paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
SmartPart1191 Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Products 1 Piece Classic
Stock ION Barrel
Marker Setup: Silver ION
Q-Lock Feed Neck
Smart Parts Grips
Mini Drop w/ Twist On/Off Valve
14" Freak Front/Back
ViewLoader eVLution III
ANS 68/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
JT Evolve are all I've used so far and I've had no problems.
Strengths: Very Accurate compared to the stock barrel
Weaknesses: Seemed Loud, may be my stock bolt, otherwise nothing.
Review: Well I've played a about 12 rounds of paintball with this barrel at E-Jam Indoor (which is about 4 or 5 hours of paintball) From what I noticed this gun was very very accurate when I laid out a line of paint across the field, I got out 3 guys in one round not even using half a hopper. Also while I was playing I couldn't really tell off the break how loud my gun was, but when I got into a 1 on 1 situation I could definitely tell my gun was fairly loud, but like I said it may have been my bolt.

Conclusion: I definitely recommend this to anyone who wants an accurate barrel that's cheaper than the Dye Ultra Lite, well it's cheaper if you don't get the entire insert kit. Might I add this barrel is probably one of the most accurate barrels I've used yet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nastytyphoon Saturday, December 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire barrels,freak barrels, punisher barrels
Marker Setup: olive green dust system x nme le , ruby red halo-b with ripdrive , empire fuel 72/4500 pis low pressure tank ,12 inch freak barrel stainless steel back 05 all american front, was board included
Recommended
Paintballs:
I always try to use pmi/rps super swirl
Strengths: Accuracy
weight
price
good looks
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I have used freak barrels with all american tips seince i got my first one, it came stock on my smart-parts adrenaline impulse. i have bought a barrel back for every time of thread on gun iv hade in the past few years. im a big fan on the freak barrels
Conclusion: If you are buying a barrel kit you need to ding the best prices and what bore sizes are avalible. and after that you can pick the one that looks the best
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cant dye dead Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing.
Marker Setup: Dye Autococker Ultralite, Freak kit,Eclipse 2, Evolution 2, 4500psi Pure Energy tank .ect....
Recommended
Paintballs:
Low quality to high quality paint.
Strengths: Accurate. Various size balls can be used. The barrel can match your gun's color.
Weaknesses: Price, it all comes down to, you get what you pay for.
Review: If you are serious about paintball and have the funding to spend on this sort of thing, don't waste your money on anthing else, except maybe the Stiffi, which has similar performance. But not to get off track. This barrel kit covers all the bases. From cheap paint like Core which has more imperfactions, where you should use a larger bore to combat the ball from getting stuck inside the bore. To the High quality paint such as Marbilizers which I would have to say is the best quality, any way you are allowed to have a much tighter tolerance to these higher quality ones because of the improved roundness making the paint you shoot more accurate. Yes you do have to size the balls up the tigher the tolerance of the ball to the bore the better, but of course not too tight to prevent sticking or breaking.
This barrel is also very quiet because of the porting.

On a side note I have read reviews of people that have had problems removing the sleeves out of the barrel. Simply put grease on the outside of the sleeve and slide it in. When you want to take it out just stick your finger in the barrel and pull.
Conclusion: I would definatly buy this again but only before I wasted money on cheaper barrels, except for the Stiffy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Shocker '03 vision with all necessary ups
Smart Parts All American two piece 12'' and 14'' with freak kit.
Halo B
Scion HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
doesnt really matter, it fits all.
Strengths: Improves accuracy
Fits to any calibre
Practicality
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I was as most of you are when I first saw this. "That is really expensive I wont bother..." Wrong! If you are a rec player yes maybe forget this, but if you are anything more you need to consider the freak kit. You know how your in your hometown, owning in tourny's because you barrel fits the paint perfectly. You guys then travel down to town "X" to play a tourny. You get there, and believe it or not the paint is actually .693 instead of your hometown .687. Now your thinking crap...this is rolling down my barrel, you notice a drop in accuracy, and the tournament goes poorly. Now imagine a product that no longer put you at the mercy of these tournaments. Simply switch the insert, and nothing is different. You barrels accuracy will always remain the same, you will never have to fear travelling. These are expensive but they work! I would not recommend it as a first upgrade, but down the road get these to improve your game. I have had not problems with them. Do be somewhat careful, I have heard they can dent easily, although this has not happened to me yet, but not period of use.
Conclusion: A must for serious paintballers! Dont let the field determine your play, be consistent, be accurate every time. Buy these!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow Angel Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The Stiffi
Marker Setup: Ion
Stiffi
Blue Dye Back
Blue Hybrid grips
Blue NDZ roller compiste trigger
Blue Ion body kit
Blue Halo w/ rip drive
Virtue Board membrane
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Weaknesses: Kinda Pricy
Review: This is a really good barrel and I thank my friend for letting me use it in one game because it was really good. It wasen't better than i expected but not worse. it worked really well and was really accurate. the only thing I wouldn't get this is because the price and i already have a stiffi wich is like about half an ounce.
Conclusion: Great try it and if you like it than get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Seabass9000 Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12" Dye Boomstick, 12" Dye Stainless Steel, 12" SP progressive, 12" 32 degrees carbon fiber, 14" SP progressive, etc...
Marker Setup: Blue Nerve, 14" Freak with AA tip, Max Flo 68/4500, Shocktech drop forward and VLocity hopper.

