paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ariakon SIM-4 / Ariakon SIM-4 / Ariakon SIM-4 / Ariakon SIM-4

Ariakon SIM-4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ariakon

Buy Ariakon SIM-4

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ariakon SIM-4
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The SIM-4 is built to look and feel just like the real M4. From the realistic M-16 style cocking lever to the telescoping stock you will think you are holding the real thing. Used by military personnel around the world the SIM-4 is respected by player and professional alike.

Easy Maintenance: With quick strip field pins and a unique two piece body design that allows you access to internals, the SIM-4 is a breeze to maintain and operate. The barrel is designed to be easily removed for quick cleaning even under fire.

Accuracy and Distance: No longer will you have to shell out extra for a quality barrel. The SIM-4 comes standard with a 14" precision honed barrel designed for extreme accuracy, even at a distance.

Durability: The SIM-4 is engineered from the ground up to take a pounding. This isn't just an assembly line produced marker with some cosmetic add-ons the aluminum alloy construction will make it through even the roughest games. Each and every SIM-4 is hand assembled and tested prior to leaving our facility to ensure you receive a marker ready to use the day you receive it.

Compatibility: Because this marker was designed to look and function like its real counterpart, the SIM-4 will allow you to use many of the actual accessories designed for the M4. Everything from Scope Mounts, RIS Kits, to Night Vision systems, if its compatible with the real thing, it probably fits on the SIM-4.
Product Availability 
The Ariakon SIM-4 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Dragonghost Monday, February 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, with power tube upgrade, surefire bolt, e-grip, tech t full upgrade cyclone setup. Good but i love mech markers.
Tac 8, my complete secondary marker.
Marker Setup: Sim- 4, delium bolt, custom r.i.s. hand guard from my real m-4, high feed gravity hopper, magazine upgrade, custom paint, 3 point harness, remote with slide check.
Recommended
Upgrades:
delium bolt, magazine upgrade, some form of sling, remote with slide check
Strengths: Accuracy! Fear Factor! Easy of maintanence!
Weaknesses: I have none but the hot spring!
Review: You will not have a single issue with this marker. If you have a ball bust you can clean it out with a dozen rounds. I have my barrel welded to the upper marker body. it works for me, in that i have no time to worry about a barrel that may fall off. i have been using the old autococker mod ball detent for about one year with no issues as well.
I have mine on a 3 point sling because i have been in real life issues. when you go to a cqb, it is better to sling it up on to your back and draw your side arm.
the accuracy is even better than my flatline A-5. i have been in many weekend outings that i will not let my sim-4 set around.
Conclusion: If you have a friend that will let you try it for one game, you will not want to give it back. i know this because i have had to hunt down my sim-4 from many of my players on my teams.
Just try it before you by. you will love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nbjuno Sunday, March 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, Spider electronic, 98 custom
Marker Setup: RIS Elite, gravity feed hopper, aggitated hopper, Q-Loader with SIM 4 mod kit. Sniper barrel with silencer, 9 inch barrel, stock barrel, remote airline by Ariakon.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Strengths: The look of the gun is very impressive,
Weaknesses: Breaks paint constantly. Won't fire after the paint breaks.
Review: I have the early edition '07 model, and the marker has never been usable. It breaks paint constantly no matter what brand, and the paint is always fresh. I spend every day at the paintball field disassembling and cleaning this gun. It has never made it out of the chrono range. I have sent this gun back to the manufacturer at my expense. They sent it back to me and said it was fine. When I got it back, I took it to the field. The gun broke paint immediately. They agreed to replace the gun with an '08 model. My marker will break paint with no barrel and no air attached while locked in to a gun clean and site vice, by just chambering around one at a time. I can never eject more than 6 paintballs before breaking paint. I have tried all available brands, from the 3 local paintball stores in the Chicago area. I have four electronic markers that I have never had failed in the filed, and the Ariakon Overloard, which I also have abslutely no trouble with. I have tried every possible setup with this marker. Three different barrels (Sniper barrel, stock barrel, short barrel), three different types of loading systems (gravity feed hoppers, aggitated hoppers, Q-Loading system with the mod kit for the SIM 4). What I have noticed about all previous reviews is that the SIM 4 scored extremely high ratings prior to '07. The three reviews after '07 all seem to be exactly what I have experienced with the marker. What I discovered in my many experiments to find the problem, is that when a ball enters the chamber, it gets pushed or moves too far back towards the bolt, and lets the next ball too far into the chamber, and the second ball is constanly chopped.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this product to anyone, and am waiting for a replacement marker from the manufacturer becuase they have been unwilling to give me a full refund for the marker, and all of the accessories that I purchased.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Chapman88 Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Mr2, Sp-8, A5, all tipmans
Marker Setup: ion -14 All American
cp sling trigger
cp on/off
sp qlock
(i know this isn't a killer setup)
Spyder Mr2
soon to be : shocker nxt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mag, but new ones come with it, scope,, acog works well
Strengths: Look, makes people afraid of it...
Weaknesses: So heavy, need remote kit( even if u didn't, u should), no aftermarket barrells
Review: Well first off, i dont own one of these, but my buddy does, and ive used it in a bunch. The basic model now ocmes with mag, so thats covered. One major upgrade is a low blow bolt,, not made by ariakon but a needed upgrade. This gun shoots stright but for hte price and looks, got for a sp-8. One major drawback is that the only barrells that you can get are ariakon ones, not aftermarket ones by major brands. Dont get my worng, this is the sweetest mil sim out there for looks, but its soo heavy and runnng fomr bunker to bunkers is not as easy when this thing is draging you down..
Conclusion: All in all, its a good gun nad if you love the mil sim owlrd that much, go for it, or else get a sp-8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

