paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
backup15 Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire barrel(can't remember what it was, but it was in a kit (two piece)
Tippmann flatline

Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5!!
14in. smart parts freak
saw stock
ricochet hopper
rufus dawg double finger trigger
remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
Archon Power-balls pearl series is the best paint I've shot and haven't ever broken a ball (shot like 20 cases but it got too expensive)
Archon Pro-balls hardly ever chop balls
nelson anarchy and zap chronic are the same
those are the paint that I've had the best luck with
Strengths: Good range
Excellent accuracy
Very quite
Two pieces so no one gets killed in firefights
Weaknesses: Takes a sec to take off front
Review: I got this barrel with my A-5. worked great but everyone was talking about how great the flatline was so i got one and it sucked. this thing kicks the heck out of any flatline. I hardly every break balls. with the flatty i was chopping every other ball after the first 20 shots. it also shot more accurately than the empire barrel but that was still a pretty good barrel
Conclusion: great barrel for a medium or light rifleman or someone who plays agressively its got enough range for me but I'm no sniper
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

colinfarrell699 Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil driver, boomstick, stiffi, dye UL and others
Marker Setup: PM6, freak barrel, orange bolt, hybrid grips, pulse hopper, and a 68/4500 PMI Tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint that is worth over forty bucks except evil. Evil paint is bad stuff.
Strengths: Accuracy, efficiency, and range.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I've been using freak barrels and I've been seeing freak barrels being used and there is no barrel like them.

Pros:

1. The inserts are really helpful in assisting in accuracy and range and the right size insert provides better air efficiency too.
2. The barrel doesn't pop a lot balls. A couple every now and then but rarely.
3. The accuracy is the best.
4. The range it provides is awesome.
5. It is light-ish. A little on the heavy side, but it doesn't bother me.
6. The looks are great.
7. The front peice fits the back peice and insert perfectly.

Cons:

1. Its price is a little high. And the insert kit isn't cheap either.
Conclusion: The barrel is well worth the price it has. And it is one of the most accurate barrels on the market. I'll give it a ten without event thinking about it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

adianarion Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I'm a barrel freak, Ive tried 30 or so different ones
Marker Setup: stock 06 Interceptor, use a freak kit if paint doesn't fit stock(but good!) barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any but good paint=good accuracy
Strengths: Lots of sizes, can change length
Weaknesses: Theres more than just one barrel to keep track of(inserts, ends, fronts)
Review: First thing, this isn't the most accurate barrel out there, I wont say that. But, it is accurate enough not to complain about it. I can put ball on-top of ball out to the point that my balls are dropping a good bit. I have different size fronts(I use the All American fronts) and notice little difference in performance between them. I like the modular build, as I have recked my front in a crash once or twice. Its allot cheaper to get one front than a whole new high-end single piece barrel. Now, advice on the Freak and its accuracy: Put alittle maker lube on the O-ring where the two barrel ends come together. I find if you tighten the two all the way, then back them off 1/4 turn, then re-tighten, the two halves go together more accurately. What happens is if the O-ring gives kind of a tight fit, it snags and thins on one side. You can tell when this happens by looking down the barrel opposite gun end. That direction you can see where the two halves join, and if it isn't perfect(even all the way around is what your looking for) your accuracy will be por.
Conclusion: With more than most barrel insert sizes and higher end accuracy, if put together carefully, I am giving the freak kit a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IonKing3409 Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&j Edge kit,Evil Pipe kit
Marker Setup: Ion-Red SP body kit
360 QEV
L6 Bolt
T-bard
Q-Lock feedneck
Freak Kit
Cp Shorty reg
dye mini drop
cp asa with on/off
Cp Rake Trigger (soon violent products Schythe)
48/3000 carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Singer works
Strengths: Accuracy
borechanging
customability
looks
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This is my favorite barrel/barrel kit! I have tried soo many different barrels and this one gets the job done. This barrel kit is elite to all others. The 9 bore sizes help increase acurracy dramatically. This is the most accurate barrel i have ever used. i will never settle for any barrel other than a Freak kit. the only weakness this amazing barrel has is the price $140! This is a bit much but i feel it is pretty low to have the best barrel on the market.
Conclusion: I reccomend you get this barrel. I dont care what gun you have if you want accuracy its here. get the freak so u can get ur freak on!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skinnybestard2 Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye UL and boomstick nothing else reall comes close
Marker Setup: 2004 BKO, custom products no rise feed neck, phsyco ballistics on/off drop forward, macroline kit, stainless steel freak barrel, 68/45 fiber wraped pure energy tank, dye rino cover, halo B hopper with rip drive, Jt proteus

