paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / RPS Menace Paintballs / RPS Menace Paintballs / RPS Menace Paintballs

RPS Menace Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount RPS

Buy RPS Menace Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


RPS Menace Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 30
Average Rating: 5.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
RP Scherer's generic, value oriented, paintball. This paint used to be called Big Ball.
Product Availability 
The RPS Menace Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Radioman Tuesday, November 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap "Spank & Tork"
PMI "Premium"
Marker Setup: 04 Cocker w/ Kaner Barrel System.
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything but stock.
Strengths: Well at least they are round in shape. They do shoot out of your barrel.
Weaknesses: Very low quality Paintballs.
Review: Ok, they are cheap but that's it. They are not very accurate at all. I used a Spyder Xtra with an ACI zero Gravity barrel and they shot the same as when I switched to my 04 Cocker and a Kaner Barrel system (Which is one of the best you can buy!). I switched to another brand of much higher quality paint. And it was the difference between night and day. "DON'T BUY THIS PAINT",
Conclusion: If someone offers you this paint run away, far away.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdolla Thursday, November 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Big Ball, Evil, cheap generic paint, and probably a few other kinds I don't remember
Marker Setup: 2001 cocker w/ ups
Recommended
Barrels:
ummm............
can't say that I can really know how to make this stuff shoot straight
Strengths: Cheaper than most
Seems like good cold weather paint
Weaknesses: Misformed
Dimpled
Good luck with getting them to break on anything
Review: I have two experiences with this paint, and therein lies my review.

I was reffing at the local field, and a guy with an Orracle was there. He said that his accuracy was horrible. I thought that was kind of weird, considering his gun. I shot it, and sure enough, paint was flying everywhere. We checked for a barrel break, and the barrel was perfectly clean. We inspected the paint. Almost every ball was dimpled, misformed, and complete and total crap. He had just bought it. The field owner gave him Evil to replace the misformed paint, and his accuracy was ball on ball.

I played a few weekends later, and I had a bag of this paint. For the heck of it, I did a drop test. It bounced on the floor three times, and didn't break. I did the same thing four more times, without a break. It was forty degrees outside. It didn't break until I got pissed and threw it down really hard. My teammate shot this out of his BKO. In a one on one, I watched the paint from his barrel fly all over the place. I ran out of paint, right as he landed one on my shoulder. I yelled "Hit" and checked my shoulder. No break. And once again, the paint was misformed, with multiple dimples.
Conclusion: For 50 a case, I'd hope for some performance, but I got nothing.

If you want to screw someone over, buy them this. Otherwise, stay the heck away.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

r2cool540 Thursday, November 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a little of everything
Marker Setup: 03 vision shocker with nerve software, full freak, he bolt, check it feed neck, halo b with victory, nasty-x trigger
Recommended
Barrels:
nothing
Strengths: None, this stuff is terrible
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: I went to my local field to play and when i opened the case which i bought for 45 bucks which I though wasn't bad but when I opened it I noticed that 4 of 5 of the ball were dimpled so I went and exchanged for another case and it was the same, so I decided that I would play with it and I was using the 687 freak insert and I started shooting and none of them flew true Ihad to basically bunker someone or wait on them to try to bunker me to hit them this paint is terrible Iwould save the money and buy better paint I hope that this helps
Conclusion: Do not buy this paint...... read the review
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punisher32 Monday, November 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bleak streak
heavy metal
Marker Setup: E99 avant,Cp barrel,halo b,Nitro tank,spyder xtra bolt, lapco feed neck
04 Vertical Autocoker, Dye sticky grip, Pump conversion kit, 50 round mini hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
I can shoot them through my cp one piece(.689)if do not slope my gun down.
Strengths: None what so ever
Weaknesses: Very undersized, not round, cheap fill, never breaks on target(only in gun)
Review: This paint stinks(literally). But besides that, it is really cheap quality.for one thing, it is very undersized,, my friend used his freak kit to see how small the paint was, he was using the .679 insert and that was barly small enough. I said that i can shoot it thought my Cp, that is if i do not point my gun down or else, the ball just rolls out. I also have an autococker pump. I tried shooting this paint with it and i couldnt. I shot about 4 balls out of 40 including five breaks.The balls were so small that they always loaded in groups of two, they would always roll out. and i wasnot even aiming my gun down that much. I was geting shot from three different directions and i was snap shooting and praying that a ball would go air borne, but all that happened was that i got bunkered and i was left with a pile of paint on the ground and in my barrel. In the 4 shots that i did take, the paint was not accurate. And this is because aside from it being small, these paintballs are not round. this paint sucks!! Might as well just put rocks in your gun and try to shoot that.
Conclusion: Do not buy, I thought that i had a bad batch, but i bought two cases at different times at different locations and guess what, they both suck, You can buy bluestreak that is way better than this(Not to say that bluestreak is good, just better that Menace)
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FirstAgentSmith Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Evil
Zap
Draxxus
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Imagine
Green 32 degress shark drop forward
J&J Cermic 14 in. Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
Doesnt really matter
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Most were dimpled, several broke in bag Bad Accuracy
Review: I got these for my birthday and all i can say is that they were pure crap. Upon openning the first bag i noticed that about 4/5 of the balls were dimpled and as i said above several balls broke in each bag and they had really bad accuracy.
Conclusion: Stay away from these they have bad accuracy and made crappily.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

titus55 Sunday, October 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
any pmi rps paint
Marker Setup: Black Tippmann 98 custom, red cp 14'' classic, clear Halo TSA LED, Psycho Ballistics on/off drop forward, trigger modifications, polished internals
Recommended
Barrels:
anytyhing medium bore. i myself am using a cp one piece .689 bore. 14 inch
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: -Strengths- I used these for the first time today. they were pretty nice. they shot straight and were hitting right to where i was aiming. not easy to wipe. i found that out the hard way after a game trying to clean up for the next one. broke on contact with target. kinda froze on the way home. i was shootin a bottle and they wouldnt break.

