paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, August 11th, 2001
Strengths: The Freak is an ass-kickin' barrel. A lot of people say that you will not get as good efficiency because it is a two-piece and has a lot of porting, but the most important thing to efficiency is a good paint/barrel match, which you always have (so a one-piece with the wrong size paint won't be as efficient).
Weaknesses: It makes every other barrel look like garbage! Don't worry, your Boom Stick will make a nice doorstop...just kidding-sell it to someone who doesn't know about the Freak!
Ok, for real, the inserts do make me feel a little bit nervous, but they are more than strong enough to do their job. Just dont drop-kick them into the rocks in the staging area.
Conclusion: I recomend this barrel to ANYBODY!!! The whole set doesn't cost much more than a Boom Stick, and you get eight barrels!!!!!!!!! And unless you've had your head up your ass for the last couple years, you will know that the most important thing to accuracy is a good paint/barrel match...you get the point. You shouldn't break paint in it if you have the right size insert, so don't worry about cleaning it. It is also very quiet because of the porting. If you get a new gun or want to use it on more than one, you can just buy a new back with the different threading. That's kinda cool. Get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alpha-Omega Saturday, August 11th, 2001
Strengths: This barrel is possibly the best I've ever shot I mean I can shoot any type of paint I want with no problem I mean I buy 2nds paint all the time(old paint) and it shoots like marbs and these barrels can be customized with colors and sizes you want.
Weaknesses: -The inserts look kinda messy inside but hell it shoots good so why not?

-Kinda loud compared to a broom stick but it shoots nice with all paint!

-If you do ever chop its a mess between the back and the insert.....
Conclusion: Great barrel especially for low pressured guns cause you can shoot what ever you want out of it and its pretty accurate so I give it a 10 but from what hear at the Zap tournament there is a barrel system even better than a freak.....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tjd10684 Monday, August 6th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
aci 0gravity
32deg carbon fiber
2 other freaks
Marker Setup: witch one?
stock nova 700 9v revy

tippman a5 with freak

impulse with freak halo b psycho drop evil resp and evil valve

blm spyder body and palmer reg all the internals were custom made with esp frame egg2

sisters stock xtra 12v rev
Strengths: Shoots all paint strait
Weaknesses: inserts sometimes a a little hard to get in and out
PRICE STILL
Review: I bought this in 01 for my impulse and when i wanted to buy a new marker the only possible barrel for it was the freak that was the second full freak i bought. then when i started my spyder project again freak was the only choice in my eyes. in my opinion this still is a 10 in my eyes.
Conclusion: i recomend this barrel to anyone who goes to tournys or fields that make you use their paint. this barrel is really quiet on SP guns other people playing speed ball with me that were useing the same barrel as me were a lot louder. this is really worth the cost but what ever you do DO NOT BUY FROM TMI entertainment. just take my word for it its a long story.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 8:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, August 3rd, 2001
Strengths: I have been using the freak kit on a mag for about 3 months now. Just like ALL THE OTHER GUYS said, it shoots ALL KINDS of paint. Matching paint to bore is as simple as shooting a spitwad, just be sure you test about 6-8 balls, not just one. I didn't think it was quiet until I let my friend shoot it and I watched. People didn't even know they were being shot at until they got hit. I ran out of gas once, and I just had to point the gun, and people would run for cover.
Weaknesses: A problem I have encountered is when i shoot MARBS one weekend, then stars another (field was out of marbs), and I have left over paint. Now I have to switch inserts in order to have the best match. Oh well, i guess the little guys want a couple hundred balls of stars. The case, although cool, takes up a LOT of space in my gear bag. I'm just being picky here, though.
Conclusion: BUY IT! I have a J&J ceramic (also an excellent barrel) and an AA stainless, but, they NEVER EVER get used anymore. The J&J is my backup barrel, in case I don't want to squeegee on the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, August 3rd, 2001
Strengths: This barrel is the best on the market,, NO DOUBT. It is only a little bit less accurate the the DYE Boomstick BUT if you got to a tourney and the paint in very BIG or Very small the you have a DYE that is useless. You can get severl lenghts of Barrel from 12" to 18" for different play style. Different colors. And for a few buck you can get a different back in Stainless Steel so you can use it on more than 1 gun.
The FREAK is a go every where & Play every where kind of barrel.
Weaknesses: Tubs are a little thin and if you mistreat them theye might bend or split. Other than that it ROCKS !!!!!
Conclusion: BUY ONE!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, July 27th, 2001
Strengths: Everything is good about this barrel. It is the best thing i have ever used. It blows my stock barrel away. The freak made my gun about a quarter as loud as it was with the stock barrel.. The accuracy is also out of this world. from 50 yrds i had a 6inch grouping. It was sick! it also helps increase your distance. It probably added 20yrds to my gun. With the interchangeable inserts i can run what ever paint i want. Now i dont have to worry about buying a specific expensive paint. I can run the cheapest crap and it will still shoot it perfect. I cant say enough good things about this barrel. Its also sweet how it comes in the hard carrying case. Its real nice for keeping your stuff safe and it just looks cool.
Weaknesses: I havent found anything wrong wiht this barrel so far. Ive only really used it for 2 weeks now.... so ill report back later when i know more.
Conclusion: I got the 16 Freak system. Im running it on a pimped out spyder tl plus(sum people say thats impossible). Just about any paint works great in this barrel. so far ive used marbs and 32* platinum balls and both worked great. Its definitly worth the cost. My best friend just bought a Dye boomstick for $110. I got 8 barrels for $180. It would cost a sh*t load more to buy 8 boomsticks... and i think the freak is a much higher qualitly product. With out a doubt i would recomend this barrel to anyone. Even if you dont have enough money to buy the whole system just buy the barrel and one insert... its well worth it. Then when you get more money you can buy more inserts. Also if you buy a new gun all you have to buy is a new back. THIS BARREL IS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 23rd, 2001
Strengths: Shoots any paint you can find (any ROUND paint, ehem... brass *cough* eagle) and shoots it straight.
Gone through 2 cases of Diablo's Midnight, 1 Blaze, 2 Inferno, 2 cases of Marbs, and a case of ZAP proseries with a 14". Had ONE Inferno and ONE Marbalizer out of those 16000 paintballs (that's a hella lota money and paint btw...) that broke in my marker. Just started on my second case of ZAP (hey, it's cheap AND ROUND) and haven't had any problems so far on a .689 insert. For Marbs and Inferno, I use the .687 insert and it shoots great.
QUIET! Good for sniping without giving away your position! I use it on an STO Autococker with an 18V rev
Weaknesses: Not a single thing.

