paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  Last
        Next Page
Kevnight311 Friday, March 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick
Marker Setup: outcast with swing trigger, viewloader evolution 2 loader 68cu/4500 psi pure energy tank and how can i forget the FrEaK
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil is by far the best you can possibly use, they are very consistent when they are made
Strengths: amazing results, you gotta shoot it to believe it. No joke i used evil and midnight paint abd the shots went right on top of eachother with amazing accuracy.

also once you buy the front piece you can buy any threads to fit any marker so if you have the freak system you can keep adding little parts to it and 1 freak can = 20 barrells

Weaknesses: the barrel has 8 inner parts(various bore sizes) that you must take care of, if they dent you must (and can) replace them for it to work right

bore sizing can be a pain, but to correctly size paint put a ball into one of the inner parts and hold it up to the light, the ball should be touching the sides at 2 or 3 points.

id the ball is too small it will be inaccurate cause it bounces down the barrell on its way out, if its too big it wont go far and it might even get stuck

if you know how to use the freak then theres nothing bad with it
Conclusion: definately worth the money, if your a serious player its a must have
this is the best thing that ever happened to paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lieut_zonar99 Tuesday, March 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Infinity barrel
Boomy (OK just needs the ability besides spending massive amounts on all those backs to change bores)
Evil Pipe barrel system (A truly Great barrel use if dont like freak)
Marker Setup: Dark Angel LCD 2.0
Freak barrel 10in.
Crossfire 47 cu. 3000p.s.i (small as hell)
adrenalin trigger
old Warped Sportz with on/off
Peueter to black fade (kick ass only 5 in world!!!!!!!!!)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: This Barrel is as accurate as hell. With all the inserts there can be no wrong. I was doing some testing for my local Store for bore sizes and accuracy and they threw everything at me at once. The barrel chopped once and it was on th e crappiest of crap paint (Brass Eagle, ewwwww) other than that one break there were no other problems at all. Some say that some paint is too small, i say screw you this barrel has shot 25 cases, yes, 25 cases of paint without one break (not counting brass eagle) Oh yeah get the Stainless steel back it looks sooooooo much better, and get a 10in it looks kick ass.
Weaknesses: I was using my stock 2001 infinity barrel that was soooooooooooo freaking quite but not that accurate. Because of the porting on the freak it increases the amount of sound emmiting from the end of the barrel. Although it is no big deal. CANNOT USE STRAIGHT SHOT SQUEEGIES AT ALL THEY WLL SOMETIMES PUSH OUT THE INSERTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Great barrel. Who cares if it is 170 bucks. The serious player is willing to sharpen his skill and sharpen his equipment. if you whine about money GET A FREAKING JOB I AM 13 AND I MAKE 10 BUCKS AN HOUR PLENTY TO SAVE UP WITH! For the squeegie part get a battle swap they are great and easier on the hard or smooth bore finish in the barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ref_28 Tuesday, March 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing similar tot his barrel besides a powerlyte scepter.
Marker Setup: WGP Green Fade Orracle with stainless steel total freak system, 68/3000 puer enery fiber rapped tank(with dye tank cover), Paintball incorperated on/off 12volt revy.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, this barrel can 9.9 times out of 10 fit any size paintballs.
Strengths: This barrel rips any other. Very nice looking, can get the barrel in many different colors, lightweight., usually never chopps(must be the gun), 2 piece barrel, easy to clean, can fit any size paintbal, hast the reputation, very light, very light, and comes with a very nice travel case.
Weaknesses: There is nothing bad so far, other than the fact that if you are careless you can loos the inserts.
Conclusion: This barrel kicksl others by far, espically the powerlyte scepter, i would recomend this barrel to anyone who is looking for accuracy and precsion. GET THIS BARREL!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

musicfreak266 Wednesday, February 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact deluxe java, freak barrel, fore grip, bottom line
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any will do!
Strengths: The good things about this barrel is that it comes with inserts that will make this barrel fit any size ball. This barrel is quite and accurate. This barrel has done wonders for me, every thing ive aimed for ive hit in two shots or less.
Weaknesses: Theres only one bad thing about this barrel, it costs a lot of money!
Conclusion: Even though this barrel costs a lot of money, its well worth it. I'd say if you got the cash for it then get it, it will help you a ton with your game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

