paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan

Proto Turbine Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Turbine Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Turbine Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 3.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Switch goggle system adds the Turbine fan to its ever-growing bag of tricks. The Turbine keeps fog and perspiration away so you can deal with the real pressure on the field. It features the Turbo 9 accelerator blade that yields higher air flow volume and operates at a lower RPM, resulting in quieter operation and extended battery life. With 2-speed operation, you'll never have to lose your focus again.
Product Availability 
The Proto Turbine Fan is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
goodnsmall Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
some other stuff
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
CP 1 piece barrel
CP on/off ASA
CCM Feed Neck
68/4500 java tank
empire reloader b w/ rip drive

Java Carbon Fiber 68Tank
Halo B
Strengths: Good paper weight

Weaknesses: Noise maker
Noesnt blow out air.
doesnt fit in ur mask
Review: this thing was over all horrible. i dont know why they made this. its completely useless. first the freakin fan wudnt spin so i had to put in a piece of wood thing so it wud activate the switch. dude u can seriusly blo more air out of ur mouth more than that so called fan can blow out in a day. its so noisey it wud jst give u a complete headache. its a waste of 40 bucks. no wonder they were giving it out for free if u bought a switch f.s cause it totally sucs and no 1 wud buy it and they probably needed to empty out the inventory. it really sucs. jst do ur self a favor and buy somethin else like something that wud actually help u. if u do hav it then sell it (if u can which mite really take A WHILE) and buy a headache reliever.
Conclusion: Dont recommend this thing. Dont buy it. you're just wasting $40-$50 bucks on something that you can buy for you gun thats actually helpful.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 14th, 2006 at 10:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sleepykat Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
OMG alot!!
Marker Setup: Dm4
-Tadao Chip
-Evil On/Off
-S/W Reg.
-Hybrid Micro Drop

Tippmann A-5
-Xpansion Chamber
-JCS Trigger
-Rufus Dawg Front Bolt/Power Tube
-E-Grip
-Proto 12" and 14" barrels
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: -Doesn't work
-Loud
Review: I bought this like an idiot rather then hot swapping lenses like I usually do. When I put it in the installation was very simple. When I turned it on omfg it was loud. Not loud to other people but distracting loud. I turned it on once when I fogged up and it didn't do anything. I was playing back so I kinda chilled for a few moments and nada. Then I tried it on before I fogged and nothing, I still fogged. So you know how I solved the fogging problem, I wear a smart parts headband. It really helped alot. I don't fog anymore at all. And guess what. The fan has the same battery in it, has never been removed. I NEVER use it ever. save yourself the 30-50 and either hot swap lenses in between games or buy a head band.
Conclusion: Garbage. Honestly don't buy it buy an extra lense for 20 bucks or a headband. It doesn't work. My buddy did the same (we mirror each other with pb gear) and he agrees...Garbage.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gmt4998 Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt vortex
Strengths: It blows air into the mask
Weaknesses: It is VERY loud
The On/off switch is poorly located.
Review: I had a lovely JT vortex fan, which unfortunately died with the mask. So when shopping for a new fan/mask I saw a wonderful deal for a Proto fan/mask combo and have been regretting it ever since. The mask isn't bad, other than being uncomfortable, but the fan is bloody awful. With the fan on I can't hear my teammates yelling from 5 feet away.

Also trying to turn it on or off is difficult when one has the visor on the mask, as it pretty much covers up the on off switch.

I keep praying that the fan dies, so I can justify purchasing a new one.

Conclusion: I'd stay away from this model if I were you.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JDCocker Thursday, October 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: WGP '04 Pro Stock
CCM Front-End kit
CCM In-Line regulator
Eclipse Blade hinge frame
Worr Blade bolt
Check It Uni-Mount 2
Dye Sticky 3 grips
WGP Kaner barrel kit
Revvy w/ X-board
PMI 68/3000
Strengths: It does what its supposed to
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: Well, as everyone else has stated... this fan is LOUD. What on Earth was Proto thinking when they designed this thing? Airflow is sufficient to defog your mask, so if its a day that your mask will fog... then it better be running from the time you pull your mask down over your face. But, if you try and wait until your mask fogs... you're screwed. It won't do anything, other than sound like there's a swarm of bees in your mask.

Its not really loud enough to give away your position in a scenario, unless everything is quiet and someone is standing right next to you.

