paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
impulseGUY Tuesday, May 22nd, 2001
Strengths: I got my freak kit from my parents for 8th grade graduation. when i saw it in the case, it was even better than i thought. the case was real nice, light, and sturdy. furthermore, the barrel itself seemed perfect! no flaws or anytihng! the inserts were beautiful! i sized up my marbs and went out back to shoot. with the 12" it shot straight and true. 9-10 shots hit bullzeye from 30 yards. keep in mind im 2 years experience. this is the best barrel money can buy! accurate, fits any balls, beautiful, quality!
Weaknesses: the only thing thats bad is the teardrop end shreds up my squeege, but i learned to use the other end and my possum tail. Also make sure to lube the threads (all of them) before using it. the front end needs it so it will screw in all the way.
Conclusion: kick a$$ deal. save money and buy one. never need a new barrel ever again. take my word for it. the only thing im gonna get different is an all american 16" end for sniping when i play rec with my buds.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 4th, 2001
Strengths: Everything about this barrel is good. You can get barrel to paint match with any kind of paint. The only way to do that with a boomstick is to go out and buy 8 of them with different bore sizes then you will spend over $800 when the Freak is only $200.
Weaknesses: Nothing I can think of is bad about this barrel.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel you can buy for the money. I even shot cheap wal-mart paint through it with my cocker and didn't break any. The Freak is worth the money you pay considering you never have to buy another barrel again. If you switch to a different marker all you have to do is buy a new back peice and there are many colores and lengths for the front peice so you can mix and match wether you want a long barrel for sniper or short for speedball or anywhere in between. This is the best thing invented since the paintball gun!! Go buy it!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 14th, 2001
Strengths: 8 different sized barrels for around $200, Very well built, nice carrying case to keep from getting scratched. Has wide variety of options you can get it 10"-18" in length. 6 different anod. fronts (black, stainless,blue,purple,green,red), 2 diffent backs (black and stainless), and your choice of a Teardrop, or All-American front.
Weaknesses: Wish carry case had more slots for extra fronts/backs.
Conclusion: No question about it this is the best barrel out there for the price, I got mine w/ a 14" Blue anod. Teardrop front for only $235. The paint lines up great to the 8 bore sizes, I have had no barrel breaks out of 4 cases since I bought the freak for my Impulse. I think its the best purchase I have made for my gun yet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 14th, 2001
Strengths: The match the paint to the bore size hype is not hype. It works. I have a J&J Ceramic and an Armson Stealth and the Freak is a far superior barrel. I get better accuracy and more distance with the Freak. I attest this to the fact that my paint bore is perfectly matched to my barrel bore size.
Weaknesses: I wish the carrying case had some extra slots for extra backs and fronts. I bought the complete system so all of the slots are filled. If I want to buy a different sized or colored front It wont all fit in the handy carrying case.
Conclusion: I wish I hadn't wasted my money buying other less expensive barrels. I think this barrel system is probably superior to all other barrels by virtue of its design.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 3rd, 2001
Strengths: The first thing I noticed when I got it was the barrel was beautiful. I have a stainless back. Also the barrel is extremely accurate. I have tried everything from shockers to autocockers and this barrel just pushes them to the extreme. This is mainly because the perfect match. It also shoots far. No side to side movement.
Weaknesses: Expensive for entire system.
Conclusion: I would totally recommend it. I loved the fact you can use any paintball you want. When someone says you can just get a boomstick and only use one type of paint to get this accuraccy they are only right up to a certain extent. When in a tourney sometimes you HAVE to use there paint. Like in Skyball 2000 they used Zap Paint. So having a $200 barrel that fits anything is way better than buying 3 boomsticks that only can fit 3 bores.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 4th, 2001
Strengths: You will never have the wrong paint barrel match with this kit. If you order get the Stainless Steel back, the inserts slide in and out easier with this back. As a bonus for all the money you spend it comes with a carry case :)

Accuracy: Bout the same as any other barrel with good paint match.
Weaknesses: Doesn't shoot well through breaks. "BUT" you will hardly ever break a ball in this thing.

