paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
spyderpilot642 Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Cp one piece
Marker Setup: ion
q lock
sp s rail
sp on off asa
jr freak barrel
cp trigger
cp reg
sp 360 qev
virtue ezon button
halo b with rip
cf 68/4500 hp
Recommended
Paintballs:
Zap chronic-.693
Stingers-.689
Strengths: Accurate
Inserts
Weaknesses: Not self cleaning
Non stainless steal inserts are fragile
Review: This barrel is nice because you can just get the different inserts for different paints, without all the different backs. The only thing that kinda sucked was its not self cleaning, which seems like it sould be for the price, not that ive ever chopped or had a barrel break but i tried it once by breaking a ball and putting some paint in it to see if it would self clean and it didnt :( no accuracy till you run a squeegie through it. Also the inserts that arent stainless steal are a little fragile, mines never broken or anything but i did see someone at the field that theirs bent and kinda like broke cuz its a little brittle or fragile.
Conclusion: Barrel is ok and pretty accurate, not very good becuase its not self cleaning though.

8 for no self cleaning and for the inserts
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Garro01 Friday, September 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pipe Kit
Marker Setup: Black Nerve, Evo II, 47/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
The correct bore size
Strengths: Accurate
Easy to change bore size.
Inserts are cheap
Looks
Durable
Noise
Weaknesses: Sort've hard to clean through a break.
Review: The barrel is amazing. It's a huge step from stock. Its very accurate. Also if your using different paint sizes, its VERY easy to change the insert. Can be done very fast. Also instead of buying full backs to have a different bore size, for 50+$ instead you can just buy inserts for 10 dollars. The barrel looks pretty stylish. Also its very strong. Compared to when i had a pipe kit, this barrel is WAYYYYYYYYY more quiet. The only problem I had was, during a break, its pretty hard to clean all the paint. Theres always a little left in the bores. But thats how all barrels are so its not a big deal. Thats why im giving a 10.
Conclusion: Great barrel, I reccommend it for anyone looking to buy an accurate barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

azndragon2222 Friday, August 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe (tested)
Various Low-end One-pieces
Marker Setup: Primary:
ICD Promaster
SP Freak w/ 14" Silver All-American Front (w/.684 insert)
CP Grip Regulator
Hybrid Lady Grips
CCM Heli-Clamp Feedneck
Shocktech On/Off Bottomline w/ Rail #2
VL eVLution II w/ Z-Board
ACI Bulldog III 68 ci/3000 psi (Carbon Fiber) w/ Dye Rhino Cover

Backup:
PMI Piranha GTI ('06)
Smart Parts Progressive
Shocktech Low Pressure Chamber
Shocktech Supafly Bolt
Flush Cocking System
Fireball Mountain Delrin Trigger
VL eVLution w/ Y-Board
ACI Bulldog III 68ci/3000psi (Carbon Fiber) w/ Dye Rhino Cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
I only use Draxxus Midnights with are about a .684 caliber (fresh). Old Midnights (say about 2 weeks in your closet) are about a .689
Strengths: Interchangeable Bores
Customizable (Freak or AA Fronts)
Very Accurate (after paint match)
Weaknesses: Price (i got mine used though :-D)
Inserts can sometimes be hard to remove
Review: i was at the paintball shop the other day, about to get an All-American....which they were selling for $80. it was a bit pricy...but i needed a new barrel. then i say a used SP Freak back for only $34! i was like...whoa....$34!? the owner himself didnt even believe it, but he sold it as it is. So i got with an All-American Front and 1 insert (.684) which ran me a total of around $70!!! man what a deal. anyway....getting to the review....i personally use Draxxus Midnights cuz they are the paintballs i can get for the price. the .684 insert that i have only fitted the midnights FRESH OUT THE BAG. the old Midnights that have been sitting in my closet for about 2 or 3 weeks have swelled up to the point where i had to force the ball out the barrel. obviously now i need a larger bore insert for old paint....anyway....doing test firing with matching paint....wow....thats all i have to say...wow. the balls were shooting straight with no curve what so ever. though range has not improved much, the accuracy of each shot was astounding. i even went ahead and started firing with the eyes off just to see if i chop and see it self-clean. try this little stunt....it didnt chop a single ball (i chopped like crazy with the eyes off with my stock barrel)!!! compared to the Evil Pipe, they were very similar in terms of accuracy....though i tip the hand towards the Pipe, but not by much. the freak is customizable (somewhat) in terms of which front you want and color selection (if only they had yellow). Newer Freaks are very expensive of course. at the paintball shop, new Freak backs were priced at around $75 alone. i was lucky to find a used one.

