paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ariakon SIM-4 / Ariakon SIM-4 / Ariakon SIM-4 / Ariakon SIM-4

Ariakon SIM-4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ariakon

Buy Ariakon SIM-4

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ariakon SIM-4
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The SIM-4 is built to look and feel just like the real M4. From the realistic M-16 style cocking lever to the telescoping stock you will think you are holding the real thing. Used by military personnel around the world the SIM-4 is respected by player and professional alike.

Easy Maintenance: With quick strip field pins and a unique two piece body design that allows you access to internals, the SIM-4 is a breeze to maintain and operate. The barrel is designed to be easily removed for quick cleaning even under fire.

Accuracy and Distance: No longer will you have to shell out extra for a quality barrel. The SIM-4 comes standard with a 14" precision honed barrel designed for extreme accuracy, even at a distance.

Durability: The SIM-4 is engineered from the ground up to take a pounding. This isn't just an assembly line produced marker with some cosmetic add-ons the aluminum alloy construction will make it through even the roughest games. Each and every SIM-4 is hand assembled and tested prior to leaving our facility to ensure you receive a marker ready to use the day you receive it.

Compatibility: Because this marker was designed to look and function like its real counterpart, the SIM-4 will allow you to use many of the actual accessories designed for the M4. Everything from Scope Mounts, RIS Kits, to Night Vision systems, if its compatible with the real thing, it probably fits on the SIM-4.
Product Availability 
The Ariakon SIM-4 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
traeger2591 Thursday, April 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have no other markers at the time, but I hope to get either an overlord, or an autococker trilogy competition just for speedball.
Marker Setup: Sim-4, Red Dot Scope, Ariakon Suppressor, Ariakon Bottomline, Sling, Double Trigger, 16 and 20 oz. CO2, Remote, and nothin else. . .for right now.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Red Dot Scope, Sling, definately if you're gonna be using a backup like a pistol or somethin, and maybe an electric hopper if you get an electric trigger (I dont think its possible to shoot fast enough to chop w/ just the stock trigger)
Strengths: Accuracy, Looks, Upgrades, and ease to dissasemble and reassemble.
Weaknesses: Nothing really that I can think of.
Review: This gun is absolutely great!!! Not only do you get a great performing gun when you buy this, but you also get the huge intimidation factor too. Like I said in the strengths, it is really easy to take it apart and put back together, maybe the first time you will need the manual, but after that there is no problem. The variety of upgrades is amazing, they have all the manufacturer accessories, plus all the real gun accessories (which are alot cheaper). The only thing that annoyed me at first is the barrel coming loose when I held onto the handguard too tightly, like I would be twisting it and not even know, but this is not a problem at all on the new guns as they come with a barrel pin, and it does not bother me one bit anymore, as I just tighten the barrel up alittle more. I would definately get a red dot scope, this helps soooo much when aiming.
Conclusion: This gun is great, anyone who says this thing is a spyder with many visualizations on it, has obviously not seen one of these babies shoot. Definately worth the $400.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AriakonLord Sunday, January 8th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Similar products I have used are the Tippmann model 98 w/ flatline, Tippmann A-5, and Spyder Rodeo.
Marker Setup: I use an Ariakon SIM-4. I have an rifle sling, APP remote, GenX Harness, Extreme Rage elbow, and PMI 20 oz. Co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
With this gun you need a remote and possibly a sling.
Strengths: ACCURACY
Appearance
Upgradable
Great customer service
Weaknesses: The gun is heavy if you don't move the tank or use a remote.
Review: I bought this gun from eBay. It was broke when I got it. I called Ariakon and sent it to them with no problem. They were the best customer service of any paintball company. This gun is as accurate as an A-5 with flatline. The Tippmann model 98 with flatline isn't even close to competing with the SIM-4. Even the A-5 couldn't shoot the person in the sniper stand when the SIM-4 did. This gun is one of the best at woods ball and scenario games. The only down side to this gun is that it needs a remote for it. The gun from me gets an 11 out of 10.
Conclusion: This product is the best I have ever out of Spyder and Tippmann. If you play woods ball and want the best gun you can get buy an Ariakon SIM-4.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 8th, 2006 at 5:05 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

