paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Werks Barrel / Tippmann Werks Barrel / Tippmann Werks Barrel

Tippmann Werks Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Werks Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Werks Barrel
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Solid one piece aluminum construction
Machined from 1” barrel stock
Honed & polished to perfection
Large multi holed muzzle break to reduce noise & increase accuracy
The only barrel created exclusively for the needs of Tippmann markers
Each barrel is hand checked for quality & fit.
Each barrel is individually pack to insure against shipping damage
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Werks Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Powerstar123 Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Werks 16'' barrel
Expansion chamber
Macroline
Vertical tank adapter
Recommended
Paintballs:
Scorch
Strengths: Very Accurate
Very Quiet
Farther distance
Weaknesses: Found nothing so far.
Review: This barrel made a big difference shooting at a target with a stock 11 inch barrel to a werks 16 inch barrel. I would highly recomend this prodect. The only thing that may make people think bad about it is that it is so long but if you can put up with that it is just amazing upgrade. Not to pricey of a barrel but it is worth it.
Conclusion: Worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MustardLust Friday, March 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
m98 stock barrel
Marker Setup: -Tippmann Custom 98 (black)
-Collapsible Stock Kit
-Werks 14" Barrel
-Cyclone Feeder
-Response Trigger
-Shocktech Superfly Tippmann Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
-Empire Engage
-Diablo Formula 13 (the best paint so far)
Strengths: Improves accuracy
Weaknesses: Too shiny
Review: I upgraded from the stock barrel and there was a major improvement. My grouping at 100' went from 18" to about 8". I have yet to have any broken paint inside the barrel. Noise was also reduced drastically. It is nice to put paint where I want it now.

The sun reflects off of the barrel which is the only setback.
Conclusion: I'm pretty picky about my mods. I like to only put factory parts into my gun. If you want a genuine Tippmann product, this is a good one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ninja shocker Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye barrels
smart parts barrels
cp barrels
j&j
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbilizer
blaze
pmi primium
Strengths: Accurate
slightly reduces sound
nice finish
good price
Weaknesses: Until u get into stainless steel or inserts this is an awsome barrel
Review: I picked up one of these a little while ago to see how they were a few friends of mine said they were quite good so i put one on my a-5 and later a 98 since i was pleased with the accuracy they give the gun, though i tried many paints blaze and marbs shot the best and the barrel gave no choping problems and they are decent to look at so you may want to try one out if you get the chance
Conclusion: Highly reccomend for a-5 but even more so on a 98 since the flatline for 98 blows this is a great substitute or mabey a j&j
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mcms901 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used the barrel that came with the 98custom. I'm not a hardcore paintballer but this i quite a good upgrade even for an amateur like me especially because its so cost efficient.
Marker Setup: Stock 98 custom with the exception of an m4 carstock and ofcourse a 14" custom werks barrel
Strengths: -Accurate
-Quiet
-Length
-Very cheap for such a good product
Weaknesses: Nothing really, I like the glossyness
Review: I don't go paintballing very often, nor do I want to spend very much money on it because you have to spend so much on co2 and paintballs so this barrel was perfect. Its very accurate and I've never had a ball pop in it. It doesnt make very much noise and looks pretty nice in my opinion.
Conclusion: Amazing for the price yet is still worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silverfoxx Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98
Werx 14"
20 oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have had good results with DBX, Scorch, El Tigre
Not bad results with Whack
Really liked those El Tigres but a little pricey
Strengths: looks great
well honed inside
better accuracy
better range
mades gun quieter
made by Tippmann
Weaknesses: Tippmann label ends up facing down
Review: This is my first upgrade to my Tippmann 98c. I did a lot of research using this site and others before making the plunge. I play primarily woodsball, and was wishing to increase the accuracy and consequently the effective range of my trusty Tippy.

