paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  Last
        Next Page
Digital Saturday, November 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomies, J&J Ceramic, CP one Peice Custom and many others. really nothing compares, Because they can't match to your paint like the freak...
Marker Setup: 2K2 autococker
Freak Barrel
68/3000 Crossfire Nitro
W/S Drop Forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any fresh paint, old dempled, oblong paint won't fly in anything. But good fresh paint, you can match it to the bore insert and nothing compares...
Strengths: First you can match any paint to any bore size. Its well made and not easy to damage. Some say the inserts need to be made longer, but its not true, 5" is accually all the ball needs to get up to speed. The porting while a little hard to clean, quiet the marker so much. Also some will tell you that you won't use all the inserts and isn't worth it. Like not using the .679 insert. If your use to only super fresh paint then no you probably won't use them all, but if you play in the extreams of temprature then you will use all of em I promise... I used the .679 second time out... This barrel doesn't come close to anything on the market...
Weaknesses: I can't find anything really wrong...
Conclusion: Its the ultimate barrel ever. I suggest that you make this the first upgrade to your paintball equipment!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tim618 Friday, November 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE UltraLight, Stock Barrels, JJ Ceramics
Marker Setup: BKO, Freak, HPA system vapor valve etc
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any,unless there old, old paint doesnt do well in any marker,but pretty much anything can shoot through this
Strengths: EVERYTHING!I have a 10" Freak system and This is great because all you have to do is take the paint pick an insert, check it, go through and figure out the size you need, i usually use either 689 or 691 and with good paint i havent chopped yet. You can get them for 185 which isnt bad, youll never need a new barrel ever again, and if you buy a new marker, all you have to do is buy a new back to fit it and keep the tips and inserts, etc.. you can also buy the SS back and diff tips if you want too.
Weaknesses: NOTHING!
Conclusion: Buy this barrel, you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

STownLaxx222 Saturday, November 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP Barrel
Marker Setup: 2001 WGP AutoCocker
-12" Freak System
-Eclipse MK3 Rokit Blade Trigger
-DYE Stickies
-ShockTech Bomb 3-Way
-ANS Jack Hammer Reg.
-ANS Ram
-ANS In-Line Reg.
-KAPP Double Bar Drop
-Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi Nitro Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything Worth Buying (Not That Brass Eagle Crap, Marbs., Draxxus, Compittion Grade Paint)
Strengths: You Can Use ANY Kind Of Paint That's Out There! With The Different Bore Sizes, You Can Adjust Your barrel To The Size Of The Paint (With Temperature Changes) This Was One Of The Best Upgrades I Put One My Gun!
Weaknesses: Not Much But, You Have To Have Your velocity At A Low Level, When I First Shoot It My Velocity Was WAY Too High And The Paint Was Flying All Over The Place, This Makes Sense If You Think About It For A Little While..Just Keep Your Velocity low And You'll Get Great Accuracy! And One More Thing, The Price is A Little High, I Bought Mine For $225, (Ouch) But It Is Deff Worth it! Give In The Extra $100 And Get The Best, You Won't Need To Upgrade For A While!
Conclusion: My Final Thoughts Are....
-Great Product! I Love It! It Makes Accuracy Soo Much Better Plus All My Friends Like Playing With All The Bores And I Just SAay F*ck Off! (They Are All Soo Jealous! It's Great!) Give The Extra Money, its Worth It, And If You Have Other Guns, Just Buy A Barrel Adapter, I Use My Freak (For My Cocker) With My Syper, I Just Bought An Adapter, Its Sick! Get A Freak, You'll Be Happy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Samoth187 Sunday, October 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Titanium Barrel, Boombstick, Psychoballistic
Marker Setup: Black Magic Autococker with Freak System and Backup Boom
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ill revommend the marbs or All Stars....
Strengths: The Freak has nice accuracy, it is fairly easy to clean even with the insert in it. Looks very nice. When you are on the field with a freak system you are sure to get some eyes glued to your gun. I really like this Barrel.
Weaknesses: The inserts are a little difficult to put in and they are a strain on the fingers. I guess that is about it, oh, and its VERY expensive.
Conclusion: If you have the money go and fetch yourself a freak system, either to improve your game or just catch some eyes, I would highly recommend this barrel to other players, GO BUY THIS BARREL NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

welt_master Wednesday, October 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing really compares
Marker Setup: #1) nasty impulse w/ vision, 68/4500 max flow tank, full freak , halo b
#2) spyder compact w/ teardrop and expansion chamber

