paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R

Kingman Spyder TL-R Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder TL-R

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder TL-R
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:-Drop forward -Vertical ball feed -Top cocking bolt -New larger expansion chamber -Lo-pressure chamber -All metal construction -Canted forward foregrip -Milled body -Rubber grips -Tournament style velocity adjuster -Ported barrel -2 finger trigger -Stainless steel bottom line set up
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder TL-R is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
thebob2 Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder mr2, tippman 98, tippman a-5
Marker Setup: spyder tl-r, w/ 16inch spyder barrel, adjustable trinity stock, and trinity vertical feed

Spyder mr2 w/ 16inch spyder barrel, adjustable trinity stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
the 12inch stock barrel is good but i would go with a longer barrel, a 16inch freak is amazing with this gun but kind of expensive, i stuck with a cheaper 16inch barrel made by spyder, if u play scinerio or woods ball get a stock but it's not really neccissary
Strengths: Durable, accurate, double trigger frame, never had it chop.
Weaknesses: The virtical feed doesn't allow for very good sight placement
Review: Igot this gun in a package with a 16inch barrel upgrade from my local sporting goods store for 175 dollars. it was worth every penny, i've never chopped a ball, which is more then i can say for my mr2 and my friends 98 custom, i've never had a jam, which is more than i can say for my friends a5, and it's a spyder so its obviously low maintenance

The only real problem i had with this gun was the cheap 6 dollar plastic adapters i would have to buy constantly every time i was done playing, eventually i said &*%@ it, and purchased a 30 dollar vertical adapter made by trinity.

The only reason i switched to the mr2 was because i wanted to put an electric trigger frame and sight rail( which, by the way, isn't possible) on my tl-r. It turned out to just be cheaper to get the mr2

The double trigger frame is nice because iv'e got fat sausage fingers so i don't have to fumble around trying to get my finger on the trigger.
Conclusion: This is an amazing paintball gun for any one. if u r looking for a quality marker that will put paint on a target, and ur to cheap (like me) to get an a5, go with the tl-r, my friend and i shot targets at 30yrds, him with his a5 me with my tl-r, and i owned him, part of it is probably that im an amazing shot but still, that says something for this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPYDER_TLR_2006 Monday, October 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: stock gun and barrel 20 co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board and bolt kit
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: No weaknesses
Review: This gun is awesome every time i shot i hit the target if your looking for a good gun save your money up and buy this gun the best thing is that it comes with a double trigger. If you are looking for a good beginner gun this is the one for you and even if your a pro or intermediate it is a great gun overall
Conclusion: Buy it and you will see
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C12OW Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
titan rental guns
spyder xtra
auto cocker trilodgy
tippman 98
spyder pilot
spyder rodeo
Marker Setup: tlr
16" CP barrel
everything else stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
locking feedneck
barrel is a must
e-frame if you want but no rocking trigger
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: okay got this off big 5 for $190 (ya i kno didn't wanna wait online) and one thing you may notice about this gun is that you can only get this in a package so I don't know if that's a plus or not but you wont be seeing experienced players with it. another thing is that this gun comes in two packages; a blue marker package, or the sniper package which is pretty much the same thing but silver and a 16 " barrel. i really don't know why they say its a sniper package all because of a barrel that's slightly longer than stock, both made out of the exact same material.

PERFORMANCE
so I go home, gas her up and shoot some average paint. It went straight as expected with the 12" and began sinking at 100 ft not too bad for spyder. I screw in the 16 inch barrel and shot, same accuracy but was disappointed that it only went 5-10 ft more than the 12" so they pretty much had the word "sniper" added in their to get people to buy it. bad move spyder. i go to the local field, weekend warriors (field paint only) and i join a game. In the middle of the game I start shooting and noticed that the paint is curving like crazy and this is pretty good paint. i notice that when the balls get warmed up from the heat i guess it drops in performance. Nothing really minor just buy another barrel I recommend a CP barrel, nothing too much for a gun like this