z3rorefluxz Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom a5 stealth
Marker Setup: scope laser sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new gun or a sidearm because your not going to hit anything with this.
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Accuracy, weight, breaks balls
Review: When i first took this gun out of the box it didn't work thats how bad of a gun it is. I sent it back and Ariakon sent me a new one. This gun worked alright for about 3 months and then its accuracy decreased dramatically. All this gun did was intimidate people. I would have been better off with my 98.
Conclusion: If you want to look like Rambo then buy this gun, but if you want to perform like Rambo then don't.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

burninator200 Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Sim-4, qloader, LCD trigger, 3pt tactical sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Qloader and sling
Strengths: Very accurate
Weaknesses: Elbow breakage, Very heavey, Chops paint, Won't fire after ball breakage.
Review: Well for starters i have had this gun for 3yrs broken a crap load of paint and pins. The gun is just to heavy for comfort (with the qloader). I have had numerous problems with the elbows for the hopper breaking along with chopping of paint. This gun tends to stop firing after you start breaking paint. This gun probably has the best accuracy i have ever seen on a paintball gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend not buying this product if you need a gun that can handle lots of abuse. If u do buy this gun a electronic hopper or the Qloader
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt._Slaughter Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, ViewLoader triad, ACP2, Sim-15, and pretty much any spyder clone.
Marker Setup: Sim-4, led trigger(with custom response mode), stock single composite trigger. mock silencer(custom), Low Bolt delrin bolt, Magna port valve, New designz high flow valve, BSA 4X32 hunting/sniper scope, UTG weaver mounted bi-pod, M-4 weaver rails(for hand guard), M-4 carry handle weaver rail. Guarder fore grip, laser dot sight, Trinity ak-47 expansion chamber, Trinity sypder military stock(custom fitted), and a Kingman java remote+(3) 20oz bottles.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Delrin bolt (Low Blow preferred), polished internals(only striker and bolt) maybe some moly-coating if you know how.
Strengths: Realism, craftmanship, very durable, Very accurate, Most advanced and efficient double stack blowback.
Weaknesses: I don't see any yet, and I've put this through allot rugged enviroment.
Review: The Sim-4 is milled from straight stock. This means they take a block of Al and drill until they get the part they want. This makes the internals smooth and durable. The Sim-4 is the most efficient and advanced double stack blowback there is. They will accept sypder valves, and cupseals so you can improve the flow for whatever reason you want. The Sim-4 has a 14inch barrel that comes stock, and reduces the spending you have to do. Plus it has a high tolerance for water/moisture that others can't operate under. This means you can play during all weathers with out the worry that you will permanently damage your internals.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to those who don't mind a little maintance, and love the Mil-Sim look of this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Colin Basnett Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
• Tippmann 98 Custom
• Kingman Spyder Imagine
• Smart Parts SP8
Marker Setup: • Ariakon SIM-4
• Viewloader Revolution
• CAR-15 3-Point Tactical Sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
• Viewloader Revolution loader or better. A gravity hopper won't do.
• Magazine Kit. It just looks stupid without it.
• Sling. This gun is heavy, and you'll look that much more pro with a sling.
• Spare Parts Kit. In case something goes astray, have spare parts handy. This costs about $15.00.
• Rail kit and scope. The ironsights are tricky to use without Flex goggles.
Strengths: • Looks and Feel
• Durability
• Accuracy
• Customer service
• Helpful Forums
Weaknesses: • Heavy
• Medium-High Maintenance
Review: The moment I saw this gun on the Ariakon website I was in love. I kept it in the back of my mind until one day I finally had enough funds and parental approval to purchase the Ariakon SIM-4.

