paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  Last
        Next Page
pbweasel Saturday, March 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick, ti boomstick, J&J 2 piece
Marker Setup: Impulse #3619 w/ vert reg, 12" freak barrel, 12v xboard revy, 68 crossfire, km2 genesis board, delrin bolt, Dye stickies
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything that doesnt suck
Strengths: very accurate, quiet, light
Weaknesses: price, weak inserts, poor accuracy with broken paint in the barrel
Review: i've had a freak for about 8 months now and ive used it a bunch of times. i was very impressed as to how light it was compared to a boomstick, and i liked the 3 piece setup. u can shoot any paint through this if u have the inserts. accuracy was good
one of the biggest and most annoying things i encountered was broken paint in the barrel. this barrel is horrible when paint is in it. i have a non-brush squegee, and when i clean it out, it leave a little bit of paint still lining it a tiny bit. obviously a brush squegee would help, but as u can tell, im rather stupid. but after i run my stupid cheap squegee thru, i have horrible accuracy, almost like i never cleaned it. u look at something like a teardrop. its from SP also, and u would think that the freak would have the best thing about a teardrop, which is its ability to maintain accuracy even with a ball break inside. the thing cleans itself out, and the freak is just the opposite. but i guess pretty much all barrel are the same way so i shouldnt complain.
Conclusion: i would recommend this barrel to most anyone. some might prefer dye barrels and i can understand why, but its just a matter of opinion. im giving it a 9 because there is still room for improvement
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mark00A-5 Friday, March 28th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month63 of 105 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scepter
Empire Barrel Kit
Kapp barrels with bore sizes for the front and backs (you will prolly have to special order those...)
Marker Setup: No marker right now. Selling my impulse, baught an AKA Viking. Underground is the way to go :)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Sheesh... I'm not sure... just about any paintballs that are anything resembling round.
Strengths:
Bore Changing
Customizing
Volume
Weaknesses:
Price
Accuracy
Durability
Review: Goods-

Bore Changing - You have the new and improved option to change the bore sizes in the rear of the gun. This will help result in less paint breakage, greater air effiancy, and in some cases greater accuracy.
Customizing - When you buy this barrel, you get the new option to use different fronts, this does include fronts that dye has issued on their new boomsticks and ultralites. You can also chose the back, to be stainless steal, or aluminum.
Volume - The barrel does seem to quiet down my shots a little bit

Bads-

Price - The price is horrible. This barrel kit is a great, but definatly not worth the price.
Accuracy - Althought the accuracy is a HUGE step up from any stock barrel, its not nearly as good as some of the other barrels out there. My suggestion is to mimic the boomstick and make stainless steel inserts, stainless steal provides less friction on the ball, and with the aluminum front combo, it seems to make very good accuracy. Want proof? Take a look at the boomstick... very successful and accurate barrel.

Boomstick/Freak Hybrid? I like the sound of that :)
Durability - The inserts sure ai'nt titainium people, treat them with care because they will dent.
Conclusion: Good barrel. Bad price. Accuracy could be better. I reccomend to any tourny players, but not to any low budget players. Get a boomstick, pretty soon dye will have changable backs for their boomsticks and ultralites, I would go for one of those.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
47 Comments - Add Comment

Blizzardx15x Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Outkast cocker, Dye 2 finger pivot, PMI 68/3000psi tank, PB drop foward new style. (new to come CHROME assessories) Mako 2piece barrel and TASO pro SS barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY! but sever standard doesn;t seam to be that accurate
Strengths: u can use any paint!!
Weaknesses: price
Review: I have never had a barrel so great. This is a must for cocker owners who have problem with balls rolling out of their barrel. I actully save money now buy buying cheaper paint then I used to. I used to have a mako and taso barrels which were both med bore and I would always use the cheapest paint that was on sale which seam only to be super small or super large. Now I can shoot anything more accureatly then anyone!
Conclusion: Buy it, Buy it! you wont regret it! but it is pretty expensive
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmccull22 Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive-decent; great for price; accuracy is no where near the freak
Marker Setup: Lily

