paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Octane Shocker / Octane Shocker / Octane Shocker / Octane Shocker

Octane Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Octane

Buy Octane Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Octane Shocker
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1025

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Discover the amazing New Shocker. This good looking marker fits comfortably in your hand and weighs only 4.5 lbs with the MaxFlo 45 4500 system! Rip on the super fast trigger and marvel at how tight you can get in behind your bunker. Packaged with the proven Max Flo air system, this marker makes it the right choice for those who aim to win. Get your new 03 Shocker today and start enjoying the benefits of being the proud owner of this incredible paintball marker.
Product Availability 
The Octane Shocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
smartparts guns Thursday, May 17th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egos, other shockers
Marker Setup: Empire b2, virtue board, stock barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck and a very very fast hopper.
Strengths: Barrel, very light, good stock board.
Weaknesses: Feed neck.
Review: The body on this gun is one of the best i have seen on a smart parts marker. Smart parts did a great job and if they changed the look people would probably be disappointed. Why spend the money on a new body kit when this is a easy clean and different color kits.
Conclusion: Great marker. It deserves a definite 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 17th, 2007 at 9:17 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

c89nnamppit Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom - low end mech. no comparison
Ion - shockers baby brother
Marker Setup: Octane Shocker (red black fade, as seen in one of the pictures)
Nerve board
CP roller bearing trigger
CP short regulator
Q lock no rise
HE bolt
16'' AA barrel
68/4500 composite
Halo B
Contract Killer Hybrid grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt (get a SP High Efficiency)
Board (Virtue, or at least a nerve board)
nothing else is necessary

a fast hopper and lots of air.
Strengths: FAST
light as hell
low profile
15* reg
fewer people have them?
Weaknesses: kind of bad efficiency (without HE bolt)
upper grip screw can go into board.
Review: Ive only used my octane a few times because when i got it, i created troubles for myself right off the bat.


basically i got to the field with it and had an extra case of paint from home that i was just gonna rail down at the range to see what the gun could do.

but about 400 rounds in, my battery died and it started to leak gas through my grip when i shot (this is normal. the noid cant keep its pressure with low battery)

but i thought i had blown my noid. so i pulled the thing apart. when i replaced the battery and put the thing back together, i made a noob mistake of screwing the upper grip screw in too far.

this is a common mistake that new shocker owners often make.

the screw then ruined my noid board and i had to get it replaced ($100 CDN)



PROS

other than that, i am very pleased with it. the gun is soo fast i can dump my halo in like 8 seconds when im ramping my nerve.

its light as hell. the gun wieghs about the same as my barrel, maybe 2 barrels.

and the thing i love about shockers the most is their low profile. the gun is so tiny, it gives the angel 1 a run for its money.

One of my favorite features of the gun is the 15* reg. it makes is so comfortable to hold and shoot. especially while running.

and i like the fact that very few people have them. i only know of 1 other person at my field that has one. and those who have the octane, love it.
with guns like the dm4-6 and timmies, everyone has them. theres no personality to them.


CONS
the efficiency is lacking unless you get the HE bolt. and even then, its nothing to write home about. pretty average 1200 per 68/4500 give or take.




one more thing to mention.

when i first got my gun and gassed it up, i thought i blew my noid because when you dont let enough gas through the reg, the noid doesnt pressurize and it will leak gas through your grip constantly. but all you have to do is watch your gauge and make sure your at running pressure (190ish)
Conclusion: this gun is incredible. I would choose my octane over almost any high end tourny gun. there is very little that can compete with it imho.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 12th, 2006 at 9:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lil sniper Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pimp--not even close
vision shocker--better but still...not near as good.
Dark timmy--I faster if set up properly(to much kick tho)
Marker Setup: RARE red/orange Octane shocker
Reloader B
45 4500
profiler
Recommended
Upgrades:
HE bolt kit!!
More inserts for the Freak.
New,more effecient firing can
not needed but perfered,a CP triggger and new grips
-Virtue
Strengths: -Very,Very light, fast once tuned right..ramping is wicked. anno Job.SEXY!RARE!
Weaknesses: -unefficent..even with the HE ..EXPENSIVE!! Dosent come with HE stock!I
Review: This gun is a awsome gun...really it is everything a player wanted..I could not be happier.This marker is one of the sexiest markers I have ever held and you will not go wrong with Badlands Octane shocker*go canada!* beautiful gun..the only draw back is it is Expensive..and really there is nothing on the octane that should cost what,$1400 canadian? pfft. But eh if you got the money go buy one..PS anyone who says there IONS compare to shockers...just stop and think about what your saying..I had to add that :)

Conclusion: Smart Parts is a good company with products made in the US I belive..Good Job! Even better product! Go Get a Shocker NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 30th, 2006 at 9:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Shawn Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 Shocker, Nerve, Vision Impulse, DM4
Marker Setup: Speedball: Octane Shocker, NDZ Stinger, ULP Bolt Kit, NDZ SST Manifold, NDZ Slik Trigger, full Freak, Maxflo Micro w/ 68/4500, Halo B
Woodsball: A-5, Flatline, 68/4500 Crossfire, R-5 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
See review
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: This, like any other marker, has its pro's and con's; my experiences are as follows:

Out of the box, this marker is beautiful...... the milling is subtle and unique, and the anno was flawless. It shot great for the first 2 cases, then developed FSDO (which evolved into first 10 shot drop off). I lived with the drop off until the marker stopped working all together (another 3 to 5 cases).