hitman headshot Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
old spyder imagine
smart parts ion
Marker Setup: sim-4
delrin bolt
1x32 scope
ar-15 scope mount
q loader 200 system
remote
47/3000 hp tank
20 oz tank
custom made sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
delrin bolt
remote
scope
sling
Strengths: Accuracy right out of the box
Very upgradeable
Durable
Very realistic
customer serveice is awesome
Weaknesses: Kind of heavy
High velocity out of box
Other than that nothing
Review: one of the best guns i used!!!

strengths in detail:
my first time shooting i was able to shoot a kid threw a 3 inch spacing to nail him, very very accurate. This thing is o slick and realistic, i have had many people ask me if its the real gun. this thing is so upgradeable the possibilities are endless. one thing is dont get the 20 inch sniper barrel, people say it increass accuracy........well it dopesnt , all it does is consume more gas, there is no difference in accuracy at all. i have droped this thing several times and never one scratch, it is all metal and is super durable.

weaknesses in detail:
it is kind of heavy, but with a remote and a sling, this should be solved easily. or even with a bipod. out of the box it has high velocity(300 fps+) but if 1)u call ariakon they will give u a low velocity spring or 2) leave the gun cocked for about 1-2 weeks and you should be fine. this works in the spring. ALSO WARNIONG:DONT WALK ON THE STREET WITH THIS UNCOVERED, SINCE IT LOOKS LIKE A REAL M-4/M-16 AND IF POLICE SEE YOU, IT MIGHT BE CONSIDERED A REAL GUN SO BE CAREFULL.
Conclusion: highly recommended, worth the money if you have it. it wont let you down and is the best scenario gun out there, and maybe the most accurate out of box gun there is too. Trust me you wont be dissapointed with this gun.

if you have any probs at all, the ariaklon customer service is the best out there so dont hesitate to ask.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 4:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scarface_xx Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra (16" Armson Stealth Barrel, VL Evo II, Sureshot Red dot Scope), Custom 98 (M4 hand guards, 16" Powerlyte Whisper, CAR-15 stock, Response trigger, BT-16 Sight Rail, Sureshot Red dot scope, Lapco foregrip, VL Evo II)
Marker Setup: RIS Kit, Elite rail, laser sight, red-dot scope, vertical foregrip, AR10 front sight, remote line, Tac Light, VL EVO II
Recommended
Upgrades:
A2 Kit, AR10 front sight (essential), RIS Kit
Strengths: Accurate
Good Rate of fire
Good selection of mods
Durability
Realistic Looks
Customer Support
Weaknesses: Heavy
High velocity
Body Pins
No Bottomline
Review: Great marker if you're into the whole milsim thing. It has great looks and superior performance to most markers out there.


This marker is very accurate out of the box, considering the fact that it shoots too hot (over 300fps). This can be fixed by installing the low velocity spring included with the marker, or by calling up Ariakon Customer Service (the best in my opinion) However the paint hit where the laser dot of both the laser sight and the scope were, even the iron sights are very accurate. The range is pretty good too, although not as long as a flatline it provides a great challenge to those flatline wielding players, it actually makes them be a little afraid.

The Rate Of Fire was excellent. Unlike a 98 Custom, you do not need to install a response trigger to shoot fast, although accurate shots are much more preferable than wild paint storms.

Durability is impressive, never have I seen such a strong built and tough marker. It was thrown about at Customs, but the only evidence of this was a scratch on the front sight.

People are actually afraid of this marker, even veterans try to be on my side and always compliment me on the markers look. Most ask if it's a modded up marker, they are actually impressed when they see this marker and when they see it perform. Great looks, it looks like the real thing (mine got stuck in Customs for 2 weeks), and if it weren't for some minimal aspects (top of the receiver and te lack of a mag kit-purchasable) it would be mistaken for a real M4.

