paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe / Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe / Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe / Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe

Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Psycho Ballistics

Buy Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The double trigger form of the "lightning" with better modifications.
Product Availability 
The Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
CockerKiller520 Wednesday, January 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-2k2 cocker
-orracle
-e-orracle
-turtle cocker
Marker Setup: **the stolen one**
Lightning w/ palmers stabilizer, 14" excel barrel, orracle ram, bomb 3way, jackhammer II lpr, worrblade bolt, worrblade hammer, madman valve, and 02 hinge frame

**the new project** (so far...)
Lightning w/ 2k2 wgp reg, bomb 3way, jackhammer II lpr, 06 hinge
Recommended
Upgrades:
3way, lpr, and you'll need an asa and reg most likely just to get it working properly

if you want it really nice, then just replace everything, the body is light
Strengths: Light, cheap, and can be very nice if you work on it a lot
Weaknesses: Needs a lot of work and hard to time w/ stock 3way
Review: -----short version------
got this marker for cheap and was not disappointed by the marker even until it was stolen from me, i loved this thing when i had it although i caught a lot of crap from people who thought that their 600+ dollar marker with the same upgrades was way better. i would really reccommend someone who wants to tinker with a cocker and upgrade like a cocker but wants to spend the money that you would on a brass eagle or spyder

-----long version-----
since as soon as i got this marker i had a great time with it, at first i was kinda upset with my choice after selling my old A-5 but then as my work on it progressed, i became more and more happy with it, it was really accurate and i was able to get it to shoot very fast but that all came with a cost. the 3-way was a split second decision to do when the marker had to be re-timed, the proshop manager spend about 2 hrs working on it, saying that as soon as he got it timed, it would somehow come out of time, he got so frustrated he just put a left over bomb 3way on for 5 bucks, the stock 'adjustable' lpr doenst really adjust from waht i can tell, the stock bolt is pretty heavy, the stock valve doesnt work that great (on my new project it just blew up while sitting there while i was adjusting the trigger sear), the stock ram over extends from what i have read, but it isnt very smooth to begin with. overall i think that the marker is very great if you are going to either
a.) be happy with the marker as is and not really touch it, use it every once and a while and not abuse it.
or
b.) use it as just a cocker body and build it up, its very light for a cocker and it has a nice design, as long as you can get it working for high r.o.f. then it wont let you down, but if you expect miracles out of the box from this maker then you clearly didnt read the pricetag on this marker
Conclusion: In comparison of this and a trilogy, i'd have to say this, trilogy's dont have many mods form what i can find and ive heard bad reviews, as someone just begining to work or use cockers, i'd say get a lightning only cuz its cheap and pretty much everyone who has a cocker mod's it, and with the lightning you wont be spending 400+ dollars plus 200 in mods when you could have found the cocker online for 85 bucks, like i did

i give it a 7 just cuz its a decent cocker, just needs work, whether youre modding it or just using it stock
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tashjian Wednesday, October 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Trilogy Pro
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Pro (Stock)
Spyder TXR W/Sniper Barrel (Stock)
VL Vigor (spare... for whoever has a marker malfunction)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Melt it down and make something useful of it
Strengths: Fired great when test fired after repair
Looks great
Weaknesses: This autococker was sent in for repair twice. Have only sucessfully fired it once.
Review: Based on other reviews, I must have gotten a lemon. Was psyched when it arrived, had a regulator put on by an expert (was sorely disappointed because I've read it's ready to play out of the box, not true), and it's worked once for me. Has been in for repair twice. This autococker worked ONCE when I test fired it, took it to the field and it malfunctioned. Called the repair facility for help, adjusted the three way valve, and it's better, but still doesn't work.
I'd almost feel bad giving this a crappy review if I'd done the work myself, but I didn't. Either this marker, or whoever worked on it, is totally inept.
Asked the parent company (Psychoballistics) for a replacement, and am awaiting a reply.
Conclusion: Great looking marker... working equipment would be a bonus.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trilogy's, the superbolt, and a few other mech cockers.
Marker Setup: B2k Bushmaster (pre 2002), with eyes installed, 50/3000 (for now), ccm feedneck, shocktech drop, shocktech on/off, dye stainless steel barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You need a reg and asa, then upgrade the 3way.
Strengths: Cheap, made of good parts (for the most part). Nicely milled.
Weaknesses: The need for more parts, difficulty to tune.
Review: I spent the past week working off and on this gun, trying to get it tuned. Today i got it tuned and working, and set to velocity, so i took it out to play with. I played a game with it, and did decent, my only complaint was that the first ball i shot busted in the barrel. I was shooting hotbox paint, which is almost impossible to break under any circumstances.

But anyway, i can really make this gun sing. It's plenty fast for a mechanical gun, 6-9bps typically.

