paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armotech Zeus G1 / Armotech Zeus G1 / Armotech Zeus G1 / Armotech Zeus G1

Armotech Zeus G1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armotech

Buy Armotech Zeus G1

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armotech Zeus G1
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
Interchangeable Magazine
Adjustable Velocity 200-350+ FPS
Contoured Rubber Grips
Push Safety
Quick Field Strip
Ported Barrel
10-round Capacity
Hopper Adapter Compatible
High Gas Efficiency
Bottom Line Ready

Simple mechanics and incredible styling combine to give you a truly remarkable machine. This 10-shot CO2-powered pistol features a rear cocking knob, removable magazine, tournament style rear velocity adjuster, quick change 12-Gram CO2 compartment, sight rail and contoured rubber comfort grips.

The balance and feel of this marker are second to none and the unique bead-blasted aluminum finish gives an effect you won't find anywhere else. The Zeus is pre-configured to be easily upgradeable to use a bottom line and constant air source. The Zeus is truly a god among markers.
Product Availability 
The Armotech Zeus G1 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
mgregg85 Friday, January 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The PT series, PGP, Sidekick, Core ZX.
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha Vert Feed
-E-Force
-DYE Ultralite Barrel
-Tigershark Bolt
-Palmer Stabilizer
-Remote Line

2 x Zeus G1's

Piranha USP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottomline kit if you want to use them as your primary marker, quick cap, ronin drop leg holsters
Strengths: Accurate(for a pistol), ok gas efficiency, well balanced.
Weaknesses: Not too fun to take apart unless you've got a fair amount of patience.
Review: I bought one of these as a sidearm to play with and I quickly bought a second one and two drop leg holsters from ronin gear. They are fairly accurate and ok on CO2. The upgrades for them are rather limited to tactical styled things like laser sights, flashlights and things like that using the RIS system. The quick cap makes reloads much faster though I prefer the spare magazines because I dont use them too much and swapping magazines is just as fast for me most of the time. Overall they are excellent pistols, just dont pay too much for them, I got both of mine on ebay for around $65 a piece shipped.
Conclusion: If your looking for an excellent sidearm without the problems plaguing the PT series or the delta 68 then the armotech zeus series is for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

italnstalln48 Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP - Old and Rugged......kinda like that favorite hat you always wear that you will never get rid of even though its all torn and disgusting
Marker Setup: Red '03 Vert. Feed Cocker with Dye Ultralight barrel, WGP Ergo Inline Reg, Chrome Lightening Bolt drop and ASA by CP, Dark Vengeance Delrin Bolt, KAPP delrin detent, Crossfire 68/4500 Nitro, Dye Stickies and 6 Prong 12v Revvy and now a Silver Zeus G1+ by Armotech/Warsensor w/ lasersight and flashlight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing although I hear a Quick Cap is a good investment
Strengths: -Accuracy...as accurate as cocker at close range
-Mobility...easy to use on the move
Weaknesses: - Only 11 shots
- Sometimes the paintball doesn't feed
Review: I wasn't quite sure if the new 2005 Warsensor model zeus would perform as well as the original Armotech zeus but I was proven wrong. After shooting my friend's Zeus and reading a whole heck of a lot of Reviews I decided to buy one just for fun really. Its design is great and it's easy to maintain. Design is simple with not a whole lot of parts, a welcome change after working on my autococker. Magazines are not too easy to get on or off but considering I use mine as a backup this shouldn't be a problem. If you plan to use this gun frequently, then you may consider getting a quick cap to help reload your magazines quicker. Also, there is a rail where you can mount flashlights or laser sights underneath the gun as well as on top of the magazine. The only problem I have had has been when a ball won't feed into the chamber. Every once in awhile a paintball will jam in the clip and won't feed. All you have to do is shake it around though and you should be good to go. Truly a remarkable gun overall.
Conclusion: The New Zeus G1+ is still as tight as the original. Reliable, lightweight, semi-auto, and accurate. Best pistol on the market unless you want to spend $350 for a PPS Squall. If you want a sidearm, this bad boy is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 6th, 2005 at 9:10 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gdog5 Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
various pistols
Marker Setup: too many to list
Strengths: Durability
Looks
Weaknesses: Plastic on back of bolt breaks
Review: Picked my zues for $100 and since have been modding it constently. But before i get into that, when i had it taking 12grams it was getting about 18shots before it needed to be changed. Accuracy wasnt great, but it wasnt bad; just acceptable. This thing looks awesome, and is intimidating. I wouldnt walk down the street with this out. Put it in a bag or something. As for mods ive put the dummy cartridge in and drilled and tapped the hole underneath for 1/8" npt threads. Then put a 32° VA in there so i now mount a tanke vertically on it. I also took out the armotech valve assembly and put in a valve pin modded spyder valve assembly. But over its periods of use the plastic on the back of the bolt that is used to aid in pulling it back had broken in two. Easily fixed with some glue though.
Conclusion: Nice semi pistol overall. Would recommend to anyone looking for a intimidating sidearm/pistol.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 4:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Abundibiga Friday, September 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan
Marker Setup: Piranha TS G3 w/ Mako Storm Trigger
Remote Coil
VL Revolution II w/ X board
Gun Ghillie Suit in addition to body ghillie suit
Varmint Light GL-100 High Powered Beam attached to the barrel for night time domination (This thing is like a car brights beam and blinds ANYONE at night and lights up an entire hill at 100yds.)
Camo tape
20 oz. CO2 tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster
New Magazine (yes, 25 bucks but I can see it will be worth it to have another one locked and loaded)
Laser Sight (for looks and to scare some people)
Strengths: Small, reliable, high powered, efficient, lightweight, accurate, beautiful
Weaknesses: NONE!! It's an Armotech.
Review: This gun is pretty sweet out of the box. I took it to my work and we shot off a bunch of rounds at the warehouse door. This thing punches holes through double walled boxes NP. The sound is great. These ladies saw me and were like Oh Great! What is he doing over there. It was pretty funny. Man, this gun rocks. They left after I shot off a few rounds. It is small and I bet impressive on the field. Get the holster so you don't have to carry your backup. A bandolier is also useful as I will be using one to store 10 round tubes and using a side shotgun round holster to hold the co2. Also, make sure you know to cock it and then put in the co2 if not you will leak air all the way down the barrel. These seem hard to find, just don't go to www.tacticalmarkers.com. I payed for 2 day air shipping and got Ground, still haven't recieved my partial refund and they waited forever to send it out. Took from Monday until the NEXT Friday to get it. These people are lazy although their customer service on the phone seems good enough (for a one man company at least).
Conclusion: GET IT AT ALL COSTS!! No, seriously, don't waste your money on something that is the same price but of less quality. Trust me you may regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EclipseOne Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years49 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme (Tested it once, Zeus shoots much straighter and has a cleaner trigger pull)