The marker can accept a lot of after market, real gear. I've just an AR10 front sight, to mount on the RIS rails, because I ha the bad experience of buying an m16 barrel for my 98Custom and the front sight on it would come apart easily. So I figured it best to avoid having that problem again. Also if I wanted to make the marker look more like a flat-top M4, I can just remove the AR10 front sight without much hassle.

I hate the damned body pins!!! They come all loose when the marker arrives and I had to contact Ariakon, expecting to have to buy them, but they just shipped them to me, no charge at all. The marker really feels strong with the new pins on.

Although the marker comes all set-up from the factory, I did find some loose screws and other loose parts when I got it out of box. Not impressive- yet not a big problem. The rear sight assembly is also loose, but I dont know why...I recommend buying the Pro Rail and attaching a real carry handle (that's what I'm planning to do)

The lack of a bottomline is probably the biggest problem...The balls freeze, the gun gets heavier and the tip of the barrel tends to go down, and the gas tank is to be screwed in the most uncomfortable position. Do yourself a favor and buy the alternate trigger kits, so you can put a bottomline, the stock one doesn't have anywhere where you can screw the bottomline to, a remote fixes the problems though.

Do not tamper with the front sight too much...this causes the screw that hols it to the barrel to wear out, making it spin around the barrel, instead get the RIS kit and the AR10 front sight.

Also position the hand guard in the correct place as it comes somewhat to the side...It may look straight but that is because it isnt attached correctly to the marker, screw it in well and you'll what I'm alking about!

Don't forget to buy a sling, because the SIM-4 is a bit heavy and always be careful when attaching or detaching the barrel, as you can mess up the hand guard's and front sight's position. Oil your marker before and after every use and be sure to install the low velocity spring right away.
Conclusion: This gun is not for newbies, as some basic work needs to be done to it when new, eventough it has some minor design flaws, its performance is top notch as its looks are. One of the best, milsim markers out there! Not perfect but near-perfect!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 11th, 2005 at 9:06 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bmwm31230 Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
c98 w/12 inch teardrop, 6 stage aci xchamber, venturi bolt, piranha, viewloader revalation
Marker Setup: m4 cheek piece, 30 round magazine, bottomline kit, aci remote, 4 stage xchamber, cqb sling, rubber butstock pad g2k hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
uh .....none. well it depends on the situation, if its cold you need regulator or xchamber or if you like to snipe you need the longer barrel A1 or A2 .
Strengths: Gots to be the looks then the accuracy. Easy to clean and disassemble.
Weaknesses: size and weight but to me its what I like about it.
Review: Well some players say its heavy but all you need to do is get a sling. Some of the screws that secures the trigger assembly may come loose(it happend to me 5 times already luckily I was able to find it all five times). The screws requires special metric allen wrench but that can be easily fix by buying tools from local hardware store. The two body pins may come loose but call the customer service and they will replace it(GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE). Spring is to hot even with their replacement low velocity spring that they've sent me, I had to cut the spring to meet the required fps. Aside from all those minor setbacks, the gun is very accurate and its very realistic. Expect to intimidate other players when you have this marker.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to anyone that can afford it and that knows how to take good care of it. Love your gun and it won't let you dwn in the field. Please do not get this gun if you don't know how to clean it. When you recieve this gun please tighten all the screws so that they won't ge loose and use a remote line to get the more realistic feel. I was going to give this guna score of 8.7 just beacue of the minor mechanical problems but just round it off to 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 7th, 2004 at 6:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

