paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Sunday, December 9th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot many many different barrels. I have always been a Smart Parts fan, so for my own guns I have had various length All American barrels. My gun helps a great deal, but with my Freak I am shooting darts. I have yet to shoot a gun/barrel combination that could come close to the performance that this set-up delivers.
Marker Setup: 99' Evolution
14" Freak Barrel(Tear Drop Front, Aluminum Back)
45ci 4500psi Apocalypse 2k
12v Revolution
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ha Ha Ha. Thats the whole point. Shoot whatever you want kiddos. With all the inserts you will be hard pressed to find paint that won't fly out of this bad boy.
Strengths: -The delivery of the ball is second to none.
-With the tear drop front it is very very quiet.
-You can change inserts to match any ball you ever have to shoot.
-Nice cosmetic options. Many choices on colors, lengths, back halves, ....
-Very cheap to have a top notch barrel for multiple guns by purchasing additional back halves.
-You get eight top quality barrels for a little over $200
Weaknesses: I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS AT ALL BUT HAVE WRITTEN THIS NEXT SECTION AS A SIMPLE WARNING. THIS IS ONLY A PROBLEM FOR THOSE WHO WANT THE BARREL PIECES TO BE LOOSE ENOUGH TO SEPERATE.

Since it is a two piece barrel the front can unscrew from the back, so when removing the barrel from your gun it might begin to come apart. If you want it loose enough to seperate so you can trade pieces on it, you will have to live with this. If you plan to only use one length on one gun CAREFULLY seal the front and back together, then the problem is no more. The sleeves slip in and out of the back of the barrel so this will still allow you to change them.
Conclusion: Absolutely exceptional barrel!! Being able to have a barrel from a long standing leader in barrel technology like smart parts that can change to fit all size paint is more than you could ever ask for. Pick up this kit and see what accuracy really looks like.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 23rd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick, all american, DYE stainless steel, (but none of that counts now does it)
Marker Setup: 2k1 autococker
WGP hinge trigger frame
freak system
dye stickies
9vt
benchmark Drop forward with on/off
ANS quick pull bolt
Shocktech Supafly Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anykind you feel like getting (other than brass eagle, not consistant at all w/ sizes) I use all-stars when i can
Strengths: Its 8 barrels in one!!!!! No more worrying about if the crappy field paint will work in your boomstick. By far the best barrel upgrade out there. Not just for pros, great for anyone who wants to shoot darts, (and saving money) I shot a 2 inch group at about 70 ft.
Weaknesses: Price is a little steep, but where can you get 8 barrels for under 200 that are actually worth buying and with different bore sizes?
Conclusion: GET ONE!!!!!!!!!! I am soon switching to an Impulse Vision and all I have to do is buy a new back insert piece and I can use it on my Imp! Now with a chrome back insert to make your marker look even cooler!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, November 17th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares!!!
Marker Setup: Spyder shutter, Centerflag hyper frame electronic grip, palmer reg, bob long ram air front, turbo valve, custom milled drop forward, Akalamp lightening bolt, 68/3000 and a 12v revy. (shoots as fast as an angel didn't cost near as much!)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything you want!!
Strengths: I've tried a lot of barrels and this is by far the best one I've used. The range, accuracy quietness makes my Spyder Shutter very competitive.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing is I break a lot more paint than I do w/other barrels. It probably has a lot to do w/the fact that I'm shooting indoor paint most of the time (usually pretty poor quality) and I'm using a top quality barrel on a spyder....
Conclusion: I will trade an occasional break for the accuracy and quietness of this barrel ANY day. It is a little expensive but it's worth its weight in gold!! Plus you don't have to sell the barrel if you change markers. You can just buy a new back for the new gun!! I say buy it and you won't be dissapointed!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 13th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None whatsoever.
Marker Setup: 2k1 angel lcd, pmi thor reg, pmi 68/4500, bonebrake bolt & zip-it flow bolt & of course the stock bolt.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paint, will do the inserts just match up with the barrel.
Strengths: very accurate, shot groupings are tight.
Weaknesses: if you use one or two brands of paint. don't buy it. if you use different paint, then buy it. its very helpful. The quality in which it is made, is better than most, but still comparably not as good as the boomy with different bore sizes. Also the price, is somewhat expensive since more and more companies are coming out with their own barrel systems.
Conclusion: I like it, but I have to sell it because I only use one or two brands of paint (my paint sponsor). Its a good quality barrel, expensive price, very good if you use different sizes of paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