People say it's expensive, but I paid $210 with the SS back for my Impulse and another $69 for an Angel back for my Angel I'm picking up soon. Thats 8 inserts X 2 backs = 16 barrels. If I buy an AA front for $69 thats 32 Barrels for only "$348" or "$11" for each barrel. Now is that expensive?
Conclusion: Don't waste your money on all the "this is the most accurate barrel/gun" hype. All barrels shoot about the same. If your paint matches the barrel you will be accurate. Thats why everyone says cockers are so accurate. If cocker doesn't have good paint barrel match the paint just rolls out. So people with cockers always pay more attention to it.

With the Freak kit you will always have that perfect match and you will fire as accurate as any gun. Even with your spyder :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 23rd, 2001
Strengths: The freak barrel is, well in my opinion, the most accurate barrel out there.. I have a 18" freak barrel for my Model98 and I have tried the Flatline barrel, All-American Barrel, and the DYE-Boomstick. For my Tippman,the Freak out does them all. VEry rarely do you get a ball to break in your barrel.. 1 out of 2000
Weaknesses: It's pretty expensive to buy all 8 inserts.. it was someone where around $200.. Also, if a ball does break in your barrel will all the holes in the barrel it's pretty tough to clean... you'll probably need to sit out for a min or 2 and go to town on the damn thing
Conclusion: I love this barrel.. It was pretty expensive but that's ok.. I have money.. also the freaking thing (hehe) shoots like a sniper rifle.. only occassionaly, but it doesn't happen often, will you get that stupid ball that flies out of control.. I hooked my tippman up with a sight for a .22 caliber rifle which projects the red lazer beam on somebody and with that thing.. I never miss I recommend the freak barrel over ne barrel out there.. and I recommend the 16", I messed up and got the 18" I mean it's still good.. but it's a little tougher to maneuver and the 16" is just as accurate as the 18" Later.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, February 21st, 2001
Strengths: If you have read any of my reviews than you know I can be a little long winded so I will make it short and sweet. Until the day comes when we get perfect quality and consistency in paint supplys and all brands conform to a international standerd, and we have no humidity, then we need the freak system. This is the best that you are going to get.
Weaknesses: Paintballs. (Would someone please make a paintball with out a seam already please)
Conclusion: Freak is the best. Who would drop $200. on a dye titanium?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 10th, 2001
Strengths: Overall this barrel rocks. With the whole kit you can fit any paint you want. This gives you great paint to barrel fit giving you as good of accuracy you could ask for. Also you can purchase different length front pieces giving you a lot of options to work with. If you have the whole kit with more than one length front imagine the variety of barrels you can get. It's like having 8 or more barrels in one.
Weaknesses: Really there is nothing bad about this barrel. The price is a little steep if you get the whole kit but you get 8 barrels in one. So it's worth the extra money. Also If you chop a lot of paint bring a sqeegie. The barrel is great but with all the porting holes, if you don't have a squeegie, don't expect to hit anything.
Conclusion: So if you have the money and want a great barrel to optimize your performance then this barrel is for you. It is a great deal considering you get 8 barrels in one. In my review for this barrel I was shooting a 12 inch freak barrel with the whole set. I was using my custom autococker, 4500 max flow, and of course the paint to barrel match was good. A few things I really liked about this barrel were: The sound. It was very quiet. If your opponents are more then 20 yards away they won't know what hit them. Accuracy: With the ability to get a perfect paint to barrel match, mixed in the a great tear drop front this barrel is dead nuts accurate. Looks: Not only does this barrel perform well, it looks great too... Don't just sit around, go get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 2nd, 2001
Strengths: Wow. I can't even express how great this barrell system is. You get eight barrells for 140 buck. You even get adapters so you can shoot different paint. All the barrells shoot great. They are quiet and amazingly accurate. The best part is, say you're stuck in a bunker with tons of paint in your barrel and can't hit your oppenents. Take of your barrel and slip on another (just buy a 3-guppy leg harness and put the barrels in there). Now you how a nice, clean barrel.
Weaknesses: Nothing. Only barrel better than Freak was my 18" Twilight.
Conclusion: Get them. I don't even wan't you to read the rest of this. You should be driving to the store right now. In fact, you shouldn't be reading this. GET FREAK. NOW. NOW GO. GO NOW YOU HAVE NO REASON TO BE READING THIS. JUST GET THE FREAK.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media