paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS

Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 104
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $370

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ALL NEW SPYDER FEATURES: CAMD 2nd Generation (Color Accesss Mode Display), Sensi-Touch Straight Trigger with Multi-Adjustment Points For Enhanced Rapid Firing, ACS (Anti-Chop System) Venturi Bolt, Reactive Response Trigger, Up to 20 Shots/Second. FEATURES: Semi, 3 round Burst, 6 Round Burst, and Full Auto Firing Modes, Special ACS Edition Body Engraving With Matte Finish Anodizing, Double Ball Detent, 2 Piece 12" Tournament Grade Barrel, Regulator with Guage, New In-Line Expansion Chamber with Fore Grip, Anti Double Feed, Tournament Lock Switch, Top Cocking Bolt, Vertical Ball Feed, Deluxe Drop Forward, Adjustable Trigger Pull, Aluminum 2 Finger Trigger with Illuminated Safety, Low Pressure Chamber, Bottom Line Set Up with Stainless Steel Hose, Tournament Velocity Adjuster, Quick Release Pin, Adjustable Rate of Fire, External Recharge Port, Battery Power Indicator, Operates on Co2 or Compressed Air. INCLUDED WITH MARKER: Java 9.6 Volt Rechargeable Battery (Recharge Up To 700 Times), Battery Charger, and Spare Parts.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
pir8aaron Wednesday, April 24th, 2013
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom VSC - occluded eye gunsight
Tippmann A5 - E-Grip
Spyder Fenix ACS - 14" JJ ceramic barrel
Daisy Wrist Rocket - custom oversized pouch
Recommended
Upgrades:
First and foremost, upgrade the barrel. The stock barrel is, as most are, pretty shabby. Get a nice, lengthy ceramic barrel and this gun will love you back for it.
Strengths: Board/rate of fire for the price
Cheap, available parts and upgrades
Anti-chop
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Durability suffers with age
Review: Positives:
My Fenix has been great to me. I've had her for years and she never disappoints. With the simple barrel upgrade and a decent feed system, this gun becomes a viable competitor even on the speedball field. Its rate of fire and accuracy are awesome for the price (disclaimer: as this gun is no longer available new, I speak under the assumption that potential buyers are buying used or refurbished markers for around $120, not $370). It even has a few nice features of higher-end guns, such as a double trigger that can be adjusted for length, a board capable of automatic fire at adjustable rates, and knob-turn velocity adjustment.

Negatives:
This gun is far from indestructible. From years of use, I've had to replace sheared screws, a capacitor, and a few other small components. While something breaking down on the field is a total drag, the plus side to this marker is that replacement parts are dirt cheap, and necessary repairs are easy to identify and execute for even fairly new owners.

Conclusion: If you can pick one up at a fair price, I highly recommend this marker. A minute investment in upgrades makes it beastly for the total price. While its reliability is far from that of my Tippmann or Phantom, parts are cheap and repairs are easy.

Note: I give this product a 9 on the assumption that you get it for ~$120. At the $370 posted as retail, this gun would be found wanting.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 24th, 2013 at 7:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

22paintballer22 Monday, October 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder avant e99
Marker Setup: Spyder fenix acs with upgraded springs, psycho ballistics drop forward, and a 14in 32 degrees whisper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitely get a new barrel
Strengths: Reliable
Accurate
Weaknesses: Battery wares out after a while
Stock barrel
Review: This is a very good gun. With the new barrel it is great. It doesn't break balls. I got it for a very good deal, 60 dollars on ebay and it was well worth it. Also the drop forward is a very good upgrade to get. In my opinion given the chance you should definitely buy this gun.
Conclusion: Get this gun!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigA822 Sunday, May 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
electra
Marker Setup: pm7 stock
smartparts drop
3000psi pure energy tank
empire magna drive


