paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, February 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomys
titainium boomys
cp
cp kit
others
Marker Setup: electric skies splash eclipse angel led
*air assist mod
*adrenalin high rise feed tube
*cobra bolt
*bonebrake bolt
*cobra hammer
*warped sportz 2k2 dark angel maximizers(x2)
*eclipse drop, anoed to match
*armegedon 4500 system, with two tanks, 45, and 68
*pro quick connect, polished
*DYE boomsticks anoed two match in all lenth and sizes, gathered them up from different angels
*freak kit
*CP kit
*some other barrels
*all american stainless 12 inch, 14 inch .689, .687 respectively
* o and dye stickies
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything, thats the beauty of it.
Strengths: The bar-nothing, take-no-prisoners best overall barrel on the market today.
Compared to:

boomy: Boomstick, from dye, is a bit more acurate, WITH A GOOD PAINT TO BARREL MATCH, however, you must have just that, and with a boomy you can't always have it. The tourneys I go to are torney paint, with boomys, you need to have a couple to make sure you get a good fit. Even it you got the four id boomy sizes, you would be paying almost 500 dollars. The freak wins because 8 times to 1 it will be more accurate.

titainium boomer: lightweight, just a bit lighter than the freak, when the paint fits the dye perfectly the accuracy will be THE SAME, on all the other days, the freak will always have a perfect fit, the freak wins.

cp one piece: The freak is just better, I just like these for there short lenth, short price, the cool thing is for this price you can get them in a couple of different ids or its just a great upgrade barrel for beginners who don't want to spend twice the cost of the gun on the barrel.

cp kit: same idea, way different way of doing it. The different backs are probably a little better than the inserts but cost more. The freak has better porting though giving it that edge. there both screw two-piecers. The freak is cheaper. the freak has more sizes, it will be a bit more prices but there inserts, which evens it out. I'd say there about equal.

