paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Real Action Paintball RAP4 / Real Action Paintball RAP4 / Real Action Paintball RAP4 / Real Action Paintball RAP4

Real Action Paintball RAP4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Real Action Paintball

Buy Real Action Paintball RAP4

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Real Action Paintball RAP4
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 6.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $499

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first real action paintball marker that is identical to the legendary M4 rifle used by SWAT Teams and the U.S. Military. The RAP4 shoots 40 or 43 caliber paintballs wrapped in metal or plastic shells. The RAP4 automatically ejects the

shells in rapid-fire succession just like a real M4 rifle. There are two types of ammunition: metal-shelled and plastic-shelled (for environment protection the plastic shells are biodegradable ).

Although the RAP4 is an automatic paintball marker, it only uses 1.5 joule to launch a 0.029 oz. projectile a distance of 33 meters. With this power, the RAP4 can be fired 50 times with only 0.4 oz of CO2. RAP4's Co2 cylinder is ingeniously hidden inside the butt stock. The RAP4 is a marvel of engineering!

The world's first paintball marker designed like a real assault rifle. Features include:


Adjustable for semi or fully automatic fire

Shell casing ejected after each shot.

Clip fed 20 rounds magazine.

Low pressure or steady pressure launch
Gas exhaust through flash hider-type muzzle
Low gas consumption
Can be fully submerged in water without harm.
Velocity 250 to 450 fps (adjustable)
Simple to operate & easy to maintain

The RAP4 allows you to enjoy War Games like never before! It looks and feels like a REAL M4 military assault rifle. Casings are ejected out the side in rapid-fire succession just like a real M4 rifle! Safely experience the excitement and heroism of real war combat! This is as REAL as it gets!

Unlike traditional paintball markers that rely on gravity and a hopper for reloading, The RAP4 loads through a bottom-mounted magazine just like a real M4 rifle! This gives users an incredibly "realistic" feeling for War Games and SWAT simulations.

Due to these many outstanding features, the RAP4 is undeniably the best non-lethal assault rifle in the world today. Many branches of the U.S. military and local law enforcement use the RAP4 in their training camps and simulations. The RAP4 is a 1000 times better than a cheap aluminum marker because it is designed and built exactly like a real M4 assault rifle. This makes RAP4 the PERFECT marker for military training, SWAT simulations, and competitive War Games. Best of all,

the RAP4 is extremely safe, highly affordable, and more fun and excitement than anything you've ever experienced

Product Availability 
The Real Action Paintball RAP4 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
IntruderPTY Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipman pumps, tipman custom 98, typman A5, spyder classic, spyder Aggresor, angel, Cocker, and some others i cant remember their names...
Marker Setup: RAP4 LE, no accesories yet
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything and M4 can carry and you like (Rails for flash lights and laser pointers are on my xmas list)
Strengths: Realism, water submergible, REALISM, no hopper, REALISM,
Weaknesses: Single dealer, not acceptable on regular (hard headed) fields, no open availability of paintball size.
Review: I recieved very exited about it, i opened and tested, taked more time to be "ready", more discipline, needed to "prepare" the mags, i could quicly attach a 9oz tank, and starte shooting... it put holes in cardboard boxes (computer motherboard boxes) at 30 feet, very very accurate (2 inch grouping), the "cases dropping" felt really cool (and caused quite and impression on real play), but i suggest you get a case holder to save some money. Fps regulation its different, and that will cause troubles in some fields (did i mention hard headed?), but its safer than .68, lacks the same LONG distance, but its quite comparable with tippman A5. Magazine can be taken out one put it without lossing some/all paintballs
I read several bad reviews on RAP4, but seem the RAP4 LE had fixed most of them.
I had my orange tip painted with car paint... hated that...
Conclusion: If scenario and realism as it can get its your thing, then THIS is the gun for ya. NOT a speedball gun, lack the ammo capabilities and range. Not perfect, manufacturer can still fix some issues, like magz loosing balls when unloaded not empty.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