Back up gun
Spyder E-99 shocktech trigger, shoctech antichop bolt, freak JR
then same hopper and tank as the BKO
Recommended
Paintballs:
the paintballs dont really matter aslong as you have multiple inserts
Strengths: most accurate barrel on the market!!! cheaper than the UL or Boomstick. Looks pretty sweet
Weaknesses: They are heavyer than the Dye barrels.
Expensive
Review: If you have the money, than get one. you wont be sorry. The are extremely acurrate and look pretty sweet (especially if you get the stainless steel back) The freak barrels are cheaper than dye barrels because you dont have to by multiple backs. all you have to doo is by isnerts which cost about 40 dollars less.
Conclusion: Freaks are good barrels to get if you have the money. they ar extremely light.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fontaine Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock All-American Barrel
Marker Setup: Nerve (Serial#3176)
Virtue Board
NDz EQ Bolt
NDz Vented Plate
NDz Wave Trigger
Freak Barrel
Uni-Mount
Q-Lock
Recommended
Paintballs:
R.P. Scherer Paintballs (Stinger, Marbalizer, All-Star, Premium)
Strengths: -Insert Changing
-Decently Accurate
Weaknesses: -Cleaning Out the Barrel
-inserts are weak if you don't have Stainless Steel Ones
Review: I've been using the Freak for a couple months now and I like it. Easy to change out the inserts and its pretty accurate. My only concern with the barrel system is that it is easy to damage the Freak Inserts. It's also a little difficult to clean, but I don't break alot of paint so I could care less. I picked my Freak Kit up for about 90 bucks with a shocker back, and the Ion back came with my Nerve.
Conclusion: If you can find a Freak kit for 80-90 bucks I would say go for it, just be careful if you are using the colored aluminum inserts as they seem to be really weak. I'd recommend using the Stainless Steel inserts because they are alot stronger.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shocker=)>ion=( Tuesday, April 10th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
all-american= piece of crap
Marker Setup: red 06 shocker
Virtue board
68/45 Crossfire HP tank
red Empire Reloader B2
high efficiency bolt
Freak kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
I like Chronics or X-ball, but with all the different size inserts anything can be used
Strengths: Light, all the different bore size inserts
Weaknesses: Little bit pricey
Review: I went out to teh field and from the 1st match i noticed the very much increased accuracy, now my shocker compares to my friends Ego in accuracy=). I was actually able to SNIPE someone on the other side of the field this barrel is so accurate. I used the .691 bore size all day not breaks in the barrel or anything.
the best thing is u dont need to buy the whole insert kit i do just fine with .689-.695
Conclusion: best barrel on the market hands down besides the Eclipse Shaft
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

JoeliusCeasar Saturday, March 17th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire 7-Piece Barrel kit
Evil Pipe Kit
Psycho Ballistics Aradus
Empire Twister
Stiffi .693 16"
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion modified to feed from bottom of the gun. (-:
Qloader
CP Reg
Qev
Empire barrel kit
Hand customized single finger trigger with single trigger guard
Apex Barrel (haven't used it yet)
JT Pro Flex 7
Recommended
Paintballs:
Something very hard so you can get an accurate tight fit without breaking on the hard front edge.
Strengths: If you have multiple guns,
You only need one insert kit for all your guns.
Weaknesses: Breaks paint with a good fit.
Innaccurate with any fit.
Review: I was shooting Empire Engage in a 10" pattern with my Empire-7 .687 back I switched to a freak .689 larger insert and the first ball broke. I cleaned the freak out and couldn't hit a 3 foot pattern at the same range. The Freak just dosn't have any real advantages unless you have many guns. It seems nice that they have an insert in any size, but if you get a tight fit you break. So it won't do you any real good. With the junior you get three large sizes so you can't use medium or small paint anyways.
Conclusion: If you have at least three guns-get a lucky kit because it has inserts very different from a freak and if its bad it's probably not as bad as a freak and it has 14 inch insert/tips. I haven't used it yet but I want to.

