paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
JoeBetz Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American, Spyder, Then all the stocky's
Marker Setup: 06 Shocker Sft, Dynasty Board, Q-lock, Blue Halo with Shockteck Rip drive, Crossfire 68/45, NXe tank cover, King Java fill nipple cover, Blue S-rail, Freak Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
With the Freak any!
Strengths: Cool new case, and it has a spot for extra fronts/backs!
Weaknesses: They changed some insert color's, Black is not as cool as pink or purple!
Review: The freak is a great barrel set. It has all the bore size's that you will ever need. Simple to change and compact! A friend has a evil pipe and it takes up a ton of room in his gear bag. You don't have 6 backs to carry just 1 with a few inserts! Also if you pick up a new Marker you don't need to buy a new barrel set, just a new freak back and the inserts that you have wil slide wright in!
Conclusion: Love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XPaintball4Life Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Razor Blue Smart Parts Ion
Blue Odyssey Halo B w/ Hybrid Rising Skull Backplate
Smart Parts Stainless Steel Freak Back/Blue All-American Front
Smart Parts MaxFlo Regulator
Smart Parts MaxFlo 47/3000 N2 Tank
Smart Parts Q-Lock Feedneck
New DeSIGNZ Roller Wave Trigger
Blue Custom Products Regulator
Strengths: -Can be customized for paint size
-Light
-Color customizable
Weaknesses: -Price$$
Review: I got a Freak (specifics in set-up) in a package with my Ion on eBay. The barrel was in great shape. I immediatly filled up and went out to shoot some paint through. I never broke a ball. To this day I have probably only broken a maximum total of like 10 paintballs.
Conclusion: Bottom line is, I absolutely love this barrel. If you have the cash, go for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 8th, 2007 at 8:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

csmith1199 Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi switch kit, Redz pepper sticks
Marker Setup: Nexus All American Planet Eclipse eblade autococker
Freak kit with All American snub tip
CCM clamping feedneck
WGP torpedo drop on/off
Recommended
Paintballs:
It's a barrel kit, so any paint should do
Strengths: High number of interchangable bores
Looks sexy (06 version is best)
Dead accurate
Weaknesses: I've got an autococker, so sometimes it's a pain to take it off.
Review: I picke up this barrel kit after I got into autocockers. Obviously autocockers require a good paint to bore match, so I needed a barrel kit. I got a Stiffi switch, and decided to give this a shot and bought this too when I had some extra cash.

Bore sizes: My kit came with 8. That's a huge improvement over the 4 from the Stiffi kit, and the 4 (or 5 sometimes) of the pepper sticks. And, on top of that, there's also available special bore sizes, that go bigger and smaller than the ones that come in the original kit. This makes it pretty much impossible not to get a good paint to bore match no matter what paint you're using.

Accuracy: With my cocker, this thing is dead accurate. I'm not going to give you some ball on ball at x amount of feet analogy, but this thing is tight. You can start to notice it when you give off a burst of say 3-5 rounds, and it seems like they all end up in generally the same spot. Case and point, couple weeks ago, I happened to end up behind someone in a rec game at about 60 feet. I let of a quick burst and he ended up with 5 hits on his upper back. Now, some of you might think this is overshooting, but I gave off a quick burst, all the balls were in the air before the first one hit, and well, the barrel was accurate, they all went where they were supposed to go!

Looks: This barrel has many different combinations with the different models over the years, but I'll only go off the one I have. I've got the 06 model back, which has four daimond shaped openings on the four sides that let you see the bore tube. The tube fits in real tight, so no paint really gets in if you get shot, and if a little does, it's really easy to clean. For the front, I got the All American version (I really didn't like the Freak tip), but in the snubby 12 inch tip. You either love it or hate it, but I liked how I was able to keep the marker tight, yet I still got amazing accuracy.