phecri902 Sunday, October 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: Great for milsim, no hopper hits, very durable, will last long time if maintained.
Weaknesses: Requires frequent maitenance, not for the impatient, small magazine can be a deterrent.
Review: I've been using this marker for over a year, so I think it's time I posted a review. The first thing to remember is that these markers require constant attention. They must be stripped and cleaned frequently, I would suggest before every game. They will not appeal to everyone, and you must think carefully before you buy one of these. It really depends on what you are looking for in the market.
These markers are magazine fed via a 20 round, spring-fed detachable magazine. The .40 or .43 paintballs are loaded into small shell casings, which are available in a biodegradable plastic or metal alloy. Shell catchers are available to recycle your shells.
CO2 tank is smaller than normal, and fits inside the buttstock. The marker has a very efficient gas consumption, and a 45 gram tank (about 1.5 ounces) will give you about 140 shots (7 magazines, which is a lot.) The tanks provided are standard threeads, so you can also use a remote line, or remove the buttstock and use a standard CO2 tank. These markers are also adaptable for Nitro and HPA, but I have not personally used these in this marker.
There are two main versions available, the RAP4 and the RAP4 LE. The LE uses higher quality parts, and the CO2 efficiency increases a LOT when using the new parts. Higher pressure from the new system allows very high velicity, from 350 to 450 FPS. Since the paintballs are of smaller mass than .68 caliber, they can be safely fired at these higher speeds without any greater risk of injury. This is great for people who play in backyards, or for Law Enforcement/military training groups; However, if you play at chrono of 300 or less, the standard RAP4 will meet chrono, so it would be a wiser purchase.
Accuracy depends on the version you purchase. The LE version gets direct shot accuracy of around 1" groupings at 75+ feet, whereas the standard version gets about 6" groupings at 65 feet, due to the lesser velocity.
The best paint available can only be purchased form one of the leading distributors, www.rap4.com. If your field has a field paint only rule, try asking the field owner if it's possible for the shop to order it for you. That's what I'm doing now, so the paint isn't an issue. However, if you can't get the paint for the place you intend to play at, then this isn't worth your money at all. Get something you can use.
The parts are metal, and the outer housing is mostly anodized aluminum, so this thing can take a real beating. Since it's all mechanical, this marker can even be sumberged without damage. There is also an airsoft conversion kit, so these markers are incredible for airsoft play, since they can literally go anywhere. The paint can't go underwater without damage, but the marker will perform well in the rain, since the paint is kept in the chamber until firing.
Simply put, this marker is ideal for someone looking for flexibility. The options available for use are staggering (CO2, HPA, Nitro, stock, no stock, remote line, airsoft, paintball, tactical training). However, you MUST be willing to spend a lot of time on this marker, it is HIGH MAITENANCE. But since it is mechanical, it's not that hard to figure out. For help when maintaining the marker, you cam always visit the forums at www.rap4.com. The people who have been on that forum a long time can give you a lot of help if you run into a problem not covered in the manual (which isn't that great.) Remember, these markers are made in Asia. RAP4 is just a distributor. They don't manufacture them. So don't go pointing fingers at the wroing people if the marker isn't what you expected.
Conclusion: This product requires a lot of time and is a great learning experience if you have the patience. If you want soemthing that doesn't require a lot of attention, then you should find something else. These aren't for everyone. But if you have the time to sink into this thing, it'll serve you very well for a long time.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