s67cobra Sunday, October 21st, 2001
Strengths: Well, I finally broke down and bought a freak system for my 2001 Evolution X autococker. Mine is a 10" silver front with stainless back and the full kit.
I will make this short and simple....
This barrel is light, accurate, amazing range, cool looks, and you will always get the optimal performance. The inserts insure that you never have a bad day.
Not one break so far.
Havent lost any range from the 14" AA on the evo and the better fit on the paint means better accuracy
Price...you would expect a $200+ barrel to have this under bad, but for what you get, it is well worth the $$
Inserts arent nearly as fragile as everyone says they are
Weaknesses: I have had one time where the insert actually spun around causing the ball to go crazy, but that was one out of thousands.
Well, I have found that sometimes its hard to get the back of the barrel off the cocker cuz the o-ring holds it tightly in and the position of the ram makes it kinda difficult to get a grip on and unscrew. But if you just unscrew the front and pull out the insert and put like an alanwrench down the side of that baby, you can easily get it out. Again, this is annoying but not terrible and infrequently happens. Boo hoo
Conclusion: This barrel is sick (thats a good thing)
Although the price of $200+ is high, its like nitro. Anyone who as switched over from co2 to nitro knows that the $$ difference is well worth the performance difference. Same applies to this barrel
Best barrel I have used so far and I also have a smart parts AA, J&J 2-piece, dye stainless, and have used most other major barrels. Although I must say that the new OTP freak type barrel looks cool, but I have always been a Smart Parts guy. Cant beat their spiral porting and smoothness
This is one sweet toy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

F|2eeFL0w Thursday, October 18th, 2001
Strengths: great barrel
supremely accurate (i use a 14 inch)
one of the greatest things about it is that you can shoot any kind of paint with it
VERY DAMN LIGHT!!!!!!!!! feels like ur holdin nothing!!!!!!
quiet,accurate,light,what more could ya want?
Weaknesses: nothing really....
Conclusion: this is a great barrel, i used it with my free flow and its a lil pricy, but hey, ur gettin 8 barrels for the price of about 2.....savin about 1000 smacks.........i reccomend the FREAK and the dye boomstick, both great barrels, but for the boomy, get the titanium, thos look very cool and theyre real light......get the freak, its worth it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, October 7th, 2001
Strengths: I have 2001 STO that came with a 12" J&J two piece barrel. This barrel is very accurate.
I then bought a 14" DYE Boomstick. This barrel is also very accurate.

The problem I had with both barrels is depending on the size of the paint you are using, the ball in the chamber falls out when the gun is tilted forward. This is very, very frustrating when you come out from behind cover suprise your opponent and your gun dry fires and he ducks behind cover before your follow up shot. With the Freak this has never happened.

It is every bit as accurate as my J&J and my DYE and can be customized to fit whatever paint you are using.
Weaknesses: This is not for beginners or people who just want a better barrel for a cheap gun (Spyder,Model98,Phirana,etc) becuase it is expensive.
Conclusion: Overall the kit, in my opinion, was well worth the $200 that I spent on it. With an overall length of 12" (It is available in other sizes) It is lightweight, accurate, and quiet and I would recommend this kit to anyone who is looking for a tuornament level upgrade for thier gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 3rd, 2001
Strengths: The Freak system is pretty awesome considering its flexibility. I own a 14" all american front with stainless back, and with my 32 degrees cocker its deadly accurate. It shoots very accuratley even with crappy paint it shoots well.
Weaknesses: Nothing really bad, there are just a few things to accept and consider. Its an expensive barrel but well worth it. Also I would reccomend dishing out the extra cash for the All American front as its much easier to clean in an event of a chopped ball. There is really nothing bad about this great barrel.
Conclusion: It is expensive but definatley worth the cost if you are a serious paintball player. The results from a spyder or other cheaper guns are not as impressive as results from a cocker or angel. DO NOT buy the 16" or 18" inch length barrels as they throw the balance of your gun off and do not yield much improvement over the 10" or 12" inchers. Also for better accuracy (but higher ball chop ratio) use a bore diamter one size smaller than you can blow a ball through with your breath. Definatley buy this barrel and sell your others.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 3rd, 2001
Strengths: I have this barrel for my autococker and I love it. It is by far the best barrel I have ever used. The accuracy to this barrel is second to none. I have a 14 inch freak and it shoots farther then any barrel I have ever seen except the tippmann flatline. It is light and is very well made. Now you can use any paint you want! This barrel also looks awesome. I like the freak because you can change backs so you can use it on different guns.
Weaknesses: Some people think $190 is a lot for a barrel but think of it as 8 different barrels! It is definetely worth it when you play tournaments and have to use field paint becuase you will ALWAYS have the perfect match!
Conclusion: This is by far the best barrel out there! It's quiet, accurate, looks awesome, interchangeable bore sizes, and you can put it on any gun! I rate this a 10/10

GO AND BUY THE FREAK!!! You will love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JiZZMoNKEY Sunday, September 30th, 2001
Strengths: This has to be the grand daddy of all barrels! You get a perfect paint to barrel match for all paints and weather! I go to alot of fields that have the dreaded "field paint ONLY" rule and this barrel kicks!!!!
Weaknesses: There is nothing bad bout this barrel.IT is ward to take the tip off the barrel after prolonged use but live with it you little wuss! TIP: To scare the crap out of newbies, Take the tip off and only use the back and it makes the gun sound like a freakin rifle!
Conclusion: Great barrel to have around. Im the only one on my team to have one and I encourage all my teammates to try and get one.I have mine on an electro M98 and it gets alot of looks when you open the case and most people expect it to be a gun in the case lol.Great barrel.GO AND BUY IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media