Downfalls: The only downfall I can find with this barrel, only applies if you have an autococker. The back is short, so if it doesn't come of when you unscrew the barrel, you're pretty much screwed. I had to buy a small oil filter wrench to get my back off my gun when it got stuck. This is compared to the pepper sticks, which are long enough to get a grip on the back, and the switch kit, which has little holes in the back that you can put an allen wrench in to loosen it up.
Conclusion: Bottom line, this is an excellent barrel kit. I'm only taking 2 points away because of the back being too small for an autococker, and the other barrel kits being able to overcome that. But if you don't have a cocker, there's no problem at all.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

piranhapro93 Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto 1-peice, tons of stock barrels, freak jr.
Marker Setup: Grey Piranha Evo 05
48/3000 psi w/ dye cover
ricochet ak
proto 14-in. barrel
upgrades soon to come
Recommended
Paintballs:
Mostly any but really cheap paintballs, such as bonus balls
Strengths: Extremely accurate, looks sweet (IMO)
Weaknesses: The insertneeds to be exact to fit the size of paint your using.
Review: This barrel is a really cool barrel. it's really accurate and the freak and it's 'offspring', the freak jr., look cool. the only downside (this is the reason I like 1-peice's better) is the insert on the back has to be the exact right insert, this is why I bought the proto-1-peice barrel, you can use it for lots of paint.
Conclusion: This is a pretty good barrel if you don't use tons of different types of paint, but if you use 1 size of paint normally, then you should be fine, or you could just buy more inserts but it would be a hassle.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DSF Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCM kit, Dye UL, CP, stock barrels
Marker Setup: Ion, ego, and hybrid cocker
Recommended
Paintballs:
Xbal gold
Strengths: Can change bores
Weaknesses: In review
Review: When i frist got the freak it was a step up from the stock, but really thats all it was. I had probles with chopping, curved shots, and bores getting stuck.
I tryed all the bores and found it was happening still, so i kept trying better paint, i ended having to use the best i was a loud at my field, Xbll gold. It shot fine witht hat but not as good, when my buds Dye UL
I just ended up replacing it with a CCM kit and have foudn that to be a bigger step up then the freak.
Conclusion: Maybe i just had a bad freak but i am not going back
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AresPBIon Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi
SP One Pieces
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Firebolt
SP 360 QEV
Blackheart Board
Freak Kit
VP Scythe Trigger
Dye Sticky Grips
On/Off
CP Long Reg
PMI Pure Energy 68/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used X-Ball Bronze, Proto, PMI Premium, and random White Box paints.
Strengths: Easy to use, quality built, good fit and finish,.
Weaknesses: None really, aluminum inserts might be, not everyone takes care of their gear so well.
Review: I received this as an early birthday present and have been waiting to write a review until I was sure about how I felt concerning the product.

From the first use to the most recent I have thoroughly enjoyed this product. It has increased my accuracy; decreased broken balls due to improper barrel size and just all around in general made the game more enjoyable for me.

First thing I noticed when I took the Freak Kit out of the delivery packaging was the very nice carrying case it came in. A solid rubbery plastic, with a clear window and precut super dense foam to contain the inserts and the barrel pieces.

All of the inserts are a different color allowing quick identification for those who are colored orientated and pick up on that easily. Otherwise all of the inserts were clearly marked with the size on them.

You can change backs for different markers, and change barrel lengths. This makes it possible to use it on multiple markers without having to buy a whole new kit. Awesome adaptibility.

There is a tight fit with the inserts that will take some getting used to for some, I found sliding it in from the back worked best and slipping my finger in the top of the insert and pushing it out was easiest to remove insert without using tools and damaging it. The inserts are something some see as a weakness with them being aluminum. Take care of them, take your time putting them away, donít set boxes of paint, your gear bag, and your marker on top of them, and donít step on them. Basically treat them well and they will last a long time. It is that easy.

The only issues I have is with the anodizing on the product and with the size markings, if you are playing in sandy conditions and when taking out the insert you have to be careful not to scratch the outside of the insert and take off both the coloring and possibly any important marking information.