randy6130 Monday, February 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12" all american, M98 stock
Marker Setup: M98 w/ 16" freak, much more to come
Recommended
Paintballs:
blaze, marbs, basically anything
Strengths: everything, you can change the insert easy and if you have a 16" like me, you could use that for sniping or longer shots then buy a 12" front for speedball or if ur in the front. this barrel is also very affordable if you have descent money. it is worth every cent that i spent on it
Weaknesses: nothing yet
Conclusion: this is the best barrel ever created in my opinion. But, if i were you, i would buy the whole entire kit and not just the barrel. i baught jusdt the barrel and now im trying to gather up all the inserts and buying them seperatly. at the time i only had 100$ so i couldnt buy the whole kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brandon104 Sunday, February 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick, Powerlyte Sceptor, JT 2 piece
Marker Setup: 2k2 Cricket Vision Impulse
Too many upgrades to list
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind you wish
Strengths: With all the inserts, you can shoot any paint accurately. Light weight compared to some other barrels with the aluminum back. 8 inserts are availible for it. This is a great barrel if you have more than 1 type of marker. All you have to do is buy a new back and you're freak kit will work on 2 different threaded markers.
Weaknesses: The freak only holds the aluminum inserts in with o-rings. The inserts aren't locked in place as with a few other barrel systems. The inserts are also a pain to deal with.
Conclusion: If you only have one type of marker, i would recommend looking into the powerlyte sceptor. But, overall this is a good buy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MIKE p Saturday, February 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothin
Marker Setup: 2002 Angel LCD Fly-2 kapp volumizers-Freak barrel-88/45 system X tank-12 revy with 6 prong impellor-Kapp drop foward-Warped sports bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Overything of course because you can match inserts
Strengths: Its the most accurate barrel out there(well at least on my Angel). You can size the inserts for a perfect fit everytime. People say that the inserts break easily but that is not true. If you keep the inserts in their case then you really have nothing to worry about.
Weaknesses: Well the price but you have to realize that you are grttin 8 of the most accurate barrels in the world
Conclusion: GET IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freakjoe Thursday, January 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomys, ultralite, J&J ceramic, lapco
Marker Setup: Flash green/black (best colors) 16" freak system, 9v revy, flame drop, pure energy expanse.
Recommended
Paintballs:
pick your favorite!!!!!!
Strengths: Here ya go 8 barrels right away!!!!!
this barrel kills, it is one of the most accurate barrels i have ever used, i love it because of the easily changeable slips that change your bore size. just think, on those hot days when your paint expands and you start choppin casue the friction in the barrel. well in that case you take you freak system and pull out an insert that will go best with your newly expanded paint. Also if you have multiple guns all you need to do is buy backs for them and you can put the front in any one of those guns.
Weaknesses: -Not to much bad, the slips arent to durable, but as long as your not a dum ass and try and break them then you will be fine
-its sorta difficult to squeege it out, the tip shreds you squeege :(
Conclusion: this barrel is great for anygun on the market, i would recomend it to any gun out there. buy any paint you want and you have 8 barrels to chose from to make that paint fit, after all a gun sucks if it doesnt have good paint-barrel fit

im gonna give it a 15, even though it says 10 (unfortunatley i cant go any higher)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

geoxx Sunday, January 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Barrel Kit, Long Shots, Big Shots, Armsens, and most Dye barrels
Marker Setup: -2k2 Red/Black Fade Custom Milled GZ Timmy w/ WAS Board and everything
-Impulse w/ unfortuently about every imaginable upgrade on it (not much you can to to improve them anymore than they are outta the box, but they are nice guns)
Recommended
Paintballs:
not crap
Strengths: -Ends up cheaper than buying nice extra barrels for guns if you own more than one.
-Allows you to use almost whatever paint you want (as long as its in descent condition it'll work)
-Much more consistancy over the chrono
-Accuracy is a bit better than other barrels ive used
-Effiecincy is better
-Looks great, and can match your marker
-Can be changed to an appropriate length/color/insert/gun backing in almost no time
-Im sure theres more im forgetting
Weaknesses: nothing you wouldnt have with any other barrel, price seems a bit high at first but there are reasons, and the price is fairly cheap as you'll read below.
Conclusion: Buy it, the price seems a bit high, but when u use it you'll see why they've sold so many. And if you have several guns the price actually ends up cheaper than buying new barrels for each gun seperate. The people that rank this a 1 or 2 either have never used one and are jealous in some way, didnt take care of it in the least, or had a 1 in 10000 chance of getting maybe a faulty one, but i bet thats not the reason:)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mcot2 Saturday, January 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used many barrels. To many to name.
Marker Setup: Electronic autockcer. 2k2 cocker with eBlade, and of course a freak, and other stuff.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. This barrel is great.
Strengths: Please read my review it is serious and not made up.
Its accurate. -- Nice porting, and also paint to barrel match is key, when u have 8 inserts it is always nice.
Its quiet -- SP is know for their quiet barrels. Being a tourney player I dont usually need a quiet barrel, but hey its nice.
It is 8 barels in one -- with this kit you can match almost all paint, to an insert that fits, therefor you will have a nice snug fit, and your shots will become more accurate.
Looks -- The barrel looks awsome.

Weaknesses: Theres not much to say, thats bad about the freak. Maybe if you don't like the colors (although there are several colors to choose from to match almost any marker) And also some may say the price is a little step, but hye youd need 8 boomsticks to do the job of this barrel, costing in excess of 800 bucks!
Conclusion: I have heard a lot of talk about, :"Ultralight owns" and stuff. Dont listen, itds a bunch of milarchy. It id proven that paint/barrel match helps accuracy a lot. Because if the paint is to big it can cause a lot of ball breaks, and if the paint is too small it can cause tubulance inside the barrel. Now, I have also heard things like "Smart Parts quality sucks!" Well I have to admit, they do have a few problems, if you experience any problems with your barrel, they will refund your money or send a new one. Now folks, im just saying this to repond to those people. Obviosly every company has a few problems, but its only maybe 1 or 2 barrels in a batch of 4 or 5 hundred that may have minor defects. For crying out lopud my brother got a 32 degress barrel that fell appart on him. (the muzle break accually slip right off the barrel) So I mean its not like they can help it. So please dont diss smart parts,they make good quality products. And give me some .684 pmi premiums, and you and your ultralight .691 bore barrel with the primeums. I gurentte I will shoot better, more accuratly with my freak, and also with the tighter fit it may be a little more silent as well.

The freak system gets my vote of a 10 for style, function, and just plain ownage.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media