Looks
I notice that with the gun being silver it looks very attractive. If you go to a field like mine some people with be slightly intimidated (one kid thought i was a pro aha) but then again weekend warrior is not the best quality park out there. I go to a tournament and once they see the words "spyder" on it they laugh. so again just for intermediate play, that's what spyders were made for

weight
i noticed it was heavier than most paintball guns but i get tired of the criticism that people say about spyders being too heavy. If you cant bear like 3 lbs then stop playing paintball NOW.... before you hurt yourself. if you want to solve this slight problem then upgrade the internals to make it lighter

speed
for a mechanical gun it can shoot pretty fast with this 8-10 bps but really nothing much to brag about. if your not planning on getting another gun and frequently paintball you might as well chip in 50 bucks for an e-frame off eBay. don't get the rocking trigger frame!!!!! i can't say that enough times its a waste of money, you need a fast hopper, and many places wont allow you to use it anyways.

Feed neck
obviously spyder puts on these crappy feed necks on purpose.this and an elbow makes this gun a relatively big gun so not easy to maneuver around

other
be sure to screw in some of the nuts and whatnot to save a little bit of gas. i also notice that this gun is gas efficient, with a 12 oz tank will easily deliver 1000 shots or so. Lastly I notice that this gun does have a kick to it so if you wanna upgrade the bolt for both chopping and recoil reasons then be my guest. this gun is very upgradable.
Conclusion: with the money you can buy some other guns much better for the same price, a trilogy for example. a new barrel is a must and a feedneck to put on a new hopper and/ or shorten the height. Im not that big on spyders would have rather gotten a 98 or a trilogy but thats my opinion. Note that this gun performs almost exactly the same as many other spyder models. I shot my friends rodeo (he has a J&J barrel) and both shot the same (me with stock barrel) =D. overall its a decent gun but i think you could get better, buy it if you paintball with people of the same performance level gun. If not either buy and Impulse or trilogy for a mechanical. hope this helped
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballgod44 Tuesday, September 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e99, spyder e sparit, spyder rodeo, tippman 98 custom, tippman a-5, auto cocker e oricle, pmi ext eforce.
Marker Setup: spyder tlr is my main gun. im not a spyder fan ind the name spyder is almost an insult to this awsome marker. i have a 21" ufd silence barrel
ESP IPI 3.0 Trigger Frame
schim kit upgrade
Pure Energy 72cu 3000 psi compreesed air
pmi remote coil
32 degrees spring kit
Shocktech Superfly bolt
gas through grip
tl regulator kit
halo b hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
its fine stock but if u want to spend a little extra money for big results get the setup i have there is nothing like it.
Strengths: Accuracy, good distance, well made, and alot of upgrades for item.
Weaknesses: A little on the heave side but not realy an issue.
Review: when you think of this gun two words come to mind. KICK ASS. its such an amazing gun. i am not a fan of spyders to me the name spyder is an insult to this marker. its not often spyder makes a top of the line product which was the reason i almost passed up buying this gun. thank god i did. all my friends laughted when i told them i was playing with a spyder that day. hahaha the joke was on them. no gun came close to mine.
Conclusion: Great for all leavles ive been playing far many years and its the bes gun iver ever owned, i take this gun over my autococker any day of the week. its that good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