This gun will accept upgrades just like the superbolt - very easily.

Just try to have some extra parts to put on it, like a reg and asa, because it doenst come with either.
Conclusion: Good gun. Low cost. Worth looking into.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lacka Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wgp Outkast
WGP ORRACLE
Marker Setup: WGP Outkast Sniper II
16" Two piece CP Barrel
ADCO Red Dot Sight
70ci Crossfire Hp tank
CP regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator
Barrel (stock ok)
ASA/Drop forward
HP/LP tank
E2 trigger frame
Strengths: Fast
Good parts
accurate
Looks
Price
Weaknesses: Loud!
Stock Barrel
Paint job
Review: I was skeptical when I purchased my Lightning. I had heard a lot of bad things that i found to be untrue about the gun.

I bought my lightning from 888paintball for $189 with a free halo b in september 2005. since then I have upgraded the barrel, regulator, and had the E2 trigger frame installed.

when I first used this gun at the field, it was a little inconsistent, but after a day fo shooting it broke in and averaged balls +/- 5fps. The first thing i noticed when firing this gun was the accuracy (with stock barrel on). I was shooting a wire on a fence from 20 yards consitently every shot standing up. That flawed me. the second impressive thing was that my marker camed timed in box, and i could get about 8-9 bps from the gun, which was amazing for a mech cocker. Also, another good thing about this gun was that it came with a delrin venturi bolt.

Onto the weakness category. This gun is pretty loud for a cocker, however, it does kind up imtimidation when you have a fast E-blade. the stock barrel is a 14" two piece rifle ported barrel, it is a decent barrel. I reccomend a new barrel kit for a better paint to barrel matches. lastly, the paint job on the cocker is cheap, its will scratch or wear off fairly easily.
Conclusion: Over all, this gun is kinda like buying a hyundai sonata instead of a Honda Accord.
The hyundai is loaded with extras and cheap, but people look down on it. The accord costs alot more, but comes fairly standard. But when compared side by side, the Hyundai is a better vehicle in all categorey's. However people still say "why did you buy a hyundai".

well here is my ratings
For performance i give this gun a 9
for upgradeablilty a 9
and for value a 10
Over all a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kendall_peter Monday, March 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never Used Another Autococker
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix 05 {Black/Red Highlights}
14' Freak Jr.
Dye Sticky
Custom Trigger Job
Dead On Long Drop w/ On/Off
12oz. co2 tank {Black Tank Cover}
View Loader Relolution 12v
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck
Strengths: Nice Looking
Fast
Well Working
Weaknesses: My Hopper Doesn't Fit In The Feed Neck
Review: I loved this gun since the first time i picked it up. My brother bought this gun and i have used it every day i have gone playing instead of mine. He got it for cheap on sale witch makes it even better. It is very fast for a mechanical gun and all my friends say it looks amazing. It is very quite compared to my spyder and it helps what you are down to 1 on 1 and you need to hide where you are. It stock barrel is very accurate and also helps with the noise. Overall a ver good gun for a very good price.
Conclusion: Overall I like it and I would buy one it I had the money. :(
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Inspectehp Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Prostock
Marker Setup: Lightning Deluxe Marker, Air America Black Ice Regulator, Psychoballistics Bullet Drop Forward/on-off, Crossfire 68/4500, JT Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs a reg and drop or bottomline, maybe a new barrel but the stock one is fine.
Strengths: Light, fast, very cheap, great milling, all WGP compatible.
Weaknesses: NO clamping feedneck , does not come with a reg or bottomline.
Review: This marker is unbelievable for the price. Sure out of the box it shot like crap but how can you time it without a reg? This thing is super sick and it kept up with my brothers new '05 Prostock all day. The only thing that conceivably needs changing down the road is the 3 way. I personally don't like it that much but that's a personal decision. I only wish i could put a clamping feedneck on it. Maybe I'll machine something.
Conclusion: All in all an awesome marker especially for the price. If you can pick one of these up on the cheap I definitely recommend getting it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 9th, 2006 at 4:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

p-ballerluke11 Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Pure energy regulator and drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Very accurate
Pretty fast
Looks good
Weaknesses: They don't run air through them before selling.
Kind of heavy
Review: I got this gun on the 18, my dad surprised me with it. He bought two of them and we were fighting over the silver one because we thought it looked cooler then the blue one. But i already had a red jersey and pants and he had a blue jersey so he gave in and took the blue one. Anyways onto the gun. My gun was very good! We took the regulator and drop forward out of the package. We fired blank for about twenty shots and it worked great. No leaks or anything wrong with it. We got mine timed and I used it for the first time out at a paintballing course. I felt very proud using it against the 98 tippmans! It was great though. If you are going to buy this gun You have to buy a harness. I didn't think I needed one. But you fire off more then 200 balls in one round im telling you. Trust me in not that trigger happy at all. if you fire like normal say 10 balls a second you'll run out of ammo! I ran out about 4 rounds during the whole night! I actually lost a round because of it. I was so mad!! So even if you buy a harness of three you'll be fine inless your really really trigger happy. The gun fires great I never broke a ball! I fired very accurate and all my friends just loved the gun! This gun is perfect for a novice player like me!
Conclusion: If your already into paintballing and you want an autococker this is the gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