When I got the marker was astounded by how well it looked and felt in my hands. I toted around the gun around my house for a full day to get the full feel of the gun. I loved it! I took it in my friend's car to our school parking lot and called over our friends to feast their eyes on our latest purchases (he got a Smart Parts SP8). They were impressed how real it looked. Same day, we went over to another friend's house who had filled tanks so that we could fire our weapons. Everything was all good.

Later that week we went out with our guns. I was dissapointed to find that balls were falling out of the barrel and double feeding like no one's business. Turns out it was just a faulty ball detent, I just sent it back to Ariakon and they hooked me up with a new one along with fixing a leak I had inflicted upon my gun by reassembling my gun improperly.

My best advice for you is just to take care of your gun and read the manual. I can't stress this enough! Read the manual! Reassembling the marker can be tricky at first. Make sure you put everything back where it came from and in the right position otherwise you'll find yourself on the recieving end of a broken o-ring or something to that extent.

As soon as it was fixed though, the gun has been near flawless for me. A broken o-ring here or there is nothing to cry about, just replace it. That's the price we pay for using CO2. The gun performs very well. Shoots fairly fast considering it's a semi-automatic, hovering around 8bps.

The iron-sights are helpful, though tricky to use if you don't have a flex mask, which is why I'll eventually be purchasing a rail kit and red dot scope.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a milsim marker that isn't just another Tippmann 98 with some poor looking and expensive upgrades, and want durability and reliability to boot then you need this marker. You won't regret it.

I give this marker a 9 simply because it has many minor things that need to be fixed every so often.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 11th, 2006 at 2:22 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bad_boy15 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have a spyder x-tra and a wgp trilogy comp. they dont have the accurcy
Marker Setup: i have the stock ariakon sim-4 elite with magazine kit and the LCD trigger with the vl revolution hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
id get a good elbow or like i did and sand a bunch out so the holes bigger. it truly works alot better, a fast hopper and an electronic trigger.
Strengths: The accuracy and the durrablity
Weaknesses: Weight
o-rings shrink during winter and just leaks air
Review: I love this gun i could hit a 3" pole at 20ft and about 95 % of the shots hit the other 5% either bounced of the edge or i missed. I have put unround balls in it to see the accurct with bad paintball and the thing still shot as well as the autococker with good ammo
bc i forget to turn on my hopper sometimes i breack a ball bc it didnt fall all the way thru

the trigger really needs to be replaced bc the trigger pull is long and heavy that i only got to about 5 bps but if ure conservitive this trigger is perfect.
Conclusion: this gun stock cant fire very fast and its a lil heavy but just get the new trigger and the gun is AWSOME!!!!! but it doesnt normally work during winter
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006 at 2:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JTF2 Friday, June 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Tippmann A5, Spyders
Marker Setup: Sim 4 with delrin bolt, red dot sight, Ricochet AK hopper, 20 oz CO2 w/ 32 degrees remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Delrin Bolt is a must, possibly a red dot sight and electric hopper.
Strengths: Durability
Dependibility
Accuracy
Intimidation factor

Weaknesses: Requires break-in period
Very limited barrel choice
Review: Well, I received my Sim 4 about 6 months ago. It took some time to break the gun in, as well as, work out some of the minor imperfections. Over all I love my gun. As long as you treat your Sim 4 well, it will take care of you on the field. Well I'm not gonna sit here and make up stories on how I got a 150 ft. headshot, but over all the accuracy of the gun is above par.
Conclusion: I'm gonna give this gun a 9 because it is an amazing gun, but not perfect. I have never really seen this gun in speedball, but add an e-trigger, take off the handguards and stock and I'm sure you would do just fine in speedball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

REvan223 Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Spyder TL
Spyder Classic
Brass Eagle Blade
Tac5
Marker Setup: Bdu Camo Pants
U.S. Army G.I. Field Jacket
Spyder 4+1 Pod Pack
OD Green Shoulder Straps
Tactical Boots
Proto EL Mask
20 oz Co2
32 Degrees Coiled remote
Ariakon Sim-4
200 round hopper
4x 140 round pods
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper
Sling
Anything else is just preference