stormoffires Friday, August 26th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tipman A-5, and a few auto-cockers
Marker Setup: Rap4 LE with 6x 20 round mags, 1x mag clinch, 1x 45g Co2 tank, 2x 60g Co2 Tank, 500+ shells, Barrel cover, and shell catcher
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything it currently has, maybe more mags, deffiently get a shell catcher! and more air tanks ;)
Strengths: Good solid marker, reliable no ball breaks ever! (endless your fps is way to high)
Weaknesses: Two rounds fall out when clip is removed before its empty.
Review: This is a GREAT! marker! truely impressed! just sad that you have to fill each clip after each use. I recomend you get the Rap4 LE and not the Rap4, even if its .43 cal paint it will rock the world with its 1:1 scale with the real standered issue M4 and it weights the same! Its defiently a great gun never had a ball break, better then A-5, and some auto-cockers and its just stinking cool!
Conclusion: Get the Rap4 LE if you want best performance and Realism!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Forgotten4Ever Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty Much Every Scenario Gun There Is....
(TIppmanns, Airsoft, ATS, RAMs, & Some Spyders)
Marker Setup: RAP RAM-4 LE A1, 5 Magazines, 1 45g Cylinder, 1 60g Cylinder, Tactical Sling, Commando Birdcage Muzzle, Shell Catcher.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Do Not Get Anything Below The LE Versions!!!
Your Marker Comes Stock With A 45g Cylinder, Get A 60g To Be Safe!!!
Get 5-10 Clips, 5 Is Fine, Just Be Conservative!!!
Buy A Shell Catcher, It Saves Money And Hastle!!!
Strengths: Some Accuracy
Very Compact
Clip Fed
Select Fire
CO2 Powered
Shells!
Weaknesses: Poor Build
.43 Cal. Ammo
Expensive
Low Range
Again, Poor Build
Review: Ok, The Marker Is Full Metal, Very Durable, Very Stable. Shoots Straight And Dead-On At About 50 Feet Max. You'll Hardly Use Auto In An Open Field Skirmish, But When Your Team Is Contorolling Over 60% of The Field, And You Need To Get Up On The Enemy, The Auto Is There For You. The Forward Asist, Bolt Release And Cocking Handle Don't Actually Do Anything (The Handle Opens The Ejection Port For Shell Release) But They All Move Stable. The Rifle Weighs Almost As Much As The Real One When Fully loaded, So Mil-Sim Is Somewhat True To Life. And The Shells Are Very Cool When Playing In A Place Where You Dont Have To Collect Them, Or you just have alot of them. The Paintball Break A Little Tuffer, But Work Well Enough In CQB. Been Using My RAP4 LE For About 2 Months And Have Had Several Problems of Velocity Adjustment And Accuracy, The Gun Is Not An Open-Field Skirmish Gun! Use Only For CQB!
Conclusion: This Is A Good In-Door Training Gun, But Complicated Core Breakdown, Not That You Need To Do It. Not Very Reliable As The Mags Release Ammo Un-Willingly And Somtimes It Will Misfire And You Need To Tild The Upper Receiver To Adjust A Little Pin. Better Than E-Markers And More Compact Than Most PB Guns. Only Get It As A CQB Primary, I Must Stress This!
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 14th, 2005 at 2:57 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

fox4 Sunday, March 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C, A5, Spyders
Marker Setup: Rap4 LE, 12 magazines
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, Do not purchase this marker, use your money on something slightly less cool looking but actually will shoot well and provide you with a fun paintball experience.
Strengths: Looks great- that's it.
Weaknesses: Poor quality, expensive paintball/shell combo, expensive magazines
Review: This gun is absolutely the most realistic thing you can purchase and is undoubtedly the reason some people are duped into purchasing it. The marker itself is about $450, but by the time you buy enough gas canisters and magazines to bring 200 rounds into a battle you will easily have $1000 into it. Save your money and purchase something a bit less real looking but actually practical.

The smaller caliber paintballs are only available from one source, are useless in woods ball, and are far too cumbersome to use. The ball must first be loaded into a shell, then placed into a magazine one by one. You can only fit 20 in a magazine and if you remove the magazine before it is empty 4 rounds fall out of it wasted.

The effective range of this caliber paintball is not even close to a .68 caliber. It's muzzle energy is almost half that of a .68, so there is no way you can penetrate any kind of brush. This is not a function of the gun, but the shear physics of a smaller paintball. Don't believe the hype on the manufacturer's website. The paint also seems quite brittle as barrel breaks were common.

I was under the impression that the quality and durability would be similar to an actual AR15. Not even close.... this is a cheap made in China knock off. It feeds the rounds into the gun very fast and the shells getting ejected are very realistic, but the whole thing is so complicated that we had a malfunction the first time out. The second time out, some of the thin aluminum frame broke.

The manufacturer only gives you 7 days to return the gun for a refund... I know why now- they would get almost every one back if they really stood behind this product.



