paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS

Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 104
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $370

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ALL NEW SPYDER FEATURES: CAMD 2nd Generation (Color Accesss Mode Display), Sensi-Touch Straight Trigger with Multi-Adjustment Points For Enhanced Rapid Firing, ACS (Anti-Chop System) Venturi Bolt, Reactive Response Trigger, Up to 20 Shots/Second. FEATURES: Semi, 3 round Burst, 6 Round Burst, and Full Auto Firing Modes, Special ACS Edition Body Engraving With Matte Finish Anodizing, Double Ball Detent, 2 Piece 12" Tournament Grade Barrel, Regulator with Guage, New In-Line Expansion Chamber with Fore Grip, Anti Double Feed, Tournament Lock Switch, Top Cocking Bolt, Vertical Ball Feed, Deluxe Drop Forward, Adjustable Trigger Pull, Aluminum 2 Finger Trigger with Illuminated Safety, Low Pressure Chamber, Bottom Line Set Up with Stainless Steel Hose, Tournament Velocity Adjuster, Quick Release Pin, Adjustable Rate of Fire, External Recharge Port, Battery Power Indicator, Operates on Co2 or Compressed Air. INCLUDED WITH MARKER: Java 9.6 Volt Rechargeable Battery (Recharge Up To 700 Times), Battery Charger, and Spare Parts.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
spagetti Monday, May 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmanns
Marker Setup: kingman spyder fenix acs(anti-chop system),J&J ceramic barrel,empire reloaderB,co2
also have tippmann98 custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
j&j ceramic barrel
dye sticky grips
Strengths: Acs,looks,feed neck,easy to strip and clean
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: people say even with the bolt it cops, that is a lie, they problbly do not mantain the gun.
i am not going to say it never chops but i have had mine almost 4 months and it has chopped under five times.i will say it is heavy though but you get use to it
like most guns the stock barrle is crap i highly recomend a J&J Preformance ceramic barrel, they run about 25bucks
flat grips to, i have good gloves and do not need grips but i would recomend dye grips
it will be between 50 to 70 bucks to get the grips and barrel but after that you are set this is a great beginner gun
Conclusion: A great beginner gun,i give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shastakid12 Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Modified Spyder Xtra (Has ACS bolt and E-Marker trigger), Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS w/ Spyder Xtra barrel (used to have an evvy 2 hopper but it broke gotta fix it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW HOPPER! No joke. You cant have this gun with a gravity feed hopper. Different barrel.
Strengths: FAST! Not too loud. ACS Bolt.
Weaknesses: BARREL SUCKS!!!! (Read in review)
Review: This is an awsome kick butt gun. When they say it shoots 20 BPS, they dont lie. Only used it once (earlier today) for about four hours. The barrel. The stock barrel sucks so bad I was disgusted. Luckily, my previous marker was a Spyder Xtra, so I took the barrel off that and put it on the Fenix and it was awsome. With the stock barrel, I was chopping paint every 3-5 shots. I tried 3 different brands of paint! That is not an exaggeration, that is the exact truth. Soon I hope to get a new Egg hopper and a J&J Ceramic barrel, but for now the Xtra barrel is pretty accurate and quiet enough. This