Black to Silver fade Mini E-Orracle, SP 14" Progressive barrel, Chrome Shocktech drop forward with silver SP on/off, Chrome Shocktech locking feed neck, Crossfire 70/4500 and an Evy 2 hopper with Z-board.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any... as long as you have the insert kit.
Strengths: Matching paint to bore size, accuracy, pretty quiet.
Weaknesses: It costs a little more than some barrels when you get the entire kit.
Review: I was kind of skeptical when I first started using the Freak. I actually thought it would be better to have some Dye Ultralite's with different bore size's.
However, I was wrong. This barrel is really nice and works great with just about any paint on the market. It is accurate and also pretty quiet on my Nerve. The sleeves are pretty easy to change, not that you have to change them a lot.

It also looks really cool.
Conclusion: I really like this barrel and have become a believer in the freak insert kit. I will probably buy another one for my Cocker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXMaxipadXx Thursday, November 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested: Flatline good but not a speedball barrel
A-5 Stock Barrel: Ditch it quick, toilet paper tubes are better.
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ response
Freak + SS Kit & 16''
Recommended
Paintballs:
I shoot DBX because its good paint for the money and the Freak barrel seems to like it.
Marbalizers seem to break in the freak though, not sure why.
Strengths: Accurate Accurate Accurate.
Weaknesses: Expensive.
Review: Ive never shot a J&J or an Evil Pipe but i love the freak. I dont know what people are saying about "Kinda adds accuracy". My A-5 has stock internals at the moment and even if i shoot C02 It's accurate as hell. I practice shooting a 3 inch wide stick from 70 feet and gettin pretty dam good at it. The paint I buy is $35 for 1500 at Dicks so its nothing amazing but DBX is usually well rounded. I have a 16 in and looks long as hell but on the air ball field its perfect for those doritos because its just long enough to clear the air bunker when i hug it.( I'd suggest 12'' - 14'' because 16'' gets in the way when you play front) Its also good on the woodsball field where distance and accuracy are crucial. I admit it doesnt nearly have the distance of the flatline but you can out shoot a Flatline within 100 feet with the Freak.
Conclusion: I have only good things to say about the preformance, but in my oppinion your paying for the smartparts name. J&J all stars are good too and a lot cheaper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kaizer Kris Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Ion Marker
Hybrid sticky grips
Halo hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would say just the basic Orgin Paintballs, .689 insert, I would not suggest Marbilizers as well as Evil paintballs with the .689 insert
Strengths: -Accurate
-Durable and Reliable
-Great Range
Weaknesses: -Expense
-Need the entire kit for maximized performance
Review: I think the Smart parts Freak Barrel System is a great barrel for woods and speed ball. It is good in that one can replace the inner bores and adjust the width of the barrel (for the different ball sizes). It has a slick body with the two piece disconnect and multi-color options are by the plenty. It has excellant range (shooting on my old tippmann) but would be a little loud for the woods where stealth is key.
Conclusion: I would buy this barrel for predominatly woodsball playing (15-18 inch), i would buy this if you play a lot b/c for a $300 system there is a lot cheaper out there and youd sacrifice little performance
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

reualnai Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe (freak slightly better IMO, but is mostly personal preferance)
MacDev Matchstick (approximately equal IMO)
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster with:
CCM No rise feedneck
Detonator Reg
NDZ bottomline
S.P. Freak Barrel Kit
Evlution2 w/ y-board
ACI Bulldog-III 68ci 3000psi HPA tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Using a single paint would put shame to this barrel
Strengths: Durable
Bore Selection
Weaknesses: Slightly more expensive than competing products
Doesn't always shoot clean
Review: I have had this barrel for just over a year now and its still performing great. Insert durabiliyt/weakness issues have not yet come up for me, although i generally treat my stuff genteller than most. The only problem i have ever had, and it is annoying at worst, is the fact it will not always shoots clean. When I try and shoot it clean the paint usually just find some place to hide and sits there and gunks up the barrel. Not a big problem, just annoying. When i bought this kit it was more expensive than competitors but prices have changed since i bought mine so that may or may not apply.
Conclusion: Great barrel that has consistently performed well for me. I would recomend to anyone trying to get a little more accuracy out of their gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rcko Friday, September 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
non freak 14" AA
JJ Ceramic 14"
Lapco 8inch big shoot
Marker Setup: 05 Pro Stock Autococket
14" AA Freak Barrel
Odessy TSA LED Backman
PMI 88/4500
A-5 RT
Palmer Male Stabilizer
Rufus Dawg Bolt and Power Tube
Lapco 8" Bigshoot
Palmer Cyclone QEV
RT and Cyclone 1/8" ID Hoses
CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pick and choose insert to match paint bore.
Strengths: Adjustability of bore
Weaknesses: Price
Review: AS expected adjustable bore sizing increase efficiency and accuracy of my current markers.

Use a lil of lithium grease on the threads to simplify fastening of fwd and back sections of the barrel. Also used some PB blowback marker oil on the outside of the inserts to help them slide better into the back and decrease wear on the mating surfaces. Gauge of aluminum inserts very thin. SS insert would be recommended if durability is paramount. Make sure barrel back is clean before inserting an insert. Also make sure insert is clean inside and outside to prevent damage to the back body.

AA american front has worked very good with my autococker. The barrel kit performance had motivated me to obtain an A5 back so I can use it on my A5 as well as the Autocker.
Conclusion: Pricey but you get what you pay for. Insert gauge is thin so handle with care.
Performance is very good and I am very satisfied with this product. By buying different back you can have one barrel system for multiple markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media