paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
masterx02 Wednesday, May 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
J&J Ceramic
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot 05 ACS
Thor Clamping feedneck
dye 3 sticky grips
freak jr kit
20oz C02
Halo b with rip drive
Recommended
Paintballs:
None inparticular
Strengths: Shoots Straight
Silences my gun
Better velocity
Weaknesses: Pricey
Review: I got this barrel with my own hard earned money. I still think i could have gotten a barrel that was as good for less. I really like this barrel though because i makes all of my balls shoot straight. Its like ball on ball action when im using this barrel which is very awesome since the field i play at only has woods-ball atm. It made my gun much quieter, and it gave me better consistency/velocity. If i could have gotten a better deal i probably would have took it though. I got this thing for 100 shipped.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel i have tested and it would be good for any gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sydarm Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye aluminum
Marker Setup: E-Mag Micro w/ full freak kit, 68/45 w/ drop, haloB
Strengths: Below
Weaknesses: Below
Review: Pros:
-multiple bore
-changing bores doesn't take very long
-accuracy (although multiple boomsticks would probably beat this)
-price...consider that buying several high quality barrels would cost more than this for sure
-can change the overall length if you have more tips


Cons:
-fragile aluminum inserts (steel now available, but more expensive)
Conclusion: Overall, I've been quite satisfied with my freak kit.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chikin pickle Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 factory barrel, '05 cocker factory barrel, DYE boomstick, DYE ultralight, J&J two peice ceramic.
Marker Setup: '05 prostock autococker
'06 Freak back, 16" all american front, .687 and .691 stainless inserts
DYe sticky 3 grips
crossfire 68/3000 cf tank w/ '05 rhino cover
ricochet AK hopper w/ countypaintball sticker
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, if you can buy it, there is an insert for it. Although never buy cheap paint!!
Strengths: Adaptability
accuracy
looks
Weaknesses: Hard to clean fully.
Review: Well, I am putting my review here because I didn't opt for a full kit, for price considerations. I got an '06 back with a 16" all american front, and then two stainless steel inserts along with a few other non-barrel related items. I had read the reviews on here, and decided to take a risk, although I opted for the more expensive inserts because of the durability.

Now I grimaced at the price, as I don't have a job and saving Money takes me a while. Although, the barrel and one of my stainless inserts cost $8 less than a titanium boomstick barrel, so there are more expensive things you can buy. When I got home I opened everything up and was impressed with the smoothness of the barrel front, nice and shiny. Then I looked down the insert. <_< ook, it was worse than the stock barrel off my old tippmann. Well being put off a little bit I put my finger in to have a feel. Oh, there was metal dust inside. Made sense as they are indeed milled steel.
So I washed it out and then it was nice and shiny.

I assmebled the barrel. (I reccomend putting a little oil on the insert the first time you put an insert in to lube up the O-rings inside the back.) And put it on my gun, wow it looked sweet. The cutaways, and color combo matched my gun perfectly, as my 'cocker basically has 3 colors. Blue, black, and then silver for the things like the actuator rod, and ball detent. It basically matched perfectly and looks really hot.

When I got to the field I went to the target range, and set my reg which needed to be done, and when I was finished chronoing the gun I decided to see if my $110 barrel was worth the money. Whhen I pulled the trigger pffschk-schk and whap, an orange splat mark appeared dead center on the farthest target. I few more shots ffft-schk ffft-schk all of them close on the far target. Way more accurate than anything I had ever shot, quiet on my 'cocker too.

I went and played a few games, the first game I played was centerflag assault. Now we had some military types with A-5s and whatnot organize some tactics, with a base of fire, and a force to push up the other side. I volunteered to be part of the base of fire, because I like blasting fools with ropes. So I hit my favorite bunker, a large tower with a spool on one side. I come out and start laying a rope on someone. Spat, I see him duck down and his gun comes up in the air. The rest of the game was pretty similar, and I was hitting cracks in bunkers, and other thing in very tight groupings for that game.

Unfortunately, I only got one more game in, partly because my reg took a dump and started jumping all over, and then my dad decided that I wasn't going to be allowed to play because I took the oversized visor off of my mask. Why? I have no idea.

I had one break during the day, because I was shooting Evil, which has an uber thin shell, and I short-stroked my gun. So I chopped, It shot like crap until I figured out that I had chopped. And I had paint in my bolt and all over, so I had to take that out, swab the barrel a fewtimes, along with the tube of my gun. Then I got it back working again and it shot just as good as it had before.

