paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Pro-Touch Grips / Smart Parts Pro-Touch Grips / Smart Parts Pro-Touch Grips / Smart Parts Pro-Touch Grips

Smart Parts Pro-Touch Grips Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Pro-Touch Grips

Paintball Grips

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Pro-Touch Grips
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $25

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Two-tone super soft grips contoured for the shooting hand. Fits .45 style grip frames.

Features

* Fits All:

* Mechanical Spyder
* Tippmann 98
* Smart Parts ION
* Smart Parts Impulse
* Smart Parts Shocker
* Indian Creek BKO
* Indian Creek B2k
* Indian Creek Freestyle
* Mechanical Cockers
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Pro-Touch Grips are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
team_xile Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye stickies, other grips
Marker Setup: 2005 Smart Parts Nerve
NDZ roller blade trigger
NDZ ported manifold
NDZ vented backplate
NDZ equalizer pro bolt
NDZ ball detents
Hybrid lady grips
Kapp on/off
Full Freak Kit
45/4500 Crossfire
Blue Diamond Empire Reloader B
2005 Smart Parts Ion
NDZ roller blade trigger
Shocktech Drop
Smart Parts on/off
Smart Parts Pro Touch Grips
Strengths: Looks, and Feel
Weaknesses: The grips are big if you have smaller hands
Review: These grips are awesome for the price. They are very comfortable, and very very nice looking. Smart Parts did good when they made these grips. I would definately recommend these grips to anybody, except people with smaller hands. These grips are a little bit on the bigger side, but thats okay too, it gives plenty of grip space.
Conclusion: Honestly, do not hesitate to buy these things, just do it. You will NOT be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matthias Saturday, August 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion and Spyder Stock Grips
Marker Setup: Ion
Strengths: Comfy
Sticky
Looks
Weaknesses: Looks
Review: I got this grip for my Ion two weeks after I got it because I did'nt like the stock grips the were slick and and hard to grip with sweaty hands. I got this one and it is easy to grip comfordable. I like the looks aside from the see through part but no ones going to care while your playing and plus if it really bugs you, you can just put a black piece of something in there to cover up, other than that its a great grip and I love it.
Conclusion: Get this grip if the see through line doesn't bother you, it doesn't bother me, considering how awesome this grip is
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 26th, 2006 at 11:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Krazyballer Wednesday, March 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye sticky grips
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, Halo B, Dye Hyper Inline 2 Reg, Crossfire 68Ci 4500psi tank, Evil Driver Barrel, Smart Parts Pro Touch Grips.
Strengths: Sticky,
Looks cool,
Comfortable
Weaknesses: None cept you can see through the grip.
Review: These grips are really nice and really good. i think their better than dye sickys my self. and their cheaper too and smart parts rules YAY. the only thing i dont like is i have an ion and tou can see right through the grip to the battery and the batter im useing is like bright yellow and it looks kinda weird. but over all these grips, i believe are the best there are.
Conclusion: Good grips buy them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AsphaltDragon Wednesday, August 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion grips
Dye Stickies
Marker Setup: Red Ion, Crossfire HPA, Red Reloader B, etc
Strengths: Stickiness
Looks
Design
Seal ( See Review )
Weaknesses: None?
Review: I bought a pair of these grips for my Ion, and when I was feeling them before putting them on, I admit I didn't feel much difference and was a little worried that they may not be an improvement. At any rate, they looked cool, and I had already paid for them, so I didn't care too much, I can be a stupid consumer every once in a while.

Turns out I was wrong, after putting them on ( having a little trouble, as they have to fit ALL 45 frames, not just mine... ) I found them to be softer and comfy. Weren't really sticky to begin with. They were designed really well, there's a spot for your thumb, the section for you bottom two fingers is really squishy, and they look hella nice on my Ion. After hefting the gun for about an hour ( helps when you have friends who like clicking ) the grips started getting kinda sticky, which is nice, because that's kinda what they were supposed to do in the first place.

Another bonus: The grips seem to have formed a seal between them and my frame, which ( although I'm not going to test ) appears to be somewhat watertight, and gives them a kind of " Part of the Gun " look, which is more than I bargained for. My gun almost has a Professional look now.

In a while I'll update this, main worry is fraying, which seemed to happen in abundace with my stock grips, making twisty little rubber stringies all over the place.

EDIT : No fraying, they're still soft and sticky, and still seal nicely. They retain their previous 10 status.
Conclusion: If you have an Ion, buy a pair, and make the kid look twice to make sure that's not a Shocker you're holding.
If not, buy a pair anyway, as long as they match up well with your gun, you won't be dissapointed.
SmartParts gets 10'D on this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 4th, 2005 at 9:29 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock spyder, cocker & ion grips.
Dye Sticky 3s.
Older Dye Stickys.
Marker Setup: SP Ion
ASP qev kit
AKA Sidewinder
CP 2-piece
CP trigger
Hybrid MSD & Grind
CP Twist Lock
Kila detents
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: Cheaper than some grips.
Weaknesses: Um, none?
Review: After my Dye Sticky 3 fiasco (see my review for that product), i went back to the stock Ion grips. But those are only so-so.