Badlands repaired the marker in a very efficient manner, especialy considering the level of the issues.... this is by no means bashing the marker, there will always be a couple of people that have issues with any item that has moving parts. Once I got it back, it worked flawlessly for about 10 cases, then the drop off came back.... developing into 10 shot drop off, 30 to 40 shots shooting well, then 10 shots dropping off. All of this happened in repeating cycles.

Rather than sending the marker back to Badlands, I ordered the SST Manifold and the ULP Stinger Bolt from New Designz....... All problems were solved by the Manifold, and I opted for the bolt strictly for efficiency reasons. The huge "pro" in this department - it is a sealed body shocker, as such, there are a good selection of upgrades available.

The Octane trigger is nice, and quite nice to rip on.... I changed mine strictly for preference of feel, there is nothing wrong with the Octane Trigger at all. The 10 degree offset is great, it has a nice feel, and allows for my thumb (fat fingers) to wrap around the Max-flo.

The review:

Efficiency (out of the box) - 7
Looks - 9
Comfort & ease of use - 9
Quality control - 7 (dont flame, this thing came with an extra trigger magnet stuck to the board, manifold was sub-par)
Conclusion: I would recommend the Octane to those looking for a PL Shocker.... but I would also recommend that they do a very good "once over" before using the marker, and that a new manifold is "nearly" a must.

I give it an 8, it is the most reasonably priced PL Shocker, and it has served me well (consider that everyone with high end markers usually has some kind of problem). Badlands service definitely makes this marker a front runner.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 22nd, 2006 at 6:54 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HVizier Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ions, Impulses, and stock Shockers
Indian Creek Designs FS7 Freestyles
Bob Long Infamous and Ironmen intimidators
WGP and Planet Eclipse Autocockers
AGD x-mag......R.I.P.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts/Badlands Octane Shocker
Smart Parts High Efficiency Bolt
CP Roller Trigger
VIRTUE Board
14" Stainless FREAK Barrel System
EMPIRE Reloader B w/ RIP drive
Crossfire 45/4500 low pressure tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
HE bolt (stinger or sp HE preferably)
inserts for the already provided freak
tourney legal board
Strengths: VERY accurate and fast
perfect gun feel
Weaknesses: Stock bolt and board
Review: Decided to play a few games with this one before posting my review, and i must say...... this gun somehow performs better than it looks!!! the 10 degree grip is PERFECT and its the most accurate shocker ( or marker for that matter) that ive ever shot. not only that, but after at least 5 cases of paint...... NO CHOPS, and its actually just as fast if not faster than any other gun on the field in semi auto. the only negative things i found with it is that the stock board and bolt leave something to be desired.
Conclusion: if you take paintball seriously and want to spend 1k go ahead and at least think of getting an Octane Shocker. its the best shocker ive ever shot. This gun is all killer no filler and will never let you down
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Judas Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Upgraded Stock Bodied Shockers
Nerve
Marker Setup: 06 Custom Orange Nerve
Cp Long Reg
Cp Roller Trigger
Micro Maxflow
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
On/Off (Sp's is designed terribly)
H.E. Bolt Kit
Trigger
Strengths: 10* Angled ASA is nice
Freak is a plus+
Weaknesses: See Review Body.
Review: Used my friends shocker for a while. It was nothing special. Aside from looking slightly different there was no point in buying this overpriced shocker.. The feedneck is terribly outdated and the trigger is almost the same as a stock shockers trigger... I personally would just get a stock shocker and used the save cash to upgrade it MUCH better (Qlock ? Roller Trigger? Evolve bolt? CP Reg?)

Terrible "Octane" Trigger
Terrible High feedneck
Terrible On/Off
1000+ PL Shocker yet no HE bolt kit? Comon.
Milling is not that special at all... Slightly different from STock Shockers

Shame.
Conclusion: Not unique or upgraded enough to justify the price...
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

schweeney43 Thursday, March 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
team uses all smart parts markers and all are after marketed, from nerve to ion and my orange is the fastest (w/ BH board), most accurate, most efficient (w/ HE bolt), all around the best!
Marker Setup: 05 orange octane model 200
Q-lock
black heart board
CP razor drop
HE bolt
Halo B w/ rip & victory
Recommended
Upgrades:
HE for efficiency! Black Heart, best board on market! needs a drop for comfort and to reduce length.
Strengths: STF technology - accurate
fast
small and simple
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Keep lubed!
Could be a little more consistant
Review: STF technology to reduce choppage and to increase accuracy, like the shocker isnt accurate enough. incredibly fast it scares me.
w/ out HE is a gas hog, but not that much of a set back if your playing tournies and there is free gas, just a hassel.
The body is simple and sleek. Not too much milling, just enough to make its stand.
All of the markers i own has a increased degree handle of some sort and its nice.
After a hard day of winning the internals dont get dirty, no matter how much chompage goes on, just relube and play on.
Conclusion: The shocker has been my dream maker since its new body debue in the spring of 03, and the octane is a remarkable marker. I would not trade for anything. Get and you will LOVE. The money will be put towards an exciting part of your life. I guarantee it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