Yay update, My gun has been plagued with rediculous consistency issues and I have no idea. The balls go in the same vertical plane but the trajectory gets screwed up by the fluctuations.
Conclusion: All in all, this barrel was well worth the money. The original barrel kit is still the best. This barrel shoots awesome, and is the most versatile barrel on the market. 5 kinds of front, 3 kinds of backs, along with a carbon fiber barrel by deadlywind that takes the inserts. If you have the cash pick one up, you won't regret it at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 7th, 2006 at 1:10 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JAYCEN4025 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP barrel kits
JT barrel kits
Empire barrel kits
PowerLyte barrel kits
KAPP barrel kits
Hammerhead barrel kits
Dye barrels
Marker Setup: WGP 2005 ProStock_olive w/ the following upgrades:

Eclipse E2 frame, Nexus LPR, Nexus Ram,
Supercharger Valve, Rex Dialer/Hammer kit,
Orange Hardliner Bolt, CP inline reg,
ShockTech Micro Rail & locking feed neck
Smart Parts Stainless Freak kit & Max-Flo 68/4500
Empire Reloader B2

Other markers:
Alias Intimidator
Tricked out Spyder Compact 2000
Tricked out Piranha STS
Soon to be tricked out 68 Automag Classic
Soon to be tricked out M98 Custom
Soon to be tricked out Spyder Pilot ACS




Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about any decent brand of paint.
Strengths: Versatile
Weaknesses: Rather spendy
Doesn't shoot through breaks very well
Quality control is lacking sometimes
Review:
Barrel Kit Theory:

For all you newbies out there drooling over the one sitting in your local proshop, I'm sad to inform you that the Freak is not the Holy Grail of aftermarket barrels. and, as a matter of fact, I don't really think that can be said of any barrel kit. In my opinion, barrel kits are designed to give you the best, "all around accuracy". For example, if you had a custom barrel made for Evil paint, the Freak's bore size that is closest to matching it probably wouldn't shoot as well, but lets say you're at a field where they don't have Evil, and you're using a smaller bore paint. Well, now your custom barrel isn't going to shoot as good, because the balls just roll out of the barrel, now the Freak is probably going to shoot better. That's the theory behind barrel kits. They revolve around the "close is good enough" mentality.


I bought a Freak system because I really needed a barrel kit that would let me shoot a wide variety of paint. I have had good experiences with their All Americans, so I figured it was a good place to start. For the most part I've been really happy with it. The Freak barrel has the most bore sizes of any barrel kit I know of currently, and aluminum version is also a little less expensive than most of the other kits out there. If you have the ca$h, I would go with the stainless inserts, as you are going to get better mileage out of them. As far as barrel lenghts go, I prefer the 14'', although I use a 16" for airball fields. As far as the choice between "Freak" and "All American" porting goes, I would say It's up to you, all though I have heard the Freak style is better for higher end guns. I really haven't found this to be the case. I have a 12 and 16" with Freak porting, but I like the 14" better in the All American. Call me crazy.

Disadvantages:

As far as paint goes, It seems like doesn't like real cheap paint. All of the brown box stuff I have shot through it shoots worse than through my Intimidator's stock barrel. I don't know why that is, but it is something to consider. Another disadvantage I have noticed is that Smart Parts barrels don't seems to shoot through ball breaks as well as others I have used.
Conclusion: I'm going to give it an 8. Accuracy isn't the best I've seen, but it's still really good. I would definatley reccomend one to somebody who travels around and uses a wide variety of paint. For $150, it's one of the most affordable, but if you have the money to spend, I would go with a CP set, and add to it later on. Or if you're really rich, you'll get Dye to make you a custom bore set for 8 or 10 sizes. I feel like they need one smaller than the aluminum Freak's 679.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

suntzu_baller Thursday, April 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ultralite (a little better, see review)
AA (not as good)
Progressive (forget it)
Marker Setup: -Adrenalin Imp w/ blackheart
-14in AA-freak,
-extreme rage feedneck,
-empire rail & on/off
-68/4500 aci
-evo II w/z-board

Agel IR3
-fbm trigger
-fbm hooker feedneck
-14 in. ultralite
Recommended
Paintballs:
That's the beauty of it, any size!!!
Strengths: Versatility
Weaknesses: I've had problems with the front, see review.
Review: I had always been one to say "what the heck do ya need with inserts? Just get 1 big bore back and be done." My sentiments have changed.

I got the full freak with my AI and it works great. I have an ultralite as well and I do like it a little better just cause it's self cleaning. However if you're gonna be shootin different paint on a reg. basis then you need the freak. It's just as accurate as the ultralite and better than most of the other barrels out there.