spyder fenix acs
halo v35 victory
spyder vs barrel
3000psi pure energy tank
ndz no/off air valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
on/off asa
Strengths: Great noob gun
Cheap.
Weaknesses: Heavy
big
slow
hard to maintain.
Review: It is ok but if you are a player that wants a good gun dont get it . ii ii i i i i i i i i i i i i i ii i i i i i i i i i i iiii i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i ii i i i i i i i i i i i i ii i i i i i i i i i i i ii i i i i i i i i iii i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i ii i ii i i i ii i i i i i ii ........................... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . .. . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..
Conclusion: Geat noob gun
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fcatman Monday, August 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Similar only mind you:
Spyder Pilot ACS
Spyder Rodeo with CAMD frame
JT Protium
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS
Stock clamping feedneck
T-Board
Trinity Grips
VL Eye-Force loader
J&J Edge barrel kit
Bandit Bolts high flow valve
Alamo City Paintball Supply delrin valve cup seal
SPPS Snapdragon Magno-trigger
SPPS 50 g micro switch (splice type)
Anti-siphoned CO2 (for now)
32 degrees spring kit (stock valve, black main)

Spyder Rodeo
J & J Edge barrel kit
CO2
Zap / Archon Hopper gravity fed
32 Degrees spring kit
Evil Delrin Bolt / Stock bolt with venturi removed
Bandit high flow valve

ACI Griffin with stock everything (Was my backup, but it's worn out)
Zap / Archon Hopper

Syndicate Paradox ELE
Spyder Rodeo stock barrel, maybe my J&J Edge kit
Zap / Archon Hopper (The Revvy on this marker would be ironic)
32 degrees remote thick hose
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit. I am a convert on this issue. No question.
High flow valve.
Spring kit.
SPPS Snapdragon Magno-Trigger
Strengths: Fast.
ACS has always saved me.
Old fashioned design will run on CO2.
Weaknesses: Heavier than the ions everybody else will be using at the field.
Review:
GOOD:
-Fast, especially with a trigger and microswitch upgrade.

-Reactive response mode (actually mechanical bounce) allows insanely fast ROF (20 bps capped). Well, sorta. You can shot maybe 8 balls this fast then it gets starved for air. At 15 bps setting, it will keep running and not starve / decock.

-Simple, reliable blow back design.

-Top cocking

-ACS bolt an extra line of defense against chopping. Though I have not tempted fate. I keep the loader cramming the balls into the breach anyway.

-Comfortable to hold / very instinctive to use. (I am used to Spyders).

-Comes with a clamping feedneck.

-Dual ball detents.

-Regulator is decent (better than none).

-Standard holes on bottom of grip.

-Runs fine on CO2 (yes, it is a little inconsistent on CO2).

-With mods listed and enlarging air inlet hole on bolt, I run 400 psi.

BAD or MEDIOCRE:
-Stainless hose fittings have a bizarre gasket flat disk thing.
-Little bit heavy (lift some weights already!).
-Little bit of kick, but not too bad.
-Center feedneck blocks view a bit.
-Delrin ACS bolt allows some blow-by up into feed neck (haven't broken any balls with this yet though. I plan on drilling a vent hole in my feedneck to relieve pressure up the ball stack.
-Grip frame is kind of big and blocky - but you'll get used to it.

After playing with an Autococker for a while, I came up with my criteria for my next marker: Run on CO2, be top cocking, have Spyder barrel threads, have eyes or an ACS bolt, be reliable, be inexpensive. As of August 2007, the Fenix is old news but can be picked up new and fairly cheap (mine for $129.99 including a CO2 tank, extra mask, and misc. goodies).

UPDATE 2-29-08:
Yeehaw! Tuned to 450 psi and using the black (lightest 32 degrees) spring I have a straight, fast shooting marker and no mechanical breakdowns. I have shot about 10,000 balls through it and not one chop, even twice when I started games shooting fast and forgot to turn on the loader. Played last weekend using HPA and I got a nearly unbelievable 830 shot per 3,000 47 ci fill.
Conclusion: If you occasionally need to run on CO2 based on availability and need a reliable simple marker (Such as I needed) and need it to be electronic then get this. It was perfect for me, that's why I rate it so high. This is a rating of 10 out of 10 for LOW END electronic markers, not by any means comparing it to higher end markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 29th, 2008 at 10:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

erictangness Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo - Solid starter gun, but it's mechanical so it's in a completely different league