People say it's expensive, but if you really think about it, you're actually getting 8 barrels for the price of 1 and a half boomsticks! Don't get me wrong, DYE's Boomstick is awesome, but one size does NOT fit all when it comes to paint!
Conclusion: Best barrel system out there. Should be your number one pick if you want accuracy, consistency, AND want to use whatever paint you can get your hands on. Also, if you have other markers, all you have to do is get another back and you're set! (A back is pretty expensive separately though).

14" or 16" depending on what you feel comfortable with and what kind of game you play. 16" will be a straighter, more accurate shot, while a 14" is easier to maneuver.

GREAT BARREL. GET IT (or at least try it out and then decide!)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shockmag86 Sunday, July 22nd, 2001
Strengths: acurate due to you can fit to any size paint. even if you use the same brand of paint all the time there is still a varience in size. i had it on my shocker and i had the s/s back w/blue tip it looks bad a$$. i am soon gona get one for my rt. eveyone says how it is a biotch to clean after a ball break well get a gun and shoot it right so it doesnt break paint. i never broke a ball in my shocker no matter how fast i shot or if i ran or anything. i broke one ball that was the last one of my hopper but it broke after leaving the tip.
Weaknesses: nothing. people say it is expensive but it isnt at all. no one complains about the boomstick when it costs the same price. it only costs more if you buy the whole kit and that is equal to 8 barrels. 8 boomsticks= alot more money!!!!!!!
Conclusion: buy it dont think just buy you wont regret it. get the s/s back it is stronger and looks bad a$$. get a colored tip too. i would recomend it to even a spyder cause if you sell ur gun just keep the inserts and tips and just get a new back!!!!!! go out and buy it now!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, July 19th, 2001
Strengths: I have finally got a chance to test out this barrel system on the field and boy!. I love this barrel. It is very accurate and it made the paintball shoot farther. I have an RT Pro and I used the J&J ceramic barrel and the stock barrel so this is what I am comparing the Freak System against. I don't think I'll buy another barrel again. If I get another type of gun, all I have to do is just buy the back end of the freak barrel. It is as easy as that.
Weaknesses: If you ever break a paintall in the barrel,you're screwed. I was testing out the barrel at the target range and I chopped a paintball. It was impossible to get is clean with out taking the barrel apart and washing out with water. Don't get me wrong. You can clean it when you're in the heat of a battle but it won't shot as good as a clean barrel. That is my only complaint. I haven't broken one in a game and it was my fault when the ball got chopped. I haven't gotten used to the trigger pull on the RT Pro when I am firing very fast. This is the only bad thing that I could think of about this barrel and maybe the price.
Conclusion: I wished that I have purchased the freak barrel system when it first came out. I would of save about $500 dollars on barrels + $245 on the freak system. Man! that a total of $745 on barrels. What a waste of money and some of this barrels I don't even used anymore. Go get the freak system. I had great luck with this barrel system. Don't waste money on other barrels like I did before I tried out the freak.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, July 11th, 2001
Strengths: This is definately an awsome product the the semi-serious to the very serious players to give them an edge in their game. The ability to change bore sizes gives you so much manuverability and possiblilities. You can get any type of paint to fly straight, use the best gas efficiency and hit those target you would not have gotten with a previous barrel.
Weaknesses: I have only had the Freak System for only a week. But I have tested and used it multiple times since then. I have yet to find a disadvantage to the Freak System. It is extremely versatile and the best barrel I have encountered.
Conclusion: This is a barrel system I would only recommend to the player who play paintball frequently and will continue to play for a long time. It is an expensive system, but definately worth it. For you are technically getting 8 barrels, and you can readily change the barrel, to the lengths you desire or get a different back and to fit any type of gun. So it is definately worth the money, but not logical for a person who will only be playing only a short while to spend so much money on a barrel system.
A 14in Freak is the standard length, and I think it is the best, for it gives a balance between accuracy and manuverability.
Because of the different bores you can change it to, all paint works amazingly well with the system.
Bore is the Key to Accuracy and Gas Efficiency. The Freak gives you that.

So..... Don't Fear The FREAK.....Unless You Don't Have One.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media