paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, September 28th, 2001
Strengths: Well the three closest fields to me all use field only paint and each one uses a different kind of paint. So instead of buying 3 different barrels i said im just gonna buy the freak. And what a buy it was. My 2001 STO shoots darts now. EXTREMELY accurate, Perfect paint to barrel match anytime you go out and play, what more could you ask for ?!?!?!?
Weaknesses: Haven't found anything bad about the product after a few months of use. There are a few too many inserts than what i need, but who knows, i might need them down the road sometime.
Conclusion: If you only shoot STRICTLY one style of paint, youd probably be better off going with a specific barrel bore for that style of paint. BUT if youre like me and visit different fields and shoot different styles of paint, THIS BARREL SYSTEM CANT BE BEAT. I always get asked why i didnt just buy a boomstick, then I show them the perfect paint to bore match and then they shut up. The paint to bore match is so perfect that even if i were to short stroke and break a ball, after a few shots its all cleared out and shooting darts again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, September 10th, 2001
Strengths: I bought this barrel a couple weeks ago and all I have to say is that it's gotta be the best barrel out there. Straight shots, no chopping,and perfect paint match. I had some old paint, about a year old and it even shot good, I was amazed. I did chop one of the old balls in it though, but i think i short stroked my cocker, so it was my fault .I dont need to go on about how great of a barrel this is because everyone already has done it for me, just trust their word.
Weaknesses: nothing
Conclusion: Alot of people are having problems getting their front tip off,dont tighten it so tight then, and grab the front and back when you go to take it off. If you have an auto cocker, grab the slots with your finger tips and twist the front and back together . Another thing thats good is to tighten front and back together before you put it on the gun, this helps alot. As for the paint after a break, just bring a jug of water to the field with you and pour it through the barrel ,shake it till its almost dry, then pull a squeegie through it. Like brand new after this. Good luck and take our advice...buy this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, September 9th, 2001
Strengths: This barrel is awesome. I got the 14 inch All American front for my Black Magic Cocker and it is so sweet. I was able to use some old field paint and it worked as well as a brand new case of marbalizer (until an egg shaped one chopped). The kit really helps you play in places with a lot of humidity (like Viper scenarios in Houston). Just check the paint barrel match a couple times throughout the day, and you'll never have a problem with it not fitting. The AA front is super quiet, and with cheap paint is fairly accurate. But its when you use new paint, especially the new PMI Advantage, that you really see the difference.
Weaknesses: One bad thing is what was said below. Its a little tricky to clean, but with the swab its a breeze. Also, the back piece doesn't stick out past the front block and externals on the cocker, so its hard to unscrew. The front piece has a tendency to unscrew from the back piece and then it is stuck in the gun. Sometimes you can unscrew the whole thing if you grab the front and back together. If not, I've found that the easiest thing to do is to pull the insert out the front, and then stick a screw driver or something through the two big ports on the back piece and unscrew it a little. You only need to do this to break it free then you can hand screw it the rest of the way off. Not a really bad fault, just might be something Smart Parts might want to look into.
Conclusion: This barrel is by far the best barrel I have ever shot. I've gone from everything from a stock Spyder barrel to a Boomstick, and this is so far above everything else. It is much easier to buy this kit than to buy three boomsticks to have the small, medium, and large bores. Plus, I can buy a second back and have it fit my Spyder as well. I would really recommend the AA front for it. I think its quieter and more accurate than the tear drop. You can get the whole kit for $189.99. The best part is that they don't charge you the $20 that most places do if you want the AA front. They give you either front for the same price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jgeil Saturday, September 8th, 2001
Strengths: I bought the deluxe package with the 14" Teardrop tip , and it was the best $200 I ever spent on my 'gun. I can shoot absolutely any paint through it... yes even Brass Eagle, with no breaks and killer accuracy. I was able to pick off walnuts hanging on a tree from about 40 - 50 feet away with this Barrel. At fields I have had many people ask my about it and I even let them shoot it, and they agreed that when the insert was properly matched with the paint, it was one of the most accurate barrels around. I love this barrel, and will never use anything else... well maybe the next Smart Parts innovation.
Weaknesses: With the teardrop tip it was a little bit tricky to clean, but a battle swab takes care of it. Other than that, this is the best barrel on the market for the money in my opinion.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this barrel to anybody with the extra money, or wants the ultimate barrel to compensate all of the paint they may possibly shoot. I think it is great for fields that require you to use their paint, because it allows you to adapt your barrel to their paint and always gives you an accurate shot. I would give it an 11 if I could.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ilikemilk Monday, August 27th, 2001
Strengths: What isn't? Basically, you'll always have the most accurate barrell of anyone regardless of what paint you use. I have used mine for a while, and as soon as I get a break (usually due to humidity making the paint swell) I switch on over to a new insert. And it comes in a nifty case.
Weaknesses: Um nothing. OK, the price- but you get would you pay for. This barrell is roughly the equal of 6 boomers. Instead of buying the $110 boomstick, mow your neighbors grass or something and save up 40 bucks for a freak. No offense to Dye and the boomstick, both a great company and a great product.
Conclusion: Get it now, please...

