paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel / Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel / Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel

Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 78
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
These awesome two-piece barrels combine the best of both worlds. A Teardrop front section and All American back make an extremely long ranging and accurate tournament barrel.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Feralboy Monday, August 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Just stock, no comparison
Marker Setup: An 02' Rebel Vtl
32degrees 6 stage expantion chamber with steel hose.
A 12 inch Big Daddy.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Strengths: This is a great product. I'll try to lay out the reasons.
1) (not all that important) the black one lookse GREAT on my black marker.
2) The accuracy of this barrel is just amazing! I have actually had balls land in the center of where my last balls splatter.
3)The distance is a better, but is lost in the greatness of the acuracy.
4) The price! If you look around, and dont get suckered into a bad deal, This barrel is very cheap for a barrel of its quality.
5) everything not noted above, this barrel is an amazing thing.
Weaknesses: Nothing really. I broke a ball in it, and it was curving wildly, but thats to be expected. I just ran a squege through it, and it was good as new.
Conclusion: BUY IT! Buy it now! This barrel is what god intended when he created paintball, and is something to see when used correctly on the field, in either woodsball or speedball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ridic Monday, August 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BRASS EAGLE RAPTOR (oh god what was i thinking)tippmann 98 with 18" DYE boomstick, stock barrel, J&J 14" ceramic and lots of others while testing peoples guns
Marker Setup: tippmann pro/carbine with 18' Smart Parts Big Daddy, double finger trigger & frame, expansion chamber, and DYE sticky grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablos work stupendously
Strengths: *EXTREMELY good range, shoots farther than any gun ive ever played against (chronoed under 285)
*extremely accurate from close and far, but that also depends on the paint, I use Diablos.
*lookd great in my oppinion
Weaknesses: its pretty big because i got the 18" one, so it might be a good idea to get a 12" barrel for close quarters battles.
$110 is expensive for a barrel.
pretty much nothin else
Conclusion: this is the best barrel ive ever used, to me its worth the $110 that i payed for it.
Its really big, but the accuracy and silence makes up for that and then some. works good with diablos, but zaps dont work very good they curve alot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Streaks Monday, July 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All American (old school, one piece), Lapco Autospirit, Dye SS, and stock barrels of course.
Marker Setup: This is for my wife's marker. Here's the setup...
Spyder Shutter - Blue
Smart Parts 12" Big Daddy (silver)
Kingman Sprint frame
Revy hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS brands work well. Tho some will tend to have a lose fit in the barrel. I'd reccomend any RPS as well as most Diablo save for the smaller diamiter (i.e. Inferno)
Strengths: Very accurate. And coming from me, a die hard Lapco fan, this is saying something. My marker is a mostly stock, low pressure '01 'cocker. All I shoot are Marbs or JT Maxums. With the same paint, my wife's Shutter and this barrel, running Co2 WITHOUT a regulator (c'mon, I don't count the stock Shutter reg as a real reg), has only slightly less range and slightly less accuracy (i.e. at my practice range, I can hit big coffie cans about 170' away, her marker is landing the balls all around the can within a half foot or so). That's VERY respectable!
Weaknesses: My wife doesn't always play on my team and I have to face this barrel now and then!

Seriously tho, the only real problem I have with this product is the fact that...

1. No matter what color you get it in, half the barrel is black.
2. It's a bit expensive
3. like all other two part barrels with ports, you pay for a given length of barrel (say, 16") and in reality, only get half that length as the barrel, that gets the ball up to speed (8" in the example), and the other half is a big muzzle break (i.e. the ball stops touching the barrel after the black part and is now in free flight while it goes through the ports!!!)