FF Millenium body on it's way
WGP STO hinge
Freak
Palmer Stabilizer, 3 way & micro Rock
Kapp F/X series rods, back block, 15* asa, plunger, FAT ram and beavertail
AKA Tornado valve, lightning bolt; straight pump arm
Maddmann spring kit
Evo bolt & WDP twisted feed on it's way
Recommended
Paintballs:
consistently round ones. inferno worked the best so far.
Strengths: Can be configured the way you want. accurate as something can get.
Weaknesses: inserts are a pain. the colors clash. chops need to be cleaned, cant keep shootin. $$$$
Review: This is one of the best, if not the best barrel on the market. It is highly accurate. It is versatile to the player. Need that 16 in front for airball, no problem. need a 10 for the front player who is in tight, can do. Prefer large bore or small bore either will work. The backs could have been longer making it even more accurate. The milling is cool but the colors can clash with your marker, so i think one or the other should go. It can be had a half way reasonable price, but it is still pretty expensive. When i chop a ball i have to use water to get it cleaned the way i like. doesnt shoot clean very well. should come with all fronts like the empire not just one. at 50-60 feet w/inferno i was able to put the paintball through a 3 in dia. whole every time i shot. there was not even a stray one.
Conclusion: the weakness' are minor nuiances that are more luxury than a necessity. it is a bit expensive but the prices are ever so slowly dropping.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CorruptedKid Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pipe barrel
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse
Freak
68 4500 converted to Co2
freak factor ram
tape worm
freak bolt
smart parts drop forward
12 volt
new high rise
blade trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Blaze
Strengths: adjustable bore sizes
Weaknesses: none
Review: I love the Freak barrel from Smart Parts. The one out of a hundred things I like most about this barrel is that no matter what paint you shoot out of it, the barrel will always fit it. Thats the beauty about adjustable bore sizes. So no matter what paintballs yo use they will always be accurate. Smart Parts are the brains behind this barrel so you know its gunna be sweet.
Conclusion: The barrel is a great buy. Dont be fooled by all the other imitations. Go with the real thing. The freak is the real thing. I am truly happy in final conclusion.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TwitchyTrigger Sunday, March 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe Barrel System
Marker Setup: 2002 Vision Impulse with new designz low rise, new designz high flow valve, new designz delrin bolt, new designz titanium bolt pin, new designz slick shot ram shaft, michigan paintball outlet stainless steel rat hole hammer, new designz high volume valve cap, new designz blade trigger, dye sticky grips, eclipse solenoid optimizer, and a new designz hammer cap.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint will work well, but make sure the paint is consistant in size, otherwise an insert too small can really make a mess.
Strengths: -Extremely Accurate
-Very Customizable
-Relatively Quiet
-Shoots super straight
Weaknesses: -Difficult to clean
-Inserts are fragile
-Tip Threading isn't good
-Progressive Barrel is quieter
Review: When I first got a hold of my freak I was very excited, but I perhaps prepared myself for something that would meet my expectations. Afterall, I did spend $180 getting this barrel kit. The barrel looks awesome, can be used on most markers, and matches virtually every sized paint. It comes with a handy case aswell. It looks good, and shoots very well, but I was suprised to find out that the progressive barrel that came with my impulse shoots almost as well, and quieter. I then realized I bought the freak for looks more than performance. The inserts are really fragile, and they feel horrible when you change them in and out of the freak back.
There are a lot of faults that I have come across with my freak. I firstly noticed that my freak tip was never factory finished, and has a lot of internal damage. The barrel tip and back don't align well, and I can't seem to get the "freak" carving to match up with my marker. Sometimes I can get it to work, but it's inconsistant.
It didn't take me long to notice that cleaning this barrel on and off the field is remarkably difficult. The tip's porting doesn't shoot out the excess paint well at all, and the insert and the back seem to hold a small ring of paint that instantly get's smeared with the next shot.
When I don't break paint, it shoots amazingly, but I have to warn you, that using the wrong insert really can shatter the performance that you're going for with this barrel system.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the freak is a "pretty" barrel system. I was suprisingly dissapointed with it, but I strongly recommend a barrel system that allows you to match the barrel to the paint. The evil pipe is a much better product, but the freak IS still good.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

