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder48 Sunday, April 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Thunder Pig, Stock Spyder barrels
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Shocker Sport 4x4, Dye Sticky Grips, Hyper Sport Works trigger frame, 14 inch Freak Barrel (Black Freak front and Black Smart Parts back), 16 inch Smart Parts All American Barrel, 48/3000 Pure Energy N2 tank with Smart parts On/Off valve.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any brand on the market, but Evil is the best
Strengths: Shoot any paint on the market
Weaknesses: Price for full kit
Review: The Smart Parts Freak System is a two piece barrel that is easy to clean, and shoots any kind of paint. The whole kit comes with 8 inserts and one front barrel and one back barrel all in one carrying case. You can change fronts to whatever length you want by switching fronts, and the fronts you can use on any freak or freak JR back, from spyders to angels. With eight bore sizes, all you have to do is drop a ball in through the inserts until one gets tight, then you blow the ball out, and that's how you know it's the right insert. When shooting, with the porting on the barrel, there is little to no noise from the barrel. When compared to a Thunderpig barrel from 50 feet, there was a 3 inch grouping with the Thunderpig, and a 1/2 inch grouping with the Freak. When shooting 6,000 balls at a ROF of 13, there was ZERO barrel breaks. Try that with any other barrel. If in any case there was somthing to go wrong with this barrel, the customer service at Smart Parts is very helpful, and kind.
Conclusion: If you want pure accuracy and no barrel breaks, get this barrel. For the price, you get your money back with the performace you will receive with this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NYRChaoS Friday, April 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick, carbon fiber.
Marker Setup: WGP 2002 Vertical Feed Autococker Green
- Barrel: Smart Parts Full Freak 14" AA Black, 12' FRT Green
- Bolt: Shocktech Supa Fly Bolt
- Grip Frame: Kapp Reflex Black
- Grips: Dye Stickies Green
- Drop Forward: Custom Products Flame DF Green
- ASA: Custom Products On/Off Green
- Vert ASA: Kapp 45º Vert ASA
- Cocking Rod: Kapp Twisted Green
- Ball Detent: Shocktech Rebuildable Green
- Hose: Macroline
- Beavertail: Kapp Green
- Pumping Arm: Kapp Green
Recommended
Paintballs:
LOL, ummmmmmm u can use any.....
Strengths: Overall its a great barrel system.
Weaknesses: None. Some say the inserts bend........ not with me.
Review: Ok, What can i really say about this system besides its only the best one out there. I LOVE THE FREAK!!!! I will never use any other barrel. 8 inserts that are color coded for size. Some people say that they bend easy but i havent bent any and the 5 other people that have it on my team havent bent any eather. I wouldnt be able to live with out a freak. If you have a cocker it can be a pain sometimes because when u turn it the front will come off without the back but i got used to taking it off.
Conclusion: This is an awesome system im never going with anything else. Unless ............. naw this is the best ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

stonersr25 Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None whatsoever
Marker Setup: Currently a Custom 98 with revy,X-chamber,double trigger,and Carbon Fiber 14" barrel.I'm in the process of making a custom mag--Now have the mag complete with freak,8 hole valve.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that are consistently round.Thats the whole point.
Strengths: Able to use all size paints and it is very versital.
Weaknesses: Expensive,not the most sturdy,just be careful with it.
Review: I just got my Freak a few days ago and have not had a chance to play a game with it yet but my brother and I were out messing around with it and found it to be very accurate,quiet,and just plain cool.Right now I have a 12 inch but I have a 16 on the way so that should make my mag all the more quiet.What more could you want,quiet-accurate-looks good-able to shoot any paint.This is the last barrel I'll ever get most likely,unless they start to make them in stainlee steel,then they would be perfect.
Conclusion: Awsome barrel,save your money and get one.It may seem like a lot at first but I've seen kids spend alot more on barrels and not have as much variety or look as good on there gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media