paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Paintball A-5 Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Giving A5 owners another option in hoppers is Ricochet Development. Ricochet’s new R5 hopper combines their well known “deflection engineering” faceted shape with an A5 size feed neck.

Ricochet’s deflection engineered shape is somewhat elongated, presenting mostly slight angles as a target to anyone shooting from directly ahead. This design carries the purpose of increasing the change of a paintball glancing off of its surface, rather than breaking and eliminating the player.

Because all of the Cyclone feed components are on the receiver, the R5 has not electronics or active feed mechanism, and functionally works just the same as the stock hopper. Aside from the shape, the other chief difference is that the R5 holds approximately 210 paintballs as opposed to the stock hopper’s 180.

The Ricochet R5 gives Tippmann A5 owners another choice in hoppers with the opportunity to give their A5 a more unique profile, and carry a bit more paint on the field.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Predator1117 Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
allen and stock both with neoprene covers this is just as good quality as stock although much better quality than the allen
Marker Setup: Tippy A5 with all the mods. Even rino lined paint too!
Strengths: More capacity, you can see when you need a refill, and deflection (yeah right)
Weaknesses: Noise
Review: This hopper is made of a harder carbon plastic. The stock one is traditional soft plastic. You can make marks in the stock one with your finger nail. I like this new hopper other than it is three times as noisy as my stock one is. It holds more balls. They say it ricochets shots although I have never actually seen this to be true. If you get hit on something solid fairly close that paintball is going to break. The lid is harder to pop off than the stock one and makes a loud pop when you take it off. Personally I don't like it when people know when I am refilling or messing with my hopper. I don't know why but it usually tells them they need to bunker me at that moment. I know when I hear someones hopper snapping open I rush em and take em out. They usually are not looking at what is going on and or they are not ready to shoot when I run around their bunker. This hopper makes even more noise while running. I don't recommend this product to those who like to surprise people by popping around their bunker and peppering them. The advantages is it holds more balls looks custom and supposedly deflects shots. Ricochet could have done much better on this product if they would have used a better plastic.
Conclusion: I do not recommend this product. I believe it is too noisy and does not do what it is intended to do other than added capacity
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 1st, 2005 at 7:51 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

shotsomeone Wednesday, April 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
stock a-5 hopper
Marker Setup: tiippmann a-5 all stock 16 ounceCo2 tank Ricochet R5 Hopper
Strengths: Decreases profile
Looks
Price


Weaknesses: None
Review: Ok so I was at my local and I was talking to this kid and I was askin him about the R5 hopper and he said for 5$ bucks it pretty nice. When I heard 5$ bucks I jumped on it and bought one from the front counter. At first when I put it on I was alittle unsure about it considering it lokked pretty long. After playing with it though my front profile got smaller compared to the dart-board shaped hopper that comes stock. So for 5 dollars this aint a bad deal but im not sure if 5 bucks is the price at most places. but if you a got an a-5 (duhh! why else would you be lookin at this review?) get this hopper. It looks great and decreases your profile too!
Conclusion: I would definately reccomend this product especialy if your seriously getting into paintball and/or want to decrease your profile
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Monday, April 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
CenterFlag Reg.
Flatline
E-grip
R5
Strengths: High Capacity
Looks awesome
Tough Plastic
Clear lid
Weaknesses: Lid is wobbly when open
Paintballs rattle against plastic
Review: I was so ready to get rid of the low-capacity, boring looking A-5 stock hopper! I'm so glad that the R5 now graces my A-5. Every feature is an upgrade over the stock hopper. The main help is the larger capacity; I tand to shoot a lot so not reloading as often is a major help. The clear lid makes it much easier to see the paint level. It looks awesome! It really makes your A-5 look much more formidable. The plastic is super strong and it shouldn't break on me. A few minor gripes: The plastic is thin and causes balls to rattle inside. When running it can be a little loud. The lid wobbles when open, but stays securely shut when closed. Those minor weaknesses don't detract from the improvements it gives.
Conclusion: Since i has a couple small issues I can't give a ten, but I still greatly recommend the R5.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DragonSlayer2 Thursday, April 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper, if that can be called similar
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ Freak Barrel System. Remote air w/ 68ci 4500 Compressed Air Tank. Ricochet Hopper, electronic trigger.
Strengths: Fits great
Durable
Ricochet design
Weaknesses: Little louder when running, not too good for us woodsballers.
Review: This is the best upgrade you can get in this catagory. I have been shot several times in the hopper, and it works just like they say it does, not one ball broke. The price is great, holds more balls than the stock hopper, and is better constructed. The plastic knob that locks it onto the gun is much sturdier, and doesn't wear like the stock one if you don't seat it just right. The balls do rattle around a little louder though. Maybe because it seems to be a little thinner plastic?
Conclusion: Overall this is an excellent product for a good price. Works just like it is supposed to. I would give it a 10 if the balls didn't rattle so loud.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

