paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Paintball A-5 Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Giving A5 owners another option in hoppers is Ricochet Development. Ricochet’s new R5 hopper combines their well known “deflection engineering” faceted shape with an A5 size feed neck.

Ricochet’s deflection engineered shape is somewhat elongated, presenting mostly slight angles as a target to anyone shooting from directly ahead. This design carries the purpose of increasing the change of a paintball glancing off of its surface, rather than breaking and eliminating the player.

Because all of the Cyclone feed components are on the receiver, the R5 has not electronics or active feed mechanism, and functionally works just the same as the stock hopper. Aside from the shape, the other chief difference is that the R5 holds approximately 210 paintballs as opposed to the stock hopper’s 180.

The Ricochet R5 gives Tippmann A5 owners another choice in hoppers with the opportunity to give their A5 a more unique profile, and carry a bit more paint on the field.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
foughtwolf Wednesday, September 7th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
X7 Hopper, various tac caps and the original A5 model hopper.
Marker Setup:

Avratech Falcon Pre-production model. 1-10.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review.
Review: When this hopper first hit the market, I was all over it. I had been a big fan of Ricochet hoppers for years at this point. I already knew the problems they created, and they were usually offset by the gains, and given the original A-5s hopper was a gigantic, blunt target it was a must have for me.

At the time it was an incredibly unique and needed design for the A-5, and it came into its own for me the first time I used it. The only thing a new user would need to get used to is the 'angle' of reloading it is different than a normal hopper. Its very close to a vertical opening which can be hard to hit for some people without practice.

The Pros of the Ricochet R-5:
The utterly unique shape.
Deflecting shots at ranges that usually result in breaks, this is however a double edged sword.
Strong built, the material is very firm and strong but in the years Ive had mine it hasnt even gotten a hair line crack.
Good lid design. Some hoppers require a firm slap to close them fully, but even with a good lid spring like the R-5 has it doesnt have any problems closing quickly and reliably.
The LOS is significantly better than the stock hopper.

The Cons of the Ricochet R-5:
Stock, it is a serious rattle can. The hard plastic material its made of really doesnt dampen sound at all, shifting the hopper from side to side with paint sounds like your doing a full spring with a normal hopper. This is an easy fix with either an external neoprene cover or simply taking it apart and gluing some thin foam into the halves.
Deflecting shots into your mask instead of out away from you. Admittedly, if this happens, with a normal hopper you would have had it splattered on your hopper anyways, but it still stinks.
Some may not fit into your cyclone without some sanding and filing on the hopper.
The LOS on the R-5 is not as good as it could be, its better than the stock hopper, but because its longer, it may not allow sights and scopes if they are on risers of just huge.
Conclusion: If you can find one today, grab it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thedanielw Wednesday, March 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Stock Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
Ricochet R-5 Hopper
20oz. CO2
Double Trigger
Response Trigger (coming soon)
Strengths: Deflects hits 8 out of 10 times
Holds 200 or so rounds
Weaknesses: Loud (if that is an issue for you)
Lid pops up (before simple mod below)
Review: I bought the Ricochet Hopper after reading different reviews for upgrades to make to the A-5. I have used the Ricochet for two 6-7 hour outings, about 5000 rounds including practice rounds. I have had great results with hits deflecting off the hopper without busting, probably 8 out of 10 times. You will have to occasional hit deflect into your facemask, but that has only happened once for me.

However, on my last outing, about midway through the day the lid started popping up when I would fire. I had to make do with a piece of duct tape for the rest of the day. It seemed that the back pressure was forcing the top to pop. My solution was to drill two small 1/8" holes under the lip of the lid to release the back pressure in the hopper. After this simple mod, I have had no issues after shooting about 500 or so rounds. I will know better on my next outing, but I assume this will cure the issue for good.
Conclusion: I would recommend this simple upgrade for any A-5 owner.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 26th, 2008 at 11:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andrewmastic Wednesday, October 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hoppers.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5.
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel.
Ricochet R5 Hopper.
Adjustable Stock.
Strengths: Get deflections easily.
Black color is nice & simple.
Holds 210 paintballs.
Cap is secure.
Weaknesses: VERY LOUD.
Might slip out of the cyclone feeder.
Review: This review is for the black R5 (which I understand is different than the smoke).

Good:
It looks great on your gun, and has alot better angles than the stupid stock hopper. The cap is very secure, so you don't have to worry about it popping open. It also holds around 210 paintballs as opposed to the 180 that the stock one holds.