Conclusion: Do not believe the great videos and text on the website. This might be OK for a military or police dept. that wants to look real cool, but for anyone that wants to enjoy the sport of paintball this will be a complete waste of their money.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

Atm8827 Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon E, Black Dragun, Tippmans (all kinds), Autococker, Angel
Marker Setup: Rap4, Bilevel mount, Red dot scope, Laser Sight, Shell Catcher, Fake Silencer, basically all the goodies
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, you really don't need anything else but the shell catcher, i put everything else on for looks. You want the shell catcher so you don't have to pick up all the shells.
Strengths: Most realistic, same accuracy and range as all other guns (LE version)
Weaknesses: Make sure you get a shell catcher, they are a pain to pick up
Review: Good points- Shoots the same as all other markers eventhough it is a .43 caliber, Its insanely accurate and fast. SUPER realistic, i have handled the real m4, and the only difference is it shoots paintballs, if someone just walked up to it and saw it, they would have no idea that it wasn't a real gun. The thing i love most about this gun is the clips, I've used all other kinds of paintball guns, everything from tippman to angels, and thats all fun and stuff, but i got sick of it. So I decided to go into milsim. I tried the at4, it was extremely expensive, not worth the money, it was a great gun but just not worth it. The Tippman A5 is also a great gun, but doesn't use a clip. So for being realistic it IS the closest thing to it. I also love the air tanks, they are small and with a 1.4 ounce i can get about 120 shots off of it. I wonder how many shots i could get if i used a remote line with nitro, i might try it. Just make sure that when you buy this gun, you buy the paint in the bottles, it is slightly larger and doesn't break like the kind that comes with the gun.


Weakness- Well, i got this gun from a guy on ebay, and from the very moment i had problems with it. I think the guy accidently did something to the gun and messed it up, so i ordered another one and got it in and it works great now. But with the first one, it chopped balls, air leaked, everything that could go wrong with the gun did. But the new one works great now.
Conclusion: Overall, this is the most realistic paintball gun i have ever used, probably why the military and police train with it. I highly recommend this gun if you are getting into milsim, just don't use it on an airfield, u'll get slaughtered (i've tried it, managed to get about 4 people out of a total of 5 games. This gun is excellent, highly durable, realistic, and accurate, just make sure you get the good paint. The only thing i didn't like about it, was that when something was wrong with the first gun i had, it was a pain in the ass to fix.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

SonicNox Saturday, December 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing like this
Marker Setup: Im currently in the market.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have no idea
Strengths: Looks real
Feeds through magazines
Weaknesses: Uses tiny lil paintballs
Parts brake (magazines)
Not allowed on most fields
Review: Ok when I first pick up this marker I thought it was pretty kool b/c it looks so real and feeds through magazines. I went to put some paintballs in it and guess what? They wouldn't FIT!... I asked the person wtf was wrong with his marker and he just laughed and handed me a bag of these tiny lil paintballs about the size of reinforcements (you know the kind you use on paper). So i was like "ok..." and filled up the magazine with them. I set it up and fired a few shots. The paintballs were tiny so you wouldn't even see them when they left the barrel. I walked around were I shot them and found a tiny paintball mark on a tree bout 25 yards down. I can tell you one thing those lil paintballs are FAST! Seriously, don't get hit by one cuz they STING. I cant believe our field actually let him use this marker. This marke is a lil but heavy to but not that bad but not good for any type of speed ball.

Even though it looks real and kool this is the kinda thing that gets paintball banned or give it a bad name. By companies making real looking semi-auto markers that look EXACTLY like a real gun. What would happen if you were walking home carrying this thing and a cop drove by?? You would land you ass in jail thats what. Im not saying its a bad idea to have one just don't go walking around home with what appears to be a M16 in your hand. Keep it in a carrying case.

Now about the paintballs. Apparently the only way to get them is by ordering them off the companies site that made the marker (Real Action Paintball). Therefore, if you wanted to have a game you would have to wait about a week before you could use it or even test it out if you just got it. Just make sure you stock up on them so you wont run out when you need them.

