paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan

Proto Turbine Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Turbine Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Turbine Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 3.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Switch goggle system adds the Turbine fan to its ever-growing bag of tricks. The Turbine keeps fog and perspiration away so you can deal with the real pressure on the field. It features the Turbo 9 accelerator blade that yields higher air flow volume and operates at a lower RPM, resulting in quieter operation and extended battery life. With 2-speed operation, you'll never have to lose your focus again.
Product Availability 
The Proto Turbine Fan is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
chaogimali Sunday, October 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Fanz
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Macdev Drone
Tippmann A5 Bullpup
Tiberius t9.1
Tiberius t8
Strengths: Fitment and sleek design
Weaknesses: Lack of de-fogging
Review: After running a custom set of Grillz fans on my JT Pro I wanted to pick one of these up for my pro Axis. I installed them and initially they worked decently. I could feel a bit of wind blowing and circulating whenever I'd turn them on. During one game I was sitting in a bunker in a low position and the sun was barely hitting the top of my mask, I guess the heat on that cold morning started to fog up my goggles, when I noticed I turned on the fan and waited for the fan to defog the lens. I waited and waited until finally someone pushed up on me and I got into a blind exchange because I couldnt see a d*mn thing through my goggles. I went back to the dead zone and had to wipe these because the fan failed to defog.
Conclusion: Unfortunately I would not recommend these fans, the design is great and they fit perfectly. The amount of air that these push however is not sufficient to defog anything. They may work ok at times and under different conditions. In my experience however, the fan just isnt strong enough to do the job.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jef1340 Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline, Saw Stock, Remote,HPA
Strengths: It fits into the mask
Weaknesses: Everything else
Review: This fan is horrible. The very few reviews that were good must have been written either by some really lucky people that got a good unit on a fluke, or written by the manufacturer themselves to boost sales. Okay, it does fit into my mask, but man is it loud! I could over look this fact I guess, except there is virtually no air moving through the thing! I held a hair up next to it and moved it around every vent. There was only one vent on the whole unit that would move the hair, and it barely moved even there. I purposely fogged my mask, installed the fan and let it run for several minutes. Nothing! the fog did not budge! I have a mini fan similar to those in computers that is ultra quiet. I have taken a mold of this piece of junk and I am going to design my own version of it around this other fan. 40 bucks! What a @#@$*%@ rip off! I held my mini pc fan in place and it sucked the fog out in about 20 seconds, it isn't even designed for this! Whoever engineered this fan is a complete moron. I have stripped this fan all the way down. The fan blades aren't even mounted in a good position to move air throught the vents in the housing. Absolute GARBAGE!!!! A hint to the manufacturer... A fan for a paintball mask needs to do 3 things, 1. fit the mask. 2. MOVE AIR. 3. BE QUIET. Well a 50 cent motor in a 2 dollar housing doesn't quite get it, but somebody is making a killing here.
Conclusion: This fan is nothing but a noise maker. It does not move air, I don't even see how running it through the whole game would help. Don't waste your money unless you just want to make a mold and build your own design from it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarlockMercer Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT fan
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7, M4 stock, remote line, aimpoint red dot, RIS foregrip, sight elevator
Strengths: None. To be honest, this doesn't have strengths.
Weaknesses: LOUD, doesn't cool or vent.
Review: I thought this would be a great fan. Made specifically for my mask. Boy, was I mistaken.
First, it's LOUD. I'm not talking "gee, that's a little noisy"...I'm talking "hey, is that HIM over there" loud. You can hear the fan, and that's about it when you're on the field. It is REALLY loud. I can't stress that enough.
Second, it's useless. It doesn't circulate the air, it doesn't help cool, nothing. Now, I wear glasses when playing, so that doesn't help. But, it's supposed to work with or without them. I called DYE before buying it, and they said glasses? Sure, no problem. Well, guess what. It doesn't work. First, my glasses fog, then the mask fogs to the point that I have to actually leave the field. So what's the point of having a fan that doesn't allow you to play?
Third, it's not very well made. The first one I got literally had a piece fall off it when I fired it up the first time. Then, when it was replaced, the housing didn't lock in very well. So, it's not very well made.
Conclusion: Don't buy this. I hate to say this, but don't. It's not made well, it's extremely noisy, and it just plain doesn't work. It doesn't circulate air (with or without my glasses), it doesn't cool and it just plain doesn't do what it's advertised to do. Save your money, buy some diver's goggles no fog. The stuff you use to scuba dive. It's cheaper, and works better.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

heinous Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2006 MacDev Cyborg
MacDev long rail
MacDev on/off ASA
Vlocity with Speed Feed
Dye Throttle 45/4500
Strengths: Cools your face.
Weaknesses: Can get loud (see review)
A bit heavy.
Review: I got this as a freebie for buying a Proto mask.

