paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Paintball A-5 Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Giving A5 owners another option in hoppers is Ricochet Development. Ricochet’s new R5 hopper combines their well known “deflection engineering” faceted shape with an A5 size feed neck.

Ricochet’s deflection engineered shape is somewhat elongated, presenting mostly slight angles as a target to anyone shooting from directly ahead. This design carries the purpose of increasing the change of a paintball glancing off of its surface, rather than breaking and eliminating the player.

Because all of the Cyclone feed components are on the receiver, the R5 has not electronics or active feed mechanism, and functionally works just the same as the stock hopper. Aside from the shape, the other chief difference is that the R5 holds approximately 210 paintballs as opposed to the stock hopper’s 180.

The Ricochet R5 gives Tippmann A5 owners another choice in hoppers with the opportunity to give their A5 a more unique profile, and carry a bit more paint on the field.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
OlUncleGearHead Saturday, January 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 Hopper
VL200 loader (back in the day)
Marker Setup: Tippman A5
Special Ops SD Shroud
Special Ops MP Mag to Remote
Special Ops Flattop Rail
Ricochet R5 / Proteam Tac Cap (depending on circumstance)
Bushnell Trophy Red Dot Sight
Opsgear G36C Stock (for now)
Pure Energy Remote
Strengths: Looks
Shape
Warranty
Weaknesses: A bit noisy
Cap feels a bit brittle (although mine hasn't broken)
Review: We've all seen it. After a couple of games, you inevitably see some poor casualty walking off the field with the front of his stock A5 hopper dripping with paint.

In military parlance, it's called a 'shell trap'. A surface that gives a projectile a 'biting angle' and allows the object to penetrate (or in the case of a paintball, bursts). A paintball hitting a surface at a perpendicular angle will burst every time. The Ricochet R5 gives you an edge against hopper shots.

I spotted an R5 in a display case at my local paintball, and picked it up because I had had some extra cash bouncing around in my pocket. I play a mix of mil-sim and casual woodsball, so usually I use a Proteam Tac Cap, but decided it would be nice to be able to load up on paint when I'm just playing casually.

After a couple of games, I noticed that I'd get just about as many hits on my hopper with the R5 as I would with my low profile Tac Cap. Considering the R5 must have at least 3-4 times the surface area as a Tac Cap, the deflection angle works.
Conclusion: Even if you don't often get hopper hit, the possibility of the ball deflecting means more playing time, and if you spend more time playing, this hopper pays for itself.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dead Aim77 Tuesday, January 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5,E-grip, JCS trigger,Lapco 8" Bigshot,
Strengths: -Looks
-Holds a little bit more paint
Weaknesses: -Hard Plastic
-Loud
Review: I got this thinking it would look good and hold more paint. I tried it out in my backyard and it was fine. But as soon as tried it playing the paint kept breaking in it. I thought it was just because it was cold. I tried again and the paint broke in it again. This cause my cycle feed to get covered in paint and my shots to be extremely inaccurate. So if you want to get the R5 for your a-5 i suggest you get the R5 stealth because it has padding in it so it doesnt make noise and protects the balsl from breaking.
Conclusion: I suggest you don't get it. If you want it for looks get the R5 stealth. It is a little bit more expensive but worth it.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Gwan Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock A5 hopper
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 w/ E-grip(WAS board), remote to 3000psi centreflag nitro, T6 adjustable stock, JCS double trigger, DOP front grip, Lapco snapshot 14inch barrel, M4 weaver Handguard, R5 sniper hopper, lapco offset sight mount, E-Dot red dot sight, Red hot powertube, shocktech bolt, maddman spring kit, QEV
Strengths: Deflecting angles
spring lid
capacity
Weaknesses: None to date
Review: After hearing constant turmoil about this product not being able to deflect paintballs i decided to run a test. I hid behind a rusty barrel and lifted my gun above the barrel so that the hopper was sticking out and my friend shot 10 balls. 8 hit. 6 deflected.2 broke. Then we did it with the stock hopper 10 balls. 6.5 hit. 0.5 deflected. 6 broke.hmmmm......I guess it works. the point 5(0.5) sorta hit the barrel(not the marker barrel) and then bounced off the hopper. As for looks its intimidating and carries more balls, almost 30 more.I don't know about you but i always wished that I had those extra 20 or so rounds on me.and yes i know i could carry pods! The spring lid is also an enjoyable feature because it wont fall on your hand while you pour paintballs in and they wont go spilling everywhere.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to all A5 user that want to be intimidating, distinguishable and not being sent to the dead box by a dumb hopper hit! I give it a nine cause of blocking of the sight line(if u have a red dot site)but you can now get an hopper offset adapter
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 10:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wicked Xtreme Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock a-5 hopper
Marker Setup: A-5
ballistic drop foward
rva
flatline
crossfire 68/3000
e-grip
Strengths: Design and style.
Weaknesses: (see Below)
Review: I only used the r5 for one game. Let me give you the senario. Chilly day, around 30-40degrees,outside for about 15 minutes. I poked out from behind the wall and got hit right in the nose of the hopper. when I got back to the staging building I noticed that the hit had caused the hopper to split a quarter down the center, and a bout halfway down. The hopper was useless after that. This was probably caused by the weather and the moons perfect alignment. either way, the hopper lasted 15 minutes and one shot.
Conclusion: My conclusion is that I will not buy another one, and hope that they design a stronger one. Not a ver good product. I gave it a 5 because I might have had a lemon.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vtTaco Thursday, December 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Double Trigger
E-Grip
LPK
SpecOps A2-A5 Stock and Foregrip
PMI Remote w/ Slide Check
Ricochet R5 Hopper
Crossfire 68/4500
Palmer Female Stabilizer
Strengths: Capacity
Price
Deflection
Weaknesses: None...yet
Review: This review is for the Black model which I've heard is stronger than the Smoke one. It's made from a polycarbonate plastic similar to the Evolution II and Halo. It's very light and feels a lot more brittle than it is. No cracks yet...

