paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R

Kingman Spyder TL-R Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder TL-R

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder TL-R
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:-Drop forward -Vertical ball feed -Top cocking bolt -New larger expansion chamber -Lo-pressure chamber -All metal construction -Canted forward foregrip -Milled body -Rubber grips -Tournament style velocity adjuster -Ported barrel -2 finger trigger -Stainless steel bottom line set up
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder TL-R is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
mikestan625 Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
Marker Setup: Spyder W/ Electronic Grip
ShockTech Bottom Line On-Off
Macroline
2 Piece Empire1 Revolver Barrel Kit
Odyssey Halo Backman LCD TSA Loader
Lapco Feed Neck
Pure Energy 72ci 3000psi N2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
N2 Air Tank
Electronic Loader (HALO, Viewloader, ETC...)
J&J Ceramic Barrel or Empire Revolver Kit
ACS Bolt
Strengths: Very Durable, Nice and simple gun for beginners, Shoots fast for a semi-auto gun.
Weaknesses: No real weaknesses expect its not electronic, but its a fast semi gun
Review: Over all this is one of the best semi auto spyder's out there, I had this gun as my back up for 2 years now and it works perfect every time i use it. It takes little effort to clean and maintenance this gun, The rear bolt assembly is easy to take out to clean and to oil. It also doesn't chop alot of balls like other markers do. If you get this marker only a few upgrades will make it a really good gun to have.
Conclusion: My final recommendation for this gun is, if you are a new paintballer this is the gun for you, jsut as good as a tippman 98.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TxcRyan Thursday, May 31st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
" Sonix
Marker Setup: TL-R
Gravity Feed Hopper
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Simplicity
Durability
Good for woodsball
Weaknesses: Size [It's big and heavy]
Trigger
No fast rate-of-fire
Bad for speedball
Review: I would suggest this for beginners. I'd go with the newer Sonix or Xtra by Spyder though.
It's ok. I've been using the same gun for 2 years, and it's doing real well.
It's very accurate, i have never chopped a ball, EVER, and I've even done really well in a couple of speedball matches. It's a good buy, escpecially when you get the value kit that i bought.
Conclusion: Buy it if you don't got the money for a Spyder VS2//Ion
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Kuegeltlr2 Thursday, May 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
PMI Razzor Barrel
ESP Classic E-Frame C.A.M.D.
Backman Halo Hopper
12oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel maybe e-trigger with e-hopper
Strengths: Powerful shooting gun, light weight (weight in back), easily disassembles for cleaning, and upgradable
Weaknesses: Heavy trigger pull and slow shooting (if you like to shoot fast)
Review: This is a great gun to start with or for experienced players. It is very upgadable and comes with 2 stock expansion chambers. I have never chopped a ball or had any major problems with this gun. I use it for woods ball because that is all I play. It is very dependable in all terrain. It jammed once but it is very easy to unjam it quickly. It can shoot pretty far with a new barrel. Velocity bolt is very easily adjusted when you need to.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun. My friend showed me this gun and I got on Ebay for $70. I was so happy with my purchase that I bought anouther one and they both havent given any trouble.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 4th, 2007 at 9:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lucifer_sam Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor, Sonix, SE, Xtra, Rodeo, etc etc
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail (blue dust)
NDZ On/Off w/ drop forward
ANS locking feedneck
Proto alloy back cap
NDZ Pro Lite frame
68 ci/4500 psi DXS tank
DraXxuS Pulse (w/ RF chip)
Powerlyte Scepter barrel (.690 insert)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anti-siphon kit for the CO2 tank.
Strengths: Durability
Simplicity
Weaknesses: Associated with being a mechanical marker
No regulator
Heavy internals & body
Review: Kingman is a rather large company with about thirty-five different markers to their name, all unique. This marker particularly shows almost nothing to differentiate it from about ten other previous designs by Kingman. Yes, it's compact, and the aesthetics are slightly different from the Victor, Imagine, Xtra, and others, but to a certain extent, it's all notwithstanding.

I suppose that there are a few good qualities. Right off the bat, I noticed that the marker was designed much more with the player in mind. The cocking pin is oriented vertically, which, if aligned with the tip of the barrel past the elbow, delivers an excellent sight. Striker spring tension can be adjusted without the use of any tools, but is accompanied by a locking screw to prevent velocity ramping. I noticed also that the volume which the expansion chamber & dwell antechamber occupies is significantly larger than previous models, so you can be assured of a much lower operating pressure than usual. The stock barrel is okay as well, and it doesn't chop paint.

