paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS

Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 104
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $370

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ALL NEW SPYDER FEATURES: CAMD 2nd Generation (Color Accesss Mode Display), Sensi-Touch Straight Trigger with Multi-Adjustment Points For Enhanced Rapid Firing, ACS (Anti-Chop System) Venturi Bolt, Reactive Response Trigger, Up to 20 Shots/Second. FEATURES: Semi, 3 round Burst, 6 Round Burst, and Full Auto Firing Modes, Special ACS Edition Body Engraving With Matte Finish Anodizing, Double Ball Detent, 2 Piece 12" Tournament Grade Barrel, Regulator with Guage, New In-Line Expansion Chamber with Fore Grip, Anti Double Feed, Tournament Lock Switch, Top Cocking Bolt, Vertical Ball Feed, Deluxe Drop Forward, Adjustable Trigger Pull, Aluminum 2 Finger Trigger with Illuminated Safety, Low Pressure Chamber, Bottom Line Set Up with Stainless Steel Hose, Tournament Velocity Adjuster, Quick Release Pin, Adjustable Rate of Fire, External Recharge Port, Battery Power Indicator, Operates on Co2 or Compressed Air. INCLUDED WITH MARKER: Java 9.6 Volt Rechargeable Battery (Recharge Up To 700 Times), Battery Charger, and Spare Parts.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
prowler3254 Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom.(Doesnt Compare at all)
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS. Teardrop barrel. 12v. Revy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel.
Strengths: Accuracy is great and so is speed and this gun never chops.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel.
Review: Overall this is a great gun especially for the price. I would reccomend this gun to anyone even if you arent a begginner. I personally love it and i think you would too. Most people think spyders are begginners guns, but not this one. IVe played friends with auto-cockers and other high end guns and beaten them.
Conclusion: IF you want a fast accurate gun without the high price this is the perfect one to get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darkangels Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all spyders, tippmanns, some autocokers, Diablo wrath, smat parts ion, misfits
Marker Setup: right out of the box
with a halo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
a fast e-hopper go w/ halo b
n2 tank-shoots better kinda
new regulator
Strengths: Fast-kinda
adjustable trigger pull
top cocking
acs( i guess dont work rele 4 me)
Weaknesses: Barrel, acs-kinda suxs-, grips, it wood b alot better if it had eyes
Review: When i 1st got the gun it was woking good...but about 2 months later the trigger frame broke down. i was mad cuz kingmann woodnt fix it properly. The acs bolt suxs...i dont no bout u, but 4 me...chops all day long...i was sick of it..even with a halo, balls still broke in the chamber n barrel. There is such a huge kick to the gun...idk kingmann doesnt make great guns...there okay i guess for new players but once u played for a year....get a new gun
Conclusion: If ur gonna pay 250$ for a gun spend 20-50$ more on a smart parts ion n a diablo wrath which are hign end markers that amature players use...there much better than spyders
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 8th, 2005 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bohkka Friday, January 7th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter - same barrel and air as Fenix ACS.
Marker Setup: Fenix ACS
Stiffi Barrel (0.687)
Pure Energy 68//4500 HPA tank
VL200 loader - changed later to a Halo B.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (but when isn't it an upgrade)
Strengths: All aluminum body - very rugged.
Price - Good performance for this price.
Speed
Weaknesses: Heavy (what do you expect with all aluminum?)
Paint requirements too specific (see the review).
Review: When I first took this marker onto the field, I had a lot of trouble getting the velocity over 260 ft/sec. I found out later that this had more to do with the balls than anything else. But it worked the whole night and never chopped one ball. I had one barrel break, but that's an easy thing to clean.

After discussing with 2 other Fenix ACS owners, I found the "sweet spot" to set the regulator to - 550 psi (yes, 50 psi below the recommended range) and next time out on the field, I had trouble keeping the velocity below 290 ft/sec (field limit of 285). When I got the velocity set, it was VERY consistent. I had velocity on the chrono vary by no more than +/- 4 ft/sec! I'm fairly new to this sport and I was able to one-ball opponents.

