paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, July 9th, 2001
Strengths: It shoots like none other! I used it on my Shocker and noticed a difference the first three shots! All three hit a tree only a foot wide from 40 yards away! I am impessed! The range will kick the crap out of any other barrel on the market! I can shoot at least thirty feet farther. It's like adding a Flatline barrel to the gun! This barrel allows you to match paint so well that there is no wasted gas so you get better efficency... important if you are a Shocker owner like me. It also allows you to change the bore size in case the weather changes.
Weaknesses: It takes a while to find the perfect insert for paint you use the first time... but this is only a minor problem.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to anyone who has a gun worthy of it (not a Spyder, Model 98 or crap like that... no offence). If you wanted, you could even buy different front ends to change the length of the barrel! I like it because you now have to reason to complain if a field only allows you to use their paint. Also, it's fun to terroize people that you can hit, but they may be too far to hit you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, July 7th, 2001
Strengths: this barrel is awesome i have used on my shocker for a few weeks now and it is great a friend of mine uses it on his shocker and another friend of mine uses it on a cocker and it is awesome on both guns..............there are to people i know that use boomsticks on there angels and were wishing they had not wasted thier money and would have bought a freak........
Weaknesses: its bad when people complain about your gun shooting better.........i hate to here them cry about it when i have the best barrel known to man.........
Conclusion: this barrel or i should say barrels is well worth the money if you buy the total freak............
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, June 19th, 2001
Strengths: accurate as heck. makes my tippman pretty good in terms of accuracy - i don't think i'll be using the flatline anymore.. very pretty and cool. looks count in paintball (sad but true). comes in a cool case (get the whole thing at 888paintball for 199). don't need another barrel ever - get another inexpensive front and ya got sixteen barrels for about $250 - that's $16/barrel - can't beat that! allows you to get different backs so your barrel investment is protected. fairly quiet (i have a AA front). size it properly, and barrel breaks are rare. let me repeat one point - it made my tippman98 an *accurate* gun!
Weaknesses: these are nitpicks: i wish they had chrome backs for more markers. i got a barrel hit and had to take it apart to clean, cuz paint got in between the insert and back piece. gotta be careful around the inserts they can be dented. but like i said, these are nits. oh - one more thing - made it harder to justify upgrading my beginnner marker.
Conclusion: i have the 14" w/AA front - if you were considering getting it, i'd get it in 12 and 16 (or 18) to fit different kinds of play. I also found that it's more accurate to choose the insert that is one size smaller than the one you can blow a ball thru - you might get a ball break every 500 - 1000 balls or so, but it's more accurate. I've shot about 5K balls thru it - marbs, premium and bigball. works well with all of them, so i'll be experimenting with cheaper paint. This system is the bomb. If smart parts hasn't patented it, every barrel manufacturer will be doing the same thing soon. go to your favorite online or neighborhood store and buy it - b4 your opponent does. The only reason this gets a nine is that nothing is perfect..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shaggie Saturday, June 16th, 2001
Strengths: Well Folks, I just spent my first day of play with my little freak and I love it. The freak took my shocker to a hole new level. Easily cut the grouping of the gun in half. If at 40 yards I had a 16" diameter group befor it honestly is about 8" now. I can shoot darts with this baby. I was dangerous before but know I am a straight out killer.
Weaknesses: The inserts feel really weak. I would imagine that if you dropped one on concreate or stepped on one with your barefoot it would be crushed. I also had a small problem with it coming unscrewed from the gun but not a real big problem.
Conclusion: Paintball in general is to expensive for what you get but with that in mind this is a great investment and should be the standard for years to come. I would recommend it to anyone. If you ever change guns just buy a new back and your set. I also would suggest buying the 10 or 12" as the inserts are the same no matter what lenght of front that you buy. One more thing this is better than the Custom Products version of the multi barrel product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stompa'16 Friday, June 15th, 2001
Strengths: This is an amazing product. Shoots all paints perfectly. Its very quiet with all the porting. I have actually used the 695 insert with some really old dimpled feild paint and it shoot great. Having a good paint to barrel match inproved consistency over the chrono.

Weaknesses: Some people say that they are hard to clean but if ya clean out most of the paint with a straigh shot and then turn it upsided down and dry fire it a few times with your hand over the end of the barrel, it clears out the ports pretty well.

I chopped a ball on the feild once and i straight shoted it and then dry fired it a few times and after bout 5 balls it was shooting pretty good.

The only bad thing which really isnt that bad is its not very gas efficient with all the porting but the difference in shots per fill is negligible but the low pressure nuts out there might not like them.
Conclusion: I have a 14 inch set for my cocker which im gonna get an ss back and a 10inch tip for my angel.