However, Kingman failed to attach any regulator or provide for the means to allow the consumer to attach it himself - the expansion chamber is secured by o-rings and allen head screws, which compromises any thoughts of replacement with an inline regulator. In addition, the grips are far too tense to be adequate for a competitive player, which isn't reciprocating but can certainly be a pain during play. And oh yes, Spyder has yet to catch on to the "inline screw" bandwagon. The ASA is mounted by two lateral screws, making it IMPOSSIBLE to be updated without a different frame as well. Guess they didn't consider aftermarket possibilities.
Conclusion: Don't get me wrong, this is a great product for beginners or newcomers to paintball, but if you have any intention of maintaining that stride and possibly updating your gun as it wears out, you're most definitely s.o.l. Spyder had no intention of this marker being used for more than a year. As a loyal denizen of the Spyder clan, it breaks my heart to say this, but buy a Custom 98 before you buy this. I say eight because it isn't a bad gun in itself, but Kingman showed inadequate foresight when they offered this product.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Paintballpain14 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder xtra, Spyder vs2
Marker Setup: Spyder tl-r Smart parts linear rifiled barrel (14'') 20 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New mask And if you want a new barrel but the stock is a great barrel.
Strengths: Accurate, Not loud, and leaves a mark when you hit the guy/Girl.
Weaknesses: Freezes hand, so make sure you where a glove.
Review: I love this gun. It shoots accurate, Far, And fast. With my gun i can shoot about 40 yards and then the ball starts to drop. Only curves with a lot of wind. You can shoot 9 balls per second with the stock trigger frame, but get a better on if you can. I play with people that have flatline barrels and my gun more accurat, but of course i cant shoot as far.
Conclusion: Get it if your looking for a cheap gun, that is if you buy it of ebay. This is recormemded for novince players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alexsharpe Thursday, March 29th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Spyder Victor II
Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, 20oz CO2, 200 Round Hopper, 4x20 Scope, 10in. Fluted Barrel, MP5 Stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Made well
Weaknesses: Hard Upgrade (at least in this case)
Chrome
Top-cocking
Ball Feed
Review: Not my marker. BUT my friend had one. First things first...it's not mean't for woodsball. Coincedently, that's what we play. So that was our bad. So this review might seem biased to some. But if your an upcoming woodsballer. This is not the gun for you.

It was hard to upgrade. There was a stock purchased for this marker, and it wasn't really that great. And everything else had to be ghetto-rigged. And if you've had expierence ghetto-rigging, you probably know it mostly doesn't work to well. He also tried to ghetto-rig a scope onto it. That didn't work. And it was easy to tell it was ghetto.

Color. Chrome?! Not too good for woodsball/scenario play. Yeah he kinda just stuck out sometimes with the sun and all. Until he bought a black barrel, but still, the body was chrome.

Top-cocking and ball feed. They get in the way of aiming and scope attatchments.

So long story short, he sold the gun and bought the Spyder MR1.
Conclusion: Not my kind of gun, but I'm sure a speedballer could make it work somehow.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

sharpshooter727 Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Recommended
Upgrades:
i6 inch barrel
Strengths: Strong reliable greeat beginer gun
Weaknesses: Not a very good tourney gun but otherwise nothin
Review: This is a great beginner gun. I have had one since i started paintballing and just put a 16 inch barrel on it and it worked great. I am now selling it to get enough money for a tournament gun and i was thinkin an epiphany is that a good tournament gun? if not do u have suggestions for a different gun? Well back to the tlr its a great gun and i highly suggest it for beginers. But not for a tournament gun.
Conclusion: Great rec gun Great beginer gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 26th, 2007 at 5:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mustang427 Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-X, tippman 98
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R with a ACS bolt and 16" barrl
Recommended
Upgrades:
ACS bolt spring kit
Strengths: Accuret, Fast, looks goods i really like this gun.
Weaknesses: There r no weakness for this gun
Review: I really like using this gun. For the money you can't go wrong. At 105 ft away i can hit a soda can on the 3rd shot. I went out to play with my friends and beat them, they both have Ions. Like I said there is nothing about this gun that i don't like.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun to anyone that wants to win.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zippinveedub Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rental 98C, JT Tac 5
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
Strengths: Accurate
Cheap
Light
Weaknesses: No sight
Review: I played several times at my local field with my friends, and I rented a 98C. I got this for my birthday, but I picked it out and truthfully I stood at Dicks for a good hour trying to pick between the TL-R and a 98C. I ended up going with the TL-R because it was a better deal, a 12oz vs 9oz and the upgraded barrel, for the same price. I played one game with it and after I went home and cleaned it. I ended up not putting the striker buffer back in, which caused my marker to break the next time I played. I tried to fix it with parts I ordered off the internet, but it broke again. I sent it back to Kingman and within a week and a half I had it back, they covered it fully under warranty and all it cost me was a few dollars for shipping. This mishap was purely my fault though, so do not hold it against the gun and kudos for Kingman's customer service. Now on to performance.

The gun is more accurate than my friends 98 Custom Pro using the 16in barrel, it performs flawlessly on the field and it greatly increased the amount of people I was taking out. It doesn't shoot super fast and all I have is a 200rd gravity hopper but, for the 2 to 3 times a month I play it does fine. I have only chopped 2 balls and one was in 10 degree weather, but the paintball markers are not made to perform in temperatures that cold anyway because all my friends guns were chopping and getting balls stuck in the barrel too. It looks amazing, but doesn't blend in very well, I always get made fun of with my full camo garb and a bright silver gun but I don't care because where we play camo doesn't really make a difference. The gun is also very durable, once I got lit up by a kid with an electric A-5 and fell to the ground, in the process dropping my gun hard in the dirt, I picked it up and it fired just fine. It is a great gun for the recreational paintballer
Conclusion: Great Gun, 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dcalzada72 Wednesday, February 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL The TL-R is better
Marker Setup: All stock
Spyder TL-R
16 inch snyper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger
Strengths: Very accurate
Durable
does good in all weather
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull
Review: The Spyder TL-R is an overall great marker , its accurate, duable, cool looking in silver and barely ever chops balls in the barrel when i first got it i went in my back yard and started to shoot it at my fence and i was amazed at how accurate it was even before i put on the 16 inch barrel even though the trigger pull is kinda long its nothing to bad . ive had it for about three months now and not one problem has come up.if your a begginer who wants an awsome gun i reccomend this one
Conclusion: The Spyder TL-R is an overall great marker , its accurate, duable and cool looking in silver serously if your a begginer who wants an awsome gun i highly reccomend this one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media