Delta .68 (Beautifully styled, but from what I hear unreliable, friend bought one it needed work out of the box to get it working.)

Sheridan PGP (The Old Ugly of paintball pistols, most reliable gun ever but won't keep up in the age of semi and full automatics.)

Ariakon ACP (The closest thing to the Zeus so far, but the two-finger grip is uncomfortable for a pistol and it isn't as well balanced when being held.)
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann ProCarbine w/14in Tippmann Sniper Barrel
12oz Pure Energy CO2 Tank
2x BE 50 Round Pocket Hoppers (second is capped and used as spare mag.)

Sidearm:
Silver Armotech Zeus G1
Armotech Tactical Holster (Holds 3x 10rd tubes + 5x 12g CO2's)
* I wear my holster around the waist because its bothersome on my leg I'm a little short for it, but it adapts PERFECTLY to a waistbelt, and rides at a perfect draw height on the hip.

Extra Gear (Scenario Play)
Tasco 2-8x Binoculars
Cobra Tactical Radio with Headset
Shotgun shell belt, holds 5x 10rnd tubes
Recommended
Upgrades:
Required:
A good tactical holster. The Armotech one is pretty good (snug, adaptable and holds the weapon securly) and for a fair price.
Some sort of rig to comfortably carry and quickly draw 10-rd tubes.
A bunch of 10rd tubes.

Cosmetic Ideas:
Switch siderails to opposite color of your gun.
Use a magazine opposite color, (silver on black, black on silver) to get that awesome bi-tone pistol look thats so popular nowadays.
Aftermarket grips (stock grips are excellent, but for looks Dye Stickies are nice.)
Strengths: Outstanding accuracy!
Excellent rate of fire.
Rugged and reliable.
Holds charge very long.
Looks fearsome!
Weaknesses: Obvious limitations of a pistol... which aren't weaknesses because IT IS A PISTOL.
Review: This is an outstanding piece of work. I've carried my Zeus for a year now and never had a major breakdown, had 6 ball breaks EVER including using cheap paint in practice. I've put about 3000 rounds through this gun (TONS for a pistol) and its still going strong.

I started a scenario team last year and I figured as a team commander a dependable carry sidearm was a MUST (and would look damn cool.) I spent close to a year researching various reviews and scouring every website there was to find the best marker for the job. And the paintball world's reply is almost unanamous, the Zeus is the way to go. The price is right at $99 USD and $35 for the holster!