I spent the better part of an afternoon testing the difference between the Werx 14" and the stock barrel which comes with the 98c. I think my results show: that the WERX is a great barrle, and that it is well worth the cost to upgrade from the stock.
First the setup:
1. In my backyard I placed a cardboard target that measured 20" x 24" (480 sq in- note a typical grown man all geared-up should have about 450 sq in of "target" from the waist to the head, not counting marker.)
2. I measured out the following ranges 50 feet, 75 feet, 100 feet and 125 feet.
3. I was using CHEAP paintballs DBX practice grade
4. I used my Shooting Chrony to make sure I had consistent FPS at each range.
5. I would shoot about 20 rounds at each range: 10 w/ the stock barrel 10 w/ the Werx.
6. Before I switched range or barrels I would double check my FPS. (Tried to maintain 290 fps)
7. The air temp was in the high 50s (warm for January in MD)
8. A 10+ mph wind blowing from left to right which I am sure affected the long range results.

Results:
1. At 50 feet I was surprised at how accurate the stock barrel was. I could hit the target with almost every shot. Score:
Stock 18/20 (90%) but with a very loose group
Werx 19/20 (95%) but with a very tight group almost all shots in a 5" circle

2. At 75 feet here is where the difference started to become apparent. Score:
Stock 13/20 (65%) hits really spread out
Werx 26/35 (74%) again- much tighter grouping than stock

3. At 100 feet Some wind effects noted. Score
Stock: 7/20 (35%) noticed wild curvers
Werx: 15/28 (54%) still shooting pretty straight

4. At 125 feet (here is where the wind really began to show its effect Score:
Stock: 0/15 (I could not hit at that range and eventually stopped wasting the co2.
Werx: 12/40 (30%) had to hold higher for arching effect but still shooting fairly straight.

IMPORTANT DISCOVERY:
As stated above I would verify FPS whenever I switched barrels or range. I was trying to keep the setting as close to 290 fps as I could so the results would be comparable. With the Werx I could get that with the velocity screw backed out 3 turns. However when I switched to stock I found that my average speed DROPPED BY MORE THAN 30 fps! This meant I had to back the velocity screw out about 6 turns. This would seem to imply the Werx would give better air efficiency. Looking at the stock barrel I see that there is a small circle of porting holes that are only 4" from the breech end. Maybe too much air escapes too soon.
Conclusion: 1. If you stay under 50 feet The Tippmann stock barrel is not as bad as some have reported.
2. The werx gave me much tighter groups, better accuracy, and a longer effective range.
3. I noticed with the stock the typical wild fliers- balls that would bend and curve so much they seemed to defy the laws of physics. But with the Werx- almost never.
4. Remember I was using cruddy DBX- I will soon test with a better quality ball and compare results.
5. Werx requires less co2.
6. The inside of the barrel is mirror like- very smooth and shiny.
7. I experienced NO ball breaks with either barrel.
8. I am very satisfied with the purchase- for under $55 including shipping you can make a great improvement in your shooting.
9. It was quieter than the stock but don't believe the "silencer hype." No barrel does that.
10. It looks really cool!
11. Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 1:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dagger88 Saturday, January 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-JJceramic
-Smart Parts proggresive
-CP Classic (CRAP)
-boomstick
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom with a GTA Inline Expansion Chamber, and a 14 inch Tippmann Werks Sniper Barrel
-Tippmann Pro-Carbine with a 14in JJ ceramic Barrel
-Piranha GTI - Stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
-Dusk
-superswirl
-bigball
-Marballizer
-scorch
Strengths: -VERY ACCURATE
-very adaptable with any paint
-loud
-looks
-good weight
Weaknesses: -None
Review: This is by far, one of the most accurate barrels out there, I really do not care about speedball players saying it sucks, just because it is made by Tippmann.
for $45 it was well worth the money spent, I can now hit somebody about 70-100
feet away, with a quick burst of 3-4. With one shot I can hit ya about 60 feet, guaranteed.
hook it up wit an Expansion Chamber and you got yourself a weapon. The only thing
I did not like about it, was it is loud, unless you are concealed, it is no big deal.
Conclusion: Get this for $45, it is a very good product, you will not be sorry.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 21st, 2006 at 9:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamPointBlank Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most barrels on the market today
its very early in the morning, please excuse gramtical mistakes.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with flatline and All american 12 inch
Low preassure kit with Ergo reg (set to 400 psi) and 68 cu. in. Nitro
Respnse trigger upgraded
Folding stock
Steel remote hose with 1/4 turn on/off
Graphics kit
Double Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would suggest any paintball that is .687 to 6.91 which is the ideal range for paintballs as it will cover almost all types of field paint, as well as expensive and inexpensive brands. Read review for further information
Strengths: Accomodates a good range of paintballs.
The 12 inch is very ideal
Weaknesses: The muzzel break porting is rather rough, poor anodized finish
Review: I work at a paintball store here in south florida, and a good part of my job there is to test(as a player of the sport as well as a seller) all the products we get in and give accurate feed back to customers.
After testing this barrel, I bought one for myself as all I had for my a-5 was a flatline and the stock barrel(and a 2 inch barrel I made myself because I think it looks neat!)