Pros:
Accuracy: once you find a paint match, accuracy is almost pinpoint.
Bores: has interchangeable bores for different calibers
Customizable: can be fitted with the Freak or All-American fronts

Cons:
Price: getting a used back for $34 was a bargain. new ones will burn a big hole in your wallet
Inserts: once the inserts are in the back, they be frustrating to get out
Conclusion: If you have the money for a barrel kit....this is a good kit, but the Pipe is cheaper and has nearly the same performance, if not better. dont get me wrong though, its a great barrel kit, just TOO expensive. inserts are a bit pricy too, so this one is not for people with low budget. if you find a used (which is hard to come by) GET IT!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 25th, 2006 at 8:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartballer Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion barrel-cant compare
ultralight- similar but not as accurate at long distances
stiffi-alot like the freak, and lighter
Marker Setup: 06 black ion
sp low-rise feedneck
sp 360 qev
new designs blade trigger
sp on/off
shocktech rail
soon to come- freAk with AA front & sp firebolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
any kind of decent paint
Strengths: Bore sizes
Colors
Looks
Accuracy
Minimal ball breaks (with good paint)
Weaknesses: Maybe heavier than some other barrels but not enough to notice
Review: I tested my friends freak and i was amazed. It is probably the most accurate barrel i have every shot, the stiffi is real close. I love the freak because it has a wide range of bore sizes, colors, and is super accurate. It definetly one of the most most accurate and all around barrels on the market. you cant go wrong with a freak.
Conclusion: If you have the money, get the freak. you wont be dissappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 12th, 2006 at 12:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbdawgfan Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sceptor Barrel -- Not quite as accurate
Progressive -- Not near as good
Teardrop -- Not near as good
Marker Setup: Red '06 SmartParts Ion
Black SmartParts Q-Lock Feedneck
Black SmartParts Freak Back
Dust Red SmartParts 06 14'' Freak Front(not the all-american front)
SmartParts Freak Boremaster Insert Kit
Dust Red SmartParts Dovetail and on/off ASA
Scenario Dreams T-Board
Custom Products Rake Trigger - Red
Black HALO B w/ Rip Drive
Pure Energy 68/4500 N2 Tank (for use with all my guns)
Black/Grey Empire Bottle Glove

***Backup Gun****
Blue SmartParts Vision Impulse
Cricket Board
Blue/Black Max-Flo Regulator(Not vertical reg)
Blue Clamping no-rise Feedneck
SP Magnetic Blade Trigger
SP Tapeworm
12" Blue SP Progressive
SP Tank On/Off Valve.
VL Blue Revolution Hopper or Halo B w/ Rip Drive

***BACKUPBACKUP GUN***
PMI Piranha Ext Pro
VL Quantrum Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. Any paintballs will fit if you have all of the inserts.
Strengths: Accurate, inserts, awesome looking, uses allamerican fronts too, 2 piece, and other things.
Weaknesses: A little expensive, kinda heavy.
Review: This is an awesome barrel. It is extremely accurate if you use the perfect bore size for the balls you're shooting. It looks way better than any barrel i've ever seen to me. It has different types of fronts, backs, and inserts that you can buy. Just buy a different back, and you can use it on different-threaded guns. The barrel is durable, but the inserts are NOT so be careful with them. It is a little bit pricy, but i don't care. Just save up a little money and buy one if you can.
Conclusion: It's worth the money, even though its a pretty good bit. I love everything about it except for only a thing or two. I'm giving it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shakman119 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lucky 15
Marker Setup: My setup always changes, for now:

Blue PM6
Freak kit
Ultimate freak front
Ramping chip
---------------------------------------------
Backup-
Rare Miami Raiders Ion (Rare verson of the strange)
Bolt out back operation
Torpedo regulator
Shocktech Drop #1
SP protouch grips
PSP board
Superman color scheme:
Blue body
with red proagresive barrel
and red macro
custom red paintjob on frame
-------------
Hopper:
Reloader B Dimond edition
-----------------
P/E 72 4500 stubby
----------------

Recommended
Paintballs:
Everything from monsterballs, to Hellfire
Strengths: Many inserts
Weaknesses: Price, but you can buy used!
Review: I got the full freak kit in a trade, but Ive had great experiences with the freak barrel on other markers.

When upgrading to the freak, you can buy inserts, or a kit to match whatever paint you have on hand. For some guns like cockers, you underbore, and for intimidators, you can overbore.

The freak gives you many options to find the perfact boresize to achieve the best accuracy.

Must I say, this thing is deadly accurate. When running a test, with WALMART parnt we stood 80ft away from a 3 by 1.5 foot target. This is the standard size of a small garbage can, or a person kneeling down. Matching the paint snugley to my Eblade 2, we were able to hit the can 19/20 times.