SOUND: Turning it on out of the box at home, it was quiet. Then I installed it and wore the mask and it sounded so loud when it was 1 inch from my forehead. However, using it in a game I could still hear everything going on in the field much louder than the fan. It does buzz a bit, but does not obstruct your game.

WEIGHT: This is where the fan falls short. When held in hand it felt quite light, but once I installed it I could just feel it dragging the mask down. I had to get the strap real tight to prevent that from happening. That is fine by me but I understand some of you out there might not like tight straps. Proto should have made an overhead strap from one ear to another like headphones, and made that come with the mask itself. Perhaps double-strapping is a remedy but I have not yet tried it.

WIND: Ah, this is why you got the fan. To tell the truth, you barely feel anything... until you start sweating. When you do, you will be so glad you got the fan.
Conclusion: Proto should have used a quieter motor, a fan with larger leaves and larger ventilation between the fan and mask. That would make the fan way better. As the fan is right now it is still a decent product. The sound and wind get better as you play and the weight problem has a few easy solutions.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gallace Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5 With flatline, e-grip, hyperstar bolt, and compressed air

Backup --> T.E.S. With a Teardrop Barrel
Strengths: Fits well in mask
Adds SOME ventilation
Weaknesses: Doesn't help a whole lot
Loud to the person wearing it
Exspensive
Review: If you have a chronic problem with fogging this MIGHT be helpful. It does help some, though be warned the difference it makes is next to nothing. It is loud to the wearer and is pretty expensive for its usefullness. Money would be better spent elsewhere. I bought mine for twenty bucks and like an idiot didn't immediately use it. The warranty expired and by the time I found out it was useless it was too late. I have NEVER even bothered turning it on during play.
Conclusion: Don't buy unless you have cash to just throw away.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jake the snake Thursday, August 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have not used another fan. But seen a different one in use
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (with black rough non shine finish) armson stealth barrel 14"
Strengths: The performance is awsome! PRETTY QUIET! AAA battery lasts forever. easy to turn on!
Weaknesses: Sound like a hurricane while wearing the mask!
Review: bought this fan with My Proto Switch FS Thermal lens. pulled it out of the box and found it's pretty small & slick. It needs AAA battery which comes with it.put it on the mask IMPORTANT! Take of the visor then put the fan on! you'l never get it on right if you don't!
Conclusion: It think this is a good fan for the price but THE ONLY THING THATS BAD IS THAT IT IS VERY LOUD TO YOUR EARS WHILE WEARING THE MASK!
ADOS! ________________________________________ ; }
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