When I first bought my Zeus I intended to carry it as a sidearm and remain using rental semi's... That was before I put my first 200 rounds through it and fell in love with the accuracy of this thing. I've now used it as my primary weapon for over a year and I simply love it. Don't listen to people who tell you pistols aren't accurate or don't shoot far. A well aimed shot can take someone out at 100 ft. I've scored center-mass shots at 50 ft, one-handed while running with this gun. But where it really shines is in CQB (close quarters battle.) The mobility and quick-on-target advantage of a pistol is deadly effective indoors or in a tight situation. Storming a bunker was never easier, and I find myself constantly looking for the chance to charge into somebody's face because I KNOW I'll take them. The gun is also excellent for snapshots over or around cover and is consistantly accurate, making it at least capable, if not great (11 shots...) in speedball.

For any real shooter a good trigger pull is important and the Zeus trigger is very well designed. Its not insanely light like a lot of paintball triggers, but still has a crisp, predictable pull. There is very little side-play in the trigger and its just the right mix of not too tight but solid enough for a steady, accurate pull - but the trigger pull distance is kept short so double-taps are clean and instant on demand, without wavering your grip and aim.

The 10+1 magazine capacity is good enough as long as you let others provide the covering fire. I've never had it run dry on me when it mattered, just count your shots and know when its time to top off your load. The gun also holds its CO2 charge excellently! Much better than my pellet pistols even, so 12-hour scenario carry as a sidearm is not an issue at all. You'll get 28 shots to a CO2 if you're taking all single shots. My ususal style of double-tap will get about 22 shots BUT if you tear off a whole mag lighting someone up you'll have 5-6 shots left tops.

I also have to say that I've never had a day out yet on which I recieved less than 3 comments on how cool my gun was. It looks fearsome and fearsome is a well deserved title for this excellent marker. If you want a semi-auto pistol and don't have $600 USD to spend on a Squall then the Zeus is the only gun for you. It looks great on your hip and will never let you down, as a primary or a sidearm.
Conclusion: Overall this is probably the best (most practical, capable, reliable and affordable) paintball pistol ever built, and is well worth what you pay for it. The gun is solid yet simple - deadly accurate and the coolest looking thing you'll ever see.

GET ONE RIGHT NOW! For less than the cost of a case of paint you owe it to yourself to try this gun out, even its not your style as a primary; I am of the belief that every soldier should carry faithful sidearm, especially in paintball where self-destructive ammuntion and jamming equipment are a part of everyday life. And if you're looking to become a pistolero this gun is what its all about.

10 out of 10 easily. This gun delivers everything you could possibly want and reasonably expect from a .68 caliber paintball pistol. Buy it now go go go!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 at 4:26 pm PST
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