If you have one gun go with the Empire 7 Piece kit or the Evil Pipe
DON'T GET THE J&J EDGE.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 26th, 2007 at 10:14 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tom spencer Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
just the stock barrel
Marker Setup: PMR
14" freak barrel with St!ffi tip
88ci 5000psi pure energy
eggy 3
E-vents
Recommended
Paintballs:
round ones
Strengths: Very accurate.
Bore changing.
Looks.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I love this barrel i have a PMR and i hate the stock barrel i did not find the stock barrel very accurate at all (not good because im a back). So i bought a 16" blue freak with the bore master kit. When i put it on my marker it looked awsum. So i took it down to the field gased up my marker got a hopper of Dxs Frostbite paintballs and just let rip. there was this little pole in the middle of the range and i was consistently put balls onto it. It was very accurate on the range so i took it out on to the field. My friend had told me that because it was a 16" it would be hard to move around bunkers but i didn't find that all. i found that this was a very very accurate barrel out on the range and the field.
Today because i had some air and paint left that i wanted to use up i shot a pillow in the garden and after about 150 paintballs it had shot straight through because all the balls were landing in exactly the same place every time.
I found that the bore changing was very good because no matter what paint you have it will always fit.

EDIT: ive just got the St!ffi tip for it and the weight difference is massive. There is a small change in accuracy (for the better). I love the St!ffi though but the barrel is good with out it.
Conclusion: All in all a very good barrel.
Very accurate over all ranges.
Good bore changing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 at 11:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wetwilly1166 Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 1 piece classic (16in)
CP PRO barrel
Smart Parts Progressive (14in)
DYE UL
DYE Boomstick
WGP stock
Proto stock
Marker Setup: 05 autococker
Smart Parts Freak kit/All american 14
SP ASA
Spyder T-LX (yes i have a spyder)
shocktech bolt
CP 16 in barrel, regulator, microline
Trinity T Lock
SP s-rail and drop
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Draxxus
XBALL (Broze or Gold)
Evil
Strengths: Bore Change(see inserts)
Compatible w/ ALL AMERICAN
2 Piece
QUIET
Weaknesses: Inserts= delicate
Review: I got this for my Cocker when I was sick of my stock barrel. Originally I bought an ALL American 2 piece. COCKER OWNERS, Do NOT GET AN All American BACK as the bore is huge and when the ball is pushed into the barrel, it will roll forward and make your accuracy drop like a rock. I would have been more accurate throwing paint. Such a waste of $$$$. Now to the freak.

Accuracy: this is because of the inserts. Changing the bore allows you to get a better paint to bore match. This equals better accuracy and a straighter shot. Dunno why it just does.

Compatibility: After the disastrous time with my All American, I bought a Freak kit and have decided that it was the best upgrade for my marker. The All American tip will work with the Freak back so I now have two tips.

2 Piece: This goes with a lot of things but If I break paint, I Can just unscrew the tip and scrape all the paint out rather than pushing it towards the bolt and causing more breaks. Also, with both my Freak and All American tip, I have two lengths to chose from.

NOISE: Before, with my stock barrel, you could distinctly hear the sound of my cocker from the other side of the field. Now, using a freak with either tip, (I prefer the All American) my marker is soo much quieter I can hear paint whizz away from me as I shoot. Its great as Its a little harder for people to locate me if I am hiding.

Inserts: The inserts are a great idea as they let you change you bore size to match the paint. Rather than having multiple backs, you just have the inserts which are really Light. They are also super delicate so, if you drop one and someone steps on it, you can pretty much kiss is goodbye as it will turn into a piece of bent metal. I'd suggest getting the stainless steel set of inserts and Back if you have the money.
Conclusion: I used to pray to the paintball gods before to get a good batch of paint but now I just get what I get and swap out the insert and have a straight shooting marker. For those who only got one insert, get the bore kit in stainless steel as they are a bit more durable and wont wear out as fast. I have 3 backs to share between my cocker, spyder, and my dads Impulse (he makes more money than I do). :-P A 10 of 10 as it does exactly what it should, shoot the paint straight.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media