soon to be my new baby(i hope) an adrenalin impulse
Recommended
Paintballs:
i love pmi evil but anything will work with the barrel.
Strengths: EVERYTHING!!! this barrel rocks. it is hella accurate, super quiet and you always have a paint/barrel match.
Weaknesses: it is a little pricy, it came with my nasty and then i got the additional inserts but for some people $180 for a barrel might be a little hard.
Conclusion: this is THE best barrel. you dont have to worry about which size paint to buy or anything like that because everything will work. it looks cool and its made by smart parts. what more could you possibly want. if you cant afford it then save your money if you can afford it, why hesitate?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PhishPhactor Wednesday, October 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American Barrel, Dye Boom stick
Marker Setup: 2k1 Impulse
Freak w/ 10" Blue tip, and 14' Black All American tip
Dye Clear Panels
Eclipse Blade trigger (mouse click)
Eclipse Solonoid optimizer
Cp Flame Drop
Titanium Pull pin
Vert. Adapter with 32* gas through, and smart parts Gadget Grip
Horizontal Max-Flo Reg
Gem-Blue 12vt revvie, w/ X-Board and Impellor
Nitro Duck 90cc, 4,500 psi Tough Skin Nitro tank. Protected by a Dye tank cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
I love Rps, all kinds. Of late the marbs have had a lot of dimbles, so i have been shooting All stars. All paint works good with this barrel though!
Strengths: Well, i have stuck by my trusty all american barrel on my, M98, spyder, and now my all mighty impulse. I must say i love this barrel. I mean, it looks awesome, people who know paintball see it, and it can be intimidating. I love this because when i go to a course, i usually bring about a case of Rps, when i run out, i need to by the field paint. The field paint is usually different every other time i go or so. I shoot all the paint with ease, it never breaks because of the bore size anymore. I did find this funny though, my course had point blank paint, and it didnt fit to well in the .695 insert, lol!
Weaknesses: well, i did not have a problem putting down 200+ for my kit. I love it, and for the performance and just awesome ability this barrel gives me, i could, and will not say a bad thing about it.
Conclusion: I have a 10 inch freak tip, and a 14 inch. They both shoot awesome. I love this barrel and if u get it, take care of it. The inserts themselves and be very fragile, so watch out. Dont BEND THEM! lol. If you take care of this barrel, it will take care of you. Enjoy your paintballing!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wenninjj Wednesday, October 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All American, Progressive and a Lapco Bigshot barrel
Marker Setup: Shocktech VF Autococker, 12" Full Freak Kit, Palmer Stabilizer, 12v Revy w/ X-board and Vortex Impeller, Shocktech Medium Drop Forward, 68ci 3000psi Crossfire HPA tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.... Just match up your insert with the ball you're shooting
Strengths: With a good paintball to bore size match you can shoot exactly where you are aiming. I like the looks of the barrel and it's nice not having any ball breaks during a day of games.
Weaknesses: The only thing I think is not that good is that the inserts seem to be very fragile. They feel like you could crush them like a can of Coke. I wish they were a bit longer and made of a little more solid material.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel. If you have the right insert for the paintballs you're shooting you will be able to shoot darts. It's a bit expensive but I think worth it if you play alot. I strongly recommend this barrel to anyone interested in the sport.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xtratorque Wednesday, September 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter w/freak barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Diablo Blaze primarily
Strengths: This barrel has pinpoint accuracy and shoots my pain without error ( I only one ball break and that was because my safety was off and the cover was on the end of the barrel).
Weaknesses: I had to change the insert from the stock insert to the red small bore so I can shoot Blaze without any problems. The change didn't cost anything but that was at a store I go to so some stores might be different.
Conclusion: I love my freak and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a highly accurate and customizable barrel. I don't have the complete system ( I don't need it really) but for those who do I would strongly suggest this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kingonyx Monday, September 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Stainless
Armson Rifled
Smart parts AA
AGD crown point
Marker Setup: AutoMag RT w/Freak w/Warp
Shocker 4x4 w/Freak
Both with 68/3000 ACI Bullbog and 12v Revvy
Recommended
Paintballs:
any and all paint.
Strengths: This is the heat, perfect for FPO tourneys or just backyard play. I have never needed all the inserts but its nioce to know I can
Weaknesses: None, Ive heard that they damage easy but Ive not had any troubles at all. I got the Teardrop 16" front on my first freak, that was a mistake unlike ordinary barrels the length means little. It was just to long to play speedball or front in the woods. Its a little pricey but thats to be expected if you look at what it would cast for the bore range you get
Conclusion: The best there is. The only barrel you will ever need and if you purchase a new gun all you need is a new back ($62) and you are golden.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shocker21 Saturday, August 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick
all american
big daddy tear drop
Marker Setup: shocker with freak barral and a max-flo reg. kapp k2 dropzone cradle. blade trigger.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paintballs will work with this gun. but obviosly for the tournement player you will want to use a more brittle shell.
Strengths: this barrel rocks. i never break any balls in the barral. (you shouldnt break paint if you match the paint correctly. this barral is good for everyone but it would be recomended for the tournement players. the freak looks good and ranges from 10-18 inch tips. its mad accurate. i have playd with this barral for quite some time and almost never break any paint.
Weaknesses: nothing is really bad about this product. the only thing people complain about is the price. and some people like the kid above me a few posts said that the stickers arnt mounted right. also be careful when you pull the inserts out of the barrel because i have had friends bend the inserts on the way out and that stinks.
Conclusion: the best barrel ever. it is like buying 8 barrels for over 50 dollers each. this barrel has the accuracy of a boomstick but has 8 different sizes.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media