billybob Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomsticks
progressives
CP
and otheres
Marker Setup: 2k1 impulse
freak with ss back freak tip
nd Bolt
nd bolt pin
nd slick shot
SS rat hole hammer
Recommended
Paintballs:
What ever you want.
Strengths: -8 diff barrels
-buy a new back and use it on any gun
Weaknesses: -dont abuse the inserts
-inserts may be tight the first time
Review: In my use of this barrel I have used large bore paint all the way to small bore paint without a hitch, were as my friend with a boomie was having troubles with the small bore stuff just roling out of his barrel. So if you play with alot of different paints then this could be a great investment for you.
Conclusion: this is good for the hard core or the weekend players. If you play at a few different fields then you know that they probly use different paint and more than lickly one barrel wont make it. So this is a great addition to any player.
After you buy it, you will be happy that you can now use any paint you wont.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ythpstr2000 Saturday, March 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippman 98
Stock cocker
System x .689 Barrel
Dey boomie ultralite
Marker Setup: SET UP #1
ANS GX3 autococker (all standard features unless noted below) Chrome color
WGP Hinge trigger
10-inch freak (full kit) might eventually get 16 inch allamerican front
Clear AGD Warp feed
Gem Clear 12 volt revy
Crossfire 47 c.i. 3000psi steel tank
(above will be next upgrade to apocalypse 68 c.i. 4500)
System X drop forward w/ shut off

SET UP #2
Tippmann 98 Custom
System x .689 barrel or…
Tippmann to Cocker barrel adaptor so I can use freak on my 98!
Marker was chrome but has been painted light blue
Light blue/clear 12 volt w/ x-board revy
Double trigger
Response Trigger (getting about 10-12 a sec and between 3-20 rds w/ each trigger pull! Sweeeeeet!)
32 degree starfire bolt
Taso chrome cocking knob
Taso 8-inch drop forward
20 oz. CO2 (when I get apocalypse for cocker, Tippy will get the crossfire!)
Lapco Rear velocity adjuster
Thunder Pig Expansion Chamber & Regulator (will replace w/ Tippmann vertical adaptor & expansion chamber soon)


To see pics click on my name on left side of top of this review. You will be on my profile page. Click on my homepage link. This will show you my markers. Click on either pic to see supersized.
Recommended
Paintballs:
This is hands down the best barrel available, but for goodness sake don't put cheap paint through it! I got some generic paint thinking what the heck, its just rec ball, and the crap was so brittle I had to swab my barrel 4 times, and it did not matter what size insert you used.
Strengths: You can match any size DECENT paint...
Weaknesses: I am completely nervous about bending inserts...
Review: You can match any size DECENT paint and make sure you have the best paint to barrel match possible. There are others on the market attempting to do what the freak does, but no one offers the same # of inserts. Closest to it that I have seen is the Empire barrel and it only offers 5 sizes compared to the freaks 8!

I am completely nervous about bending inserts. I have a 4 yr old son and scared to death that one day I will find him using my inserts to carry rocks or dig in the dirt.

Buy it if you want to expand your game. With almost every field insisting that you use they're paint the only way to ensure good paint barrel match is to get a multi bore barrel and the best one out there, the one that has proven itself over time is THE FREAK. Don't be freaked, just get a freak, then be a freak!
Conclusion: Buy it Now. Hey check out my markers from my profile page! Buy It Now!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 6th, 2003 at 9:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RAT_Impulse626 Saturday, March 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick is close, but not as quite and doesn't have as flat a trajectory and doesn't have as much distance.
Marker Setup: High Luster Finish grey RAT Impulse. Full freak, stainless steel eclipse hammer, titanium eclipse ram, werm undertow bolt, delrin bolt, vision, LPR, I-Frame, 4500 psi Max-flo, pretty much the works.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS and Draxxus are good. Don't shoot cheap crap.
Strengths: Very accurate. Probably the most accurate barrel an the market, also the quietist. Long distance shots, flat trajectory, and looks awesome.
Weaknesses: There is nothing I can really say as far as this baby being bad.
Conclusion: Best barrel you can buy, and worth the money. A good suggestion though, don't put this barrel on a gun that isn't even worth as much. Don't put this thing on a Pirhana, or a Tippmann, or a Spyder, because these guns really can't be that accurate, even with the help of this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Goldpen223 Friday, March 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kaner System, CP
Marker Setup: E-Orracle w/ freak
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, that's why u r buying this system!
Strengths: i've had nothing but good things come from buying this product. I've shot all kinds of paints through this, including crappy practice paint, yet i was still amazed as the accuracy still stayed perfect after matching the size. I heard about problems of the backs and fronts not always matching up right, but all 7 guys on my team bought these and they are 100%% perfect. I like the idea of 8 inserts rather than 8 backs, because if u buy a new gun, u can just buy 1 back for that new gun rather than 8. AWESOME BARREL.
Weaknesses: The tear drop front will tend to shred ur squeege and can be harder to clean, so i'd recommend buying the All American tip ( i have both and i like AA much better). Other than that, nothin i can say bad about this
Conclusion: Awesome barrel system. The best IMO. Definitely worth the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media