paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Torid X / Odyssey Torid X / Odyssey Torid X / Odyssey Torid X

Odyssey Torid X Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Torid X

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Torid X
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $269

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
TORID X FEATURES:
Low pressure | 7.2 NiMH Battery with Charger | LCD Interface | Clamping Feedneck
PB Port | Regulator | METAL Grip Frame | Odyssey Sensor System

Fire Modes: Semi | Burst | Multi | Auto
Product Availability 
The Odyssey Torid X is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
..!..('_')..!.. Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C-Not nearly as good
Trilogy Pro. Good, But has a WAY longer trigger pull
Pilot- Not as good, but close
Marker Setup: Main-Torrid X with M3 Barrel Kit, New Bolt, New Trigger, Shark Drop Forward, On/Off ASA.

1st BackUp Trilogy Pro, Pipe Kit, 50/3000, Eggy II.

2nd BackUp- 98C with Comando f/x package, 20oz tank, EggyII w/ yboard.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt, Drop, Trigger,For shure a Fast Hopper
Strengths: FAST
Nice Looking
Light
Clamping Feedneck
Weaknesses: Lot of Kick
Sometimes Bolt Sticks
Review: This is So freakin sweet. its so fast, that on Multi, which is just a Super Full Auto, it will outshoot my Eggy II, which I think The Bolt sticks. Because my hopper is too slow and the Eyes Stop the Bolt halfway through. It is real fast, and I can Get to like 13 BPS on Semi. On Multi, this thing walks. I was aiming straight, and after like 40 balls, it was up 4 feet from where I was aiming. This thing has about the nicest body of any low end marker. Another problem for some people is the price, but I got mine through a Trade, which was awesome (shiro).
Conclusion: A++ and would recomend to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shakman119 Sunday, December 4th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder fenix
Ion
Dark intimidator
Texas storm intimidator
Marker Setup: Currently:

Dust red proto
Virtue
ST clamp neck
ST On off
Lucky 15
Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
I really doubt you can save this mess, but if you want to try:

Reg.
Barrel.
New internals.
New bolt.
New eye software.


Strengths: It looks like a timmy.
It clicks fast.
Weaknesses: Eye logic.
Internals.
Reg.
Drop off.
LCD appeals to the noob in all of us.
Review: I got this gun as a backup for my shocker. Came in a cool case, with a rechargeable battery. The LCD is easy to read and modes were easy to adjust. The gun claims an uber high 20bps cap.

I air it up and take it to my testing area, running it on a halo B and an entry levle nitro system.

I set it on semi, and start to one ball, accuracy is fine. Than I let loose on the trigger and bad things start to happem.

The rope was steady for all of 3 seconds and than I got dropoff, and a few nasty chops.
I adjusted the reg, and velosity, and I still had the same problem.

After this, they eys did not function any more.

Sadly this gun had to go because of its god auful preformance, and was thankfully never used in a game
Conclusion: This timmy look alike is nothing like the real thing. Think of it as a gimikey spider that fails

please stay away

1 point for not blowing up

1 point for looking cool

1 point for LCD
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

smurff Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imagine Led
Tipp 98
tipp a-5
Marker Setup: All Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel,hopper
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: The gun is good, my friend has it i was playing with my imagine someone with an evil omen 2.0 and some other spyders..

The gun was good it was better then the evil omen and pretty much the same as mine