If you're playing in fast-paced games... the fan's not that bad. In closer quarters, there's enough markers going off to hide the sound.
Conclusion: I'd recommend it, just because it does what's its supposed to.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 28th, 2006 at 3:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

schecter81 Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: A-5 with flatline with proteam shroud, 48cui 3000psi Pure energy air. Collapsable CAR stock, laser sight, and red dot sight. Lapco front grip.
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: I sweat alot when I play PB. I have had my Proto Switch for a year and never really had any problems. Recently the lenses have been fogging, maybe I need a new lense. Anyway I purchased the fan hoping it would help. I just took it to a scenario game and had a chance to use it. I had to leave the fan running all the time just to keep the fog to a minimum. Once you are fogged it will not help at all. The noise really isn't as bad as everyone else says. It is definately distracting though. I payed 35 us for mine but buy the time i got it in canada it cost a cool 85 canadian. waste of money. hopefully new lenses will help.
Conclusion: Don't spend your cash, no noticable improvement.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bornhard Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT fan (much quieter! similar airflow, though JT seems to have more)
Marker Setup: Too much to type for a goggle fan review...
Strengths: Thought design was going to impress
looks solid
dye/proto has good looking gear (opinion)
Weaknesses: Cost cheap on e-bay
LOUD no joke!
5x + louder than my computer case fan!
Review: I've owned a couple JT fans for years now along with many JT masks.

I really like the Proto mask when I first saw it. Got a proto mask, cause it looked cool and is a great pair of goggles for scenario & rec ball. I needed a proto fan for fogging issue during night play, but this thing can be heard probably 20 plus feet away at night. If it had more of a thumping sound I could pretend to be a helicopter gunship flying low, coming in for an attack.

Anyway, there's a mod below....hope that makes it quieter, or I'm gonna have to trash.

I laughed when I saw a guy rig a computer fan to his goggles, but I would take that rig over the Proto Fan.

Conclusion: It works somewhat as a fan. Sound makes it bad for Air-ball and Rec-ball. You'll be heard, but unable to hear $#!+ around you! Get bunkered, or sniped with this on. Maybe worth using while walking on and off the field while goggles must remain on.

Dye/Proto...sad, very sad....product testing??

Looks cool as a paper weight though!
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 15th, 2005 at 4:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ck monkey Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
turbine dye
Marker Setup: proto matrix olive/black
dye 4500psi
empire reloder b
ultra lite
Strengths: There ist much easy to install.....
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: its loud

i found out a way to fix it and make it a littler quitter there's three nubs that push against the motor. I used a dermal tool and sanded it down a little and it stropped being so loud. I guess the motor was vibrating against the nubs, after sanding it down it was better.
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommend getting it but if you sweat allot or if you already own one sand the nubs down there's three of them.

after sanding i give it a
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pricejm Thursday, March 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: N/A
Strengths: Made to fit the mask???
Light-weight.
Weaknesses: Annoyingly loud. No air flow worth considering.
Review: Well first of all, I don't know why they would sell this item for $50. It is only worth about $15 if it worked.

After installing my own battery, I was able to turn the fan on. I was amazed at how loud the motor was. I don't believe the fan itself is what makes it loud, but the motor. It sounds like a loud electric razor. There is know real air flow coming out of the fan.

Proto's site says it is 2-speed...is off now considered a speed.

It seems to make the goggles less comfortable because my forehead was pressing against the backside of the fan. No I don't have a big forehead. I seems it should have been made thinner.
Conclusion: I is too loud to actually use. It is not worth more than $15 (if it worked right). If you can get it for free like I did, it would be worth getting because you can lol about how ridiculous the MS-RP and the acoustics of this fan are.

I have a friend who rigged up a small computer case fan running off a 9-volt. I would suggest doing the same; add a potentiometer/rheostat to give you infinite adjustablity in speed of the fan.

I gave it a 1 because it seems to be a total waste of money.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 8th, 2005 at 12:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dockman Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Vortex Fan
Marker Setup: Black ISC Phantom
-Pun Dual Rod Undercocking
-Pun speed block
-WWA Frantom 2 with SS inserts
-CCI Adjustable Stock
-CCI Drop Out Changer
-Red Dot Sights

Prolite, VM68, 3357
Strengths: Does what it was designed to do
Easy to install
Weaknesses: Really, really, really loud
Review: Man was this disappointing. Considering the quality of the mask this really fell short. Dont get me wrong, it does what it is designed to do but it is god awful loud doing so. This is by far the loudest fan I have ever heard on a mask (even though there are not many out there).

As others have said, if you play woods ball do NOT get this fan, the sound wil drown out everything going on around you. For speed ball it would be ok but I still find it distracting.
Conclusion: Save your money and spend it on something better, if it wasn't for the fact I got it free with my mask I would have sent the thing back.

Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

v555ryan Monday, March 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT fan
Marker Setup: Orracle with some stuff on it
Strengths: Great alternative to flushing money down the toilet
Weaknesses: Well, it doesnt really work
Review: Wow, i sure am glad i spent 30 on this or whatever this junk costed me. It doesnt work and it sounds like theres a swarm of bees in your ears when you turn it on. I bought this piece for woods games in the summer, when its like ultra humid over here on the east coast, represent, yeeahhh. But anyway, you cant hear or see for anything, so just glue ice cubes to your face, that works much better
Conclusion: Its a piece
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 at 4:40 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media