haggarddreams Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder shutter , ans genx 4 chaos with eblade , 2k2 texas storm timmy , ion.
Marker Setup: psychoballistics lightning deluxe (blue) with bob long torpedo regulator , psychoballistics bullet drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-frame , feedneck , bolt .
Strengths: Light-weight
looks
acurracy
Weaknesses: In the review.
Review: The gun itself is a great buy. Everybody else who i seen that has had this gun has said bad things about it. They say that its a peice of junk and so on. The gun does not gome ready to play which is kinda upsetting but o well. The gun is for people who are looking to put some money into. I would require an e-frame for it , a new bolt , and a pneumatics kit. The bad thing about this gun is that you cant change the feedneck. The peace is NOT a twist in and it is cut to groove with the bolt. That is a downside b/c then you will have to sandpaper the hopper down. If you get an eframe for the gun you might want to get new internals and a new pneumatics kit.
Conclusion: Never done me any harm , The feed neck sucks , I like it not love it , could be better
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sly333332003 Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tested a prostock 04
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistic Lighning Deluxe
Evil Detonator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit
Hopper
New Pneumatics(You don't really need the but some people may)
Strengths: Sexy.
Cheap.
Really not that hard to fix
Weaknesses: Manual sucks.
Feedneck.
Review: When this baby came in the mail I was ecstatic. I had heard all of the bad reviews but I really just wanted to mess with a pneumatic. When I gassed it up it leaked everywhere. At the asa, the pneumatics, and pretty much everywhere else. I took it back inside, and since I didn't know what I was doing, started messing with various things that leaked. I tightened the 15 degree asa and i stopped leaking. After that I greased the three way. Second time the Lpr leaked, so back inside I sealed that baby up and now it works perfectly.
Conclusion: Buy it. It's sexy and functional.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nick cavalier Sunday, August 14th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp 04 vert
oddysey o3 mech
Marker Setup: wgp lpr
wgp beavertail
cp reg
phyc. balli. drop forward/on/off
12v revvi
crossfire 70/4500 stubby.
Recommended
Upgrades:
LPR!
cp regulator
new 3 way, hollow point.
new ram, sto ram would be best.
on off asa.
new grips
Strengths: Delron bolt
Smooth actuation
Good anodizing
Quality product for the money
angled asa
Weaknesses: Lpr sucks leaky
Ram wobble
3 way is reversed. read review.
Light valve spring
Review: Let me start off by saying i have been playing for 6 years and i have worked as an airsmith for the last 2 years.

I orriginaly bought this gun to screw around w/ and customize then sell. Once i got some ups into it, i kinda liked it. I will point out the good and the bad.

Good.

I only payed 110 smackers for it brand new. I alraedy had the ups around my house so I put all of them on the gun beore I even fired it. great quality for the money.

The frame is very adjustable. Trigger stop and travel, and i think its a very good addition over the slider frame. i cut the sear return spring and it alloweda greater and smoother trigger pull.

Fully autococker compatible. The o3m is not. As a matter of fact, the o3m is more spyder than autococker.

Fully customizable. Room for change.


Bad.

The lpr is the biggest concern. I cahnged it before I aired up the marker. Judging by every review on here it seems it junk. I would siggest replecing all the pnuematics.

The 3 way is designed so the lpr feeds it ar and it sifts it to recock and then seal the breach. normal right? wrong. the 3 way hoses are switched so the one closest to the front of the ram goes to the back of the ram, and the one closest to the bak of the ram goes to the front. Weird. Exact oposite of the newer cockers. the old style ones do the same. Take this into cosidereration. You might want a new 3 way. Doesent seem to be the most effective set up.

The ram wobbles. the set screw helps but I sized an o ring and unscrewed the ram and put it in between th front block and the back of the ram. Seems to help.

Cocking rod timing. I put a whole new cocking rod on cause it seemed to be not very adjustable in length. I would suggest the shocktech cocking rods.

All in all a good buy. I would not keep it stock.
Conclusion: Change the pneumatics. Change the cocking rod. Get a custom products regulator and an on/ff asymbly. Be careful which kind of pnumatic hosing you use.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media