Next time out - inconsistent and low velocity again. What the ...? Velocity ranging +/- 30 ft/sec. I got it legal to play and had a great time, but my shots were a little wild. Back to the chrono and same thing until... I had some of the balls from the previous play and when I put those in, nice and consistent and shooting a little hot (I had been adjusting for the "bad" balls). Yes, I checked the ball size and they are equivalent.

Others on the field were having a lot better luck using the same ammo, but they are regular tourney players with very expensive markers.

More testing has shown that you need a real good paint-to-barrel match to get the best results as well as consistent ball sizes and shapes (round works very well). Speed and bounce testing with some top tourney players as well. It performed within a very close margin of some other more expensive markers. They got it up to 18 bps with no chopping and only +/- 6 ft/sec at that rate.

I'lll keep on playing with this marker now that I know to buy the better balls.
Conclusion: This is, really, a very good marker. Especially for the price. With good balls, it's the equal of many high end markers that cost double (or more). The big difference - the more expensive markers are a lot more forgiving of ball variations.

If you're a beginner, serious rec player or woods ball player, this is one great marker.

I would even suggest this marker to a serious player if you can be assured of having good quality balls to play with.

The paint requirements keep me from giving this marker top marks, but it's definitely way up there. Especially in the price/performance range.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 7th, 2005 at 12:24 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cali-killah Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix (Same Gun But NEW ACS BOLT and NEW TRIGGER on FENIX ACS)
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS
16" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Dye Sticky Grips
47 Ci , 3000 PSI Nitro Tank
Rikochet Apache LCD Electro Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel ( Although stock is'nt that bad)
New Grips ( Stock Grips are Crap!)
Electronic Hopper (A Must)
Nitro ( A Must)
Strengths: ACS PRICE ( $219.99 )
ACS BOLT ( DOESNT CHOP)
FAAAASSSTTT Up to 20 bps !
Weaknesses: Slighlty Heavier than most Spyders
1 Color ( Wierd Green Color)
Review: I tried this gun out yesterday.
Just as i thaught, this gun is just as good as those $1000 guns for more than half the price less.
If it chops its because you need a Electronic Loader , if you cant afford one than don't buy this marker, you will only be abusing it.

Full auto was a dream and my 16" J&J Barrel is so friggen accurate great for playing in woodsball and back man in speed ball.

Speed is the name here up to 20 bps with the T Board and an apache loader to match its speed this gun is tournie ready with only a few upgrades.
If you owned a Fenix and looking to upgrade to an ACS FENIX, do it, its all the Fenix + More
and there is a website thats selling it for $219 in stead of all those other websites are selling it for $248 + so the price i got for the ACS FENIX was great !
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you want a reliable , easy upgradeable and inexpensive marker thats capable of 20+ Shots a second, you will not regret it , Way better than A5 and Evo !
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 19th, 2004 at 1:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stockpumpmaster Wednesday, December 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor 2, tippmann 98 and a-5, shocker 03'. All of them are pretty good guns in their own ways.
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix acs, 14 in teardrop, halo b, crossfire 47ci 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a barrel. The stock one is good for a while. If you are on a budget a teardrop or a JJ ceramic are good. If not then I reccomend a freak for it.
Strengths: 20 bps
good stock items
No more bolt chops(hooray)
Weaknesses: Blowback marker
Stock barrel
Review: This gun is pretty good. I dont know where the $370 price tag came from. I got mine for $270 off of action village. This marker is good on speed and it hardly ever makes a chop. If you do chop, its probably because you have cheap paint. Also, it's not that heavy! I am a front man and I play with it and a 47 ci aluminum tank. I handle it like cake, so stop complaining out there you girley men. The stock barrel is one of the better ones I have seen, but if you take accuracy seriously then you had better pay up for a new one.
Conclusion: Pretty good gun If you dont have a thousand bucks to spend.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

royaltouchez Wednesday, December 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Fenix
Kingman Imagine
Tippmann 98 Custom
JT Excellerator 3.5E