This annoys me to no end and is what keeps the Lapco on my 'cocker and the All American in my bag as backup.
Conclusion: VERY good barrel! Despite my not liking the two piece or heavy ported barrels of it's genre, I must say it is a winner! Use any medium bore paint, tho RPS works well enough in the example I have, it's close so, you might get too lose a fit with RPS. I would reccomend this barrel to anyone who could afford to buy it and for some reason doesn't like Lapco barrels *grin*
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, double trigger, Bigdaddy barrel, Richocet 2k loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI, Diablo Blaze, or Anarchy
Strengths: Everything about the barrel. It is very acurate shots alot farther than the stock and is really easy to clean.
Weaknesses: Nothing yet
Conclusion: This barrel is awesome go out and buy it. it's $64 it comes in a 12in. 14in. and a 16in. length the bore size is .689. It is really one of the best barrels you'll find on the market today. They also have cool colors on it. So if you have a tippman 98 custom or just a 98 and are looking for a good barrel then go out and buy the Big Daddy barrel from Smart Parts because it is really an awsome barrel that kicks butt. I got people out when they were 150 ft. away when my stock barrel would only reach 50 ft. with no arc.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Terminator (it really sucks, don't waste yer time with cheap crap, buy a big daddy.) stock (sux. duh.)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, 20 oz. co2, 16 in. big daddy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizers or good rps.
Strengths: This thing rocks!! I shot it across an open field and it flies perfectly straight until it drops. It really does have range, at least over the tippmann stock, and it is not that hard to clean. Looks tight on my silver tippmann!! doesn't break paint much either, I break about one in 600.
Weaknesses: It doesn't quiet down my tippmann much, but tippmanns are really loud anyway- this is not really a factor. Don't order it from first call, they took four weeks to ship mine.
Conclusion: I love it!! If ya don't got the money, save up and buy it anyway. This thing ROCKS!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock spyder barrel, stock pirahna pro ts g3, i may only have 2 years of experience but i research a lot and i know almost everything there is about to know about this stuff, but i would really like to try some of the top end guns like angels and cockers, ive only used the basic guns, no fancy stuff, im hoping to!!
Marker Setup: i have a pirahna pro ts g3, 18in. big daddy barrel, 14 oz. co2, about to get a nitro, gotta save for it.
Recommended
Paintballs:
only rps, and pmi premium
Strengths: it shoots pretty straight, kinda long range. the up close accuracy is amazing, it can hit a spot over and over again. doesn't break balls at all!! that is very important.
Weaknesses: the 18 in. is simply too big, do not get it in this, your gun looks real funny. it shoots pretty straight but also curves to the right a bit. now about the range, i dont see how people think it gets so good range, the thing is i get about only 10 to at the most 15 yards further then my stock, and by that time it has slowed down enough to where it might not break on the people.
Conclusion: i got it for 64$ a good deal by far, but not worth at all the 64$ anyway. it shoots very very accurate from close, curves a bit from far away. i think you should just go with a cheaper barrel, dont waste money on this, it is not worth it. i gave it a 7 because it wasnt all that much better than my stock barrel, i was expecting better.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 2:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Novocain Thursday, April 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I Have used the Flatline, AA, Terminator,
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom, AA Teardrop (Big daddy), expansion chamber, 20 oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizers. ANY PAINT THAT MATCHES THE BORE SIZE, that is made by a trusted, and good brand like RPS, etc..
Strengths: It Adds Range, Just a little under the flatline, but way more accurate than anything ive shot yet. Better than all ammerican (AA), better than flatline (more accurate), Better than Terminator (that just doesnt compare) and Better than an Armson Stealth. Im telling you it is better than them, take my word. NOT HARD TO CLEAN, put some water on it and squeegie. very very very accurate, quiet to an extreme, and some real good range.
Weaknesses: Scratches a bit, but that doesnt affect the performance, and not to noticable. IT barrely is scratched.
Conclusion: Buy this Barrel over any other, it adds a lot of range, and is really quiet. You can hit people from 150 ft! BUY IT for $60 BUCKS! Telling you, you want the best barrel you want this. I say the only thing that would beat this is the barrel systems like the freak and multiple switch. If you wanna make the best upgrade on ur model 98 buy this first, then go into springs, triggers, loaders, expansion chambers, etc.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cwoessner1 Monday, April 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels, boomstick, CP barrels, Dye ss, J and J's etc....
Marker Setup: I have a green Spyder Xtra with Revy, 16in all american teardrop barrel from smartparts, 9inch drop forward which balances the gun nicely, and a trigger job.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used alot of paintball with thios barrel. It realy doesn't make a diffreence as long as you don't use brass eagle. I recomend BIG BALL with this barrel because the bore matches well and big ball is a good paint.
Strengths: Everything. It's quiet, accurate, durable, and deasantly easy to clean. You can shoot people from extremely long range with this barrel. I recomend it in 16in becasue it is much quieter and increases the range. I am a back to mid range player so I have it longer. This has almost the distance of the flat line barrel escept they make it for all guns. I would definanntly get it.
Weaknesses: Well it's a little pricy around the $110-$100 range. But it you want great quality it's gonna cost you. Some say it's not worth it but I beleive it is. It's also a little dificult to lean but not realy that bad.
Conclusion: Buy it . Right now! Go Hurry. Get in the car. Drive to the proshop. Buy it . Get on the computer. Order it. If you don't have a computer I don't know how ur reading this. Hussle up. Go get it. Faster. Your not moving. Go
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, 12'' Big Daddy
Recommended
Paintballs:
All I've shot has been Zap Pro
Strengths: It is great! It's made my gun much quieter and has improved accuracy greatly! Distance is also awesome. I let one of my friends borrow my gun to play another friend. One of my friends was behind a tree down on the side of a bank. He thought that my barrel couldn't reach him and he tried to make a move. My buddy with my gun politely put three rounds on his chest. That'll teach him to respect my spyder. Anything with this barrel on it should be respected. Also I've shot almost a full case through it and ONLY 1 break.
Weaknesses: NOTHING AT ALL IT ISN"T HARD TO CLEAN
Conclusion: Great barrel! 64 bucks WELL WORTH IT! Smart parts makes great stuff a TEARDROP is a good barrel too!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:14 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
only spyder stock barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra (Stock) With the 14 inch big daddy1
Recommended
Paintballs:
Taso Powerballs-Shoot straight and break on target
good match for big daddy
Strengths: Extremly accurate. When I switched from the stock barrel the difference was amazing!! My game improved exponentially!!
Not hard to clean
No ball breaks in it to date.
Quites the gun down a lot.
Looks intimidating to other players
Weaknesses: Havent found any drawl backs yet.
Conclusion: Great product!! I was worried about cleaning the porting, but it was not bad to clean. I cant compare it to other barrels, but i can say that this one is close to perfect for me so i cant imagine another barrel being any better! I hit opponents on my first shot instead of lobbing tens of rounds at them to score a hit. It really changed the way other players thought of me. I am actually geting feared at my field. Thank you Big Daddy!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media