I have used team colors, polar ice, and some no-name crappy feild paint in it in all kinds of conditions and it shot great every time.

I would hafta say its probably my favorite peice of equipment.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballpuwk Saturday, June 9th, 2001
Strengths: perfect paint-bore match everytime great accuracy very very quiet unless youre dry firing then it sounds like there is no barrel on there
Weaknesses: the 16" throws the balance off a lot but other wise its perfect
Conclusion: my 16" is a bit to long for a cocker and its better then a boomy bigshot or autosprit and i have shot all of them on my cocker i reccommend this barrel for everyone who has a high end marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

COCKERboy16 Tuesday, June 5th, 2001
Strengths: 99%% of this barrel is perfect. Super quiet and very accurate, i have a 12' on my freeflow and i cant beleive how nice it is. I had a boomer before and loved it but this is just ridiculous, sooo nice.
Weaknesses: .695 insert is kinda worthless. ive never had paint bigger than .693. the only other bad thing is all those poor souls out there who dont have one.
Conclusion: I beleive that this barrel is well worth the 200 dollars, you can shoot anything from any distance and on a freeflow autococker, i cant even stress the noise, or lack thereof. it is by far the quietest barrel i own. i have the stainless back and black front to try to keep the boomer look cuz it is just dope. GO BUY ONE RIGHT NOW!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, June 3rd, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: What is good about this product? Well, you always have a perfect or at least close to pefect Fit. It comes in a nice case, and is a decent barrel. This is Dead acurate up to 50'
Weaknesses: What's bad? I cannot speak for all freak kits, but I had a 14" All American Tip and a Stainless Steel back for my Angel. I found that at 280 FPS the ball would curve at the end of it's travel. Starting at 50' out, the trajectory would change into a corkscrew and would curve all over the place. I tried different kinds of paint, different inserts with the paints, and different velocities. My results were the same all the time.
Conclusion: I have owned the freak kit for over 4 months now, and I just sold it. I feel that the kit is more hype than anything. For the price you could get 2 boomsticks, a .688 and a .691 and they would fit almost any paint you have.

This is just my expirience with the Freak Kit, I would suggest trying once for yourself before purchasing.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, June 1st, 2001
Strengths: This product is tight as anything, I got one for my cocker in 10 inch and another front in 14 inch. Both shoot about the same size hasn't really showed that much difference yet. I also have a stainless back and a 10 inch and 14 inch All American fronts. Love everything nice! this barrel is quite at 14 inch but just a little less than super quite at 10 inch, doesn't make much of a difference to me. Shoots straight as any other barrel out there and is better than any other barrel out there. At 50 yards on a target tree that was 6 inches wide by 5 feet tall was hit on my first shot.( yes I am being serious). Any ball is awesome with this gun I shoot Brass Eagle all the time and the barrel shots straight as an arrow.
Weaknesses: Nothing and if you think somethings bad about this barrel than see if your barrel in a vice on a bench pointed at a target can win against a Freak.
Conclusion: Any paint is good and the barrel ws worth every cent I paid for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 26th, 2001
Strengths: Alright, I ordered a 10" freak with a stainless back and an AA front specially from a friend at the shop. With the special order it took me 5 months to get the barrel system and the case, but it is so worth the wait! I put mine on my custom minicocker, and oh my gosh! I shot near a half case of marbs up at the field, no breaks, and I swear I could not miss what I was shooting at. I shot way less paint than before, it is dead nuts accurate. Because it is only 10", it is not the quitest barrel I have hooked up to it, but it by far the most accurate and consistant. I didn't have to raise my gun to a higher opperating pressure to reach 280 fps, as I did with most smart parts barrels. I never break balls in it, so I don't carry a squegee (I have a straight shot around my back on a KAPP necklace, but it never broke balls before) My gun shot 3 types of paint out, even the cheap crap paint, but they all shot perfect. With larger bore paints, I have to raise up my opperating pressure to 160 psi to reach 280 fps, but the barrel still shoots the paint perfect.
Weaknesses: NONE, the price may seem steep, but if you play tournies, you know how much accuracy matters. This barrel will make you reach that with ease. I had to wait 5 months to get mine, but it was still worth it.
Conclusion: This barrel is perfect for tournies, rec, indoor outdoor what ever. I have to say what's up with all the sniper crap, yes this barrel is awesome in accuracy, because it fits any paint, not because of how long the barrel is. 12" is the longest size I will ever shoot, and any length longer is just extra weight. So don't start with the sniper junk, barrel accuracy is the bore size, not the length. Sorry, back to the barrel. The barrel is well worth the money, no one will be disappointed if you use it correctly. Good luck, c ya at the tournies!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media