Alex H, what ever you say dude. We all have a cousin that works at dye. Ever heard of patents?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 27th, 2001
Strengths: This is the best barrel I ever owned. It shoots straight its quite and it looks awesome. I have a stanless steel back a freak front deluxe set. It doesnt even compare to a Boomstick. This barrel can shoot any paint in any weather, what more can you ask for
Weaknesses: This one is a real thinker. Oh wait its not. There is nothing bad about this barrel People say its expensive but it is well worth the price.
Conclusion: This barrel works perfect on any gun with any paint so what are you waiting for go buy this barrel. Once you shoot with this barrel you will never want to use any other barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 27th, 2001
Strengths: This is an awsum barrel!!!!! I put it on my spyder TL Plus, and i can shoot so much more straight, but i use CO2, which is a little inconsistant but this barrel makes them go so much striahghter. It's crazy, my balls used to curve around the trees and now theyr actually going straight, and even landing in the same spot! It's intimidating.....it's scary to know your opponent can shoot straight balls. It doesn't break balls very often at all.
Weaknesses: Lets see.....bad things about this.....NOTHING AT ALL! It's a little expensive but it's definately worth the price, if not, even more than what you payed for. Everyone wants to borrow it.
Conclusion: The barrel i bought is 12 inches. You can shoot any paint through this, if it's bad paint i dunno if it'll break, i use proballs and they are great. The entire system is from 200 to 250 dollars, depending on where you get it from. This can't compare to any barrel out there because it'll shoot any size on any gun and just kicks ass! If you want a great barrel and have the money i'd deffinatley reccommend this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, August 26th, 2001
Strengths: This is the most accurate barrel I have ever used. Almost everyone knows that paint can swell during a day at the field. This barrel solves the problem. Just check your ball/bore match about half way thru the day and switch inserts if needed.
Weaknesses: The only thing I can think of is Smart Parts should get rid of the clear plastic front on the case. I see this getting broken very easily in a gear bag.
Conclusion: The Freak I ordered came with a 14" AA tip that looks great and shoots even better on my Matrix. I thought my stock Matrix barrel shot good but the Freak is just awesome. I get much better long rang accuracy with the freak. I shoot Marb's and PMI Premium so I doubt I'll use all of the inserts but you never know. Sure its eight bore sizes in one but its only one barrel and eight inserts so it could be a little cheaper. All in all I recommend the Freak to anyone looking to improve accuracy. I was very skeptical about the Freak but now I'm so glad I got mine, its the only barrel I use. I would say if your thinking of getting one ask to shoot someone's marker that has a Freak and then shoot it with there next best barrel and see for yourself. Hint:offer to replace the paint. Or if your going to be the first where you play to get one, Go for it and if you don't like it (for what reason I could never imagine) you'll should have no problem getting rid of it if its in good shape for what you spent on it (as long as you shopped well). I don't regret getting this barrel, I love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, August 18th, 2001
Strengths: the key to accuracy, is the bore of your barrel matching the bore of your paint. And no matter what paint you are using, the Freak system will match it. Its well worth the $200 that I paid for the whole set.
Weaknesses: its necessary to get a battle swab. They are only 6 dollars, but they will help more than anything else if u have a rare break.
Conclusion: Best barrel system ever. My cousin works for DYE and the word is DYE is comming out with its own freak system, but with the boomstick. I hope he is right, But i have a feeling its gonna be in the $300 range.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, August 18th, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The real word to descibe it is "perfect". It is dead accurate and fits any paint. Even if ur shooting bad paint it will still be very accurate. I have 2 feak barrels W/ one deluxe kit (10in & 16in). They pritty much clean out themselves in about 5-10 shoots but squeegee it to get full performance.

If you get one...get a 10 or 12 in, they shoot better than the 16 or 18in freaks(i know this from experiance). Boomsticks are nice but jut dont really have what the freak has.
Weaknesses: price: $120-140
price for deluxe: $180-245

the price varies beteen the type of back u get and the colored front.
Conclusion: Buy it if u got the money, if not I'd recommend go with a JJ ceramic or a boomstick.

Only problem if u dont buy it is, be feared by those who do have the freak!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media