paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Paintball A-5 Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Giving A5 owners another option in hoppers is Ricochet Development. Ricochet’s new R5 hopper combines their well known “deflection engineering” faceted shape with an A5 size feed neck.

Ricochet’s deflection engineered shape is somewhat elongated, presenting mostly slight angles as a target to anyone shooting from directly ahead. This design carries the purpose of increasing the change of a paintball glancing off of its surface, rather than breaking and eliminating the player.

Because all of the Cyclone feed components are on the receiver, the R5 has not electronics or active feed mechanism, and functionally works just the same as the stock hopper. Aside from the shape, the other chief difference is that the R5 holds approximately 210 paintballs as opposed to the stock hopper’s 180.

The Ricochet R5 gives Tippmann A5 owners another choice in hoppers with the opportunity to give their A5 a more unique profile, and carry a bit more paint on the field.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Donster 125 Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, 3 pos. CAR stock, Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, Lapco Offset sight rail
Strengths: Low Profile
Deflection Technology
Ball Capacity
Weaknesses: Deflection Technology (see review)
Bottom of hopper (where it connects to the cyclone)
Plastic
Review: Well to start off, i like to play a sniper/sharpshooter role, so i need somthing that is low profile, but not limited in its ammo supply (like a Tac Cap). THis hopper covered both of those needs. At 180 balls, I wont be running dry in a firefight anytime soon. The ball deflection design really does work, but unfortunately, they have on some occasions deflected into my face. The biggest problem i have with this hopper is that the part where it connects to the cyclone, it has started to leave grooves along the path that i twist. Basically, every time that i twist my hopper off, the grooves become more pronounced. THis has lead to the problem that it has become extremely difficult to remove my hopper with one hand. I now need 2 hands, and instead of wiggling it off, i simply must just pull it off with both hands. THe grooves that i talk about are very small, more like scratches, but if you run your finger over them, you can tell its deeper than a scratch, so thus i consider it a groove. The reason why i think this hopper caused the minute grooves is because it is made from a stronger plastic than the stock hopper, which leads me to my next point. THe hopper is louder then the stock hopper due to the difference in plastic used in the construction of the R-5. I recommend doing the mod that another person posted on this website, where you tape cloth to the inside of the hopper. that, or you can buy the new "sniper" model from richochet that has a variation of this mod already installed.
Conclusion: It is a great hopper and i would recommend it to anyone who wants Low Profile, Ball Deflection Technology and Ball Capacity. It could get an 8/10, -1 for the loudness of the hopper, and -1 from the cyclone feed issue. a great hopper never-the-less and i highly recommend it to ANYONE!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 13th, 2007 at 1:55 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kek Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper
Tac Cap
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
E-Grip
14" SP Progressive
G36 Folding Stock
BT Double Finger Trigger
Ricochet R5/TacCap
Remote
68/3000 HP

Tippmann 98 Custom
14" SP Proggressive
Univ. Air-through stock
HALO TSA LED Frontman
Remote
48/3000 HPA
Strengths: - Deflective technology
- Looks
- Price
- Capacity
- Sits tight
Weaknesses: - Transparent lid
Review: I bought this hopper just to check out if the Ricochet design would really work, and I was surprised to see it does. I haven't been hit on my hopper since I bought it, a big change from the stock hopper, which seen to have a cross-hair painted on it

This hopper looks way bad*ss, sets you apart from all the other people. It is nearly as cheap (12 euros) as a replacement (which I was initially looking for), and for it holds some 20-30 balls more, which a little advantage. The hopper sits really tight, you'll need some good force to get it out, which is exactly what I like. The only weakness of this hopper is that it comes whit a transparent lid, so although it allows you to check how much ammo you've left, it does scream at your enemy: See this orange spot, shoot me here!!!
Conclusion: Very good hopper, as it only has one small weakness it deserves a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BarsbyPB27 Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper (sucks in comparison, it should come with a red bullseye painted on it)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
14" Smart Parts TearDrop
Ricochet 2K R5 Hopper