Bad:
IT IS VERY LOUD. The plastic is very brittle, so the paintballs make alot of noise inside.
The tab where it fits into the Cyclone feeder is not as thick as the stock hopper. If you tap the front of the hopper the tab can come loose, making me worry that the hopper could fall off sometime (if you turn your gun upside down of course).
Conclusion: I'm torn.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

za_hulk Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
the other electric ones
Marker Setup: automag rt pro ule q-loader ......
Strengths: Cool looking
Deflect paint some times (but better than some hoppers that do at all)
Weaknesses: Noisy
Review: Its a hopper but it deflects paint. it looks cool but the paint inside makes it sound like a maraca. i would get thew sniper version or put something in it to make it less noisy.
i have had lots of paint deflect off one time i let my cuz use my a-5 i used a pump and i shot the hopper and it deflected off and shot him. So you can get hit if you have it at the right angle.
Conclusion: I would give it a 8 cuz its kind of noisy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dcarva Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard A5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippman A5, E-Trigger, Blackcell barrel, BSA Red dot site, etc.
Strengths: Some of the same strengths already listed in the previous reviews.
Weaknesses: Did not fit my special ops stovepip offset.
Review: The hopper is noiser than the standard A5 hopper. However, I fixed this problem. I opened the thing up and duct-taped the interior of the hopper. Now it's very quiet. Not sure if this will have any negative long term effects. But I don't care. Only cost 15 bucks. ;) Also, I had to sand down the latch a bit to get it to fit into my A5 stovepipe offset.
Conclusion: Not a bad deal for 15 bucks. I rated it an 8 only because it's louder than normal hoppers. Feels brittle, but looks cool and seems to work really well because I have yet to be hit on my hopper since I purchased it. :)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 5th, 2007 at 2:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin M. Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
All American Barrel Back with 10'' Red Freak Front
Vortex Mod
A-5 QEV
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
Opsgear Folding Stock
Ricochet Hopper
Oxygen & Co2 Tanks

Strengths: Does what it says, deflects paintballs off hopper from the front
Weaknesses: Read below
Review: If hopper is hit on the left side, you will notice that they are still traveling very fast towards your facemask... you can do the math.... paintball deflected at face=splattered paintball ON face. Also the angular sides of the hopper offer no help over the stock hopper if hit from the side, but from the front.... (which should be pointed at enimies anyways) it does a pretty good job deflecting balls
Conclusion: This is not a bad product but like anything it does have its drawbacks, but it is still well worth the money
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 10th, 2007 at 7:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

grizzlya5 Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper
Marker Setup: A-5,Egrip,flatline and freak kit,DOP-short dropforward-power tube-rear velocity adj. ,offset sight rail,BSA red dot,ACI 68/4500
Strengths: The Shape
Weaknesses: 2 Broken and very Noisy
Review: I have purchased two of these hoppers, the first was only used about 6 times.I was shot from the side at probably 40 feet and the entire side cracked breaking most of the paint left in the hopper, so I bought another thinking I would give it another chance. This time on the first time out, I slid in behind a bunker and the lid popped open and both sides where the lid hinges broke off. This hopper is VERY NOISY when running.
Conclusion: I woud not buy this product !!!!!

WHY CAN'T RICOCHET USE THE SAME MATERIAL AS TIPPMANN WITH THEIR SHAPE
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Furby87 Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper.
Marker Setup: A-5, JJ Performance 16", Pure Energy coiled remote line, Tasco red dot, Special Ops sight rail, super fly mark 2 forward bolt, Redhot power tube, Tapco A5 6 position stock, Ricochet R-5
Strengths: Deflects paintballs, can use with sight.
Weaknesses: Lid pops open sometimes, holds less than stock.
Review: I bought mine used but I'm getting a new one cause there is a crack in the housing. It does what they say it will do but it sucks when the ball is deflected into your mask(happened once). I dont have a offset for my hopper yet but I can still mount my 30mm red dot scope on there. I dont know if it will work with a bigger scope or not.

The only down side is that it holds less paint than the stock hopper and the lid will pop open sometimes but I think that is because its just worn out and it only happens when I use CO2.
Conclusion: I love it. If you dont mind not being able to carry less paint then this is a great buy for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dizzypaintball Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just the stock hopper
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5,
J&J 13" ceramic barrel,
20 oz. pure energy tank,
remote
Strengths: Sleek looking
price
deflects some shots
very cool looking
holds more balls
Weaknesses: I could not find any
Review: so i just have the stock a-5 hopper, and it works pretty good, but as you may know, that a-5 with the cyclone ripps trough balls like no tomorrow. so i tried it out because my dad had one and i liked how it looked, so i asked to borrow it.
i don't really have any great stories but this hopper did the trick and i got shot in it and it deflected it. so that was pretty good. but i had a great time with this hopper and for the price you cant beat it. i think mine comes in on Thursday. :)
Conclusion: Buy it, its worth it for the price and is very cool looking!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BeerIsGoodForU Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
The stock hopper
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip
Drop forward
12' Tippmann werks barrel
vortex mod
Palmers QEV
Ricochet hopper
jcs dual trigger
Strengths: Looks good on A-5 IMO
does deflect [i]some[/] frony shots
fairly cheap $$
Weaknesses: Is a little loud - not bad for me tho.
Review: It is a lot better than the original hopper. It looks alot better than the stock hopper. It also holds more balls. The spring lid makes it easy to load the paintballs and it "locks" down well too.

As far as the noise issue, it is a little loud, but no louder than the noise when my podz rattle around. But I don't play a lot of stealth where I need to creap a lot without noise.

Conclusion: Great product. Looks great, made well, is inexpensive, and holds more balls than the stock hopper. Get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media