I tested this barrel with three seperate brands of paint, and since have put maybe 5 more types through it.

I used a 5 gallon water cooler tank as a target, yes, with a little mask on top
I use low preassure nitro and my velocity maintains at 273-278 at the highest in the test

First Tested: Thrust paint.
This is the paint we mainly sell at my store. It's horrible, should be taken off the market or shoot through slingshots(more fun than you think). In the first test out of 1000 shots i got 21 breaks. So I considered that a loss due to paint and went onward. I barley got these things to the traget accuartley even at 30 feet

Second Test: Blaze by Draxxzuss
This paint seemed acctually to work the best, it deformed very little and shot quite consistanly. its a good medium sized bore paint and made quite well. With this barrel I shot a fairly consistant man sized target through 1000 rounds with no bolt or barrel breaks. at 1500 rnds the barrel broke one at the very end on the porting.
At 25-30 feet this barrel shot almost ball on ball only off by about the spacing of a paintball when I shot full auto. Semi doing about 3 shots a second there was fantastic consistancy.
At 45-55 feet: The grouping spread out a little more. I make up for that by, sending another 20 bps at the traget, which they REALLY spread out to about 4 inches every few shots from the center
At 55-70 feet, not the greatest results, but I was using a 12 inch barrel. However still acceptable

Third Test: Marbs:
These were too small and not very succesfully. By this point in the day the wind kicked up which shot conistancy all to hell and i decided just to shoot at the fish in the pond. Marbs are good for that.

About the finish: people are saying that the finish comes off easy. First, I would like to say, its not paint, its anodizing(just FYI) and yes, it can come off easy and the barrel acctually deforms quite easy. After being a metal smith and anodizer for many years, I will now explain why:
Commonly in high polish barrel(inside and out) they acheive that by putting into their Caustic solution tank for just a little too long(easy to loose track of time when you are doing that many barrel at once) and what tha does is remove all the impurities for the alluminum, leave a VERY shiny but VERY soft metal. They also used a not so hard or thick anodizing coat and/or they sealed it not quite long enough.
Whats this break down to? Well, theres not much you can do about it but take good care of your barrel, keep it clean and polished so dirt grains and dry shell shards dont scratch it.