16 oz co2 tank
Strengths: Deflects paintballs
Holds more paint
looks cool
Weaknesses: Obstructs sights a lil bit more
Review: I bought this hopper for about 20 bucks at my local paintball store. It was really cheap and I'd heard good stuff about it so I jumped on it. I haven't been disappointed yet.
I ran a little test just to see what it looked like on a chart.
I hid behind a tire stack with my gun elevated enough so that the hopper was only visible. My friend fired 10 rounds at the hopper.
10 shots - 9 hits - 9 deflections - 0 breaks
We ran it again to make sure
10 shots - 10 hits - 8 deflections - 2 breaks
You do the math.
Conclusion: Get it. If you've got an A-5 (hopefully you do, you're looking at a cyclone feed hopper review) and you want an upgrade from your standard (*cough* dartboard) hopper, you'll have spent 20 well placed dollars. It gets a nine, for slightly obstructing a sights view more than a stock hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vweltin Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with RT kit installed
Strengths: -Sleek design
-Fits perfectly
-Deflection works
Weaknesses: -The lid feels flimsy
Review: This hopper is amazing. It fits nice and snug into the mount point of the A5. While others complain of the increased noise of this hopper, I filled up both and shook them around a bit, and noticed no significant difference.

When I first got the hopper, I opened the bag and opened the lid. The plastic on the lid feels very flimsy and cheap, but I have yet to experience any actual problems with it.

When actually playing with this hopper, I have noted 7 instances when my hopper has been hit; 4 balls were deflected away, and 3 broke on the hopper.
Conclusion: If you have $10 you're willing to burn to make your A5 look a lot nicer, buy this hopper. It isn't a necessary upgrade, but I would definitely recommend this product.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 10th, 2006 at 6:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.T.Baggins Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock a-5 hopper(I like it better)
Marker Setup: \Tippmann a-5
Tacamo wood ak-47 barrel kit
Tacamo wood ak stock
Tacamo sight rail
Opsgear ak-47 hideaway mag
E-grip W.A.S
Penspring and my own trigger modding
Stock hopper or 30 round tac cap
Remote
48/3000 pmi air tank

Side arm:
Tiberius 8

Strengths: holds more balls
looks cool
deflects paintballs sometimes
Only 20 bucks
Weaknesses: Lid pops open very irratating
Gets in the way if you got a sight
Loud
Review: I bought this hopper becuase I was sick of the bulls eye sitting on the front of my stock hopper screaming shoot me. It also holds more balls which is great because I dont carry pods and I hate being out because I'm out of balls. It also looks much cooler. THe ricochet design has infact deflected some balls in my experience and it looks very unique. The lid also stays much tighter than stock hoppers. I have heard some people saying it makes to much noise but it hasnt been a problem for me. It also seems to made of harder plastic *Edit* I since bought a sight I dont use this thing and went backt o the stock hopper. It gets in the way much more then the stock. If you use a sight and want this hopper your gonna need an offset. Also if the lid keeps popping off drill 2 holes in the hopper on the bottom and the air pressure is realesed and it doesnt pop off anymore.
Conclusion: It works well if you dont use a sight.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 7:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