The Dye Stickys were tooo hot. But the stock grips were tooo cold. Then i tried the baby's porridge and it was juuust righ... wait a minute.

Protouch grips were what i was looking for. Not too stiff, not too soft and they fold open like regular grips, making it easier to remove the Ion's battery when i need to.
Conclusion: You don't necessarily need aftermarket grips and most people won't have my particular grip tastes. So try em out first, if you can.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rrdude Tuesday, July 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Misc Grips
Marker Setup: 1. Tippmann 98c (new Threading) w/ a lightened real bold, delrin front bolt, double trigger, 14" Werx Barrel, 12" Custom Products Classic .689 barrel, stock 7.5" .689 barrel, drop foward, GTA expansion Chamber, DOP POWER TUBE, full boar rear cocking system

2. Stock Ion (soon to get some nice stuff)

2. Soon to get a Smart Parts ION
Strengths: Very Cofterable
Weaknesses: Peels!
Review: I was very excited to get these grips...seeing as how Sp is my fav company.....great grips...they hold well and give one a extra edge when running and sliding! very easy to install (obviously) does what its sposed to do.....only problem is it starts to peel a little pretty fast...but once that first layer is off it doesnt peel any more
Conclusion: Buy em...Love em....get rid of those Band Wagon DYE products!

9 casue nothings perfect!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wiwz11 Thursday, April 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i dunno, other grips
Marker Setup: shocktech impulse, dye ultralite, SP pro touch grips, ST #1 drop, different feedneck (looks like dm4 one, and all the other crap that comes stock+68/45 pure energy&empire reloader B
Strengths: black- but still transparent, grippy (after an A-5 ill settle for anything) generally good
Weaknesses: People dis them, wings, metal thing falls off if messed with
Review: good grip, I dont know what else to say, i dont know why people gave them such bad ratings wings are bad cool see thru black stuff, i like the little metal thing, go phx suns (who cares if im from chicago), Jesus for president, only you can prevent forest fires, make a sandwich not war, looks like im past my 50 word quota... oh well lets keep going, a little lynyrd skynyrd wont hurt ya... OW, lets go overtake canada, rock on, and any other inside jokes i forgot (thats right kenny i know you see this) and etc.
Conclusion: Good grip if you get it on sale or it comes with your gun you wont need to buy a new one

i say 8.5-rounds up to nine
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

WildCard38 Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye 03 Stickies, Dye grip pannels
Marker Setup: #1 - SFT Shocker, Evil Scion 68/5000, Empire Reloader B, Nerve trigger, Turbocharge bolt, New Disignes SS manifold plate, CP regulator, Full Freak kit.

#2 - Nerve, Pure Energy HP 68/4500, Empire Reloader B, Full Freak kit.
Strengths: They look cool.
Weaknesses: Plasticy feel
Review: These grips look great on Smart Parts guns. The color choices you get with them is easy to match to the gun. If you're using gloves, you will have no problems. These grips are solid and are not as sticky as you would think. But that aside, they do the job they are made for.
Conclusion: These are good grips. You wear gloves and they work great, but if you are one that plays without gloves, I'd look for a different grip then.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dshfro Sunday, September 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye stickies and sticky 3
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
14" CMI Rifled barrel
Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop w/ on-off
Ricochet 2k hopper
Smart parts protouch grips
Strengths: Looks
Smart parts logo
Weaknesses: "Wings"
Review: I like these grips, but the sticky 3's are alot better. I got the grips cheaper than the stickies and that was the main reason I got them. They are alot better than stock grips and the original stickies, but still not that good. And they have these things that stick out the back, they really don't bother me, but you may hit your hands on them or think they look goofy.
Conclusion: Good grips, but I would save up an extra 5 bucks and get the dye's
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

miniature-art Saturday, September 18th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Impulse grips

Dye Sticky Grips 3
Marker Setup: 2004 Impulse Vision
Cricket Board
Evil Pipe kit
ND Rip Valve
ND LPR/ANS kit
Mac Dev LP gauge
Shocktech drop forward
CP on/off
CCM Low Rise feedneck
Evolution 2 hopper
68/4500 Nitrogen tank
Strengths: The Smart Parts jewel looks good
Weaknesses: Not "sticky" enough
Review: These "Pro-Touch" grips are mildly sticky compared to the hard rubber grips that come standard with Impulses. They aren't really soft, nor are they made of a gel material. The grips consits of a clear plastic frame covered by medium density rubber. I didn't feel it was any more or less comfortable then the hard rubber stock grips.

They are similar in shape to the stock grips. Disappointingly the back of the grip is not covered, and allowd the rear of the metal grip frame to dig into your hand. In addtion the grips has a flange on the top rear that does not match the counters of the Impulse grip frame!

Conclusion: I do like the look of the metal logo, and I guess that's important if you are a Smart Parts groupie. In short, the grips need to cover the back of the grip; they need to be stickier, and they should fit Smart Parts markers. Ultimately it's really not much of an "upgrade".

In comparsion, Dye's Sticky 3 grips are softer, much more comfortable, and has rubber for the rear of the grips. Save your money for those instead.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media