doubleshot Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-grip, Low Pressure Kit, P.E.Techine reg. Psycoballistics Double Trigger, Flatline barrel, 14in jj ceramic, polished internals, Pscycoballistics on/off bullet drop with boblong gauge, Ricochet R5 hopper, and 68/3000 fiber wrapped P.E. tank.
Strengths: Looks great and deflects balls
Weaknesses: Flimsy lid
Review: The R5 is a great hopper to have, it has great capacity, looks great. and it is good for speed ball because it has a narrower front for less of a target. I like how its durability is so great. I know that I am getting good quality because it is a ricochet.
Conclusion: Buy it because it is better than any other.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fl_799 Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper
Marker Setup: Own: Sim-5, Halo Backman hopper, RIS top sight rail, Trijicon Reflex NSN sight, Vertical RIS handle. Retracting MP-5 stock. Tippmann A5 Flatline R/T, JCS MP stock with RVA. Sypder imagine.
Strengths: Looks different from the stock hopper. Very nice.
Weaknesses: optics use limited. Flimsy cap mounts feels cheap
Review: Just a quick note: I bought this hopper yesterday for my A5. No biggies here as it just hold balls like any $3 hopper. This is important for some; You'll need an offset mount for sure if you are mounting optics to the stock A5's weaver rail. The stock hopper has enough room to squeeze a 30-40mm red dot on there but it is impossible to do with this hopper.
Conclusion: Higher capacity. A bit less of a target from the front but it invades the sighting line from the top more so then the stock hopper
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SuperTrooper_OT Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 w/Response Trigger
R5 ricochet
DOP Air Regulator
DOP front grip
crossfire 47/3000psi
Remote Coil
Response Trigger

Marker #2
2k4 Prostock
12v revvy
47ci/3000psi
Strengths: Deflects hopper hits
Smaller Profile
Looks cool
You'll get asked lotsa questions
Weaknesses: Lid's a little flimsy but its not really a weakness.
Review: The first time i tried this out i was quite amazed. I must have hit many people in the hopper that day but i didn't take one hopper hit, and i deflected quite a few. A funny thing is that if you get shot on the left side of the hopper it just might send that ball towards your mask but then your mask has the deflector visor which will send that ball towards the teammate behind you :P. back on topic, This hopper has quite a smaller profile. Some kid thought it was an electro hopper and said it was pretty small for one, he was surprised when i told him it wasn't electro. This hopper gives your A5 that awesome look. The hopper doesn't slide around when on.
Conclusion: If you're tired of getting hit on that big flat target on your stock hopper, get this, you won't regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 4th, 2005 at 6:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mikey 2-tones Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT,
Flatline Barrel
JCS R.I.S. 4-RAIL KIT,
Rear Peep Sight,
Swat Force - Tac Red Dot Sight
Falcon ErgoGrip Vertical Fore-Grip,
A-5A2 "Shorty Grip",
Tac-Flashlight,
Shock Tech Intimidator Bolt,
Ricochet R5,
Aci-Subzero 6-stage Expansion Chamber
Fast onTarget Sight,
Harris Bi-pod,
Lapco Offset Mount
Mil-Sim Laser Sight,
Flurry Combat Vest,
Proteus 2 Black
Remote w/ QD
Dye Lock Lyd Pods