i play paintbal Friday, September 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c with 14 inch barrel and folding stock
Marker Setup: ariakon sim4 w/ bottomline, strap, double trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottomline, strap, electronic hopper
Strengths: Very very accurate, nice rate of fire, distance, really upgradable, high velocity.
Weaknesses: High velocity( can be fixed by just calling up ariakon).
Review: Well i have only played a couple games with this gun but i find it to be the best thing since sliced bread. It is so unbelievable accurate. Since the barrel is large bore the cheaper larger paint seems to work better. i tried out some marbalizer which is small bore and it was extemely inaccurate, then i tried out some cheaper larger bore paint and it was almost so accurate that i could hit a quarter from 50 feet away.
Conclusion: Buy it, you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AriakonDevilDog Saturday, September 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months20 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98Custom, SIM-5
Marker Setup: I use a SIM-4 with sniper barrel, A2 handguard, Harris bipod, single trigger, Ariakon red-dot scope, Palmer Stabilizer, ACI remote with slide check, and an 88ci 4500psi HPA tank. I also use a SIM-5 with RIS vertical grip, deluxe tac-light, Palmer Stabilizer, ACI remote with slide check, and an 88ci 4500psi HPA tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This is really your personal preference. I've decided to make mine a SIM-16 with the A2 handguard and sniper barrel. There are MANY different looks you can acquire with this marker. Refer to Ariakon's forum for pics. A sling and remote are probably a wise choice.
Strengths: Accuracy, durability, appearance, upgrades.
Weaknesses: It's a bit heavy, especially with several upgrades.
Review: I decided to wait several months to write a review on this marker to make sure I got a good feel for what it can do. After several months I am still as high on this marker as the day I got it. This marker can't be beat when it comes to woodsball. It's accuracy is as good or better than a 98C or A-5 but won't shoot as far as a flatlined 98C or A-5(nothing does). As far as durability goes, paintball markers can't be more durable than this. I've used it in rough mountainous terrain several times and it has made it through unscathed every time. The appearance is far superior to any upgraded Tippmann and is better looking than the WG or WS markers in my opinion. There are an endless amount of upgrades that you could use for this marker so I won't go into that much here but I will say that the sniper barrel is a nice upgrade. It'll give you a tad bit more accuracy and I have not noticed a drop in distance. It gives the marker a really nice sniper rifle look with the short M-4 style handguard or you can get the A1 or A2 handguard for a more classic look. The marker is pretty heavy so a sling is probably a good idea. I also use a bipod which helps a lot for you players who lie down a lot on the field. A remote with slide check is a must because adding the weight of a tank to this marker would be a mistake if you're going to be playing for several hours. Also, the Qloader looks pretty cool when mounted from the ASA and running the pods underneath the handguard. It gives it an M203 kind of look.
Conclusion: Overall, it doesn't get any better than this marker for woodsball. There's even electro trigs for you speedball/woodsball players. If you're one that likes to add realism to the sport of paintball, go out and get this marker. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

IntegraTypeRDC5 Thursday, August 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 M4 mod
Tippmann 98 Custom M4 Mod
Marker Setup: Ariakon SIM-4 R.I.S.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Appearance
Accuracy
Weaknesses: High Velocity
Review: Although, the SIM-4 is not the real Armotech, it does just fine.
This marker looks really amazing and pretty accurate looking as an M-4 Carbine. The whole marker is really tough, all of the parts are made from metal except for the handguard and stock(thats even as tough as the metal). I really love the realistic rear cocking system. It really gives the realistic feel as the M4. The weight is somewhat heavy but it doesn't bother me, to play mil-sim, you got to learn to love the weight of the marker. The SIM-4 is also accurate as hell. I shot at a 5" diamater pallete from 80' and hit the target 30 out of 35 shots.
The only problem I had with the marker is that it shots hot out of the box. 300-400 FPS. But this can easily be fixed. You can either cut the spring or you can call ARIAKON and they will send you a low velocity spring free of charge. Great customer service. But the velocity will not be a problem for those with the new SIM-4. Mine wasn't new because the box still said ARMOTECH on it.
Conclusion: This is a great marker for you mil-sim players. Don't think this marker isnt worth buying because you hear everyone say its a fake Armotech. Its just as good and performs great.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