gun is unbelievable. People who say get an Ion instead apparently have never tried the Fenix. Fenix shoots faster, plus I've heard some horror stories about the Ion. My friend fired it and said it was a piece of crap, and he has been in paintball for over 5 years. He said he'd prefer his Spyder Imagine rofl. This thing shoots so fast. Some people came up behind my friend and started shooting their A5's and stock autocockers at him. I got 2/4 with my fenix in about half a second with 10 paintballs. Some people may say it is a waste of paint, but paintball is different from real firearms. There's no such thing as a sniper paintball gun. I'm sorry for all of you who claim you have one, but it's the truth. Suck it up and go buy a Timmy or a Fenix.
Conclusion: Moral of the story. Get a Fenix ACS, but do not use the stock barrel. You will not be dissappointed. I couldn't believe I fired 1000 paintballs and never chopped! =D
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bonus ballas Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pilot, with remote.
Marker Setup: Fenix acs, revy with x board, thunder pig 14 inch.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, grips
Strengths: easy to strip/clean.Fast, easy to walk
Weaknesses: BOLT! does not work! trigger feels very loose.
Review: WTF! The first time i used this, i had so much bad luck with the bolt. The bolt did not work at all. Anti Chop my ass! Before i started playing i put it on the chrono to test the volocity and it choped. i wasnt even shooting fast. it was the slowest i could go. And it was all down hill from there. Every time id walk it it would chop.After every game i would have to clean the barrel out, and i didnt have enough time to strip it and clean the inside.
I choped so many balls with this its not even funny. My friend did not even chop one in his pilot. The reg is alright and the grips suck but if the gun didnt have a crappy acs bolt i think it would be a great gun.
Conclusion: Maybe i just got a bad bolt in it or something but i think it would be better to just get the stock fenix.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 8th, 2005 at 5:24 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Speedball1990 Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon E - has nothing on this gun
The Ion = this gun pawns it
Tippmann A-5
98 custom
Marker Setup: Fenix ACS
16" J & J Ceramic Barrel
Evolution 2 [ Smoke ]
Dye Sticky Grips
16 Ounce Soon to n2o
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Stock barrel is alright but i would get somthing else J&J Ceramic works great everything is strait
- New grips are nice get dye sticky grips stock ones seem loose
- Get N2o with this gun co2 frezes up inside after a days play
- Also get a diffrent feed neck...the stock one the inside wares easy and your hopper slips around easy
Strengths: Dosent chop
Fast 20bps
Looks good
Accurate
Weaknesses:
Freezes up get n20
trigger is loose i can fire it sideways
stock barrel loud
Review: Well when i first got this gun i was glad to see that everything look great. This gun is a very nice looking gun. The matte finish is also nice to have. I live in florida, and the first day i shot it, i was going pretty fast and the hole gun just freezes up? But however this can be solved very easly buy putting n20 on there i did it and it dident freeze up at all. I also shot a case threw it and nothing bust so i was pretty happy about that.