Otherwise an excellent product, which I would recommend to anyone looking for a quality two piece barrel kit.
Conclusion: A quality product, excellent for any marker out there that the product is avaliable for. Take care of it and you are set with a product that will last a long time. Switch backs, bam your kit fits your new marker, switch barrel lengths for Rec, Scenario, and Speedball. Buy one today!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadowlord06 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Teardrop and Progressive
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve
Freak Barrel
NDZ Drop Kick
FireBall Mountain wave trigger
Dye Hyper 2 Reg
3A 72/45 Hpa tank
Need Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever
Strengths: Interchangeable Bores
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This si a great barrel. It ia nice because you can change bore inserts depending on what field you are at and the size of the paint. It is accurate with a good bore to paint match. Making good for the Traveling player. I really dont know what else to say about this barrel. It is very nice to have. Will edit once I have more use with it.
Conclusion: I recommend this to you if you play in tournies or at alot of different fields. I give it an 8 because I am sure there are better barrels.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Homan13PSU Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite barrels (2)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Lucky Stage 5 (Dust Silver)
Smart Parts Q-Lock
NDZ Blade Roller Trigger
NDZ QEV
Halo w/ Rip Drive
Tadao Raider Board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, as this is a full kit of inserts you can use almost any paintball brand.
Strengths: Very versatile bore size range
Color coded inserts
Weaknesses: Price
One may never use all insert sizes
Review: I purchased the Freak kit two years ago when I was still shooting my Impulse. Before that I had always used and purchased Dye barrels. Dye barrels are great but the fact that now I am down here in Northern Virginia and have been playing at two fields and use several different brands of paint buying several Dye barrels was out of the question. Playing at my home field Pev's, which is a BYOP field I always use Evil paint; when I go down to Splatbrothers in Richmond to play with my brother in law we are always ending up with a different brand of paint which is really where I start using the different inserts. Since there is a wide range of insert sizes you are always going to have an insert size that will be close to the size of the paint you are using, this is by far the key feature of the Freak kit. One of the other great features is the color coding of the inserts to assist in the identification of the different bore sizes. The fit of the various pieces of the barrel kit is flawless and the finish is flawless as well. Of the main gripes I have one would be the aluminum inserts aren't exactly tough as I did a number on my original .685 insert (this was my fault) but as long as you take care of them this shouldn't be an issue. The kit itself isn't exactly cheap (but better than buying several Dye barrels) and they do have the Freak Jr. of which you can add on to. They also have the Stainless inserts as another option to the aluminum.
Conclusion: Have yet to find a paintball brand that doesn't work with any of the inserts in my kit. Very versatile and user friendly this is a great barrel kit for those players that are always using a different brand of paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Empire Yankee 3 Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: ION
Lots of ups including Blackheart, Freak (of course), Firebolt, and CP stuff
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that will fit through the bores
Strengths: Long Enough
Interchangable Bores
Fits Nice
Weaknesses: Idk, maybe bad paintballs
Nothing else besides old paint
Review: VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY good barrel. Wasn't to expensive, but very much worth it, but I did't have to pay for it. So i love it to death. I have a 05 16" green AA front and a 06 blasted black back. And that would be it. (I hate the 50 word minimum thing)
Conclusion: GET IT!!!
Probably not as good as an ultralite, but worth paying less for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 29th, 2007 at 7:47 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fball191 Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
UL-lighter just as accurate
Marker Setup: Ion-trinity 06 body, 06 sith frame,Virtue Board, L6 bolt, cp on/off, 05 freak, 360 qev, cp reg, firing can, donut swivel, easy on/off virtue button, and hybrid grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind
Strengths: Accurate
Sexy
Easy to clean
Inserts
Weaknesses: None
Review: I was looking to get a All American. But they gave me a Freak instead. it was for my spyder at the time. So eventually i just took the fornt and bought a back with impulse threads and threw it on my ion. And it shot amazing. It can't get any more accurate then this.
Conclusion: If your looking for accuracy then this is the barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media