paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R

Kingman Spyder TL-R Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder TL-R

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder TL-R
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:-Drop forward -Vertical ball feed -Top cocking bolt -New larger expansion chamber -Lo-pressure chamber -All metal construction -Canted forward foregrip -Milled body -Rubber grips -Tournament style velocity adjuster -Ported barrel -2 finger trigger -Stainless steel bottom line set up
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder TL-R is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
slapit255 Thursday, May 12th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cocker Prostock
Cocker Trilogy
Tippy 98
Tippy A5
Bushmaster 2000
Promaster
Marker Setup: Promaster, CP Reg HaloB, G3Dream Barrel Kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Accurate
Powerful
Reliable
Weaknesses: Slow
Loud
Review: This gun has lasted me over 5 years as just a loaner gun. I love it, and even to this day will use it just to play around with. For the price, you cant get a better bang for your buck. I picked this up for 129.99 for the "Sniper Package" (Just came with a 16" barrel) 5 years ago about, and havent been happier with my purchase.e

It is just a gun that shoots well, doesnt break balls often, and always works. Really easy to maintain as well. I remember a few times I got yelled at ad re-chrono'ed because this gun does pack a punch. I have nailed people accross fields with very little ball drop to compensate for.

I have kept mine stock, because I think upgrades for this gun really dont make it that much better. You would be better off upping to a more expensive stock marker.
Conclusion: Again, if you are a new player, this is a perfect and reliable starter gun that you really just cant break. I have purchased 3 more since this one, (About 75$ a piece) and use them all as loaners for friends just getting into the game. Again, hands down best gun I have used for its price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 12th, 2011 at 4:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigjoe11 Sunday, May 1st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a5
Marker Setup: Setup #1:

Tippmann A5
Apex 2 barrel
double trigger
20 oz co2 tank
14 oz co2 tank
Walmart mask

Setup #2:

Spyder Tr-l
Rifled barrel
20 oz co2 tank
14 oz co2 tank
Walmart mask
Ghetto mods :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
go to ottersscustoms, it's gone now but here's a saved version of it:
http://classic-web.archive.org/web/20080603102230/www.otters
ccustoms.com/spyder.html
Strengths: Cheap ($30 from friend)
High rof if modded ^
Reliable
Accurate
metal
Weaknesses: Poor performance in cold
Chops in cold
Inconsistent
Review: this is an ok gun, but go here:
http://classic-web.archive.org/web/20080603102230/www.otters
ccustoms.com/spyder.html
If u have this gun, do these mods at your own risk. They greatly increase performance, especially weakening the sear spring and magnet mod.
the other mods make it more efficient.

In my opinion this is a great beginner gun. If you can get it used, go for it. I have a rifled barrel for it and I love it, it's more accurate than any of the other barrels I've used. I don't think it would chop with an electric feeder, but by the time you do that you might as well get an a5 (like me) so you don't have to change those expensive 9 volts all the time.

this gun, although I only use it as a backup, is a pretty reliable gun. In the cold, though, don't use co2, I tried and it shot snow everywhere and I had 2 cack it every shot, another reason I did those mods in the link above.
Conclusion: good gun if you get is cheap and mod this (again, at your own risk). it's reliable and very sturdy being made of steel and aluminum. Even my A5 isn't this well built. the stock barrel on this gun is ok also, but 16" is a little big for me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

308hitman Thursday, December 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other spider markers
Marker Setup: i have this marker in chrome and love it. I used a tipman A5 and didnt like it as much as this marker
Recommended
Upgrades:
i had to change the spring after the first couple years of heavy use. i would not put more money into this marker than that.
Strengths: Easy to handle
Compact
Casy to clean
Cooks sweet


Weaknesses: Velocity got stuck on certain speeds
Weak
Recoil
Review: I have played some of my best games with this marker. I would recommend using a 12 inch barrel though because i have found my 16 inch weakens it.
If your looking for a good ordinary gun, this is it. i would definitely get this gun again if mine died...
Conclusion: Buy it!
You will be glad u did and its much better to buy a gun like this then a more expensive one because then you have bragging rights when you shoot people with it.
(They're is no bragging rights when you use an auto cocker or ego....)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the paintie Saturday, September 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Vectore
Recommended
Upgrades:
emarker trigger
new bolt
Strengths: Barrel
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Firing rate
Review: This gun has held up for about a year and a half this past month it is falling apart and is breaking. I bought a whole new internals kit for it. it still isnt working write.