Tippman 98 - Only used it as rental, meaning it was in crap condition. A bit too long for speedball
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS
-Riccochet Apache
-12 oz CO2
-14 inch Linear barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel (But what gun doesn't?)
-Fast hopper (15-20 BPS, faster if your getting a new board)
-GRIPS!!!! (Extremely important, stock grips leave a huge opening that can get paint on the board)
Strengths: - Pretty fast
- Pretty unique (they're discontinued)
- Nice for speedball
- Solidly built
- No chops
Weaknesses: - A little loud
- Stock grips have huge openings
- Heavy
Review: I picked this gun up at a clearance sale for $200, and I'd say it's well worth it. Here's the breakdown.

Strengths:

- Speed. Then stock board maxes out at 20 bps on semi-auto (13 if you use full-auto), which I find to be about perfect. There are faster guns, but you really don't need to shoot that much paint. The Fenix lets you put enough paint down the field to get the job done, without the paint costs burning through your pocket.

- Looks. It's all opinion, but I like the look of the Fenix, and it's almost guaranteed that you'll be the only guy at the field with one (compared to ATTACK OF THE IONS!!!) It's silver, which means the gun isn't a good idea for woodsball, but it's meant as a speedball gun anyway.

- ACS. As long as you take decent care of the gun, you'll never get a chop. I've shot a couple cases of paint since I bought the Fenix and only had one break (because I forgot to turn the hopper on =?)

Weaknesses:

- Sound. Honestly, it's a rather loud gun. A new barrel helps, but the sound is still a bit above average (Depending how you play, may or may not matter)

- Stock grips. When you buy this gun, before you walk out of the store, make sure you pick up a new set of grips. The stock ones don't quite fit, and stick out a ton, leaving huge openings on either side of the frame, meaning paint can just shoot straight onto the board, and set you back a good $60.

- Weight. As with most Spyders, it's a pretty heavy gun (A little over 3 pounds) Depending on you and what your used to , this might be a problem. (9 year old + a loaded Fenix isn't a good idea) but for the most part, you'll probably do fine. Heck, I'm used to heavy guns, so anything lighter is actually feels worse to me.

Conclusion: Overall, I'd say this is a very nice paintball gun, for both Rec play and small Leagues. It has a few weaknesses, but they're the trivial kind of things that don't really matter.
If you find one on sale, and are looking for a good beginner to intermediate gun, then pick it up. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 24th, 2007 at 5:41 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

chrispb7 Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot, tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS, VL Evolution 2 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
good hopper
Strengths: Fast ROF, Accuracy, RELIABILITY, rarely chops
Weaknesses: High profile for woodsball/ scenario
Review: This is a very good paintball gun. It looks really awesome. The only weekness is the high profile which is why i have upgraded to a Tippmann A-5 ( im a woodsballer). This gun has been very reliable and is always ready to go, never has had a problem. The ACS feature works very well. Ive had it for 2 years and its only chopped about 2-3 balls the whole time. The rate of fire is very fast on auto and semi. the accuracy is good but not super great. An A-5 is more accurate but this gun is still good.
Conclusion: Overall just a great gun. never any leaks, or any type of problem. Great for a rec baller. for the money (only like $200) i rate this 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lamoxdamo Wednesday, April 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Xtra-not better
Ion-better
Evo-not better
Marker Setup: I have a empire reloaderB, 14 inch barrel, and a regular CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
empire or halo, long enough barrel,psi tank
Strengths: Fast, accurate,never chops balls
Weaknesses: Weighs about 2 maybe 3 tons
Review: This gun is so awesome...besides the fact it weighs as much as a herd of buffalo. It always works for me and never chops balls. This gun should have a psi tank, fast hopper, and a long enough barrel. It is a very good intermediate gun. But if you have a little more money you should buy a better gun that doesnt weigh as much.
Conclusion: this is good gun. If you are looking for a good spyder you should buy this one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gaston gavrage Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other electros, but several mechanical blowbacks
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS
14'' SP Progressive
DYE Sticky3's for e-Spyders
VL Evlution 2 w/ Y-Board
Pure Energy 68/4500 HP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately new barrel, new grips; stock ones are flimsy and have no stickiness. A high pressure air tank is good cuz co2 is crap for electros
Strengths: Looks
ACS Bolt
Firing Rate
Weaknesses: Grips
Barrel
Feed Neck
Regulator
Lack of colors
Review: This is a pretty decent gun, first I'll start with what I liked about it then start complaining. Well, it looks pretty nice and the ACS bolt works really good, it didn't chop at all out of 1000 rounds the first time i used it however my barrels gettin' old and is gettin all scratched and might need to be replaced soon cuz it seems like the barrels causing a couple breaks (cuz the paint is only where the scratches are, like halfway down the barrel). I like the little gauge it comes in handy to see how full your tank is if you use co2, plus it looks good which doesn't hurt. Also with it being my first electro I think it shoots pretty fast.