peteralexander7 Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT fans
Marker Setup: AGD ULE Minimag, RPG sub zero feed neck, Level X, Dye double trigger frame, On/off drop, Old school one piece 12in AA barrel
Strengths: Clears the fog, the on/off button, installation and removal
Weaknesses: The noise
Review: The fan works great for what it needs to do. I few seconds and it clears up the fog. It makes a little breeze which also feels nice on a hot day. It is so easy to put in and take out. I also love the push on/off button which is a great improvement over the switch on the JT. The noise bugs a little but what do you expect when you have a fan on your head. People who complain about the noise expect way too much. When you chew your food it is loud to you. The noise isnt more than a fly buzzing around. You can hear it but other people can unless they are already on top of you. It does prevent you hearing others but just use it in pulses. Because people dont like mask attached fans, you can get it under $20 on ebay.
Conclusion: This is a good product for a fan. People want perfection. If you need to de fog your mask this is a good fan but if you need silence all the time and think you are a sniper, then get a life. Get realistic, fans make noise. I like this fan and dislike cry babies.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 14th, 2006 at 8:10 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Da Old Chief Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT
Marker Setup: A5 w/E-Grip, flatline, red dot, drop forward, cammo'ed, & modified action (#1 gun) or;
98C, w/resp trigger, expansion, modified flatline, turbo-hopper, stock (cuctom SNIPER), cammo'ed, & modified action, (heavy backup gun) or;
98C w/16" CMI barrel, turbo-hopper, cammo'ed (light weight - long range gun)
Strengths: Not much - much easier access to battery than any JT fans.
Weaknesses: LOUD - like all the mask attached fan systems flawed concpet! Wish the designers wore glasses.
Review: I'm the old man x-Nam Vet and Sr. Engineer. All the fans system that fit above the mask are flawed as they take in your hot moist body heat and blow it upon my glasses/mask lens. They are all LOUD killing stealth sniper hearing/OPs. It is usually HOT/humid where I play and no matter what I do I'm plagued with severe mask/glasses condensation. No, low air volume fan works including this one. All current fan systems stink as I suspect the designers do not where glasses just like I've found with mask makers not accommodating glasses wearing.
Conclusion: Do not buy - you'll be disappointed. Condsider placing the fan behind the users head (or on the belt - better) and use plastic >0.5" air-duct tubes attached to the head straps (to both sides) of the mask.This will remove most all the noise from near the face/ears. But you do not want to increase the rear weight on the head strap pulling the mask out of place on the users head. So place the battery in a belt pouch (allows for bigger 12V type battery) with an easy access 100% speed/powered control (like a blower voltage potentiometer). Use a 2.5-3" BLOWER not a 1" mini-fan that has NO CFM - get >10CFM into the mask over each eye.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 29th, 2006 at 5:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NuSkool Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT "Vortex" Fan
Marker Setup: WGP 2002 STO Autococker (CUSTOM Anodized):
-Planet Eclipse "E2" Trigger Frame
-Planet Eclipse "Zero B" Upgrade Board
-Planet Eclipse Samurai 2 Trigger
-Planet Eclipse "Reflective" Infared Anti-Chop Eye
-Planet Eclipse Electronic 5-Way/3-Way
-Kapp 5-Way/3-Way Hose w/ "Top Hats"
-Karnivor Valve Assembly
-WGP Worr-Blade "Lockdown" Hammer Kit
-WGP "STO" Inline Regulator
-WGP "MP-4" Ram (2 Built-In T.R.V/Q.E.V....lightweight AND Compact)
-WGP "Tickler" LPR (Low Pressure Regulator)
-WGP Worr-Blade Bolt
-WGP "Black Magic" Pull-Pin
-Custom Products "Flamed Drop" Forward
-Custom Products On/Off w/Bleed
-WGP Pump-Rod
-WGP "Black Magic" Cocking Rod
-Dye Beaver-Tail
-Redz "Q-Lock" Clamping Feedneck
-WGP Braided-Steel Hose
-WGP 45-Degree Stainless-Steel Elbows/Fittings
-WGP "Black Magic" 2-Piece Barrel (14inch)
-Evil Pipe Barrel Kit (14inch)

www.AnarkystPaintball.com
Strengths: Provides a cool Breeze
Weaknesses: Doesn't decrease Fog
Review: I found out the hard way, that this fan was a cheap knock-off of the "JT Vortex Fan". In my opinion, it only provided my forehead with a cool breeze. However, it did not prevent my lens from fogging up. I bought this product in hopes that it would be similar to the "Vortex"....... the only similarity: they are both fans.
Conclusion: If you have a Proto mask, then I guess you may want to consider it. Personally, I wouldn't waste my money.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

reinkster Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i have never used a goggle fan before. but after this expierence i think i am going to build my own.
Marker Setup: I use a Tippmann A-5.
adjustable stock
5.5 inch or 16 inch barrel
response trigger
remote air
Strengths: Fit nice in goggle
Weaknesses: Loud!!!
Review: ok so i orderd this thing off the internet and got it today, opened the box and put the battery in. Then i turned it on and stared. I took off the cover for the battery and looked at the fan, thinking there has to be something wrong with this! i could not believe how loud it was.
Conclusion: I play scenario and the games I usually play usually have a lot of sneaky moves. I could not see this at all working in that situation. Also with the mask on I dont see how you could really understand your teamates from a distance.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media