paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Coke or Pepsi Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
there really is no "similar" product. unless you count empire they RIP OFF EVERYONE!
Marker Setup: 2004 prostock
macro line
freak 14 inch with all american an 8 inserts
68 ci 3000 psi (which i think is out of hydro...) tank
halo (not on gun need to sande down or buy an egg)
6 inch bullet drop
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything that has a name on it... duh? well dont buy brass eagle.. you might as well buy a can of spray paint..
Strengths: 8 different inserts
Many differnt fronts
Barrel backs for just about any gun
Weaknesses: tad bit pricey but owell a FULL kit will run you about 150.. 140?
Review: can we say ungodly accurate? i was testing mine out and was hitting a target the size of a half dollar 4/5 times.. but there is a small down fall to it. when you get a chop from your gun it takes a few mins to clean.
you have to:
take out the insert
take apart the barrel
i had to squeegie it like 4 time ... but i chopped 2 balls (shortstroking sucks)
but its all worth it. the inserts are a bit fragile.. i havnt even used em all and most of them are allready scratched. what i found out helps it is to actually use just a drop 1 drop of gun lube and put it on the OUTSIDE of the insert. this allows for it to go in easier w/o getting all scrached up.
the biggest thing i love about this barrel is that bought a new gun? all you got to do is go and buy a 35 dollar barrel back to match your new gun! a whole lot cheaper than going to buy a boom stick every time you get a new gun.
Conclusion: I say buy it! dont got money? wait till christmas! its serriiously that good.. for a little bit more than a boom stick or an evil pipe... you get the most versitile barrel on the market (and the most accurate). it gets a 10 hands down
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 3rd, 2006 at 1:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

piranhaprokid Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J's
pipe
hammerhead
Marker Setup: i definately hopped on the ion bandwagon, but before it was a bandwagon you see...
Recommended
Paintballs:
its a freak... anything u want
Strengths: Adaptabile
Weaknesses: Stiff to get front and back apart
Review: its all covered in strengths and weaknesses I love my freak barrel, accurate, quiete and i think pretty good looking.

The freak is probably the best barrel system i have every used. The hammerhead backs are too short and the pipe is too loud. I have never used teh scepter or poison arrow but i hear they are both top notch barrels

the empire barrel kit is also a good option
Conclusion: Buy it on ebay 100 bux, cant beat it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamPointBlank Sunday, March 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz Pepper stick
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with flatline and/or j&j ceramic14 incc
Low preassure kit with CP reg (set to 400 psi) and 68 cu. in. Nitro
Respnse trigger upgraded
Folding stock
Steel remote hose with 1/4 turn on/off
Shocketect drop forward with 1/4 turn on/of
Graphics kit
Double Trigger
Shocktech superfly


Wgp vert feed
Smart Parts Freak kit
planet eclipse e2-blade
cp regulaor
NeXuS ram
shocktech supa fly bolt
shocktech on/off valve
cp flame drop foward
Wgp orracle LPR
NeXuS QEV's
hybrid ironcross eye cover
kapp twisted cocking rod
shocktech titanium pump arm
Delrin back block

Diablo Wrath with T-board and Ultra Chip
Smart Parts freak Barrel(same one I use on my autococker)
Teflon Bolt

I can go on and on, so I'll just mention my mammoth '02 shocker and stop there
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesnt Really apply since THEY ALL FIT!!!!!!!
Strengths: Inserts for various bore sizes
Quite
Weaknesses: Not friendly on my autococker(back gets stuck alot)
Steel inserts cost too much aftermarket
Review: I havent tested this in the way I usually test the things I own and use. But it did get the ultimate test, the test of battle. It was used on both of Cocker and my Wrath(since the wrath uses cocker threads) and I gotta say, I can be happier.
I waited a long, long time to finally get this barrel kit and really, its hasnt let me down yet. It is, if not the most, one of the most accuarate barrels I own and for us woodsballers it couldnt be a better investment. Why? Because the fields we play usually have a wide assortment of really crappy paint that is bought for a low price and will NEVER want to fit your barrel. That is the whole premis of this barrel, its versitility.

I consistantly got tight shot groupings at ranges varying from 30 feet up to 100 feet. Granted, after 100 ft, as with any barrel, accuracy takes a serious curve for the worse. But the leve of consistant performance this barrel gave me could not have made me happier.

The paint I put through this was almost 98% blaze, since that is what we sell at our store and that is what I use because I get it for free(cant beat free paint). Now this paint isnt the greatest, but it is very good, has thick shell and pretty good qulaity control. But then again, the point of this barrel is that it will work with any paint.

The anodizing is a little soft, and part of that is that they used a good, high quality aluminum on the barrel(meaning soft metal, soft metal makes for soft anno) and it did tend to scratch easy, but its the woods, it happens, no worries.

Equally, I have not seen any problems in the durablitiy of the inserts, then again, Im sure if you stomped on them, they would. Simply cured, dont DO IT!