I would recomend that when you first get your Fenix ACS or any anti chop bolt that you stick a barrel swab in there and shoot a couple shots to wear in the spring....if not you might have a chance of breaking right away which may dissapoint you, but just wear the spring in and i promise it wont happen again.

Conclusion: But overall this gun is great, very accurate and very fast, it will get the job done when you need it to. Also for its price its a awsome deal.
Now some people may get mad at me for saying this but.....Fenix ACS ownes the Ion...i have both of them...ion isent as good as the fenix but is nice.
And overall ill have to give this a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Legacy_Logic Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker
Ion

Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS
Empire Reloader
14" Lapco snapshot ( Sweet barrel )
Dye sticky grips 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel ( Loud with stock) quiet with lapco snapshot :)
Hopper
grips ( Dye sticky grips)
Strengths: 20 bps
4 firings modes
Doesent Chop ( ACS)
Weaknesses: Heavy
Needs new barrel
Review: This gun is very good for beginers and semi-pro. this gun matches to the ion... maybe even better. this gun is very good.

Chopping= 10.0
Acuracy= 9.4
Strength= 9.5
Speed= 9.2
Milling= 9.4
all around a 9.6 ( 10) I HAVE EDITING THIS GUN TO A 10!!!

This gun may need new barrel and Grips trust me its worth it. And like all stock guns most come with bad barrel. So its all the same :P
Conclusion: This gun is outstanding i recromend it to everyone who pb's you may need a few upgrades but hey thats the fun about it :)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintingfreak16 Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i've used a spyder imagine and a pmi.
Marker Setup: spyder fenix
boomstick barrell
halo hopper
sticky grip trigger frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
the grip needs changed but that is all i found
Strengths: SPEED!!!!!!
accuracy
dependability
toughness
the ACS bolt almost never chops balls
Weaknesses: Barrell could be better
Grip get loose really fast
Review: This is definatly one of the best guns i've shot. The fenix shoots very fast but it could use a few minor adjustments. I've used this gun for about 3months and it has never failed me. The new acs bolts are awsome. This gun almost never chops balls. If someone wants a gun that they can show off and perform well with... this is the gun you've been lookin for.
Conclusion: If u want a gun that shoots fast, looks good, is accurate, and doesn't chop balls u need this gun. I give it a nine because mainly the trigger frame.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedpb12 Saturday, April 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
View loader prodigy egrip, raven nexion, icon led
Marker Setup: Spyder fenix acs with evolution II hopper and lapco big shot soon to come.

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, electronic hopper, thick clothes!!!!
Strengths: Fast, accurate, quiet, looks cool!!!
Weaknesses: Heavy, doesnt shoot to far with stock barrel.
Review: I Bought this gun online because i read alot of good reviews on it and people at shops said it was good. i had high expectations for this gun. and it met them. when i got this gun my friends had like 98 customs and they were scared to play me. and they should be. but now there buying new gun to keep up with me so its pretty even. the things i like about this gun is its speed. the trigger is like the most sensitive out there all you have to do is touch and it shoots. the stock barrel is ok i guess but i want another barrel that gives me distance and i dont know what to get. so i need some help on that one. but ya so this is a good gun for the dollars and i recomend it for speed ball not so much for woods ball if u do get a new barrel like j & j ceramic or a lapco bigshot.
Conclusion: I gave this gun a 10 out of 10 because its the nicest thing ive ever shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 27th, 2005 at 3:37 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fenixacs Saturday, April 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99-Avant
Dragun TES
Marker Setup: J&J Ceramic Barrel, Halo LCD Backman, and Dye Sticky Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper
Barrel
Strengths: ACS Bolt
E-Grip
Look
Feeder
Trigger Pull
Adjustments
Price
Weaknesses: Reliability of ACS Bolt
Review: I got my gun about 2 weeks ago. I was playing the next day so i could use it fresh from the box. I went to use it for the first time at The Splat Factory in Chatham, NY. The gun had a good rate of fire which could adjusted while in the game as long as the firing modes. I used the semi-autmatic mode though because it had a response trigger and had an adjustable trigger pull so was easy to walk. The gun had a high rate of fire so you definitely need a good hopper. It is a good gun that is durable and reliable for a good price.
Conclusion: Overall the gun was good. It had a lot of strengths, rather than weaknesses. It has a lot of adjustments to it and upgrades for it so you can have it fit how you want it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Setch Friday, April 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
- 98 Custom w/ Expansion Chamber, 14" Razor Barrel, CO2, and Ricochet 2k Hopper
Reliable marker, durable, gas eater, sometimes gets choppy.
- '04 Prostock Autococker w/ Ricochet 2k Hopper, and 3000psi HPA Tank
Good marker, a little finiky to use, quiet.
Marker Setup: - Spyder Fenix ACS.
- 3000psi Pure Energy HPA Tank
- 14" Freak Jr. Barrel with 0.689 insert
- Ricochet 2k Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
- HPA Tank! Oh god get HPA please.
- New barrel, it's a good barrel for a stock, but you know ya gotta get a new one.
- Electo hopper.
Strengths: - ACS.
- Easy to maintain.
- Adjustable rates of fire.
- Game ready straight out of the box.
Weaknesses: - Noise.
- ACS.
- Barrel.
- Inital setup.
Review: I recently picked up this marker and I would have to say that I am having a great time with it.