The Good:
Deflects balls from head on (sort of) About half the shots will deflect into your mask or into the front of the cyclone feeder(DOH!!!). The other half deflect away(WOOHOO!). Compare that to the stock hopper where 10% deflect away and the rest break right on the dart board in front.

While the hopper won't do a great job deflecting paint from the sides or back, I don't plan to get shot from the sides (I've allowed myself to get flanked?!?!?) or from behind (How'd that *!#@#$% get behind me?!?!?)

Cheap: It's about $15-20 after shipping on most sites.

Hold more balls. About 20-30 more

For me, it loads quicker. The design promotes the balls rolling forward and away from the opening instead of piling up there when refilling from a pod.

The lid is plenty strong and has never opened on me unintentionally. It's clear too, so I can see my paint situation at a glance.

The Not so Bad:
Okay it's a little louder than the stock hopper. For you tourney guys this wont matter since you'll never hear the paint rattling over your teammates yells and markers firing. For you woodsballers it won't matter much either. If you're sneaking around slowly, your paint shouldn't jostle around so much that it gives you away. If you're sprinting, the enemy will see you running and hear your footsteps/paint in pods/guys shooting anyways. Snipers should remain perfectly still anyways so this shouldn't effect them unless stalking someone within 50 feet. Honestly, when's the last time you were in a firefight and thought "Wow, that guys hopper is loud."

The Neutral:
What about the size? Check the comparison pic I posted at the top of this page.

Conclusion: 10. It does everything it's supposed to. Holds more balls, deflects, (sometimes) and is cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 15th, 2005 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Syber Sunday, December 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing com-pairs to a piece of crap like this.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Co2 enhancer, flatline, 20 Co2

Viking, Dye16' , Nitrous
Strengths: The only strength is the fact that it holds More than the stock Hopper
Weaknesses: Its not a2 piece hopper it has 3 Pisces docent clamp lid well at all.
Review: Ok the first time i got this hopper the lid got shot threw by a guy behind me in speed ball we were only playing at 250 psi so its very week now the second one i got (i don't no why i got another one but sec i did) i played hole day with it and about every outher Hopper when i shot the top would pop off ( Well not off but its still secured on) Then the last game of the day ime leaning some one and my Hopper literally blows apart not from a paint ball just from the air pressure the co2 going threw the gun(250 psi) well wat happened was the lid flew off the hopper then the back three screws holding the Hopper together fly off in to different directions and all my paintballs to the floor. I looked at my hopper (Pisces) and saw no paint on it i was so P***d. The next hopper i got was the one that hold 330 balls and ive used that in a rookie tournament 2 scenarios and plenty of woods ball games with Bud's and its the same exact price as the rite-ch (ma by 2$ More but no big difference)
Conclusion: This product is a true waste of time and money. I'd give it a rating of 0.5 but i cant .
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