I love my freak, and I have used it on 4 different guns, including 2 timmys, a proto matrix, and my Eblade 2 autococker. I stand by it as the best kit on the market. Although there are 2 negatives. Loudness, and cost. But who cares about loudness, and if your poor, get a job!

Conclusion: The mack daddy of barrels, nothing comes close.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

odawg315 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
alot of barrels
Marker Setup: angel g7 fly, freak with stainless inserts
Recommended
Paintballs:
all
Strengths: Adjustable
Weaknesses: Been around a long time so people knock it.
Review: I here the inserts bend if you sit on them or step on them.I dont do this, they work perfect when you put them in the barrel and shoot. some people say they dont shoot through breaks, I havnt had this problem. I used to use a an aluminum freak kit then I left paintball for a while and now there are so many kits out there and everyone bash's the smart parts kit, why??? Cuz it was the first one out so all else is compared to it. You probably will never use 3 of the inserts, who cares Id rather have them instead of not. the fact that you can buy different lenghts is awsome, and when you buy a new gun just buy a new back, with the dye or any others your screwed. If you use a decent paint its easy to match to an insert, if you use crappy paint you shouldnt be looking to buy an expensive barrel kit, save your money and shoot better paint!!! I know all paint isnt perfect but it should atleast be round!!

Conclusion: Conclusion: Maybe Im old school, but playing on and off for 17yrs now I have always found smartparts to be either the best or on par with the best and I still feel this is true. There are a ton of dye loyalists and evil lovers but alot of these people never owned anything else, my advice is if you get the chance to borrow a kit from someone do it and youll find this kit on par with the best. after all smartparts set the standard yrs ago when making the freak kit. nothing is 100% perfect but this is close as far as barrels go, i only wish a stainless back was available for my g7 fly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

red_impy27 Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock impulse barrel
evil pipe kit
all american
many more but none are as accurate in my time playing
Marker Setup: non vision impulse
shocktech rail/ASA
halo
ND blade
q-lock feedneck
Strengths: very accurate when used correctly
IMO pretty cool looking
Weaknesses: people say its a pain to size paint and change bores but IMO its fun
Review: i will start off with a story i guess
i was recently practicing snap-shooting at my house and i put up a target about 50 feet away (the target was about 4 or 5 inches wide) i shot the target three times in a row in the exact same spot

ha ha it also makes me feel cool to have a freak which is IMO the best barrel out there at least that i have shot i would also suggest that you take the small amount of time to size your paint as it helps tremendously

honestly a whole lot of a gun's accuracy is the paint to barrel match and the overall quality of the paint but a good barrel definitely doesn't hurt at all
Conclusion: The freak is the most accurate barrel i have used in my fairly short paintball career and i would recommend it to anyone looking for a good upgrade in accuracy i would give it a 9.75 because nothings perfect
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

^ZION^ *PYRO* Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel (hardly compairs)
Marker Setup: Smart-Parts ION
EvoII
Hybrid Hedlok
Smart parts Freak kit
45/3500 alum. Pure energy

2k4 Prostock Autococker
Smart parts Freak kit

Back-up: Brass Eagle Tigershark with 18" A-A and 12oz. CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that arn't swollen and gooshy
Strengths: Versatile

Easy to use on more than one gun (see review)
Weaknesses: Can't think of any off the top of my head.
Review: Awesome barrel. Dead accurate and uses Freak and All-American fronts.

I have the full bore kit with an 18" A-A front and a 14" freak front. I recently bought a new back for my ION. I now have essentially a barrel that is universal (if you buy new backs)

You can buy the backs in pretty much any thread. Aluminum or the more expensive (and stylish) Stainless steel. I have two aluminum backs (1 cocker, one Impulse/ION) and they work just fine.

Conclusion: Incredibly versatile. Incredibly Accurate. New backs are cheap than new barrels for every gun you have. New fronts are Cheaper than buying a longer/shorter barrel for every position you play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xtibian Thursday, May 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy Pro SF
eVultion 2
Worr Gas 50ci/3k
Freak Barrel System
Flame Drop Forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Nelsplat thats all The interchangable bore sizes so any paint
Strengths: Interchangble Bores
Accuracte
I reccomened steel inserts and back
Barrel Options
Weaknesses: Price
Aluminum inserts can dent/bend easy(get steel)
Review: This a very good barrel. It is very accurate and you can use any paint because of the interchangable bore sizes. You can get the All-American front or the Freak(Teardrop). You can get a lot of different lengths and colors. The back comes in stainless steel and aluminum.
Conclusion: Great barrel I highly recommend this barrel to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media