Honing on the in side: Granted they could have polished it a little better on the inside, but I am assuming they stopped to reduce the chance of making the bore any bigger than it already is.
The friction on the ball was not too great as to affect it over all and it maintained velocity fairly well.
Conclusion: I am sorry to say I did not test this barrel with c02 or on one of florida commonly hot and humid days as I usually test things, so results may vary here. it was windy out in the later half of the day but overall with the draxxus it only effected the grouping by out 6 inches from center at 50 feet. After using it games with various mid range field paints, i found the results to be almost identical from brand to brand. Mind you, I made sure I had a good paint/barrel match.
I give this an 8 because they could have taken more care on the anodizing and used a harder aluminum, like T6061(I can dream) and they could have cleaned up the porting a bit(I found every barrel at my store we like that with tippmann brand). Once you find the right match this barrel will treat you well, especially if you play woods, for close range speed/rec ball I'd suggest something like and all american 9 inch.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005 at 1:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Squirrelking Thursday, November 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels on many a marker
Marker Setup: Custom Pro Basic (drop forward, double trigger, 11" Werks barrel)
HPA 50 ci Worrgame Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that fit bore size (.689)
I've used Draxxxus Midnight and X-ball bronze and had three barrel breaks in 2000 shots
Strengths: Solid
Looks good
Shoots straight (50 to 70 feet range)
Weaknesses: Finish scratches very easy
A little expensive

Review: I am very satisfied with this barrel that came with my Custom Pro. Compared to other barrels that I've handled, it feels very tough and I'm not afraid to bang it around. I also feel that its look fits perfectly with the Tippmann image. In other words, it looks like it should come stock on a Tippmann. I have a 11" barrel and It shoots great in the 50-70 feet category. After that, it starts to lose its edge. This is why I would suggest getting a Longer barrel than 11", at least if you play outside. Keep the 11" barrel for indoor games.

Now, I personally don't care about this, but I know that for some this is important: The paint finish on the barrel is VERY easy to scratch. Heck, I think I could do it with my fingernail if I wanted to.
Conclusion: I think that the Werks barrel is a very good and dependable barrel, but I feel it might be a bit over priced for what it can do.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 at 2:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MR_DR_PEP Monday, October 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DyeBoomstick
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline / 14" werks barrel
x-chamber
Tactical Saw Stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil, All Star, Marbs
Strengths: As accurate as it gets
Weaknesses: None
Review: One of the most accurate barrels I've used. Evil and all star paint are highly recommended because of the quality. 20-30 yards I was tapping on a coke can with no problem. Marbs are the last I would recommend of the three I mentioned as good paint. Marbs have a few dimples / air bubbles.
Conclusion: The best I've used. Easy 10; what's all this talk about shine? Sore loosers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drumboyw3 Saturday, October 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Strengths: Accuracy
Quiet
Ball breaks very rare
"Relative" distance increase
Weaknesses: When ball breaks, yikes!
Accuracy isn't perfect
Jealous friends
Review: the first ball i shot with this barrel, I broke a ball, probably because I was holding the gun at a weird angle. After the ball broke in the barrel, i couldn't shoot anyhting near on target, and the barrel did clean itself out at all by shooting more balls out. After I finally cleaned it though, I never had a ball break again. then I played again with the cleaned out barrel and i experienced the accuracy of this barrel. I was barely missing the head of a person who was walking through a heavily wooded area that was 75 feet away through branches and trees. The only problem i really noticed with the accuracy is that the shot grouping is very consistant. I would line up a shot perfectly and shoot and it would hit right where i wanted it to. But then i would shoot again and i wouldn't close to the same spot. Im assuming this problem will be fixed with an expansion champer. Because of the increase in accuracy of this barrel, I noticed a "relative increase" in distance, meaning that the ball didn't necessarily go farther than the stock, just farther in the direction i wanted the ball to go, which gives the impression of increased distance.Also the porting at the end of the barrel reduces a lot of the noice, but gives the gun a more tangy sound which isn't very cool.
Conclusion: Overall I would say that this barrel has huge potential to become amesomely great, but you really need more upgrades to go with it to increase consistancy, acccuracy, and possibly noise with a x-champer, new bolt, and rocket cock. Giving 10 because of potential, and giving it a 9 for straight out of the box performance, average is 9.5, so I'll round up to 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media