ACS, need I really say more. I would have to say that this is by far the most interesting thing on a marker and it works really well. I haven't had a single chop yet aside from inside barrel chops but those happen to the best of us. The bolt itself does exactly as advertised and I would recommend going the extra mile to pick up the ACS for any Spyder. The marker is very easy to maintain and I haven't had any problem pulling it apart to clean some of the tough spots, however I would suggest practicing taking it apart for any new paintballers out there. The adjustable RoF (Rate of Fire) is a neat little feature, useless but neat none the less :). The stock barrel is actually quite good considering it's, well, stock. I haven't had any problems with it but I would upgrade anyway just to be safe. Though yes, it's game ready right out of the box (assuming you have gas, hopper, mask, etc.). I played with it right after it charged up and ya it's great. I have heard a few people complain about weight to you who think it's heavy I say, suck it up princess, if you can't carry a big kids gun you need to leave the room, nobody likes a sissy.

On to the cons and there are cons. Noise, now it's not really something I worry about but some do so I thought I'd throw it in here. The noise the bolt makes is rather loud I wont argue that, but really it's dependent on the player here and the style you play. The barrel as we all know should be upgraded, as good as it is right out of the box it doesn't compare to the Freak Jr. I put on it. Not saying that you have to run out as soon as you buy it and get a new barrel but I would suggest that when you do decide to upgrade it's a welcome idea. Now the thing that did it for me was the initial setup. The main reason you ask, CO2. The Fenix hates, loathes, and detests CO2. Maybe the two had a falling out I'm not sure but whatever it is, unless you're playing in temperatures above 25 degree Celsius then you're gonna siphon and not just a little. When I first set it up it was firing at 375fps even when I turned it down and was shooting snow balls, not flakes, balls. It will take a cut or two to the spring but you can get it down but once you do it'll be ok but still snowglobe you. Never ever fire the Fenix on full-auto without anti-siphon, ever, you will most likely ruin the internals with liquid CO2 this way. I say either get anti-siphon or go the extra mile and get HPA. The last thing is the ACS, now as good as it may be it has flaws. Whenever it does block a chop it will lock the bolt so you can't fire again until you've recocked it. Now this does not subdue the fact that ACS stops the chop, but it is really annoying in a fire fight.

That's my essay on the Fenix ACS, hope it was good for you too.
Conclusion: Great marker, good quality, just overall a great marker. True it has flaws but no marker doesn't. The ACS however is worth it even though it is has its issues. The noise and weight are not a problem at all to me and the barrel is good for a stock (odd eh?). If you're planning to go electro and looking at a Kingman product this is for you. I highly recommend it even for those who have played for a few years.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shooptek Monday, April 18th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom: Louder, less accurate
Icon GL: Louder, less accurate but lighter
Ion: Much better, quieter, lighter, more accurate, doesnt chop
Marker Setup: Dye Sticky Grips
Teardrop 14" barrel
68/4500 Nitro
eVLution II hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, stock is horrible, heavy and very inaccurate
New grips, stock grips are flimsy and get loose
Strengths: Convienent, ease of use
Weaknesses: Really big = heavy and long
ACS is faulty
Review: I bought this gun after testing my friend's Pirhanna and another friend's 98 custom. Both of those guns were inexepensive, but chopped paint frequently and didnt shoot fast at all. I did not want to deal with any of those problems, and thus looked to the Fenix with the ACS bolt system. I also liked the almost hairline trigger and the supposed 20+BPS. I played around with the gun in the store, and thought I would get over the weight and size. I was wrong.

The day I got the gun I took it out into my backyard and wanted to shoot around with it. Took 5 shots and chopped 2 balls. Went inside, lubed the bolt and cleaned the entire gun, barrel and everything, got some marbalizer paint to make sure it wasnt just cheap paint, and went out to shoot again. The gun then shot about 100 balls fine with no problems, and then chopped again. Shot through it, did a quick squeegee of the barrel and it was ok for about another 15 balls and another chop. I tested on C02 (I was using nitro before) and still had the same problems. I brought the gun back to the store and exchanged for a new fenix acs, and had the same problems again. The gun is also very heavy and very long (with barrel off).
Conclusion: I would say that if you are planning on spending 300 or more dollars on a paintball gun, do not chose this one because it simply does not do what it says. The ACS bolt chops paint, though less than others. I would say to order an ION for the same price, and wait on it because this gun is simply not worth the price.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media