NONE of these guns can match the Fenix ACS
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS
DYE Ultalite Barrel 12" (Black)
DYE Sticky 3 Grips(Black)
VL eVLution II w/Y-board (Black)
Next upgrade is the Delrin ACS Bolt & N2

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hopper
Grips
Strengths: Never chopped a ball
great look
good accuracy after upgrade
easy break down
top cocking


Weaknesses: Little heavy
Spent $250 in upgrades
Louder than some guns
Review: Read the above strengths and weaknesses

Strengths:
Never chopped a ball
great look
good accuracy after upgrade
easy break down
top cocking

Weaknesses:
Little heavy
Spent $250 in upgrades
Louder than some guns
** must keep retightening all screws

Overall this is a great marker for all types of fields. I highly recommend it for all levels of users.
Conclusion: This a great gun for the money. It hangs with the expensive ones. I am looking into a few of the extreme high end markers and will compare them later.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 15th, 2004 at 5:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

triggerhappy44 Monday, November 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pilot, Imagine,
Marker Setup: -Spyder Pilot
-Some feedneck
-Egg
-J&J Ceramic Barrel
-T-Board
-Slasher Trigger-
-ACS Delrin bolt(i was suprised buy this! very nice)
-Centerflag 71ci 4500psi
-
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator
T-board
Delrin bolt
Barrel
hopper 19+ Bps
Strengths: Fast, nice straight trigger. feedneck, the 22bps board. well ballanced
Weaknesses: Chops even with the ACS bolt(not delrin). Weight, Effeicency, Reliability, Burst And Full auto.
Review: This gun is pretty fast. I could seriously do 16bps wit the semi mode. loose lite trigger. but the problem with ripping with it was that onced it choped u kept on choppin and chopping. I was very pissed at the fact it choped a lot. but other than that its damn fast.
Conclusion: This was my dads gun i was using because i was in the woods and i didnt want to ruin my pilot. but overall its like a 6 because its above average but the thing that got it the worst raiting was the choping and weight.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

logiq Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom dosen't compare (friends)
bob long intimidator dosen't compare (friends)
spyder shutter cant compare (friends)

Marker Setup: fenix acs with dye sticky grips, halo b, j&j 2 piece ceramic full tilt
Recommended
Upgrades:
aggitated hopper,
grips
barrel
update: new bolt (see body)
Strengths: dosen't chop
weight
good looking
fast
easy to select ROF

Weaknesses: chops (see body)
grips suck
weight (see body)
ROF (see body)
bolt
Review: Well this is simply one of the best markers that I have shot. Its better than the tippman 98 and the shutter due to the e-grip and the different rates of fire. I like it better than the intimidator cuz its not as heavy.

Strengths:
The bolt in my gun is not a delrin or a venturi but it is spring loaded and it does not chop. I fired a case 2000 rnds. of Performance paintballs and the bolt did not chop once.

A lot of people say that the marker is heavy, but to me it was fine the first time that I tested the marker we spent the whole day hiking and playing roughly 8 hours for the whole day. I simply felt fine. Also consider that it is an all metal marker, it will not be as light as plastic but it will be more durable.

I love the way that the marker looks, yeah i wish there were more colors but the marker is simply good looking.

The marker is fast it will keep your opponents running for cover. And the fact that it doesn't't chop while firing at 20 bps makes it that much worse for them.

the thing that I loved the most was how easy it is to change the ROF. once the action starts it's simple to change the rate for fire just tap the switch and then tap it again until its set at your desired ROF and simply fire. Its also good because you can change the speed of the ROF. What I mean is you can have it set to fully auto and change the speed to fire from fast to slow and back again depending on how fast you want to fire. You can do this for the 3 burst, 6 burst and full auto. The only thing that sucks is if you like the speed of the ROF to be slow and you turn of the marker then you will have to set it up all over again after every time you turn off the marker.