ronin1501 Wednesday, October 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippman A5 Flatline
Strengths: Holds more paintballs than original hopper. Has well design bounce off angles.
Weaknesses: Bottom section that attaches to the cyclone feeder.
Review: I bought two of these when it first came out. I don't know if they have made improvements or not. After 3-4 games, I noticed cracking at the base where the hopper mounts to the cyclone feeder. Well after 6 games, I went back to the original hopper. Both my riccochets broke at the bottom. I hope then can remake them stronger.
Conclusion: I would not recommed this product unles it was redesigned with a stronger lower section.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phsycopyro dlf Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann A-5 200rnd Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Paintball Marker
Dead On ON/OFF Bullet Drop Forward
Tippmann A-5 Lapco Drop Forward Adapter
Tippmann A-5 M-16 3 Position Adjustable Stock
Tippmann A-5 Ricochet 200rnd Hopper
Tippmann A-5 Shock Tech Foregrip
3K 800 P.S.I. Pure Energy Compressed Air System
Tippmann A-5 E-grip
Tippmann A-5 Double Trigger
Tippmann A-5 Rufus Dawg Venturi Bolt
Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
Strengths: Deflects balls when hit about 80% of the time and has a great look.
Weaknesses: To get 200 paintballs into it is difficult. Initially you get about 170 balls.
Review: This hopper is awesome! I love the look and it really functions like it claims to. My old fat stock hopper used to always smacked when I played, but now balls bounce off the hopper about 80% of the time. The R-5 hopper also gives a sweet look to your gun and allows slightly larger sight to be mounted on to you gun. A considerable down side though is the hopper claims to hold 200 balls, I counted how many paintballs went in and I came up with about 194 balls, but that's after shaking, the hopper, moving ball around and putting ball in on by one. Initially you can get about 170-180 ball in when loading quickly during play. So I would say this product is good, not great just good.
Conclusion: I would only recomend this product if your not trigger happy and take that one extra split second to actually aim at what your shooting at. One more thing, by "not trigger happy" I don't mean you have to be a sniper, thats my job : ) You can still go nuts on a guy if you have to.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sushiman19 Monday, July 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other ricochet loaders
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
R-5 hopper
14" werks barrel
Double trigger
Tippmann 20oz CO2
E grip
Flatline
Nitro
Low pressure system
G-36 stock
Micro cap
Red dot sight
Coil remote
Dye boomstick 14"
Strengths: Durable
Looks
Compactness
Weaknesses: Deflection
Review: This is the best hopper that you can buy for the a-5 and it is the only hopper that you can buy for the a-5. This hopper will add looks to your gun and will make it look streamline and areodynamic. The only bad thing about the gun is that the deflection technology is not really true. If you get hit in the hopper, the paintballs will still break.
Conclusion: Good hopper to get!!!! Better than stock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 11th, 2006 at 1:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

harwegos333 Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months51 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 stock hopper, other stock hoppers, some electric hoppers.
Marker Setup: A-5, car stock,
12inch all american freak,
A-5 to spyder barrel adaptor,
ricochet R-5 hopper (smoke),
32 Degrees remote,
Redz Flex-Tek 4+1 harness,
Bt fixed sight rail,
dye izon red dot sight,
16 oz Co2 tank.
Strengths: Holds more balls
Deflects 8 out of 10
quiet (after homemade mods.)
Cap fits tight
Weaknesses: Extremely loud before mods.
Blocks raised sights.
Review: When I first saw this hopper I jumped all over it. Finally there was another more convenient hopper than the stock A-5 hopper, (which deserved a bullseye sticker right on the front.) The first thing I notice with this hopper was that it was louder than and elefant stampede during a church service. I quickly acted on this and made my own mods to quiet down the stampede. I'll tell you what I did so maybe you can do it too.

1. Grab an old piece of clothing that is dark, soft, and about a milimeter or two thick. (The more thick, the quieter)
2. Now grab scotch tape or duct tape and a marker that will be visible on the fabric.
3. Lay the fabric accross one side of the hopper and use the marker to draw an outline of the side of the hopper.
4. Cut out the piece of fabric and tape it in the inside of the hopper. Make sure you use enough tape to keep the fabric secure.
5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 until the whole inside of the hopper is covered with the fabric.
NOTE: This is easier to do with a smoke colored hopper because you can see the tape on the inside of the hopper. (You can take the hopper apart if you'd like, but be careful because the screws are very weak and easy to strip.)
NOTE2: If you want you can leave the cap uncovered so you can see how many paintballs are in your hopper without taking off the cap.

With this homemade modification I was able to make a hopper that is, by far, quieter than any other hopper I have ever seen in my 4 years of paintballing.

Now onto the bounce factor. The first day I used this was at a local paintball field that was having it's big game day. I was shot in the hopper, no joke, about 14 times. It sounds like a lot, but if your playing from 8 to 5 and there are medics to tag you back in during a 20 to 30 minute game with about 100 people on each team 14 isn't too much. Anyways, out of these fourteen only two or three broke and those were the ones that hit right on the side, everyball that came from in front of me didn't break. If that isn't a good ratio then I don't know what is.

One weakness this could have it that it restricts the view of raised sights just a little more than the stock hopper. It doesn't really make TOO much more of a difference, especially for me because I use the dye izon sight.
Conclusion: When I first bought this hopper it was really loud, but with my homemade mods it is the quietest thing ever! I recommend this hopper to anyone who is looking for good quality or even if you don't really care, buy one anyway, I got mine for only TEN bucks. I'm giving this a 9 because I had to make the mods myself, but other than that its a 10. Please leave a comment, I want to know if my reviews are of good quality or need work.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 7th, 2005 at 10:12 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media