BC0 Monday, August 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 with Flatline/32degrees Nightstick 98c with CP/Flatline/Boomstick/with car stock
Smartparts Impulse
Marker Setup: Sim4 R.I.S. , PMI bottomline, CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottomline,Nitrogen Tank,Electric hopper
Strengths: Well ballanced, rock solid, easy disasembally, Sighting system, Good stock barrel, Accurrate, Good range, Quiet
Weaknesses: Cant use stock with mask, Sometimes uncocked if its not freshly oiled, Tight vertical connector.
Review: I got this gun new of Ebay....When I first played with it try to use the vertical bottle, It was extremely hard to get in the connector. And since the CO2 was so close to the compression chamber when it shot a ball the ball would freeze and pop in front of the bolt. But I went and got a bottomline and that fixed it. One more reason i bought the bottom line was i was unable to use the sights with a mask on and the good old buttplate fixed that as well as better balancing the gun. I have some velocity problems but its not terrible 290fps-400fps and I did not recieve the low velocity spring.. but where i play thats generally not a problem. The second time I played it was a big turn around for this gun I only broke 2 balls (the same kind a used the first time) and my gun never froze up. The accuracy was so magnificent and valuble in the woods. I wouldnt trade this gun for any other after the last few times I'v used this. You would have to shoot one for yourself too relize the devistating accurracy and rate of fire of this gun. It more than matches any high level tournement marker in medium range and long range accurracy.
This gun is so quiet with its sock barrel all you here a is a ball splat or brush movement when you shoot. Ultimate sneak attack weopon for solo stalkers.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun for people who like woods ball, or long range paintball, this is the sharpshooters gun, Yet you can get very fast going semi auto. If you serve this guns repair and maitence needs it will serve you like no other. Id give it a 9.5 but round up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarHamster Sunday, August 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna VTL, Spyder Rodeo, Tippman 98C
Marker Setup: Ariakon SIM-4, Halo TSA backman LCD, Ariakon bottomline, 32 degrees remote system w/ slide check.
Recommended
Upgrades:
32 degrees remote system, bottomline
Strengths: Excellent Consistancy, durability, and customer support
Weaknesses: Too large for speedball and fairly heavy
Review: When I first got this gun, Ariakon (armotech at the time) markers were notorious for having velocity issues and mine was no different. My gun was shooting 450+ fps when I had the velocity turned up all the way and no less then 350 with it DOWN all the way. I ended up having to cut 3~4 rungs off my spring to get it firing at a safe velocity. Ariakon has since started shipping all their guns with a low velocity spring, but just a warning if you're buying an old one or buying one used.

The first time I fired my gun off, I had some issues with my spring (the gun misfired and tangled my spring), and the body pins were a bit loose due to bad ball bearings in them. When I called Ariakon Customer service about it, they sent me a new spring and two new body pins without even asking a question about it, they even upgraded the shipping to 3 day so I could have it to use that weekend. So yeah, EXCELLENT customer service.

While this gun obviously wasn't designed to be taken onto the speedball it will still perform. Don't expect to be taking cover in the smallest bunker on the field though. I've been backman every time I've played, both because it's size limits your bunker options and because of the weight of the gun (you'll definatly want to get a remote system and possibly a sling). However, the guns really shine in woods/rec ball...

Ariakon markers have to be without a doubt the most consistant and best performing blowbacks you can buy, but that being said they're still blowbacks. Don't buy one expecting it to outperform a timmy or shocker. At best I'd say they're on par with mid range autocockers.

They're amazingly consistant in their shot placement and in the 6 months I've had mine (and 8 or so cases I've put through it) I believe I've broken 2 balls in my barrel and chopped one (when the batteries on my hopper died and I failed to notice).

They obviously LOOK amazing but despite what many people have said they're not just cheap spiders with flimsy plastic body kits. These things are built extremely tough. My gun has already been dropped onto rocks once and been dragged through the mud more then its fair share of times. Likewise I've heard that their new marker (the SIM-5) during quality testing was beaten with a hammer for a half hour and it still fired when they were done with it.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a new marker and you're into the whole mil-sim look then the Ariakon SIM-4 is an excellent marker. In the long run it's actually cheaper to buy a SIM-4 upfront then buy a tippman and put body kits on it to aquire a similar look, and you end up with a better performing gun as well.

Just don't plan on playing a lot of speedball with this thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 15th, 2004 at 8:20 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media