Now to start criticizing- first, the regulator doesn't actually regulate...I turned it forever and the pressure didnt go anywhere. Second, the regulator comes a bit loose and when it does the macroline fitting gets loose and leaks a tad, but you have to just tighten it and you're good, it was a really minor problem. The grips are what you'd expect from Kingman, just enough to say they're grips. I'm not a huge fan of the trigger, it's not the blade one and it's kinda hard to walk, but you can adjust it really close which helps. I'm also not big on the feed neck- it's good that you can tighten it, but is kinda crappy for holding your hopper in place real well. Also it's pretty heavy, but suck it up princess.

But after fixing it up a bit like new grips and a barrel, i find myself really liking this gun and it's definately one of the best Spyders out there and has a crapload of potential.
Conclusion: This gun is really likeable, and the very minor problems aren't annoying at all, just the gun getting used to itself. Trust me I'm not one to baby a gun and I find this gun easy to use. All the weaknesses mentioned don't actually affect play and really deal with personal preferences.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jackrat Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker prostock-more fun and more reliable
Ion-Faster
Tippman-slow but durable
Marker Setup: 04 prostock autococker
14" all american barrel
Shocktech delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much just a new barrel.
Strengths: Bolt works like eye.
fast
easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Bolt has issues
Inaccurate
Review: This is overall a decent product. The main problem is that if a ball Does break inyou bolt (which it hardly ever does) you have to nearly take the whole thing apart. The accuracy is also pretty bad and its loud. Other than that it shoots fast and you really can just leave it in a corner for a month and you'll be ready to play. The ACs bolt is also a stroke of genius on Kingman's part.
Conclusion: A pretty decent gun that's worth the money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBdude44 Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Icon E,
Tipp 98
Tipp A-5
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS
Linear 14' barrel
Dye sticky grips,
12v Revi
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEw barrel(stock is alright)
Hopper, i can walk up to 22bps but with the hopper i use it still cant keep up.
Trigger(wobbles side to side)
Grips-There really flimsy, i recomend dye sticky grips 3,(the are meant for this gun and because they dont wrap around the whole handle they dont rip)
Strengths: Accuracy(with upgrade)
Speed
Durrable
Feed neck
CAMD
4 Firing modes
ACS bolt
Weaknesses: Heavy(not always bad)
Stock barrel and grips.
Review: I think its a great gun for starters. IF you maintain it(keep it lubed and clean) it should work excellent. Nice speed(with a good hopper) and if you upgrade the barrel its got fairly good accuracy.

I've played with this gone for 3 months+ and i havnt had many balls choped(maybe 5) and with a new barrel have had very little balls breaking.

The clamp neck is awsome because it it metal.
Despite using Co2 ive only had 1 o-ring break and i belive that was because i was shooting blanks for the first week when i got the gun.

Good gun =)
Conclusion: Overall i beleive thats this gun is a awsome starters gun, better than some of the tipp ive used. Accuracy is nice, speed, looks, are all really major attributes to this gun. For the price id highly recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media