Conclusion: If you are considering this as a serious investment, go for it. I can only help your game. It is very versatile, especially if you are one that will be using a different paint every weekend(WOODSBALLERS COME TO MIND!). I give it a 9 because of the price, but then again, add up nine barels....did you get over 250....thought soo...think about it.....go with the barrel, you'll only be happy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

imbadatpaintbal Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite
Marker Setup: Dye dm4 (blue). Musashi m3 board, ultralite barrel, halo B with rip drive. Smart Parts micro-max flow 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI allstars work really good with it for some reason.
Strengths: Good size and the Accuracy is greatness.
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: Ok, so your looking for a better barrel than you stock one. GET a freak, it is worth the money and itll fit with any paintballs bore sizes, because of the inserts. Got to love the look and the colors too. I like the Dye ultralite better than this barrel though for many reasons.
Conclusion: Great.Go buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Richie B Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion barrel
Marker Setup: black ion yellow trim
14" freak back aa front
egg2 y board
sp Q lock
sp qev 360
sp max-flo reg
pure energy 47/3000
vp scythe trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
not cheap ones
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: Price
Have to buy the full kit to work properly
Review: well what can i say? i bought the freak back and all american front with the 689 insert, and at this moment and time i am not happy. i went to my local field on Saturday to try out my new £50 barrel setup, and i could not have been more disappointed. i tried 3 different paints and all broke in the barrel, 8 games 8 barrel brakes, now don't get me wrong i can imagine the freak is a good barrel but you must need all 8 inserts, that's another £50 now its a £100 barrel for f*ck sake im not rolling in cash. the strange thing is my stock ion barrel has a 689 bore size and shoots the same paint better, more accurately and with no brakes, whats that about then.
Conclusion: Don't buy this barrel with only one insert, buy the full kit. apart from all that the freak looks cool, and i (hope) shoots great because i just orderd the 8 insert kit
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snake_1212 Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Junior, stock barrel on 98 Custom and on SystemX Type X
Marker Setup: System X Vengeance (silver)
-Chrome E2 with v1.10 software (PSP, Millenium, CFOA)
-Freak Barrel SS Back, Silver 14in AA Front
-Hedlok adjustable feedneck
-Evil beavertail
-Worrblade bolt
-Custom Products regulator
-Clear/Diamond Empire B
-SystemX 91ci 4500psi LP tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, if you have all the inserts.
Strengths: -Deadly Accurate
-Quiet
-Looks very, very nice
Weaknesses: -Little Pricy, but worth it
Review: I got the barrel just after chirstmas and after getting my gun working with the E2 I tried it out. The first shots I fired were more accurate then all the shots fired by the stock barrel off my gun. It was sooo accurate and I found that it really quieted the gun. The only difficulty i have had is that it can be hard to get the back of the barrel off the gun because of the pneumatic on my autococker. So if you have a cocker you should think about that. The way the threads are connecting the back to the front of the barrel are the same way the barrel screws in your gun. So when you go to unscrew it you cant grab the back of the barrel so you have to twist the front and it comes off by itself. Just slide the insert out of the back and stick a allen key or something through the milling on the back and twist untill it starts screwing out easily.
Conclusion: I reccomend you buy this barrel if you have the money. Its accurate, you can use different paint, and looks very sexc.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulsekid111 Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
progressive and stock barrels
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: Can use different inserts
Weaknesses: Allitle bit expensice
Review: Sweet barrel, try it out, nice and light. I liked it alot. Like i said try it out u will enjoy it alot! I dont know what else to say because i dont have anything else to say. Except to try this barrel out you will like it for sure.
Conclusion: Good barrel, try it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Angelballer18 Thursday, March 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really that i know of...
Marker Setup: Angel Speed-soft face bolt, volumizer, cp on/off, mastertech trigger, Freak barrel, Check it sure fit feedneck
Pure Energy 68/3000 tank
Halo B Loader w/Rip drive (Smoke)
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything to fit the insert...
Strengths: Inserts to match any kind of paint
Fairly accurate
Weaknesses: Kinda Pricey
Hard to Clean
Review: I got this barrel with the gun i bought(Angel Speed) I only have one insert for it which is the 689 but i might possibly get more. My friend/teammate has the kit so if i need an extra insert i'll bum one off of him. I havent shot many kinds of different paint through this barrel but all that i have was very good. I have the freak back with an All-American front. This barrel is pretty accurate i would say. I've gotten many people out with it already. There are some problems however with this barrel. It is quite expensive. Since it came with the gun i bought i didnt really care much. I probobly would not have bought this if it did not come with the gun. It also is very hard to clean. If u break one ball in this baby u gotta talk all 3 pieces apart to get all the nooks and crannies. Haha it doesnt look really great on my gun but just a preference.
Conclusion: Nice barrel overall. Not to thrilled about the price. Don't really think it's worth that. It's accurate so thats about all u need. It also lets u have the opputunity to use any paint you'd like. If u have the money i would say get this barrel. If not settle for sumthin a lil cheaper. I'm giving it an 8 because of the price but overall a nice barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

squidzilla Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Many Many barrels.
Marker Setup: Black to cobalt DM4
Tadao M5
Uni 2
Stock UL


Strange Vision imp
green to blue anno
ALL new ND internals
Full freak kit
ST feedneck
Dye stickeez
Recommended
Paintballs:
You can use any but like xball the best.
Strengths: Good looking
alot of inserts so you can shoot any kind of paint
ACCURATE
quiet
Weaknesses: None
Review: Ok well this is my FAVORITE barrel system out there.Its easy to use and shoots ropes.Its quiet,accurate,and good looking,what more could you ask for.The price isnt that bad because you get so much.This helps out great at tournaments if your balls are bigger than normal just pop a bigger insert in,or vice versa.0
Conclusion: GREAT barrel,if you want the absolute best pick up a full freak kit,its simply amazing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JJVLTRIAD Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ion barrel
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION, silver body kit, blue/silver freak 14'' barrel, 45/3000 pure energy tank, egg with z-board, Q-lock feed neck.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ive only used monsterballs in it so far and they are really good
Strengths: Accurate looks awsome
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This is a really good accurate barrel it also looks awsome. I have only used it once and it shot awsome I was using monsterballs and they shot through it really good all day. This barrel is really good but on the bad side its $120!! and thats not a very good price for somthing like this.
Conclusion: Ill give this barrel a 9 but it should be a little cheaper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media