specopsp8ntball Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Hopper
Viewloader 2000
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Expansion Chamber
Drop Forward
Custom Hose
Double Trigger
Centerfeed Kit
Ricochet R5
PMI Pure Energy CO2 Tank with On/Off Switch
Strengths: Deflects Lots of Paint
Holds More Paint
Good Looking
Weaknesses: Very Loud (Can be fixed)
Review: I bought this hopper along with my brand new Tippmann A-5 and I used it for the first time with my friend. The thing held more paint than I could ever hope for, I don't know why the websites say it holds only 180 paintballs. In many situations, I had a paintball hit the front of my hopper, and not yet have I gotten out by a hopper hit. This hopper has saved me on the paintball field so many times, I cannot count them because I barely notice if a paintball its it. Sure, the hopper is loud, but you can easily fix that by buying a hopper cover or coating the inside with cloth. The hopper covers are kind of hard to find.
Conclusion: Get it, it will save your butt and it is pretty cheap
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoePa Friday, May 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Rufus Dog double trigger
Evil Detonator Reg.
32 degrees 7 inch universal drop forward
16inch all american/freak barrel (silver/black)
Pure energy 88ci/4500 tank w/ Dye rhino tank cover
super R/t
QEV
Strengths: Sleek design
Light
Capacity
Durability
Weaknesses: Cap seems like it will break easy, (mine isn't broken)
none other than that
Review: i like the new design of this, the front of the hopper is awesome no more square footage to measure, pointed at the end, holds a bit more than stock about the same but maybe a bit more. good product for the price. And it looks great too, next time the refs come to check your paint they just look at the side and thats it, we have strict rules at bfg where you have to use their paint (rps premium field colors) and they check occasionally. so its all good. it fits snug too.
Conclusion: Great product for the price i reccomend it, but if you are not in a worry about your hopper sticking out, i wouldn't, seems like the cap will break off sooner or later, there is always replacements, for 14 dollars they are replaceable. they should last more than a couple games.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MrHostess Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5 stock
standard gravity feed hoppers
a few electric hoppers
Marker Setup: a-5 /w response trigger, 16" j & j ceramic, 20 oz. c02 /w anti siphons, r-5 ricochet(smoke)
Strengths: Deflected 7 of 10 balls (shot 3 10 round tests)
Spring lid
Cansee balls
Price
Weaknesses: Lid can be a little hard to get open at times (good or bad)
Review: Overall its a very nice hopper its nice looking its got a nice spring lid so when you open it goes all the way for a clean fill without spilling everywhere from a half open lid the lid is a tad bit hard to open (cant flick it with ur thumb) but this can be good or bad wont pop open when u dont want it to i deflected average of 7 out of 10 balls in 3 tests the stock hopper took all 10 twice and 9 one test and i dont know if it is a problem for most people but its helpful to be able to check ur paint count without flipping the lid overall great buy
Conclusion: Foronly 10$ at most local pb store its definitely worth the money. i really like it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

onef457z Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 Hopper (obviouslu pre-cyclone upgrade), Stock A-5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Custom 98, Promark Trigger, Expansion Chamber, DeadOn Drop Forward, Cyclone Feed System, Ricochet Hopper, DYE Sticky3 Grips, 14" Whisper Barrel
Strengths: Design/Shape (and resulting ball deflection), Capacity, Look
Weaknesses: Somewhat loud, Lid
Review: This is a good hopper for your A-5 (or 98 w/ the Cyclone up). I have not gotten hit in the hopper since i got it, but you can read stories all over about the deflection that this hopper can cause. The hopper is loud, but thats not a big deal. If it really does bother you, there are things you can do to quiet it up (cloth inside, etc). The lid seems hard and brittle to me, but it hasnt broken, so i won't complain about it.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a good hopper. It looks cool, and it could save you from getting hit in-game. Go for it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a5enthusiast Friday, March 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 E
W.A.S Board
Flatline
Ak Folding Stock
Shocktech Drop
Pure Energy 72/3000


Strengths: Design
Weaknesses: The Cap
Review: I picked this hopper up because i was looking for a replacement for the bulky stock hopper that came with the a5.

When I first used this product, the first thing that I noticed is that it was a bit loud, but that is not much of an issue for me since my marker is loud.

Anyways, my biggest problem with this hopper is the fact that it feels so cheap. So far it has held up just fine to my abuse, but when you open the lid, and have it up, there is a lot of free play, and i'm worried that it may be a little too easy to break right there.

But overall I think that this hopper is worth the money, and it does exactly what it is supposed to do, fit tight, and hold balls. I also like the fact that the lid is clear, so it is a little bit easier to see how many balls you have left.
Conclusion: This is definately worth the ten dollars I paid for it, it gives the a5 a little bit slimmer look.

If you are looking for a replacement to the stock hopper on the a5 than this is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media