Strengths: Looks are very impressive and intimidating
Shoots far
Shoots accurately
Shoots GREAT from the shoulder
Weaknesses: Breaking it in
Heavy
Review: Okay, I saw the original design for this gun five years ago (WG-65), when I looked at Armotech. I was 12 years old and I loved the design. I waited so long to get this gun, and I finnally got it. I researched this gun up and down before I got it. I researched so much I knew how to field strip and clean it before I got it. I heard everything that was wrong with the gun, so I'm prepared to handle anything. Today was my first day playing paintball with this gun. I was so excited! Well when I walk onto the field, I started to crono my gun. The first shot was around 159, WAY to low. The second and third shots where 178 and 190. So no problem, i figured that my velocity is too low. So i'll tighten the velocity adjuster screw and there we go. The next shots where at 278, 288, and 290. The guy let me play. Before we started playing i wanted to see how my gun fired. So I shot at some targets. I was able to hit them, but every second shot it would curve....badly. After around 50 shots and playing with the velocity screw I was able to get the best accuracy at the time.

I was playing with my gun chronoed at 220, rounds where going slow, but It was no problem because we were playing in a trailer. The only place I needed range was in the back of the trailer. The first game I got three people from around 30-45 feet. I had grouping of about a foot, and I would curve every 3rd round. Also my gun would sputter and I'd have to recock. The sputtering would happen 33% of the time I'd stop firing.

After a few games i noticed that the accuracy started to get better and better. I had put about 300 rounds into the gun. There was a little deviation from the groupings, but I was still able to throw alot of paint somewhat accurately. However two of the games I did absolutely horrible. I couldn't fire accurate enough. People where wailing at me with Tippman 98 rental guns, and I couldn't shoot far enough, let alone accurately enough to tag anyone out! So I started to play around with the gun. I played a few more GOOD games. I got my Co2 filled again, I loaded up and when back to the firing range. I started wailing away on targets. Still the same problem, however there was no more sputtering. So, I turned my velocity up to about 275 or 280. It was dead on. Mind you by then I had played a few more games and used around 1000-1200 rounds. So the gun was FLAWLESS. Awesome. I'd say that the only problem with this gun is the fact that you need to break it in. When you get this gun, pump 2000 balls into it until the gun gives you what you want. Everything internally in the gun is great. From the bolt to the striker. Everything. It is a double-stack blowback, which is the same as spyder. However the internals on this gun are way more superior than the spyder and function way better. The design seems so simple to me. And with help on the forums you can find out how to fix ANY problem with the gun. The problems with this gun are minor and simple.

At the end of the games, people that I didn't know, who where playing with me came up to me and said "That's a very good gun." Another kid said "I wanna get the same barrel you have." I felt great. Because the moment that I started to use this gun, I almost regretted buying it. But afterward, man It was good!

The gun is heavy, so I recommend a sling. The thing about my setup is that since I have a remote, I can't really put my gun down without going too far, so I sling is a good Idea to help you on and off of the field.

The gun shoots very well from the shoulder and allows you to quickly aquire targets and send them to the dead box. It's great to use this gun, because when you point it shouldered, you feel where it's going to land. And when there's someone far from you and you have time to aim at him, the iron sights will not fail you. They are adjustable too, so you can make the gun fire at almost anything you point at.

One aspect of this gun was ammuntion. This gun uses large bore paint, and cheap paint isn't good to use with this gun. I used Evil paint. Then I used some smaller paint , which was cheap. The first paint I used, Evil, was okay. I was curving alot, and I doubt that it was the ammunition. When my gun was sputtering it was horrible. My first shot broke in the barrel. No problem, I just took of the barrel and cleaned it. But when my gun adjusted, I shot better than anyone else on the field. Then, I switched to the cheap paint. That paint was awesome! The cheap paint cost $45 dollars for 2000, and when I started shooting it, I shot very far. The paint when faster. It was going to fast that someone in my squad said that I didn't have anything in the hopper. I was seeing the trees I was hitting and the splatter. But my squadmate didn't. It was so awesome.
Conclusion: My final recommendation is, If you have to money, If you need a good gun, and if you want a gun that could replace any regular gun you have, get this gun. This gun is good for you if you're a military simulation, recreational, or woods player. I give this gun a 9.5 because of the break in period, which is quite short.....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media