cobra barrel: not nearly as good as the others
Weaknesses: nothing really. Because everything that could be bad is ruled out by a good that it therefore causes.
Conclusion: same as the good: best overall barrel out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American, Boom Stick
Marker Setup: 2001Blue Shocker 4x4 w/ Air Assist, Silver Blade trigger, 10" Freak w/ stainless back and silver freak front, 88 4500 Max Flow reg, Blue 12 Volt hopper, and Black Smart Parts Drop Foward.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blaze or Marbalizer
Strengths: This barrel is good with any paint so you don't have to worry about getting the wrong size paint because you have basically every bore size in one barrel. It doesn't chop any paint. If you want a 10" and a 14" barrel you don't have to buy another barrel just buy a new tip. If you have two guns and want the Freak for both of them just buy the back for the other gun. The tips are interchangable.
Weaknesses: Nothing
Conclusion: This is the only barrel you will ever need so don't go out and buy a cheaper barrel just because you don't have the money for this one. Save up for this one you'll be a lot happier if you do.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have been playing paintball forever i love it and I have used lotsa barrels/ guns from friends and from people i dont even know but out of all my days the closest thing ive seen that can even compare is the BOOMSTICK , and I would also have to say the 14"SmartParts AA
Marker Setup: Impulse Vision, upgrades=voodoo full flow, and i added a plastic bolt, (doesnt do much but take off a little weight) and a 14" FREAK barrel with chrome back and black front.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would recommend the Diablo Midnights paintballs , or PROBALL(used it forever, until i got FREAK, I would actually say Diablo Mid's all the way ...but PROBALL would be next in line)
Strengths: You name it its got it....Accuracy is VERY good , I was amazed at its SILENCE, and Im not Mr. "Mack" or anythign but I also love the way it looks , but I am not the kind of guy who would choose looks over performance) Its distance is also very nice iLL say i shot about 20 yards farther with my FREAK than i did with my BOOMSTICK .
Weaknesses: I used it and I never broke a ball , I was very impressed with its performance...Enough Said
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to any committed player and I would go for a 14" FREAK all the way because with this 14" you can have the reach and have the accuracy , and its just short enough where it wont get in the way of your "up close and personal" fights. And i know this barrel is pricey but If you can afford it then...GO GET IT..and if u cant then theres always the BOOMSTICK an easy choice for a substitute.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick, Equation MS system
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY!
Strengths: The barrel shoots darts! It can fit any paint you can imagine. It looks really cool and is very quite. All the good stuff you have heard about this barrel is true! IT ROCKS
Weaknesses: Couple problems with the Freak. First off, for all you cocker users out there... The fact that this barrel unscrewes in the middle is a problem. When taking the barrel off a cocker the front can just screw out of the back, then it is really hard to get the back off. Also, one of the Freak bubble logos makes screwing in/out difficult. I ripped it off and had no problems since.
Conclusion: This is soooo Worth the money!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jus a stock REALLY good stock barrel. I've used this barrel for like 8-9 months but the highest they got is 6 months and a year so...
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro TS Splashed
Freak (obviously) - 14" AA. I got the whole kit
Smart Parts Splashed Expansion Chamber
macro
eVolution (sux)
booyaah (or however u spell it)
JT Excellorator 3.0 (don't really use it it anymore)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I don't really look around too much to see wat paint is good cuz i got the freak. I use marbilizers cuz it fits my bro's barrel.
Strengths: The accuracy and distance on this barrel is amazing. It added about 15-20 yards onto my old barrel. It's pretty silent. Best part is it fits any type of paintballs. This especially good when u gotta use the crappy paint they give you in fields. Not cheap material that falls off ur gun like I've seen so many barrels do when it gets really hot. No ball breaks if u use it right. Last thing is that u don't gotta get those 40" barrels like everyone else. The size of the barrel doesn't make it that much better or worse for the gun so u can stick with a nice short one that doesn't poke everyone in the eyes. Overall good.
Weaknesses: Again, it's silent but it isn't as silent as I originally thought it would be. Don't get me wrong, its madd silent but I thought it would be like soundless, but it really doesn't matter unless u like those p*ssies that hide in the back. Little on the expensive side but if u willing to go all the way then this is the only way to go. I think the only major problem for me is the inserts. I can never figure out the correct bore size for the paint. If u pick one too small = ball breaks.
Too big = bad acurracy. By now I'm pretty good at picking an insert but in the start, it took me a while. It may seem like the bad about is a lot but it nothing u can't deal with.
Conclusion: Really good barrel. Silent, accurate, and good for any type of balls. Kinda expensive but if u willing to go all the way this is the only barrel for u. If u think that u not ready for a freak yet then atleast get a different Smart Parts barrel. One last thing is that don't get the Freak Junior or watever (those things with the barrel and jus one insert). That kinda destroys the purpose of getting a Freak. You may think this is a really expensive way to use ur money but if u get this barrel and u need to save money,u can usually get some wat cheaper balls if the weather not too bad.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BoomStick (on a tippman,angel)
Freak
!SUCKY! WGP stock barrel.
Marker Setup: WGP 00 Cocker, Delrin bolt, Armageddon AIR, Shocktech DF, Black Ice REG.,
12v Revvy, FREAK, Cool little decal that says N2Deep on my marker!
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS sherrer Marbs, Pmi, (haha) brass egeal (haha), 2nds...
Strengths: I got this barrel about 6months ago. I really like it. I hate the way SMARTPARTS keeps changing the style of the barrel. Kinda makes you think that they are unsure on what the Devil thier doing. Its the most accurate barrel out their. It will fit all/any paintball you put in it! I mentioned above that I bought 2nds one time and it still shot pretty well. I have it on my cocker and that mixture fits like a glove. The FREAK and the cocker of coarse!
Weaknesses: Above I mentioned that SMARTPARTS keeps changin the look of it!
I chop paint on cold days. I hate to clean the freakin think. (Get it FREAKin thing) I wish that SP had a AA 8" front...thats what i would have!
Conclusion: Pretty FREAKing awesome barrel. I can do pretty good with it. If you got like 180 bucks GO GET IT PEACE OUT ALL>>>>Keep an eye out for team N2Deep!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrstickball Friday, January 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used almost every single barrel on the market.
Marker Setup: 97 Autococker
98 LED Angel
PF Intellimag
Recommended
Paintballs:
any really , i'm using 3 month old team colors that have swolen , and will break if dropped from 3 feet , and still no breaks in freak :D
Strengths: Everything , i'm using one on my angel , there is no side to side accuracy change between shots. It works awesome!
Weaknesses: Pricey , but not that pricey in my situation , i own 8 guns , they all have different threading , now instead of paying $100 for a new barrel i'm payin $50 to get a new back , and it still has awesome accuracy/
Conclusion: Awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skatrpnk14 Sunday, December 30th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
lotz of barrels...none like this one!
Marker Setup: impulse,freak barrel,68ci 3000 tank,12 volt revy,tape worm,voodoo bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
any except brass eagle
Strengths: accurate
8 different bore sizes
like having 8 barrels in one
can fit any paint
available in all merican style or tear drop style
any size from 10"-16"
nice carrying case
Weaknesses: tear drop is hard to clean
Conclusion: this is the single best barrel available on the market! if you change guns (for example from spyder to autococker) you can just switch backs and it works! the inserts are easy to put in. i honestly think if you can afford it you should get it and dominate a game. it's extremely accurate. many options such as back(aluminum black or stainless steel) front color(red,black,blue,green) and length(10 12 14 16). get this you'll love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shocktech3001 Thursday, December 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothin, most accurate barrel on the market today
Marker Setup: 2k2 vert. cocker knocked the f*&k up, a DYE two finger trigger, dye quick pull back block & bolt, a Jackhammer reg, a DYE3-way, and a shocktech ram, titanium pump arms, KAPP internals,ANS Volumizing front block screw, rock reg( oh sooo sweet), 68 ci 4500 psi fiber wrapped crossfire tank, a lightning bolt drop forward, a Spoon on/off valve, Smart Parts Freak Barrel system(with a back up all american), and a turbo revvy!
Recommended
Paintballs:
I'm useing the new JT maxim paint, and it kicks ass in accuracy
Strengths: well, the Freak is made by smart parts, my favorite barrel company(f*&k DYE) because of spiral porting, and the multiple inserts kick ass and the front is absolutly beautiful! the thing looks awesome on a 2k2 vertical feed autococker, and it shoots darts, the thing makes a stock 2k2 autococker the most accyrate cocker I have ever shot!( well, sorta)
Weaknesses: nothing, it even performs well when it breaks paint!
Conclusion: if you want a good accurate quiet barrel for the money, buy it! it kicks ass!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 20th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick and stock. did not try any other barrel systems.
Marker Setup: 2001autococker : ans reg, ans bolt, kapp valve, maddman spings, palmer quick switch 4 way, kapp rhino reg, sto ram, 12v revy, crossfire 4500 88, kapp cradle, wgp hinge triger frame, and freak barrel system.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any kind you can find at a field.
Strengths: - dead accurate
- looks great
- fits any size paint
- spiral porting puts a spin on the ball for beter range and accuracy
- 8 barrels in 1
- shot a 5'' group at 50 feet at night !
- very quiet
- made by smart parts a well known expirienced paintball company.
Weaknesses: - nothig
- nada
Conclusion: just got the barrel and put some paint through it. I love it. I shot it in my back yard at night about 50 feet from my target. It is unreal ! A must have for any one who plays at different fields with different brand paint.
NEVER again have a ball role out or break because of size to barrel match !
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media