Strengths: -Capacity
-Looks Sharp
-Strong
-Deflection Tech
-Cost
Weaknesses: -Had a lil wobble * see review
Review: Thank god they have a quality replacement hopper for the A-5! The R-5 is near perfect, the only problem i have had with it was it was it had some side to side play, which i fixed with some boxer's grip tape, now it fits snugly.

Unlike the stock hopper the R-5 is not a paint target! Which was my only complaint about the A-5, the deflection tech is not just a marketing campaign it works. I cant count the number of times i have seen paint glance off the hopper and save me from gettin tagged. The improved ammo storage is also a major plus, after all you can never carry enough paint these days!


Conclusion: I highly reccomend you get this product, its a must have for any A-5 Owner, its one of the cheapest upgrades you can get for you A-5.

I give it a 9 only becuase of the the issue i had with side to side wobble.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 at 5:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lawnboi Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper
Marker Setup: b2k4 w/pds
evil detonator reg
halo b
crossfire 47/3000
Strengths: -Deflects balls
-Lower profile than stock
Weaknesses: -When balls move they rattle louder than the stock one.
Review: I got this hopper cause I was sick of having to call out because i got hit in the hopper. When I first got this hopper i set it out and took a few shots at it, out of 3 balls olny 1 broke and the one that broke wasn't even the size of a quarter, i was impressed. Not to mention that this hopper looks AMAZING on my gun, and with the smoke color i can tell when i have to refill my hopper in the heat of the game.

-Edited March 22 05
I found a crack in the feed port and with just 1 day of play on it. so i called Ricochet and told them about the problem. They told me they would be sending one out right away. I dont know if it will happen again or if it was just a crack from banging it around. Ricochet has very good costomer service, no questions and they said they would send me a new one. A+ for Ricochets costumer service.

-Edited March 30 05
I just got my new hopper and i recieved a black one instead of the smoke. I dont really care so i unrap it to find out that the black is more heavy duty than the smoke. You can tell by just feeling them that the black is stronger. So if you are going to get this hopper I would reccomend the black because it is stronger than the smoke.
Conclusion: This hopper is a must have for people who play in bunkers and hate having to call out on a hopper shot. I got it for 13.99 and for that price you cant beat it. Big step up fron the bulky flat stock hopper. Great product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 21st, 2005 at 4:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zwingli Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock A5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, E-grip, Expansion Chamber, Ricochet hopper
Strengths: Shape, size, profile, strength
Weaknesses: None
Review: The stock hopper for the A5 is a loaf that sits on top of one's marker just waiting to break paint. The front especially has a flat side which should have a target painted on it to better attract enemy's shots.

The Ricochet offers a sleek front, side and back profile that dares anyone to try and break a ball on your A5. It also seems to sit lower and is cut to provide better visuals for the shooter.

The Ricochet is also much more strurdy than the stock hopper. As you know, the hopper is removed and placed on the A5 with a twist. After many times of breaking down the gun for cleaning or transport, the stock hopper's tab wore down so that just a quick thump would seat the old hopper. The Ricochet does not seem to be made of such weak plastic that this sort of deterioration will occur. It is SOLID.

There is no mechanics or electronics, but the A5's cyclone makes this irrelivant anyway.

I like the smoke version as it allows one to better see when the reload is needed.

Some have complained about the top loading issue, but I did not find it any different than the stock hopper.

Even better... this hopper offers even more space for balls. You can increase your hopper capacity by 30 balls from 180 stock to 210.
Conclusion: This upgrade is a CHEAP way to improve the A5 profile and provides 30 more rounds, looks great, is well made, and will make hopper hits much less likely.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media