-Weaknesses- When i was filling my pods, i found quite a few that were extremely dimpled. had to throw them out of course. not really sure i had any other problems...ill edit when i remember them.
Conclusion: Not bad paint. not really much i can say. decent for field paint but the dimpling problem made me mad. oh well. it gets an 8 cause i had almost a 100 with dimples.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DM4Balla Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Rec-Sport, Tomahawk field paint
Marker Setup: DM4
Recommended
Barrels:
Evil Pipe
Strengths: -Great Price
-No Oil at all
Weaknesses: No key weaknesses found only the
Review: It's the cheapest paint in the RPS range, ideal for cheap training paint, do not expect quality found in midevil/evil .

Compared hem with the rec-sport or the tomahawk, the menace are way better .Same breaks, but no oil or broken paint in the bags involed.

If you buy them make sure you use the correct bore size and you won't have any problems, it worked fine with me :-)
Conclusion: I found no problems with menace, as i said the price is right for what you're getting
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MonkeyM Saturday, September 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A lot of other paint
Marker Setup: 2k3 cocker
Strengths: I wish there were some.
Weaknesses: Uneven shell, many cases came in the form of soup.
Review: This stuff is a step down from what it used to be, Big Ball, and to be honest its not worth the money, I work at a local field and we were shipped this stuff and every case(80 cases) was bad. So we sent it back and they sent us a new skit of paint, and assured us that it was good paint, IT WAS BAD!!!!! So now we're going back to using Premium. If you do find yourself using this junk, use it when you're chronoing, not when your playing.

Keep in mind this paint could be good in other instances, but this is MY review.
Conclusion: Don't buy it.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hekrill Friday, September 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
most paint
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Imagine, 20 oz. PMI, Viewloader eVLution II Y Board, New Designz Low-Rise Clamping Feed, 14 " 32 degrees Carbon Fiber Barrel, removed sight,removed venturi,some others coming soon.
Recommended
Barrels:
medium bore
Strengths: Break well, good thick fill, RPS
Weaknesses: pink(not usable someplaces) green(ok) Black(????)
Review: Bayou Dragon uses this as field paint along with pmi premiums. Menace is much better. these fly straight and break well. They have hi visibiltiy shells, but the fills (BLACK!!???)can be questioned. i know the pink is fine though,greens ok.i went through a few (1k) with no breaks.
Conclusion: Unless they have allstars or marbs at the same price, buy some.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 20th, 2005 at 8:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Not Two Tuesday, September 14th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson Nel-splat (better $40/case)
Marbs (better $60/case)
Marker Setup: 2003 Impulse w/ Vision
Evil Driver
Recommended
Barrels:
Evil Driver (which is has a .689 bore)
Spyder TL+ stock barrel (that my friend was using)
Strengths: None at all.
Weaknesses: MANY bounces
Plastic packaging has vents, exposed to air
Painful since they don't break
Review: I bought this paint because field paint is required at Hollywood Sports Park (HSP) in CA and this paint is the cheapest one there which sells for $50/case. I'm new to this sport but I've read that paintballs should be stored in bags that protect against humidity. The Nel-Splat and Marb cases I bought seemed to do this just fine. But these balls are packaged in bags that have holes in them! Soft shell, non-brittle feel to them. Drop them from 10ft and I doubt any will break.

I experienced many bounces thoughout the day as both a shooter and a target. About half of the hits to my body did not break. The only shots that broke consistently were those on my mask. My friend had the same experience. The most frustrating part was when I hit 2 ppl from about 50ft away with a ref standing about 10ft from them. The ref checked em and then shouts to me "they're ok". Apparently the balls didn't break cause I definitely hit them. Sure enough, the same 2 ppl ended up taking out me and my friend later on.

At the end of the day I had a bag of 500 remaining in the trunk of my car and these balls were all stuck together. The ones near the bottom of the bag were all squished and now useless. Granted, it was hot in the car but I also had a case of house paint (that I bought for $35) from Paintballaz, a local shop, that was also in the car that retained their roundness and did not stick together and get squished like the Menace balls did.

Finally, because of the soft shell, the balls don't stay round which results in HORRIBLE accuracy.
Conclusion: Do youself a favor and STAY AWAY, FAR AWAY from this paint. If you are playing at HSP then I would definitely pay the extra money for the other paint options. Hopefully this review will save you from a bad experience.

If 5 is average, then I am giving this a 1 for being way below average. And add another generous 1 point since it kept me in the game longer by bouncing off me when the opponent was using it...for a total rating of 2.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 14th, 2004 at 5:06 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media