The only problem I ever had with it was the bustin of paint in the front. I KNOW that sometimes the wrong insert can do that but trust me I have tried everything. I picked up the new 06 AA tip and it shoots way better than before, also: no breaks!
Conclusion: I say go ahead and invest in the kit, it's worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chenry Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Psychoballistics Superbolt
PMI steel HPA tank
Revvy 2 hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY! You've got an 8pc barrel kit, you can fit any paint!
Strengths: 8 barrel sleeves!
Heavy porting on front barrel to keep noise down
Simple!
Weaknesses: The bore sleeve I use the most is a girly purple
Review: You get a back end, a front end, and a bunch of bore sleeves. Those bore sleeves are the key to success!

With this kit, you can match your barrel to any paint, making your shots go further, fly straighter, and go faster! Use less air too.

Plus, with the seperate back end, you can simply buy a new back piece when you change markers! And you can also change the front end whenever you want.

Sure the kit can be expensive, but its an investment worth making.

My marker was a piece of junk; inaccurate, inconsistent velocity. But since I've bought this kit, my game has improved! It's great.
Conclusion: Buy this kit. It will change your marker forever
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rambob Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Barrels
Knockout Barrels
Stiffi
Marker Setup: At this time an Ion with Air America 68/4500 low pressure, Smart Parts Q-lock feedneck, CP Drop and on/off, Smart Parts Freak kit and CP barrels and View Loader Velocity
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used al sorts of paint from highend to junk and it seems to work well with all of them.
Strengths: Easy to use and accurate
Weaknesses: Not enough front styles available
Review: Bought these because I was looking for a good all around kit. Have CP barrels wanted to be a little lighter. Mainly for speed ball but some woods ball to. Looked at Eclipse, Evil and Empire kits. I was told that the Freak Kit was way more expensive by the local shops and players. Also not as accurate. I looked at the case size as not to have to carry a huge case just to bring all the barrels.

Here is what I found.

The good barrel kits are the same price or more expensive. They are no more accurate. Most are heavier, bulkier to carry and not any easier to use. For those who believe that having 2 barrels sizes is enough, you need to try some out. These Barrels were good in both the speed and woods environment.

Really worth buying and I actually have friends that are buying them to replace kits that they have or to upgrade to a kit package.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good kit with excellent quality this is for you.

I give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phathed Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J ceramic, Boomy.
Marker Setup: Uped Smart Parts Ion
Halo B
Redz Envy pack
Recommended
Paintballs:
Karnage, Scorch, if you get the kit like i did you dont have to worry about that.
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: I love this barrel, i love the accracy, i love the style, i love all the inserts you can get, i love that its a two peice barrel. I mean this barrel coulnt be more insane than it already is. This is an absolute must have for any avid baller, i recommend this barrel with all of my being.
Conclusion: Buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

onedspot Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The only other kit iv ever owned was the EVIL PIPE but it dosent have insurts...
Marker Setup: EVIL OMEN
10 inch freak kit w/ all american front
1.5 board
1.5 cam arms
CCM low rise
omen asa
new style valve kit thing
EVO II w/ z board
3000/72
and some weird cradle thing
micro line kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
i use alot of draxxus and xball and they both shoot great
Strengths: Shweet looks
Accuracy
Pretty quiet
Fronts
Weaknesses: Hard to shoot threw chops

Review: Freakin great barrel, its great cuz its so changeable. from paint size to the length just a couple of twists and u have a completely different barrel. the only bad thing i can think of with this barrel is if u do chop a ball, it takes a while to shoot threw it and that sucks some times but its still good.
for the omen its probably not very smart to buy this barrel unless u know ur omen like the back of ur hand. cuz if ur recock is Aguste to high the balls will break in ur cam arms or right before they get into the barrel. and i think it kinda sucks to clean the freak.
Conclusion: I think this is a awsome barrel and pretty much every body should get the freak.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impmasta Thursday, April 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
sp progressive
dye ultralite
sp all american
Marker Setup: sp impulse turbo sp ion
dye ultralite sp freak
shocktech bolt flame drop
dart valve on off
crossfire 68/3000 q lock no risde
ccm no rise qev
lpr blackheart
dye foregrip hybrid contract killaz
dye stckies halo b
rat internals
blade trigger
halo b
Recommended
Paintballs:
any except inked inked is the suckiest paintballs in the world
Strengths: Buy more tips and inserts and youll have any kind of barrel youu want
Weaknesses: If something gets between the inserts chop chop chop
Review: Great barrel the 06 is light you can buy fronts and have a 12 14 16 inch barrel with just one back and you can buy back so u have unlimited gun usage from your spyder to ur shocker the only downsides are price stuff geting between the insert and causeing lots of chops but still unlimited types of paint lenghts and guns to use this barrel on makes this the best barrel.
Conclusion: Get it use it its the best barrel all round i give it a 11
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media