oudive Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4- operates beautiful
Viking and Excalibur-great on air, no longer being made
Toxic Matrix-Great but big marker
Shocktech Impulse- just need to upgrade alot, great milling
Recommended
Upgrades:
05 Black Octane, ULP New designz bolt kit, rest is stock
Strengths: Closed body, Built in rail, Autococker Threads, Nerve Board
Weaknesses: Stock bolt
Review: I did alot of research on shockers before getting the Octane. I was wanting specific things in a Shocker as I was nervous about getting one all together. The two things that stood out from the rest was the closed body style combined with Autococker threads for the barrel. As soon as I found and purchased one, I then ordered the Ultra Low Pressure Bolt Kit from New Designz. Before I even aired the marker up, I swaped the bolts. Set it per the instructions and took it to the field to shoot on the chrono. Just from the settings on the instructions I was shooting 270 fps. I have shot just over a case and tweaked the settings. As of yet I have not had a chop. I have heard and seen alot of shockers chopping like mad. I am very happy so far with the marker. I have played a few games with the marker and can not find a weakness with the marker. I have noticed one other change I will make to it. I like the nerve board and it performs well. I just want to have more options when it comes to the electronics.

Overall a great marker, you will not be disappointed with it. The stock bolt will work fine, but I like to get as much out of it as possible. Overall It is a great purchase
Conclusion: If your in the market for a new Shocker, take a long look at the Octane. You will see that it is the best out there no questions asked.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chimpu Tuesday, February 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ions, Spyders, Tippmanns, Autocockers, just about everything... except I haven't owned Ego's or Timmies.
Marker Setup: HE kit
Freak Barrel Kit
New Grips
12v Revvy with x-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
A big tank?
Faster loader.
Maybe a better trigger.
Strengths: - Accuracy
- ROF
- Size
- Maintenance
- General feel of the marker
Weaknesses: - First shot drop off
- Air efficiency
- Constant maintenance
Review: Accuracy: Amazing. Ball on ball contact and in lines. Hit after hit where you want to hit and as many as you want at a time.

Size: Smallest marker I have ever owned. Even smaller than my phantoms, spyders or cocker snipers.

Maintenance: This marker needs constant maintenance. It is a high end marker, and if you don't take care of it, it won't take care of you on the field. However they did an excellent job at making it (almost) idiot-proof for disassembly and teching. Since it's completely enclosed you won't run into dirt getting into any internals which is a god send if you've ever owned an e-blade or soemthing of that type and live in an area with lots of rain or play in the sand.

FSDO: This has to do with maintenance. Almost every other time I go out to play, at some piont in the day if not for the whole day there is a little drop off on the first ball going out of the marker. It's not that big of a deal if you are playing on a bring your own paint speedball field, but if you ever try to play rec with this thing at $10 per 100 paintballs you'll be broke before the start of summer. After tweaking and cleaning and teching the marker I still cannot guarantee no FSOD which is kind of frustrating.

Air Eff: Good for a higher end higher rate of fire marker, but not great. You'll be shooting more paint and faster and you'll be using a lot more air. I suggest getting a 4500 psi tank if you have this marker, no matter the size.
Conclusion:
Conclusion: Great marker for a great price, and looks and feels even better on the field. Positives crush and outweigh the negatives. I would suggest testing out the marker before buyign it if you are thinking of going up into the $1000 level. Because at this level most of the higher end marker perform about the same, but the feel is completely different. And that's the most important and personal choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jon_G Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nerve
Marker Setup: Octance Shocker
HE bolt
cp roller blade trigger
45/45 fibre wraped tank
reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
HE bolt if you want to play tourneys
Strengths: Comes with almost every upgrade
light
accurate
doesnt break
Weaknesses: Horrible on air
Review: I bought an octance because it comes with everything(on/off,clamping feedneck,freak barrel). Its really fast and on ramping its a paint hose. Its really adjustable so you can set it up just how you like. Its one of the lightest guns. The eyes are amazing and in 3 months im yet to chop. Some people say ions are like rubber shockers except ions break and shocker dont, the closet to broken i've gotten is a dead 9volt. Its really accurate as long as you have the right insert for your freak, so i suggest you get at least 3-4 sizes. The only draw back is how bad on air it is, for rec play it should be fine as long as the fills are free and and you dont mind filling every few rounds, if you want to play tournaments you need the he bolt and a big tank.
Conclusion: If you are looking into a high end marker check out the octance, they wont give you any problems and are amazing guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media