Thats about it. The maker is $500 so you could easily get a high end semi-out or mechanical maker but hey its your choice.
Conclusion: If you want a real looking marker than go right ahead but if you looking for speed, reliability, durability and a overall better marker get something different.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 18th, 2004 at 12:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dustinlowery Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98 custom sniper kit
Marker Setup: RAP4 with an A2 barrel

Spyder TLX with a 12inch hamerhead barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Customize it to your desire, get more magazines and a 60gram tank.
Strengths: More accurate then most paintball guns, very realistic, upgradable.
Weaknesses: The cost and .43 caliber paint is hard to find and so are the casings.
Review: I first picked it up it felt sweet, very realastic like a M4/C8 i liked the fact u had to change mags and shells came out and you should use the sites i only used goggles not full mask becuz i wa sonly with 3 other guys who had the same gun and they arent as bad as a .68 when the hit you in the head. Absolutely amazing for scenario play, get it if you want realism and tell your friends to.
Conclusion: Amazing gun for scenario play get it if you want realism and tell your friends to get it also.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Fearthesheep Friday, November 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Ariakon Sim-4
Armotech WG-365
tournament markers don't compare
Marker Setup: MacDev Sonic
70/45 CF Nitro
rail on/off
empire reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
60g tank
preference things
Strengths: Very Realistic
Good for Mil-Sim
Weaknesses: Not a tournament marker
.43/.40 cal
Review: my friends and i used a few of these for some mil-sim scenario fun as a break after a tourny, and they were awesome. Extremely realistic, i am personally rather interested and have much experience with real weapons, such as the m4 and i do not believe that the real weapon image shold mix with tourny paintball, but if that's what you're into, this rocks. it loads fast, shoots fast enough, the barrel matches well, and it feels very sturdy in your hand. the bad thing is that .43 paint does not exist outside rap dealers.
Conclusion: I'd say get it if you're into scenario and mil-sim.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

GUNFIGHTER9 Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: RAM, Red Dot Site, .43 barrel, Two mags, mag cinch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't buy one get an AT-4
Strengths: The RAM is an extremely realistic Marker, is select fire, and runs off magazines.
Weaknesses: Poor quality, magazines not reliable, not allowed on most organized fields, limited selection of paint
Review: On initially receiving the RAM, I was impressed by the overall realism of it. If it was not for the brass ring on the CO2 tank and the orange muzzle it would be an exact copy. Unfortunately that is where the markers pro's stop. First off upon taking it out of the box, I noticed that the barrel was very loose and required quite a bit of disassembly to tighten. Next I inspected the magazines, and found that one of them broke after only being wound a couple of times. The magazines have a spring that is coiled around a guide wire that is made up of what appears to be thick fishing line. This line snapped in two, which makes the magazine useless. I was going to test range and accuracy, but I was shipped the wrong barrel, by the dealer RAP4.COM. Attempting to dry fire the marker was problematic at best. It would either not fire, or fire continuously, and no amount of adjustment seemed to rectify the problem. I contacted the dealer about fixing the barrel issue and was told to ship it back to them at my expense. Additionally the paint I did receive seemed to be brittle and of low quality since I had numerous breaks when I opened the boxes they were in.
Conclusion: Overall the RAM is a great looking marker, but looks don't eliminate the other team. Its appearance is hampered by a lack of performance, and quality. Service by the dealers is also a big issue, and very lacking. The magazines are frail, and are heavy even when empty. Their low capacity of 20 rounds will create the need to carry a large number of them to maintain any sort of long term play. Though I did not get to range test mine, other reviews from the RAP4.COM forum run rampant with players being able to hit out to only 40 or 50 feet with any accuracy. The .43 and .40 caliber paint these markers run on is not accepted at most fields, and must be purchased at the dealer, so buy in bulk or you'll be waiting a week to go play while your paint is shipped to you. Since what attracts people to the ram is the lack of a hopper I would suggest getting a AT-4 which also runs off magazines. I would suggest this only if you want an expensive tinker toy.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 27th, 2007 at 10:07 pm PST
I found this review  
46 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media