********KEEP IT OILED******************

This the only way to keep the gun running. The gun is definetly worth the buy. I got it for 160 and a helmet, tank, and hopper included.
Conclusion: I recommened this product for beginers or for some woods ball fun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guitarwiz22 Sunday, May 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Elektra- Much better
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
Viewloader 200 Hopper
Stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel- Any barrel is better than the stock
Electric Trigger
Strengths: Shoots far
Lots of power and accuracy
Easy to use
Weaknesses: Breaks often
Stock Barrel isn't very good
Gets very cold
Review: The Spyder TL-R was my first gun. It is a great beginners gun. However, once I started to be a more agressive paintballer, this didn't cut it for me.
First off, it broke constantly. My gun had CO2 leaks constantly. This wasn't helpful when I found one right before a match.
One of the biggest problems with the gun was the barrel. The stock barrel was accurate but paint stuck to it easily. I chopped constantly with it.
It was an OK gone for a starter but I outgrew it very fast. I suggest for a beginners gun something along the lines of a Tippmann 98 Custom and not a Spyder TL-R.

Conclusion: I recommend this gun to beginners that want an easily maintained gun that shoots accurately and fast.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder Guy0975 Thursday, October 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first marker.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R with clamping feedneck (unknown brand), 12 and 20 oz. co2 tanks, stock 12" barrel (will upgrade to a 5.5" JCS barrel very soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A clamping feedneck for sure. It lowers your hopper a lot and keeps it really secure
Strengths: Simple, relatively easy to disassemble, accurate, durable.
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull (supposedly, I haven't had problems with it)
Review: It's a very solid gun, great for beginners like myself to intermediate players. The trigger pull could be shorter, but if you use it you'll find it's not that bad really, and you can get used to how it feels. The foregrip can get pretty cold with rapid fire, but if you wear even thin gloves you won't notice it. So far it's only chopped two times that I can recall, and those were when I was just shooting cans in the backyard with it, not in combat.
Conclusion: It's a very good marker, very rarely chops, it's pretty accurate, all in all it's a very reliable gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Morningwood Saturday, May 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Agressor and Tippmann 98C (both stock) the Tl-r By far blows it out of the water
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
Empire Electronic Hopper
Custom Drop
21" Warpig Sniper barrel
Remote Hose
Custom Drop
Rocking Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper
Electronic Trigger (not a NEED but always good to have :)
New Barrel (18" is great though)
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance
Strength
Weaknesses: None ive encountered
Review: The Spyder TL-R ive been using for about 3 years now. ive only encountered mayb 3 problems with it and that was a broken o-ring spring and sear but i went a few months without touch. had those replaced and it is better than ever. this is my woodsball sniper gun and i wouldnt trade it for any other. This gun has never let me down its wicked accurate and very good distance i could be acorss the field and hit someone with a perfect straight shot.. ive played in the rain the mud and all and the gun worked perfectly fine. i love this gun :)
Conclusion: Kingman did a hell of a job on this one. i would reccomend this gun to anyone rookies intermediate amateur u name it.. All around awesome gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BruinsHockey Wednesday, April 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact is less accurate than TL-R
Tippman .98 is as durable as the TL-R but more expensive
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
Stock Barrel
Stock Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new trigger
Strengths: Cheap
Accurate
Durable
Great on CO2
Weaknesses: Slow shooting
Handle gets cold from Co2
Heavier Gun
Review: I got this gun at Dick's with a 12" and 16" barrel, a 12 oz Co2 tank and a hopper for $150-200 so it's a cheap priced gun.
It's an accurate gun.
This gun is extremely durable and doesn't jam or need cleaning too often.
This gun is great on Co2 a 12 oz will last a long time with this.

It shoots slow.
The handle gets really cold from the Co2 so unless its a hot summer day you should wear some gloves so your hands don't freeze.
It's pretty heavy for it's size.
Conclusion: Buy this if your a beginner or upgrade the trigger and get a better hopper if your an intermediate player.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

atleasttry12 Wednesday, April 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Its all stock.
Strengths: Accurate, fast
Weaknesses: Trigger
Review: This is one of the best guns I have ever used. It hasnt chopped yet, it is fast, it's accurate, and just plain good. Ido not like the trigger. you must pull it back 3 quaters of an inch to fire, and its kinda hard to pull. This is a good gun for intermidiate player and beginers.
Conclusion: Buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderkid1113 Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have tested a rental Pirahna, it sucked really bad. This is my first real custom gun.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
14" stock barrel
Spyder 200 round Hopper and 12oz Tank
barrel plug
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you are fairly new to the game, nothing.

If you are more advanced in the art of paintball, you might want to consider a new barrel or trigger.
Strengths: Great Accuracy
Very Durable
Looks awesome
Its not that heavy
Weaknesses: As i said above, if your a beginner there is no weaknesses to this gun.

Review: I was planning on getting a custom gun for a while, so i checked my local big 5 and got this package for 130$ plus tax. There is only one word i can say to sum up this gun. AWESOME!!! I was at my local field with my friends and we owned. My friend had the same gun as me. It is very durable and with proper care, could last you a lifetime.
Conclusion: This is a really awesome gun. I would reccomend it to beginners, and also some intermediates. It is a very non-pricy gun and it is worth every cent. You can upgrade it immensely, wich is always good. I would reccomend this gun to anyone who wishes to own a custom.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media