Pistolero2112 Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
NONE
Marker Setup: Zeus G1 Silver
I have a camo pack that holds my 12g co2 cartridges and a paintball pod hauler.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Quick Cap MAYBE, you don't need one unless you are very slow,
Maybe a Holster and Maybe 10 round tubes.
Strengths: Accurate, Strong, Easy to Reload, and Aim.
Weaknesses: Too powerful and gives slight recoil.
Review: All I can say is GREAT GUN. It is such a nice marker and it is easy to reload. It is a lot larger than what it looked like in the pics. I ordered it and it came within 3 days. My friend ordered the same one, but his won't come for a while. When I first got it he kept saying "Let Me See!" and took it from me just holding it pointing it at things. And he was showing his parents the marker, telling him that this was the same one that he had ordered. Anyways as for the gun. It has a nice sandblasted steel body. It is easy to cock, and easy to take apart. My friend and I were standing a good 50 ft away from a target, and he was shooting his Spyder Victor II and I my Zeus G1. Out of a full magazine (10 rounds) I hit the target about 9 times. I had stained the target yellow, and out of about 20 shots for him, he got 12. It might be that I have great aim. It might be that he has crappy aim. But I think it is that the marker is extremely good. With the magazine on it it looks like the Terminators gun. Anyways, it is an extremely durable gun (Thick steel body and magazine, thick plastic 45 frame, and a rubber grip over top). It is a bit heavy but that should only be a problem if you are extremely weak. Oh and when reloading the magazine do it carefully because the spring in the magazine is quite sensitive. I lost 7 paintballs buy accidentally hitting the knob on the magazine and they shot out into the air and rolled off the balcony. I managed to save 3 and the other 7 broke. I use it as my primary because it was my first and I like it better than others.
Conclusion: It is a cheap high quality paintball marker. Pick it up if you would like to use it as a side arm or a primary. I think it is too strong and accurate for a side arm and should be used as a primary. GREAT MARKER once again!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 at 12:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kain128 Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I use to have PGP Pump Pistol, which is a very good pistol.
However, the Zeus is quite a bit better - higher rate of fire, more accurate and shoots farther.
Marker Setup: A-5 in an M4 setup (see OPSGEAR.COM for pictures).
Zeus - Stock with Ronin Gear tactical holster.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You will need a good tactical holster.
Strengths: Accuracy
ROF
Distance
Looks
Weaknesses: Weight
Only 10 shots
Review: I have had this pistol for about two years and I have had not one single problem. No ball breaks, no misfires. This marker is definitely worth getting if you are looking into a pistol setup.
The accuracy is unbelievable, the rate of fire is excellent and the distance this pistol fires almost compares with my A-5 (stock barrel).
You will need to get a good quality tactical holster, because the Zeus is a little heavy and will need good support in the holster. I have the Ronin Gear tactical holster and it works great.
Conclusion: I purchased my Zeus off ebay for only $75 USD, and its worth every penny and then some.
Buy this marker if you are in the market for a pistol, you wont be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Black Company Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster, PGP, Rapide
Marker Setup: Bottom Line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on how you want to use it
Strengths: Robust construction, simplicity of design, reliability.
Weaknesses: Ball detent is weak, notch to latch the magazine spring is too small.
Review: The gun did not work right out of the box for me, which was a real negative. The trigger would not reseat after each shot and it was chopping balls.
After a little work with a file on the trigger guard and replacing the little rubber ball detent with an extra steel one I modified it solved the obvious problems.
The gun itself is solid feeling with good heft. The addition of a 3.5oz CO2 tank on the bottom line adaptor balanced it beautifully. I use the G1 as a fun gun to play against new players and when I'm feeling like moving more. The accuracy is o.k. (I have yet to find a good paint/barrel bore match) but you are not going to match most guns out there. People who whine that "if you play with this gun you'll just get hosed" are missing the point of the marker.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a back up gun or something for fun play (or maybe even indoors) this is the best pistol out there. I have a lot of fun with it.
I'd rate it higher but anything I have to tinker with out of the box is a real downer for me.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 8:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kendoka Wednesday, July 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only other pistol I've tried is the classic PGP (I have 13 - for rent). They are more robust and better balanced - but, obviously, the whole pump thing is a drawback, especially for a pistol.
Marker Setup: Zeus G1, Quick Cap, Red dot and laser sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Either another magazine or the Quick Cap. Both expensive upgrades (compared to the cost of the marker/gun but will add more fun to your game ;-)
Strengths: It's a semi-pistol. No hopper required. Easy maintenance. Reliable. Accurate.
Weaknesses: You only get about 24 shots from 12 gram gas. Bad spring lock on magazines.
Review: This is a truly amazing gun, from the first moment I tried it I was hooked. We play mostly indoors at night in a large abandoned factory and there this gun rules (we have a 12g gas/10 rnd magazine rule).
The red dot helps me to shoot straight in darkness (the gun has no real usable sight in standard config and is rather unbalanced (top heavy).
The laser helps me to provide covering fire without wasting ammo - just pointing the laser at people will have them duck into cover ;-) Also, the laser is a great tool for showing my team members where the enemies I've spotted are.
The Quick Cap helps me to reload faster.
In addition to my main G1 I have another in a leg holster - I draw that one while reloading gas (the gun makes a woooshing sound when the gas runs out - and reloading gas takes some time - time which my opponents lernt to use... but not any longer).

The only drawbacks regarding the gun I can think of concerns it's magazine:
- The really stupid spring lock lever is way to wide for locking the spring securely in place - resulting in the mag ejecting it's balls up in the air from time to time during reloads...
This can be fixed by drilling out the spring lock gap - but if the manufacturers had used a more suiting lever in the first place this would not be neccesary!
- The rubber pad at the back of the magazine is hard to remove, will easily be lost and comes with a really weak key-ring type ring that, if not replaced, will hurt your fingers, jam the reloading process and/or simply break - it should be replaced with a piece of string attached to the gun - or ideally, a Quick Cap.

A Quick Cap ougth to have been standard - and the spring lock issue resolved, but apart from those minor flaws the gun rocks.

Since I bought mine my friends started to want me to provide them with G1's as well. I have bought and imported (to Sweden) no less than 15 G1's and resold them to friends. All still use them as their primary marker...
Conclusion: Buy it.
It is as good as the G2 and around $25 cheaper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media