His gun shot more accurate but not as far my gun shot far but not as accurate....The display on the gun is really nice...
Conclusion: Compared to the omen and my gun its a good price better then omen and better then my gun stock but for the same price i upgraded mine for their equal besides the very pretty display
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Psycho_warden Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eforce Piranha
Marker Setup: Acid Black/Blue Stock Class Phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
New bolt
Maybe a new barrel
Strengths: Very fast, Eye, Low Pressure, feedneck, everything
Weaknesses: Bolt, thats it
Review: I had been playing almost entirely stock class for about a year when I decided to get a nice little semi just for those wipers at the field. So I saw this gun for about $180 brand new, so I ordered it.
The gun comes in a plastic hard case with a foam interior. The gun includes a 12 inch barrel, charger, barrel plug, assortment of orings and extra eye slips. I was very impressed with the anodizing on the gun. The red/black fade looks very smooth and the milling has a wavy yet aggressive look to it, comparable to that of an Intimidator. The feedneck is a mid rise clamping feedneck that is much like Spyder feed necks. Any Spyder Feedneck that doesn't have holes will fit. With the barrel screwed in, the gun looks like a bit longer setup, but a very short (from bottom of grip to top of feedneck) setup. The drop that comes with it is small, but keeps the tanks in a nice comfortable position.
This gun can lay some paint rather heavy. I am able to keep a constant 12-13 bps string going while the gun was entirely stock. The eyes work great as long as you keep them clean, I have even been able to pick up some rather dark shells, but try to avoid them if at all possible. I have not had any chops yet with 2 cases shot through it, a few barrel breaks here and there, but who doesn't expect that. The stock barrel is an average barrel, with porting down about half the length of the barrel. The barrel does not clean out shots too well, so a stick squeege of some sort is recommended. A new barrel kit would be recommended. The gun has several modes, although none of them are necessary, and one of the first things I did is take out the jumper, which is explained in the manuel, this allows only semi auto. The board is capable of firing 20bps although nobody could possibly get that fast without the assistance of software. There are not any grips available for the Torid that I am aware of, but the stock grips are a nice soft rubber that you can get a good grip on easily.
Although this gun is a stacked tube blow back design, it runs at a surprisingly low pressure. Mine came to me set at about 325psi, and is now at 300psi. The inline regulator that comes with the Torid X is a surprisingly good regulator. The recharge rate may not be that of any expensive regulators but it is fast enough for the needs of this gun. The consistency is also good. When I first aired up the gun and shot 10 shots across the chrono, I had a reading of +-7 fps, and now after breaking in the reg and oiling it, I get +-5fps.
The only bad that I have found on this gun is the stock bolt. As many other reviews have stated, if you do not keep the stock bolt well oiled, it will scratch up the inside of the gun. One thing that I did not notice in other reviews, is the mention of uncocking. With the stock bolt, I had a few recocking issues during long strings. The bolt would come very close to recocking, but not get back all the way, and requires you to pull it back an extra cm or so. I have since replaced the stock bolt with a ShockTech SuperFly delrin bolt and have not had the recocking issue anymore.
Conclusion: This gun is a very good gun for a very good price. It is very fast and has reliable eyes. This gun will easily compete with many of the higher end guns. Everything is good about this gun except the bolt, so therefore I do not dub it a perfect score, but one below.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lightup Sunday, September 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion-nice, but like this one better
spyders/tippmanns-the torid is way better
Marker Setup: pmi black maxx, 9 oz co2, stock hopper, dye slick lube, stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt, nitro (obviously), halo B (of course), and two decent trigger fingers
Strengths: cheap, fast, accurate, LCD screen
Weaknesses: the bolt will not cock if you shoot it too fast while using CO2
Review: Ok, now lets see where to begin. well let me start out by telling you that i'm not used to using real nice guns, but that doesn't mean that i don't have any know how. i was at my friends house to play paintball, when i first saw this gun. i noticed it looked a little like a wrath, which i had been considering, so i gave it a try. now let me tell you, i have almost no experience walking the triggers of actual guns, but i have had a fair share of practice time, walking anything from pencils to ID cards in my English 1 Honors class. i pick the gun up and turn the halo on. all my friends are laughing at me because they don't expect me to be able to get even 7bps. i put my fingers on the trigger and immediately notice the feel. the trigger fit me like a glove. i started walking it and was ripping out a string of paint at 18bps (we know this thanks to the handy speed counter)! i turned around to see every one staring at me with their mouths open. i knew at once that i would spend a few hours on the comp. looking at this when i got home. you can get this gun for only $179! that's cheaper than some crappy spyders! i am now looking for a board that will help improve its eye logic, and boost its speed.
Conclusion: If your looking for a nice gun, but don't got cash, look no further. you will have no problem keeping up with the rich spoiled kids down the street with this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