get naked Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nun
Marker Setup: Sspyder tl-r
Halo tsa
Apex barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Not loud
Strong
Accurate
Weaknesses: The handles a Little wired
Review: I think i got the whole kit for about $100 it seems i could have gotten it cheaper but oh well. The 16 in. barrel is great on it works with the gun like it needs to. You could throu this thing 20 ft. and it would still work its strong. but it is a big gun not all that heavy but still big. Keep everything tite stuff comes lose on it. One thing i didn't like was it keeps air/co2 in it some times. So it blew an o-ring like the 2ed time i used it.
Conclusion: Not a bad gun cheap enough for a newb and good for one too.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Louie3 Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman pro-E, the TL-R has so much more power and accuracy its not funny.
Marker Setup: Tl-R, 16inch spyder threaded barrel, Halo loader, N2 tank, with Rocker trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rocker Trigger Halo loader and upgradeing it to use N2
Strengths: Power, Accuracy, dependability
Weaknesses: This gun is Superman
Review: This gun will stick with you to wits end, I've used this bad girl in freezing rain, high winds, and messy mud. I can crawl with this baby, in loose dirt and sand and still she comes out shooting 8bps or more, I'm a sniper on my team and this gun will be favorite of all choice.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun for the more advance paintballer, but then again its your cash!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyglass1001 Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Triligy
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
Viewloader hopper
20 oz. CO2
16 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better trigger
Better barrel
Strengths: Accurate (for a mechanical marker)
Fairly fast
Weaknesses: Gas leaks
Wobbly trigger
Review: This gun has a couple of strengths: it is fairly fast, OK accuracy, and the stock is not to bad. Unfortunately, there are a couple of weaknesses also. The trigger is very wobbly, and the gun will sometimes randomly fire, also, the gas leaks a lot. The gun has good acuracy if you upgrade to a sixteen inch barrel.
Conclusion: An ok gun for beginners
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spion182 Saturday, August 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tl-x
autococker trilogy sport
imagine
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Pure Energy 3000 psi tank
Halo Backman Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
elbow
new trigger
Strengths: Made very well
cheap
comfortable
looks cool
doesn't chop
Weaknesses: Trigger pull isn't that sensitive
Review: This gun is great for newbs if it's stock, and if you put on a new trigger and a new barrel, it is a great gun for an experienced player. It's made well, doesn't cost alot, rarely chops, easily upgradable, looks cool, and is very comfortable. the only downside is the trigger isn't sensitive. with $20 or $150, you can fix that problem.

I reccommend this gun over a tl-x. It is a great gun for newbs and if you upgrade it, it can be a good gun for experienced player too!!!
Conclusion: Buy this over a TL-X or if you are a newb. If you aren't a newb, buy this and put a new trigger and barrel on it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lathers Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tac-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Feeder
Strengths: Accurate, even when firing as fast as you can; very durable; few chopped balls.
Weaknesses: Stock feeder could barely keep up when firing as fast as possible.
Review: I was originally using a friend's Tac-5 in a game of woods-ball, but I got a very bad chop in the barrel very early, and had to use someone else's TL-R, with a 16" barrel. After over one thousand paintballs were fired, I believe I only had one chopped ball.

One thing I noticed was that when I was suppressing, the gravity-based hopper had trouble keeping up with my fire, resulting in some shots of just CO2.

I would definitely suggest this gun to any new player: awesome accuracy and few chopped balls are good attributes for a gun as cheap as this.
Conclusion: Buy it. Even though I just tested, I'm going to get my own soon.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ABUSERNAME Wednesday, August 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II
Marker Setup: Stock TL-R with Viewloader Revolution Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
It's fine as it is.
Strengths: Accuracy, Durability
Weaknesses: Velocity Screw.
Review: I must say, I have been very impressed with this marker. I bought it after Christmas last year from Academy. I have been to a couple of scenario games with it, and I like it.
I play out in pastures and fields around an old abandon farm house most of the time, and accuracy is very important. Before i had this marker I had a Viewloader Triad(That marker was so horrible i won't even review it.).
Strengths:
Exceptional accuracy, easy to repair & clean, consistant velocity, parts widely available.
The accuracy was better than my friends A-5! I was amazed.
Weaknesses:
Aaaah yes, I have a few complaints about this marker. On my second scenarion game i was walking out to get my marker chrono'd and it was shooting waay to high(it was a hot day), i almost had to take the screw completely off the back of the marker. but i couldn't do that, so i left it almost all the way screwed off. it was so far off the little set screw on the velocity screw couldn't tighten it down. and i lost it. the for the night game i couldn't even use the stupid marker because the velocity wasn't high enough.
And one time i had a halo hopper on the marker and i was trying to see how fast i could shoot it. it just started chopping balls right and left. Definitely not made for a high rate of fire.
Conclusion: It is a great 'spyder' marker. I love its accuracy and durability, but Most of their mechanical markers are the same marker with different body styles. I bet if I really wanted to I could get my spyder victor to shoot just as well or better than my TL-R by buying $100 worth of upgrades.
This is one of the nicer spider guns. If you like spider, and are looking for a new gun, consider this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media