Weakness:

Chops, not the marker but the stock barrel, although the barrel is not that bad for a stock one I do suggest that you get an after market one. The stock one simply cant compare. I suggest the J&J ceramic 2 piece.

The grips on this marker are horrible, the ar flimsy and when i put the battery in there are gaps from the frame and the grip...simply put they suck, get after market grips

Weight some people say its to heavy, true it is heavier than other markers, but are the lighter markers comparable, do they have an e-grip, all metal frame, and so on.

and finally the Rof how can that be a weakness? Well, if your not careful you can spend a lot of time reloading giving your opponents a chance to run up on you, secondly in order to exploit the full potential of this marker you will need an agitated hopper, I used and Apache, and it worked well, but the Halo B for me was better.

Update: 11/12/04 after playing several games and after about 4,000 paintballs, I noticed excessive scratches along the bolt...I immediately changed it to a delrin bolt...I was surprised, I keep the marker well oiled and cleaned I didn't expect to see that many scratches that rapidly...I'm going this weekend to play again I'll put another 2000 rounds through the marker and update how the bolt handled, and anything else that gets my attention.
Conclusion: This is a great high end spyder. If your looking for a great gun with a not a lot to put on right out of the box, and you have the $$ go for it. I'm giving the marker a 9 cuz to be the perfect marker it would be custom made to your specs and not mass produced.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 12th, 2004 at 8:09 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Reptlle Friday, October 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Aggressor XT
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS, Evolution II Hopper, Dye Sticky 3 Grips, JT 14" 2-Piece Barrel, 20OZ Co2 Bottle
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grips
I geuss the barrel though I have never shot with the stock
Strengths: See body
Weaknesses: See body
Review: Strengths:

Accurate
Looks GREAT!
Shoots REALLY REALLY Fast!
Nice weight
ACS bolt doesn't chop
CAMD display works great and looks nice

Weaknesses:

Grips aren't very comfortable
Dye sticky grips doesn't fit too good, it goes a bit over the CAMD

Review:

This is a great gun for any player. People tend to underestimate Spyders because they consider it to be a newbie gun, but I feel sorry for the person who underestimates this gun cause he'll be in for a helluva surprise. I still don't know why you guys moan over it's weight. To be honest it's one of the lightest electronic guns iv'e ever had in my hands. Anyway it's a great gun and if you have the money, BUY IT!!!!

P.S. It's not a Cocker and any gun that is not a Cocker can't be a too bad gun!
Conclusion: Buy this gun, you won't be sorry!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noleafclover13 Tuesday, October 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder classic- cant compare
tippman pro/carbine - cant compare
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix acs
egg 2 aggitated hopper
progressive 16" barrel
Dye Sticky Grips
Dye compressed air tank 45 PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
agitated hopper to keep up with the marker
DYE sticky grips
Strengths: Doesn't chop for anyone
Looks sweet
Weaknesses: Grip panels
Stock barrel sucks
Review: This is my first marker, and i am really glad i bought this one and not some 100 dollar piece
it really wasn't that expensive
barrel and a agitated hopper to keep up with it
even with the stock barrel its pretty accurate up to about 30 feet, then it just goes in any direction it wants,
i had no problems with rps premium, or Draxxus rec sport
***update***
I bought a bunch of upgrades listed above in set up
the progressive barrel added about 20 feet and and a ton of accuracy
compressed air gave my shot more consistancy and now i dont have to worry about blowin o-rings
the dye sticky grips are pricey but are worth it
the egg 2 hopper can keep up with the board with some simple adjustments
Conclusion: I give it a nine because its not perfect, it needs a better barrel, and the grip panels are kinda funky and require improvements, however the anti chop bolt doesnt chop and the marker is easy to maintain, and it is in alot of people's price range
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 11th, 2005 at 11:10 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media