viviornitier567 Wednesday, August 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Dragun TES, ION, Spiders, Timmy, Some automags, bushmaster, Piranha
Marker Setup: Odsessy Torid X 20 bps, evil 10' 14' pipebomb, evoultion 2, 45ci 3000psi ( with empire pod cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel but honestly it isn't all to bad out of the box which is a nice hard plastic case cover it comes with stock, but the barrel I have the evil pipe helps and a delrin bolt other that that it is a good stock gun
Strengths: Gun rips like crazy 20 bps auto and the trigger is very sensitive
Weaknesses: Only weakness is the bolt buy a delrin will fix that problem
Review: what can I really say about this guy that this gun hasn't said for itself. Well first off the gun is only 217 I got it for offline which is crazy cheap for this gun. To it's advantage the gun competes easily with Timmy's Angels, Cockers, you name the gun, and most of those guns are close to a grand to buy so I will save the 800 here. I know this gun is under the category of low-end markers but all the high-end marker thing mean is that there is going to be high-end problems. I play with mostly my family and one of my cousin has 4 "high-end markers" and he spent god knows how much on them to buy but the repairs almost match the marker I kid you not. The barrel on the gun is very good for a stock barrel shoots pretty straight but if you put a evil pipe on this gun you shoot dead straight ropes. You can run this gun off of Co2 it might freeze on you but if you use Nitro you need to get a bigger drop or a small piece to put between your gun and drop, stock it is just to small. But it isn't that bad of a problem
Conclusion: My recommendation is to buy this gun if you want a gun that can compete with any marker out there, honestly I think the marker should go for more money it is so cheap that it should be up there in cost with the timmy's, it is a good gun for any rank in player or age. This is a great gun to own.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kjm123 Monday, July 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99
Smart Parts ION
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Halo B
47/3000 Tank
System X Unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
A different marker.
Strengths: Price
LCD Screen
Weaknesses: Weight
Barrel
Unable to achieve high speeds
General Unreliability
Review: I bought this gun brand new from a local paintball store. I was told that it could go up to 20 BPS and had several firing modes. I filled my tank up and seeing as how I didnt have any paint, I dryfired it for a while. This gun dryfires like a champ. I was very excited. Than, the next weekend, I put a bag or so of paint through it and found that, when I surpassed speeds of 10-12 BPS that the gun "un-cocked" so to say. I would have to recock the marker and shoot again, only to have the same results. This happens in Full-Auto also, much to my disappointment. I have since done some research and found that Odyssey seems to have cut the sears at the wrong angles, causing the bolt problem. Also, another problem that I have had w/ this gun is the regulator. I can never seem to get this gun past 240 FPS, regardless of how I adjust the velocity or input pressure.
Conclusion: This gun seems to be great, but is not worth the money.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JoshHAnzalik Friday, June 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dragun compact-dosent even compare
Marker Setup: Odyssey Torid X
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Clear Halo B w/ rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
delrin bolt
n2
fast hopper
Strengths: Looks
Gripframe
Speed
Reliability
Weight
Eyes
Weaknesses: Bolt- may cause wearing of the anno( cosmetic issue)
Other than that none
Review: The day i got my Torid X i was REALLY excited. I took it out of the case( by the way is really nice) and noticed that the gun looked really cool. I charged it and noticed that this gun could RIP. I have used it 3 times since then and no major problems with the gun. A few leaks here and there but that's it. The thing is really reliable and everything about the gun is good. I recommend this gun to EVERYONE. I GUARANTEE you will love this gun. Hope my review helps yall in deciding whether to get one or not. GET IT!!!!!!
Conclusion: I suggest this gun to anyone who wants the whole package without the price. I promise you will not be disappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Opteron_FA Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Esprit
Spyder E-99
Odyssey O3e (Very Similar except one is EP and one is Blowback)
Marker Setup: Odyssey Troid X (Stock)
Crossfire 47ci 3000psi
Evolution 2 Y-Board
Stock Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Derlin Bolt
Fast Hopper (Recommend Evolution 2)
1. Because you really won't need a Halo because it's a blowback and won't be able to achieve such high rates of fire.
2. It makes your gun look so sexy with the Evolution 2 (LOL)
Strengths: Unique!
Luxury!
Trigger Frame!
Best Blowback out there!
Best stock Barrel!
Weaknesses: It's too damn SEXY!
Review: Well the day I recieved the gun, it came in a nice Black Case (my new gun case, yes it's that good). When I opened the box... You won't believe the beauty in this gun! Anyways, I gased up the gun and did some tests as I do to all my guns.

(NOTE: Tests were done with ZAP Rec Series Paintballs and a Stock Torid X with 47ci 3000psi)
Test: (Yes I took time to measure results to give a proper test)
- 75ft, 83 Degrees, Texas Weather 1ft by 1ft box, Full Hopper
- All balls landed on top of each other to about 5 inches apart

I was really impressed with these results coming from a Stock Barrel and a Blowback gun.

I was also really impressed with all the luxury coming from this gun, Boucebeam eyes (always kept up and never chopped), the Backlit LCD screen (very cool!) multi-mode (Semi-Auto, Ball, Full-Auto, many other MISC. options). All for under $200 Dollars, talk about bang for your buck!
Conclusion: I would really recommend this gun to Beginners to Amatures looking for an all-purpose gun that has the accuracy and speed to compete against all the others while not hitting the bank.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

torid05 Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ion, spyder fenix, impulse
Marker Setup: torid x, evolution egg, and compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a electronic hopper ( a gravity can't keep up), could use a new bolt
Strengths: Speed! Fairly Accurate, Good Electronic Features, Awsome Look, Eyes! Light Weight
Weaknesses: Bolt, the only weakness!
Review: This is a very good gun, especially for the price! This gun is fairly cheap considering the results and can keep up with 1,000 dollar guns! On the lcd display you can set the burst, the limit on semi and auto, it also has a timer, shot counter, and rate of fire so you can see how fast you are shooting. The eyes work great. The only problem i can see with the gun is that the bolt doesn't cock back all the way sometimes, which can get very annoying when playing in a game.
Conclusion: Great gun for the price! period. I would get it definitly if I were you and then possibly upgrading the stock bolt on it. Once you do that you will be set. Get the gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media